Used 2002 Volvo V40 Wagon Consumer Reviews

List Price
$5,995

Used V40 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Very Good Car

Jay Bee, 11/07/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Had my V40 for 8 years, 120K miles. It is a great sport wagon. Excellent cargo room, comfortable for my family of 4. Handles well and was my 50 miles a day commuter averaging 26 mpg mixed driving. Expensive to service but there were no major problems in 8 years. Burns through headlights and bulbs. Don't know why. All over the internet but dealers claim ignorance. My 16 year old just inherited it. Safe, runs great, expect another few good years from it. Over all a good purchase new, and if taken care of, worth the blue book value used. Maybe even undervalued in blue book if clean and taken care of. Just keep after those damn bulb changes.

Report Abuse

Very happy Volvo owner

jk, 11/22/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is my first Volvo, and I bought it used two years ago. It replaced a Honda Civic. So that's the car to which I compare my V40. As noted, I bought the car two years ago. I haven't replaced a headlight yet. The windshield does need to be replaced, but living in Wyoming means high winds and sanded roads will affect a windshield negatively. I wish the fuel economy were better, but who doesn't? The cargo room is just about perfect. The seats are comfortable, and the ride is very quiet. (Perhaps it's my tires.) In fact, given the choice between taking our newer Subaru or the Volvo on a 2,000 mile round trip road trip, we decided on the Volvo. This won't be my last Volvo!

Report Abuse

great!

mel_e, 02/02/2011
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

My car has 114K miles and still runs great. It definately burns through headlights as other reviewers have noted. I had some electrical? issues a short time ago, my mechanic thought there may have been a recall but the volvo mechanics said not. The dealership mechanics are the problem. apparently I needed new sparkplugs and the head gaskets cleaned. I think they just didn't want to reimburse me for the THREE sensors that needed to be replaced within one month of each other, if its an electrical issue they're supposed to refund your money. Regardless, I love my V40. Also, when i got it i got 32 mpg. after disconnecting the computer, it now gets 26+ but i drive more in town now so...

Report Abuse

Goodbye Old Paint

Victor the Volvo, 08/31/2009
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I just traded in Old Vic aged 98,000 miles. I have read other reviews and found them unappreciative. First, you need never be ashamed to pull up in a Volvo, no matter where, no matter how small. Second, although maintenance wasn't cheap, it was great at my local Volvo Dealer - Coast of Sarasota - very professional and thorough. Third, this car was gas-efficient and capable of carrying a number of dogs, cargo, and other assorted living/inert objects with grace. Fourth, it was comfortable. You sank into the seats, not on top of them. A million organized cubbyholes for all your junk are provided. It's a nice, sane, well- planned ride. Great visibility. I hope you enjoy it.

Report Abuse

Vord not what Expected from the Swedes

arad, 11/29/2008
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I loved this car when I bought it. I believed in the Volvo reputation of long-life and reliability. Honestly, I thought I'd found my match for life. It handled well and was very comfortable. Had this car for about a year before experiencing major problems with overheating. Dealership repair visits 4x over the next year until, at 112K mi, the vehicle overheated one last time, the head gasket blew out and the turbo charger wanked. $5000 in repairs! If you can find one of these cars still on the road, I'd be surprised. I haven't seen one in about 1 1/2 years. You might not see it in the dark though, because they burn through lamps like crazy. Also, expect to replace brakes frequently.

Report Abuse

Just a review

Alex Makhanko, 04/20/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The best car I have ever had

Report Abuse

I'm driving a 'Vord'

Vord owner, 12/11/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The good is overshadowed by the bad: Brakes @ 15K miles, windshield @ 12K, cruise control / headlights @ 24K, tires @ 25K. Worst was thermostat @ 25K. Dealer flushed the system to find "peanut butter" like substance. Dealer says this is "bars leaks" (never heard of it). Dealer says this was added and is reason for thermostat failure. The car has been serviced by 3 volvo dealers only! All deny adding this. It could impact the radiator, new thermostat, and my warranty. Volvo of North America will do nothing! From my experience with the manufacturer, dealer, and car it's clear that I bought a Vord. Stay away from this vehicle, it will only disappoint you.

Report Abuse

Never Again!

akaslick, 03/22/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After first year of ownership, every week, 1 or 2 light bulbs go out! Thank gawd for the warranty! Very inconvenient. The car is expensive to maintain. The car doesn't hold value like the other volvos. I was told otherwise. It's funny that when I brought my car to the dealer for the 30k service, the 2 people in front of me were complainig about the problems they were having with their cars. They don't make'em like the early 80's 240DL's anymore. Too bad!! I'll never buy another!

Report Abuse

End of Lease Review

Graham, 03/21/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

There were 3 areas of disappointment I had with this vehicle: 1)excessive brake pad wear, 2)poor quality original tires, and 3)expensive maintenance costs. The interior quality was good, almost excellent. When the car was new, it felt like a struggle to get it up to 65-75 mph, but now that it has over 50k miles, it flies! So the power and acceleration improve with age! Too bad I am returning it.Volvo has got to do something to compensate owners for the poor brake pad wear, they won't admit that there is a problem.The OEM Continental tires would not stay inflated properly.Also had 2 flats.Upgrade to Michelins required tires rated to 150 mph! Expensive. Why Volvo?!

Report Abuse

Saved my daughter's life

meonly, 03/14/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My daughter totaled my first V40, hit on 3 sides, air bags inflated, went airborne across 4 lanes of traffic and hit by 3 cars. Not a scratch on her or her friend. I didn't think such a light weight car would have its occupants survive an accident like that, neither did the paramedics. Thank you for that. I am a volvo owner for life. Waiting for the xc60, that will be my fourth volvo.

Report Abuse

This is not the 144 my dad drives

guy.sherr, 06/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

V40 rides very quiet. The difference between windows open and closed is just jaw dropping. Seating is comfortable, nice appointments, excellent finishing. 1.9L turbo accelerates strongly into traffic, although a little slowly with the A/C on. Mileage, windows up and A/C, highway was about 31.8 on cruise control in hilly terrain. Handling is good for a wagon. Swerves don't alter the lean much, and the car feels ready to turn at speed. Overall is well crafted and toughly engineered. This car may well outlast the oil reserves.

Report Abuse

this car rocks!

akaslick, 07/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is perfect...form, function. The best part is that it's not a flashy car.. Because there aren't too many on the road, it looks fresh.

Report Abuse

V40 Volvo Wagon

Reg, 08/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a 2000. The interior is cramped. Poor placement of electrical control in the center pedestal as are hand brake and flip-flopping armrest.The locations of coin and cup holder are poorly located. Some of these defects were corrected in the 2001. Only the epress window control is located in the drivers door armrest and no window control is provided in the passenger's armrest. Michelin tires improve driving and durability.

Report Abuse

Performance wagon?

Volvoowner, 08/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very happy with this car. Bought it right before a long road trip with my with. Plenty of room in the folding rear area for two weeks worth of camping gear. Highway ride was very smooth, and engine provided plenty of power for entrance ramps and passing. Cabin is very quiet, similar to much more expensive luxury cars. Leather seats are very supportive, but could use a little extra bolstering. The (upgraded) sound system is awesome!! Averaged better than 32 miles to the gallon over 1200 highway miles. Overall, fun car to drive, great safety features, comfortable and practical.

Report Abuse

A little noisey for a European car

tkreimes, 08/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I find it overall a descent car. I like the way it looks. I had an Audi A4 in the past so I am a bit spoiled. My next car will be another A4. Don't be discouraged, if you like American cars, you will love the V40. When driving on dirt roads, the DSA system works great.

Report Abuse

Big disappointment

DJ_in_WA, 09/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car has been plagued with electrical problems the dealer has been unable to identify and correct. Random stalling and loss of power steering have made the vehicle unsafe to drive. The excellent overall design, spaciousness, and comfort features are overshadowed by the car's fundamental unreliability.

Report Abuse

The worst car I ever purchased

MICHELE, 04/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Every time you turn around there is another problem. My car has been serviced monthly for a variety of problems from AC malfunctioning, to the check engine light, and I am on my forth set of headlights! ENOUGH SAID!

Report Abuse

V40 is terribly unreliable

Frustrated V40 Owner, 01/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great looking car -- too small to be useful for my family. BUT -- this is the least reliable vehicle I have owned in my life -- air mass meter replaced, cruise control replaced three times, front control arms and ball joints replaced after 20,000KM, numerous squeaks and rattles. Avoid this vehicle at all costs.

Report Abuse

Happy, so far...

slick, 06/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my V40 for just over a year now and I've been happy with it. I haven't had any problems with it. I ended up with it because the sales people at the mercedes dealership next door(owned by the same company)didn't give me the time of day (I was wearing jeans and a t-shirt).

Report Abuse

Love this car

davidz, 08/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first Volvo and I really love the car. I drive my cars pretty hard and this car has held up well, minus the problems which seem to be unfortunately quite common for the V40. The v40 is fun drive- handles well and is quite zippy. Front seats are very comfortable. Some people have complained about the non-standard radio controls, but I think they are the most effective and useful controls I have ever used. Tuning knob to scan through 20 presets makes more sense than separate preset buttons and is much easier to use while driving. Common problems affecting this vehicle are: 1) brakes wear out quickly. 2) electrical system burns through headlights

Report Abuse

Disappointing

arcin69, 09/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car has been mechanically reliable but disapointing otherwise. Seatings and cabin are uncomfortable. Controls not ergonomically designed. Power seat controls replaced at 15,000 miles. Windshield cracked with the slightest touch of a speck. Found out later , Volvo has a reputation for windshields easily cracked but expensive to replace. Leather on seats permanently deformed from leaving a book on the seat. Wont' but it after lease turn in.

Report Abuse

Practical and Economical while still Fun

thirtysomething, 01/30/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car because it was reasonably priced and the because of Volvo's reputation. It is a bit on the small side if you have more than one child or move lots of stuff, but it a very practical car that holds quite a bit with the rear seats completely flat. The acceleration is surprisingly quick for a 4 cyl. It is better than many V6 I have driven. The handling is tight enough for a sports wagon but I wouldn't go searching for curves. Fantastic mileage! This is what is keeping me from upgrading to a bigger or more powerful car or hybrid. 28 mpg in the city and 34 mpg on the highway. I've had zero maintenance issues in 5 years. Change your oil!

Report Abuse

Great Car for a fraction of a price

bokakhat, 04/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a great car. So many safety features and yet not a high price.Milage is great and i love the seats and comfort

Report Abuse

Great Car!

mridenou, 03/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had a most agreable experiencve thus far owning this car. It comes very well equiped and is built to last.

Report Abuse

The Best!

Anna, 04/08/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car overseas with American specs. I drove it three times round trip to Italy and back to Brussels, Belgium (over 20 hours drive) and never had a problem. It spacious, reliable and looks great. I do keep it up. I take it only to Volvo for any required check up or parts. The headlights I only had to change them twice but this is normal for any car. I had little problem with the check engine light but it got resolved. Great car and I would buy it again. Rule of thumb: Take it only to Volvo for any problems and you will never have to complain about it.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050