Used 2008 Acura TL Type-S Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,183 - $9,995

Used TL for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

highly satisfied customer

Dag, 02/12/2018
Type-S 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

this is very good car if its well maintained, over all i am satisfied, it looks outstanding, even in 2018 it gets complements a lot, very reliable, acceleration is great, its fast car for US highways, but the thing other people might not like is the ride quality, it feels like a track car, it has stiff suspension so keep that in mind, and also the ground clearance is low, the car seats lower than the average sedan, so its good to know these things before buying, for me personally i like the car more for these reasons but other people might not,

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Solid Car

mtlpa, 07/22/2009
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Basically bought this car from the inside out. Compared to 330i, Audi A4 and felt the TL was a better value and much more spacious. After a year there have been no defects to speak of, so quite satisfied with build quality. Performance is quite good although torque steer is evident under hard acceleration. Ergonomics are excellent and runs fantastic on the highway. Manual mode transmission is a little disappointing as it does not force the transmission into quicker gear shifts.

Report Abuse

Absolutely Incredible.

Dhruv, 06/22/2019
Type-S 4dr Sedan w/High-Performance Tires (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

The 2008 TL Type-S is my first car and I can't even explain how much I love it. It is so beautiful and is often regarded as one of the best looking sedans ever made. The quad exhausts look very aggressive and the waffle rims are truly gorgeous. The car looks both sinister and beautiful at the same time, which is what I adore. The interior is very nice as well, but over time many owners have experienced cracked dash, ripped seats, etc. However, in my car, the only thing that broke is a small piece of the cupholder. Other than that, the interior is very roomy and overall a great place to spend time. The steering wheel looks great and sporty. The acceleration is very thrilling with the 286 hp V6, but I am not a fan of the wheel-spin. I wish it was AWD. The engine sounds amazing, as the Vtec induction howl is addicting to listen to. The ride is incredibly smooth and my passengers always say that they really enjoy the ride, and even non car-enthusiast passengers tell me that the car sounds good. :-) The Brembo rotors in the front provide the car with phenomenal stopping power and the calipers look very stylish and sporty. The car handles so well for a sedan, and I have major confidence when I take the car in a heavy corner at high speeds. It feels very planted and I feel really excited and secure at the same time. The ELS sound system is amazing, despite the bluetooth not working and me having to use aux. However, these little problems are totally outweighed by the immense pleasure this car evokes. The complaints I have follow- Poor quality dash, cheap cupholder, timing belt and water pump replacement, bluetooth not working. Other than these issues, the car is amazing. Overall, the TL-S is one of the greatest sport sedans ever made and Acura hit a home run. This car marks the end of an era, as after this car stopped being made, Acura has gone downhill in the past 11 years. None of their cars today give the feeling of sportiness except the NSX and MAYBE the TLX A-Spec. I hope the new Type-S models bring back the specialty that the TL-S carried. This car is also so uncommon, which is what I LOVE. I am the only one I know who owns one, and people gawk at it. I only see another TL-S maybe once or twice a month, and the owners and I have some fun talks. Its rarity, value, design, and performance make it a wondrous piece of automotive art. I love this car more than I can even explain. Please bring back the fun that the TL-S evokes Acura, please.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great value for the money

Brad, 05/24/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased my TL-S in July 2008 after seeing the spy pictures of the 2009 models. So far I have 7,500 miles on the car and it has been flawless. The 3.5L makes this car a sleeper, it's plenty fast for me. I shopped the G35, Lexus IS350 and BMW 3 Series before buying the Acura. The nice part about the car is the value for the money, this car comes loaded. With Lexus, BMW and Infiniti the options are expensive and add up quickly. An IS350 with the same equipment as this car stickered at over $45k, same with BMW. I was able to purchase my TL-S for $33k, that was $5,800 off the sticker. Was able to get a good deal with the ugly 2009's ready to hit the market.

Report Abuse

Acura tl sport 2008

s3rgee, 06/20/2016
Type-S 4dr Sedan w/High-Performance Tires (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Recently bought a 2008 acura tl sport (carbon bronze) used with 125k miles, cant say im not satisfied, iv had a lot of people tell me how it looks more of a year car than a 2008, drivers perspective pretty fast great take offs , spacious, audio system is amazing , only complain no Bluetooth audio , besides that , the car is a great choice , iv had a 2000 civic 2007 g35 , but by far iv really like this car the most, if your a racer its fast but there is faster , you a cruiser , this is a great built up , gas worth every cent.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

08 TL Type S

Happy Type S owner, 07/14/2009
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have owned my TL-S for a year and a half and have 13K miles on it. Overall a great car. I get 19-20 in the city and 30-32 on the highway at 72 MPH. Good suspension and great surround sound. Minor issues: fold down rear seat would be good, the trunk is so well finished there is no point to tie it down. Rain rolls off the roof onto the driver's seat when you open the door. No good CD case holder in the car. Passenger seat height adjustment would be nice. As you can see my issues are minor. I got 86 more HP than my 01 Accord for the price of 91 octane and with no real mileage penalty. Had considered a G35 but did not want RWD in the snow and the MPG was much higher for the Acura.

Report Abuse

Best Acura

acura`, 08/01/2007
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Handles better than the BMW, more reliable than the G and sexier than the IS. Great car.

Report Abuse

Quiet Confidence/ Lovin every minute!!

Dookie, 11/10/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Traded 94 Legend for the Carbon Bronze 2008 TL/S. The TL/S same or better features than Niss/BMW for less $$. The 3.5 gets the TL/S moving quickly & oversize brakes offer smooth braking. Cruising at 70mph is the norm as one doesn't recognize the "speed" so pay attention. Quiet cabin, heated seats/mirrors, nav, XM, reverse cam, CD, DVD, smooth yet firm ride, great acceleration, takes curves like a slot-car. Speeds > 100mph, smooth & silky w/no vibration. Driving this auto since 12/2007, its once again FUN TO DRIVE! Absolutely love it!

Report Abuse

Italian Styling + Japanese Reliability

CarAddict, 11/26/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

In addition to Honda's reliability, the other main reason why I bought this car is that I think Honda really did a great job styling the exterior of the TL. I really like the beautiful styling touches such as the character lines that run across the sides of the car. The 2008 TL styling is elegant and understated, unlike the new 2009 TL which I thought is too loud for my taste with the oversized grill in the front and chrome strip on the trunk. However, the sleek styling does result in poor rearward visibility for the TL. Having driven a Acura Integra for the last 20 years, this is probably the biggest thing I have to adopt in my new TL. Both the B and the C pillars on the TL are very wide!

Report Abuse

no longer own

Frank, 09/13/2016
Type-S 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Performance, comfort and reliability exceeded expectations. Most satisfied with this vehicle than others owned. A daily driver pleasure.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050