Used 1991 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$724 - $1,862

Used Jetta for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

great car with typical VW issues

tmr, 01/12/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was inspired to write this review for the simple fact that the page says 22 mpg. That's impossible, I owned this car for 5 years and only once got below 24 mpg, usually more like 29 mpg, best I ever got was 41 mpg for a tank! Beyond that the car is fun to drive (I had manual GLi 16V), but has typical VW issues like the doors not working (they can be fixed), windshield wipers with mind of their own, and other electrical issues.

Report Abuse

Sub-Par

KlubMarcus, 05/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

VW doesn't seem to make solid car. Stupid stuff keeps breaking: door handles, the plastic covering the seat tracks, the headliner, oil consumption. My other car is a Saturn, so I guess I'm spoiled.

Report Abuse

Pretty good little car

Chris James, 06/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my car for a few years now and the thing just keeps running. I have had to put a little money in it here in there to keep it running, but the car has over 133,000 miles on it with no sign of stopping. I have seen many other cars with over 150,000 and even 200,000. There are little problems here and there with things such as the electrical system which is typically bad from the factory. Other than that it is a good around town car.

Report Abuse

Take a Walk on the Mild Side

Sponge Bob Square VW, 10/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 1991 Volkswagen Jetta GL has been a very good car. The engine and transmission are superior because we have done a few simple things since day one: 1. We 'Baby' the car; 2. Use only synthetic motor oil (every 5k mi.); and 3. Use premium fuel. Our mechanic recently changed the valve cover gasket, looked inside, and said: "This does not look like an engine with 205k miles. It looks more like 75k." My mechanic is a friend and has 45 years experience with VW's. You be the judge....Thank you.

Report Abuse

Nothing but fun

a2jetta, 10/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second VW and I love it! It has only had normal maintenance. A couple of wrecks have not diminished the performance. It gave where it should have and repairs easily. Great docs.

Report Abuse

300,000km still strong

666, 11/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just purchased a 91 jetta GL. It has 300km on it and hasnt been rebuilt but still running strong. I think these cars can last forever if taken care of.

Report Abuse

91 - Bad year for the Jetta

ladyadonis, 10/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used. I was told that there were no problems with it. Well, that was a lie. I have had to replace brakes, fuel pressure regulators, a/c compressors. It needs weekly maintenance and sucks on oil and coolant like there's no tomorrow. VW's may be great cars, but the 91 Jetta just doesn't live up to the standard. I've heard many first hand complaints from other 91 Jetta owners too. At least I'm not alone...

Report Abuse

VW

kjy, 10/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is my forth vw and i've been pleased with all of them. i work on my own vehicle and volkswagen's have been a dream to work on.

Report Abuse

Jetta's rule!

jettagrrl, 12/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had 3 91/92 Jettas over the past 10 years, and I will always say they are my favorite type of car. They run great, are fun to drive and look good too. Put on some BBS's and installed Recaro seats, and I was in heaven!

Report Abuse

Great car for the budding mechanic

Safety Joe, 08/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car needed some TLC when I bought it. The drivers side seat belt ignition switch was starting to go bad. I decided to by-pass the system by cutting the wire that goes from the seat belt switch. I then connected the two wires leading away from the switch and pushed the wires back into the door. I've also replaced the coolant temp. sensor, a few vacuum hoses, one door handle and the engine knock sensor. The automatic transmition torque converter seal was leaking. I took the transmition out and put a new seal on it. Don't buy one of these cars if you can't fix them yourself.

Report Abuse

jetta GLI 16V

rob augello, 03/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i love the vw's. there so fun to drive and this 16v has decent power.i raced i 1.8t jetta and i held my own.The jetta still runs like new even at 135,000 miles.

Report Abuse

Never buy from an Auction

falkn2002, 04/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this VW from an Auction. After no more than 2 days, the trasmission it started to leak fluid, the mechanic charged me $400 to fix a bad seal. Than after anoter 2 days, the Automatic Trans. start slipping with a weird noise, now I have to rebuild the trans. which will cost $1500, and this car has only 81,000 Miles. and 3 owners before me. I wounder what else will go bad with this VW.

Report Abuse

I love My yellow 16v

yellow16v, 06/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Everything about this car is great other than it's not built to take my abuse. I'm on my second motor and it runs beautiful, so did the first one until I advanced the timing and through a rod!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050