Used 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,100 - $2,545

Used Cavalier for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

i drove it for 17 years

Tall Girl, 08/18/2015
2dr Coupe
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

2/17/2020 Sold the car in 2017. They fixed a few things but never found the short. They recently sold the car with over 200,000 miles on it. Engine/trans still going strong. 8/15/2016 update - STILL GOING STRONG W/173,489 miles. I bought mine brand new in 2000. It is bright red with tan cloth interior. It is the base car with no power anything except brakes & steering. Exactly what I wanted! 3 speed automatic transmission and a 2.2L 4 cyl engine. Plenty of pep when it was new, a cold a/c, a hot heater, and no blind spots to speak of. I was in love with my car. For the first 10 years the only thing I did to it besides oil changes was a few recalls under warranty, and new brake pads/shoes. At 11 years I bought new tires, a battery, and had a tune up done. At 12 years the a/c compressor had to be replaced and it cost $600 at a mechanics shop, then little things here and there. The rear defrost went out at 127,000 miles - but I live in Alabama, so I never replaced it. At 140,000 miles I had my original serpentine belt and hoses replaced and an inline fuel filter put on. It has never run hot, and I have never let it get below 1/4 of a tank. It doesn't use or leak oil, it shifts like it has a shift kit in it and has since brand new. 16 years later it still runs good. At 167,840 miles It received its 3rd battery. 17 years into owning it, and 178,xxx miles, it developed a short. Mechanics could not find the shortso i had to replace a battery, then another battery, then another battery. I sold my little car. It was very hard to do, but the people who bought it are getting it back on the road as soon as they can. I will see it again I'm sure.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun little car

outdoorsy24, 07/09/2012
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I had this in highschool. It was fun, looked cool for the year, got great gas mileage, and never gave me any issues.

Report Abuse

Great Car

donnn, 02/11/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've had this car since the day I turned 16, and I've loved every minute with it. I drive over 60 miles a day, and this car has NEVER let me down in the least bit. I have not had to repair a single thing in the 60,000 miles that I've had it. Starts in the coldest weather, and goes through any kind of weather like a champ. Its great on gas, and I'm always getting compliments on how sharp looking it is. Treat this car well, and it will run forever.

Report Abuse

Love my Cavalier

jennybear, 03/31/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second cavalier. The first one I had was a 91 and Chevy had made major improvements by 2000. I bought my vehicle second hand at 30,000 miles, and have loved the drive ever since. She is good in the snow. (as good as you can get without 4 wheel drive) She is dependable. The only part that I have had to repeatedly replace is a chip in the dash for the heat. I have only had to replace this 2 times in 10 years so that is not bad. Plus it's a cheap part to replace, like 10 dollars. Otherwise a little cramped in the back seat, but as a driver comfortable seats, fun to drive, dependable, durable, and I think Ill try to keep it for another 10 years.

Report Abuse

Reliable and Sporty

Z24, 11/13/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been driving this car for about 6 years and it has been pretty reliable overall. It has over 100,000 miles and still runs well. Some repairs needed include replacing the front wheel bearings, replacing the part that holds the muffler, and replacing the serpentine belt several times. At one time, the check engine light went on and the dealer said it needed new oxygen sensors. I did not get them replaced and it still runs fine and no longer has a check engine light on. There is some rust developing on certain parts, especially the side panel under the gasoline door. This car is easy and comfortable to drive. It is fast enough when you need it and still gets good mileage.

Report Abuse

Best little car ever!

Jes, 06/10/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this sweet little car right out of high school and have enjoyed it every day since. The only thing I have ever done to my car is get new tires and oil changes. It has never broke down or needed anything replaced. I have driven it hundreds of miles across the country and it is very comfortable for a little cheap car. I have to sell it now because I need a four door car for my new little baby. I am going to cry when my sweet little Cavalier goes away!

Report Abuse

Z Power

Tank, 12/05/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a winter car and never considered buying an American car, much less a Cavalier. To my surprise this little Z24 is fantastic, I only paid $2500 for it and that is a steal compared to anything else in the market in that good of shape, No rust...no fuss. Although it is not perfect it is very fun to drive and reliable so far. If I get 2 years out of this car, wow, I will buy another.

Report Abuse

Love My Chevy

BiMi, 05/29/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2006 and have loved every minute. It is so reliable and the gas mileage is astounding. The dash and cracks around the vents and radio are discouraging. So much of the cosmetic parts of the car have broken off. My husband and I have driven from Florida to Philly, Philly to Virginia (4 times). It has done extremely well. My husband used to make fun of my "sissy car". his car broke down, but mine keeps on going and going. He stopped calling it my "sissy car". It is now "our car".

Report Abuse

25,000 miles in one year!

sturns, 05/12/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car a year ago with great apprehension. I have heard bad things about Cavaliers and GM. But my fears have been asuaged. This car is a beast! From freeway to stop and go driving this car has gone 25,000 miles in one year and I have had no real problems. It can be a little underpowered and at times noisy, but it's strength lies in reliability. It also excelerates well in turns. Good job Chevy! Good job GM!

Report Abuse

best economy car

adrian, 01/12/2003
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been extremely satisfied with the car, the editor's review here is very unfair. Best exterior design by far among everything out there, powerful engine, ABS and other options are standard (compare with Civic or others in this class), and last but not least good price (compare again with competition such as Honda) Crash results are listed here as poor, but i've had a serious accident and it behaved very well - both airbags went off, the front of the car was smashed, but i was just fine, with no injuries.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050