Used 1996 Chevrolet Beretta Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$730 - $1,877

Used Beretta for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

96' Z26

Chevymuscle218, 12/16/2008
Z26 2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this Z26 off my brother and have owned it for about 6 months now. The car currently has 220,000 + miles and it runs great. Never burns oil. Steering is getting stiff. The cup holders in the car are not that great. There is no room in the back seats when there is two people up front. You have to have the seat (for me) all the way back so you have some decent leg room, problem is it takes away from the rear passenger space. The 3.1 motor seems to be very reliable athough blown head gaskets seem to be a common problem with them I have yet had this problem. Even though its a Z- 26 I beleive the car has a sporty apperance, but is far from a sporty car and acceleration is not the greatest.

Report Abuse

I miss my Beretta!

Andielion, 10/21/2010
2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had my Beretta as a first car for about 8 years until it was just recently totaled. It was an incredibly smooth ride and had very little maintenance issues. It leaked water into the car the whole time I had it, but that did not matter because it's reliability easily canceled out that minor problem. I would suggest a Chevy Beretta to anyone!

Report Abuse

Good Car, but there are downfalls

Mikedonalds, 04/10/2002
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car mechanically, I have 121,000 miles and the engine is still strong and peppy. Transmission has been a dream. I have gunned the engine far more than a few times and can outrun (w/ my V6) any Saturn, any neon, or 90's mustang (base model). Downfalls: The paint/primer are of poor quality - very poor. The daytime running lights are a major annoyance, prior to dusk my headlights turn on and off simply by entering and exiting a shady area. Driver side left foot space is crampy and there is no comfortable place for it. Floor carpeting in front and back sucks, ex. staining and fraying. Doors are heavy, actually too heavy. They will start to drag slightly and squeak

Report Abuse

Very Strong Running Car

1996Berettaguy90, 08/27/2008
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 3+ years now, and it is running strong. Has the typical engine knock that all 3100 SFI V6's make, most of them come like that from the factory. This car has made it through 3 minnesota winters, and has come with minor repairs done, mainly to the cooling system. Have gone through an alternator, that is a typical repair in 3100's. This car is constantly put under torture due to my lead-foot driving, and it still runs great. Bought this with 167,000 miles about 4 years ago, and $850 for a car that lasts for 20,000 miles and still runs great is definitely worth it. Perfect first car. Low maintenance costs. I plan to drive this car until it gives up, then rebuild it.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

Jardaz, 01/31/2009
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Awesome car. I have had mine for 3 years. I haven't had any huge problems just the basic maintenance. The car has gone from the Hampton Roads area of Virginia to the outskirts of NYC more times than I can remember. Gas mileage is good and a very dependable car. I wish Chevy still made them. If you come across one and you're looking for a used car, consider it. It's the best car I have ever owned

Report Abuse

The Good Cheap Car With Problems

Bobbyz26420, 04/02/2010
Z26 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I owned my 1996 Beretta Z26 model for about 7 months. It was a great car, real sharp and it raced decently, (once beating a 2000 Camaro). She ran beautifully for the first three months, but after that I started having oil pressure problems. I ended up having to replace the radiator, ignition switch, engine timing chain set, water pump, belt tensioner, and an oil sending unit, totaling out to a whopping 1350 just for parts, not including labor. I finally decided to give up on her when the engine bearings and rods ended up wearing out to where the engine needed replacing, and the transmission was already slipping and a belt was rubbing off in the transmission oil. Great car, doesn't last long.

Report Abuse

Hey mikey i think he likes it

Z-26 Addict, 06/30/2002
Z26 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I do likes it i likes it alot. This is the second Beretta z-26 that I have had. I crashed/ totalled the first one. I really like this thing. It can keep with and beat a lot of cars and it resonably disguised as a small coupe with not a lot of but when you want it the power is definatley there. The car it self is just too heavy if they found a way to ligthen it by about 500 too 1000 pounds the thing would be a lot better.

Report Abuse

nice car

franky kiko, 08/04/2002
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

its a nice car

Report Abuse

nice ride

Slash, 01/07/2003
Z26 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice sporty ride. Very reliable. At 52,000 miles and counting.

Report Abuse

It smells like a sweat sock

callAAA, 09/28/2003
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the car a few years ago at 88000 miles. Since it rolled onto 90000 there have been thousands in repairs. A strange leak has also appeared that from my research is common in all beretta and corsica models. It will be years before I EVER buy another chevrolet. American cars be warned ... keep putting out crap and you will lose customers.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050