Used 2008 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$5,776 - $8,926

Used Tacoma for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love it!!!!

fatvette, 04/07/2012
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

This has been an awesome truck for what I use it for. I bought it new in 2008 and it currently has 31000 mile on it. Although the miles are relativity low I have not had any failures of any type. The truck has been flawless. The truck is very comfortable considering the bench seat but I did add an aftermarket center console/armrest. Having a place to rest your arm made a big improvement over holding it in your lap or resting on the seat. Engine power in more then adequate. Brakes are a little spongy and road noise on this base model is noticeable.

Report Abuse

My 1st Used Toyota Tacoma

Winston, 12/01/2015
2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

I sold my 2011 Silverado v8 with 31k miles on it and brought this 2008 used Tacoma (4 cylinder 2.7). I drove it off the lot with 42k miles. I love this little basic truck, it's comfortable for my 6'1 350lb frame. I brought it to drive back and forth to work (40 miles round trip) and to fool around on the weekends. I barely use my other truck at home. I'm sure I'll get 300k miles out of this truck. It's fun and basic and easy on your wallet at the gas pump. I get about 23 mpg on the highway which is better then my Silverado. Perfect little truck! As of 11/2017 I no longer own the Tacoma. It still was a great truck up until I traded it in on a 2012 Toyota Prius V. Saving a lot more on gas, can’t beat 40+ mpg.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it

jeff, 11/22/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love the truck for the price. Got the base model with automatic. No complaints. Would have been nice if Toyota would have added wiper delay as part of the BASIC package like almost everyone else. That part is annoying. Have bench seats. Would have liked bucket but like I said I got the base model. It was priced lower than any other truck in its size. And hey it's a Toyota. It will run forever. Nuff said

Report Abuse

Toyota Reliability Again!

GeorgeNfla, 08/28/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second late model Tacoma. The 2.7L-4-cylinder engine performs very strongly, yet returns decent mileage, high 20s. The truck fires off with the ignition so quickly, barely hear the starter. I own a base Tacoma with automatic as the only option. The only option I wish I would've gotten was cruise-control, other than not having that, its a perfect truck without flaws. I would recommend it to a friend.

Report Abuse

Junk!

SPS, 08/15/2017
2dr Regular Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is the 3rd Toyota pickup I have owned. I thought it would be a "no-brainer" to trade in my 99 for newer 08 Tacoma. Wrong! I can't really point out one specific problem because the entire vehicle has issues in almost every department. I've had valve issues, clutch issues, steering issues, suspension issues, brake, rust, fuel, electric and about 5 serious recalls. all adding up to over $5000.00 in repairs at 95,000 miles. This company is losing its grip and is probably on a landslide to bankruptcy but you wouldn't know it talking to these clowns at the dealership. They are not trained in vehicles but rather poker. They will keep a straight face while looking at this steaming pile of rust and tell you that everything is running smoothly. Like: "believe me, not your own eyes". My advice to people looking for a reliable truck would be to pass on anything that has the letters t-o-y-o-t-a on it. These trucks are junk! They may have been good in past years, but now all Toyota makes is Junk.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's a Toyota

dino, 12/31/2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th toyota purchase and my first truck. I purchased the prerunner access cab 4cyl 5sp with the convenience package. It cost me $19,300 with 3 years of zero financing. Even though I liked the older body style this was a no brainer purchase. I wanted a truck that looked good and got decent gas mileage(20 to 25). It's like the old tacoma on steriods. It should last me quite awhile.

Report Abuse

Basic 4WD Toyota compact pickup

Western Plainsman, 12/14/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The pickup rides surprisingly well; seat is okay; sufficient legroom; good passing power in 4th gear; 22 MPG at 70 MPH so far...1,500 miles. Bought the cheapest 4WD pickup Toyota makes; only option is Air. I've added floor mats & a factory cruise. My wife inherited the Tundra 4WD. She didn't want the Tacoma because it has none of the goodies. Hey, but it's paid for!

Report Abuse

Excellent Little Truck!

Tommy, 06/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this "mini-taco" 03-22-2008 as a way to downsize and conserve. Couldn't be happier with this truck. It is the 4x4 regular cab, the smallest tacoma. What a great design, big on features. Driving mildly, now averaging 23-24 mpg overall. Thats not great but consider its a 4x4. It handles the road much better than the older generation. The steering radius is another pleasant surprise. The performance is better than expected. The 4cyl engine will really move if you want it to. I did get the SR5 package which gives the reg cab truck bucket seats. Very comfortable and supportive. Many cup holders, using the 2 on the rear of the center console for reserve water bottles.

Report Abuse

Update

Western Plainsman, 09/23/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After 14,000 miles, the mileage @ 70 MPH is now up to 24 MPG. That's satisfactory for a 4x4. Pickup is smooth and the bench seat okay on long trips. Don't care for the Dunlap tires; they're smooth, but sure don't have the quality of Michelins. I added a factory cruise control and 2 factory 'D' ring tie-downs to the front of the bed. This little rascal ought to come stock (or at least available) with intermittent wipers & cruise. It rides & handles just fine. For a basic 4x4 under 20 Grand pickup, I don't see how you can beat it. Tight, no rattles, easy to do maintenance, pretty dog-gone good ride. I'm a bear to satisfy...and I'd buy this one again in a second!

Report Abuse

Mileage report

Lowsidr, 01/14/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck used with 15K on it. I traded in an 89 4runner w/200K 13 mpg. The primary reason for buying a small truck was the fuel economy. Fuel prices seem to be on the rise once again, who knows what will happen in the years to come. I live in S.W. FL. and commute 20 miles each way a day. Mostly at 45 to 60 mph, mixed city driving mostly. My first tank returned 25.8 MPG! I "babied" the truck trying to keep the RPM under 2K. I did spin it up when needed. You can get great fuel economy out of this truck and still be courteous to others.

Report Abuse

Base 4x4 VG but needs basic amenities

TBloch, 01/26/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Tacoma. The truck is nice and tight, no rattles or squeaks. Much bigger than my '96, which I don't like, but it rides and handles well. The bench seat is more comfortable than the one in my '96. The 2.7 engine is peppy. Wish I had opted for an automatic, but those are probably hard to find in a reg cab 4x4.

Report Abuse

4th Toyota truck!

Hobopoet, 12/11/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I wanted a truck that would tow my trailer, get me into the back country, get good mileage, be reliable and dependable: what else but another Toyota! This is my 4th, and I've never had a complaint or serious problem. Toyota is offering incentives now and that swung the deal for me. But I would have purchased one without that.

Report Abuse

2000 miles later

Tacoma, 04/11/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first Tacoma, but I've been in love with this truck for years. It handles fine for me; it's just a truck, not a sports car. Off-road the truck handles well and performs better, but the stock tires need to go if you plan on doing some serious off-roading. Otherwise, I've been averaging over 20 mpg doing mostly highway driving through the Cumberland mountains (a 4spd automatic might have been a better choice since the 4cylinder needs to be in 4th gear to climb hills on the interstate). The base model comes with no frills, but I can handle crank windows and push mirrors--it's a truck plane and simple.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050