Used 2015 Volvo XC60 SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,992 - $20,988

Used XC60 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best car out of the 15 I've ever owned

pranner, 09/24/2014
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Our T5 is the perfect combination of what I want in a family vehicle: Outstanding fuel economy for this size/weight of a vehicle, perfectly comfortable for long road trips, great power when you need it. All of this in a premium but understated, unpretentious package.

Report Abuse

Best seats ever, buy this SUV for the seats alone

erikn206, 06/23/2015
T6 R-Design Platinum 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

Go on one good long drive in this Volvo and you'll see why this car is a great deal, being cheaper than luxury cars, but a step up from your standard choices. The seats aren't noticeably different from other cars until you get up after a long drive and realize how much better you feel than if you were sitting in a normal car that long. I bought an R-Design for the looks and it has a ridiculous amount of power. I have also driven non-R-design versions and they are also quite good and much cheaper. Note that you do get the occasional false alarm from the forward collision warning system, but I'd rather have one or two false alarms then get in a collision.

Report Abuse

Blood-Blooded Arrow!

Grama Jean, 06/26/2016
T5 Drive-E Premier 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Purchased my 2015.5 Volvo XC60 in December 2015 as a dealer demonstrator with low miles and Volvo Certified. Absolutely love this vehicle! I had narrowed my search to a Acura RDX or the Volvo XC60 and found the safety features, the nimble and quick handling, sleek exterior design and the straight-forward, understated but more than adequate interior won out in the Volvo. The RDX had a dull feel to it compared to the energy and zip of the XC60 and the rear-end design of the RDX fell short. My gas mileage has been phenomenal using the ECO feature and it has the same getup and go as a Acura Integra I once owned. I have Blind Spot technology and the protection package, both features I find helpful. The cargo area is just what I was looking for and like the idea the seats all lie flat. Most of all it is fun to drive! I keep my vehicles for a long time and put lots of miles on them; 296,000 and 263,000 on previous vehicles (Acura and Nissan respectively) and hope to enjoy the same longevity with my Volvo.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

UDATED March 2020 *** This one is a keeper **

scott, 09/21/2015
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
51 of 54 people found this review helpful

Our sticker starts with a T6 AWD, then adds the Climate Pkg, Convenience Pkg, Sport Seats, Proximity Pkg, 20" Titania wheels, Metal flip-down cargo cage, Harmon Kardon sound & Piano Black inlays, totaling over $50k.Lexus should buy one of these and just sit in it for a while. The ergonomics are top-notch. Every knob, every stalk, every bin just falls perfectly into your hand. The configurable dash is cool at first, but eventually you find one of three choices you really like and stick with it. The center stack is a bit over populated, but you get used to it, and once you locate what you need all subsequent operations are logical. The engine is sweet, and I mean SWEET. Zero turbo lag....max torque is ready and willing anywhere in the rev range. Couple that plant-you-in-your-seat acceleration with fabulous seats, and you've got an hours-on-end cruiser that is unequaled. Or a refined city errand-runner. Whereas the Lexus was dowdy and boring, the Volvo is crisp and entertaining. This is eye candy for the CUV crowd. **UPDATE** 3-20-2016 Had the good fortune to road-trip with the Volvo. What a great highway cruiser. Power when you need it, suspension soaking up all those nasty road imperfections, and a whopping great stereo. A clear winner vs the Lexus. **UPDATE** 9-21-2016 The T6 continues to impress. A summer full of highway construction has not deterred this black beauty from traveling anywhere, anytime. It is the perfect blend of utility vehicle and sporting machine. The twin-scroll turbo puts power on your foot RIGHT NOW and smoothly pulls all the way up to speed. Need to pass at freeway speeds? Once again that twin-scroll turbo launches you past the unsuspecting. I know it's an SUV, but this really is a great car. **Update March21, 2017** Just had the 20,000 mile service performed, still under warranty and didn't cost a dime and that included replacing wiper blades. Our Bobby Rahal Volvo dealership continues to impress...not at all like the Lexus dealer next door who barely acknowledges your existence unless it is time to pay. September 2017 Still in love with the Volvo. Tires are ready to be replaced at 22k. The dealer wants to perform an alignment along with a top tier price, so we looked elsewhere and the $1400 Dealer price is down to $988 without an alignment. The car doesn't need it as it tracks true as the day it rolled off the assembly line. Everything works as it should. The styling is still crisp and fresh. This is one well-designed mode of transportation! March 2018 Volvo keeps sending us sales stuff to get us to come look at the new XC60... Why? This is a great all-around car. Winter snow? No problem! Our only complaint is how hard it is to keep the car clean! Sept 2018 Zoomed past 30k. This car is tight, quick, comfortable and roomy. Recently rented a 2018 XC90 and was not impressed...will be keeping the XC60 with it's fabulous engine, perfect transmission and great brakes. Sept 2019 Four and a half years in and this car rewards you each time you press the starter button. Had the unfortunate rear-ended-by-a-dummy that required some minor body work so we had the body shop refresh the paint... it looks showroom new. WOW. Everything still works as it should. Engine, tranny and brakes are a harmonious unit that perform so well together I can't believe they discontinued this engine. Our dealer experience has tempered our enthusiasm. Every visit for a fix has required a minimum of two trips. Regular maintenance is never an issue. For example, we got a warning message the Volvo on Call needed updating. We never signed up for or used the service. Contacted the service and the car would not stop redialing the service! First dealer visit they told us they removed the feature.....only to have the message pop up about two weeks later. Second dealer visit seemed to be fixed only to have a front warning message upon pickup.... back for third visit.......seems they don't know how to properly close the hood when delivering cars. Sigh. The only other negative is the driver side leather is wearing much faster than other cars we have at similar ages and similar usage. We regularly treat our leather interiors so it has not been neglected...the leather is just a bit on the thin side.Other than that, this car rocks! We are confident it will be in our garage for 10+ years. **March 2020** Found a new dealer who did our 40k service. They are twice as far as the other dealer but well worth the drive. The car is just humming along. No mechanical hiccups. Just pleasant, reliable motoring week after week. I would not hesitate to buy one of these used. Coming out of a mild winter, it still looks showroom new. What a great car!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love My Car

J Miller, 03/31/2016
T5 Drive-E 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 6/14 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I bought the 2015 Volvo XC60 as a demo with low miles about six weeks ago and I really like it. The ride is smooth and fast, and stereo system is crisp. I love the rain sensor, and I really appreciate all the safety features (parking assist, BLIS, rear camera). There are a few things I would change about the interior design though. For example, the design of space for storage between the front seats is not very practical. The cup holders are also positioned so that can they interfere with the gearshift. The navigation/sensor software is functional but not very intuitive, especially compared to systems in other luxury brands. Overall though, I am happy with my purchase.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Fun to drive but falls short on MPG

Joeyomitan, 09/04/2015
T5 Drive-E Premier Plus 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 6/14 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Second write up after nearly two years and 20,000 plus miles. The oil issue went away. After the first oil change it seemed to stop burning oil, a good thing. Gas mileage has not increased. It still averages about 27 on the highway and less in town, maybe a 24 mpg average, less than we expected. The user interface still confuses my wife, it is not very intuitive. The car does drive nice and has good performance, by far its best point. Another issue is oil changes. Volvo has told us due "they" need to put it on the computer to do an oil change, Jiffy-lube or Firestone, etc should not do it. I still have yet to verify that. We have found the Volvo dealer no better than the local Chevy dealer, we make appointments and they lose them or tell us when we bring it in its first come first serve. My wife refuses to take the car in for service due to she is frustrated with the dealer. So the bottom line after two years would I recommend it, probably not. I have a 2014 Chevy equinox AWD and a 2011 Honda CRV, the Volvo is nicer to drive, but issues, such as Volvo states they need to do oil changes, MPG falls short, the blue-tooth/entertainment system is years behind the others. I was afraid to buy Chevy but all five drivers in my family except for my wife like it the best. So in my opinion for the price the Equinox or CRV are a better buy. First write up. First off I would say this is the best driving car we have ever had. It handles very well, has better than average acceleration, stops well, steers well, etc. The interior is nice, our only complaint is the “storage area” under the radio, you can’t really put anything in it or it falls out when you turn. The seats are comfortable, and cargo space is adequate. Our big complaint is gas mileage. The T-5 Drive E engine should get 24 in town and about 30 on the highway. We rarely average over 23 mpg. On our Honda CRV and Chevy Equinox we always meet or exceed the EPA estimated MPG, so I don’t think it our driving habits. Either Volvo over estimated MPG or who knows. The only other complaint is the information/blue tooth system is not very intuitive. The local Volvo Dealer had to contact other dealers on how to check the oil level from the info system. The car does not have a dip-stick. The manual does not describe how to do it My wife or daughter still can’t check the oil level using the information system. Checking the oil is much like running old DOS commands from function keys on your keyboard. The engine does need oil added between the 10,000 mile interval oil changes. Typically at 4000~5000 after an oil change it needs oil. Volvo thought this would go away after the first oil change, but we had to add oil at the 13,000 mile mark.

Safety
Performance
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Outstanding

Fred, 11/22/2015
3.2 Platinum 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 6/14 (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned and at 72 I have owned a lot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Utilitarian luxury

ToddW, 11/12/2015
3.2 Platinum 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 6/14 (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

We have the Platinum T5 e-drive and it's different than any other car I've been in. The interface for radio and ac and tech is somewhat simple, but the car has fantastic safety tech, and the simple interface is nice. You turn a dial to adjust the temperature, you don't scroll through your touch screen. Turning safety features on and off is simple, there are dedicated buttons, and the adjustments and customizing for those features is made using the screen when you're not driving. I actually bought this for my daughter. I had narrowed it down the Honda/Acura and the Subarus due to their great active safety features, but sprung for the Volvo since it's safer and just nicer in a lot of ways. Interestingly, you'll find the Subaru scores higher on active braking because it triggers auto braking earlier and stops you completely when approaching a car at 25mph. With this Volvo, you'd still hit the car, but at a slow speed. What the IIHS testing doesn't tell you when it compares these systems, is that Volvo uses both radar and a camera. The Subaru uses a camera that can easily be blinded if you are driving into the sun. The Subaru does warn you the collision avoidance system can't "see", but the Volvo simply doesn't get blinded. I prefer that. It is also built a bit stronger, and seats you wonderfully. The honda and acura use "radar" too, and are very nice for the price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love the car when it's not in the shop...

mustang4305, 06/11/2015
T6 R-Design Platinum 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 6/14 (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

We bought a new XC60 R-Design in June of 2014 and have had nothing but problems since...it has been in the shop every 3-4 weeks with problem after problem. Everything from the suspension to the steering to the electrical has been an issue. We love the design and the build quality but this car has been a lemon.

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owned, best new car experience

floridamd, 06/19/2014
T5 Drive-E 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 6/14 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
50 of 58 people found this review helpful

The more I found out about the Volvo XC 60 the more impressed I was, to the point that I got two. The price was considerably lower than comparable vehicles. The Volvo XC 60 has the most comfortable seats of any vehicle I've ever driven. Its safety features were top of the line. It had all the options I could get from other vehicles, and more. I listen to educational and music CD's and only with the Volvo could I replay a section I wanted to hear again. This feature used to be available in most vehicles, only Volvo kept it. Have had problems with minor things like sunvisor breaking, hatch door not responding to triggers, some electrical issues - they were all fixed. A customer service rep emails me regularly, making sure all my questions and issues are handled.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050