Used 2004 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,417 - $6,375

Used Tacoma for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The Truck I've Alway's Wanted!!!!!

Jamie Crawford, 12/06/2016
4dr Double Cab V6 4WD SB (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

I've owned several trucks in my life. But, when I was in the Army I bought an older base model 2wd Toyota truck. It had the Manual Transmission which was a blast to drive. I put that little truck through it's paces, especially when I went Deer hunting. After I got out of the Army and got into Law Enforcement, the idea of owning another Toyota never left my mind. I'm a big fella with 5 children, so I knew if I was going to get another Toyota, it would have to be the 4 door model. I also wanted a 4x4. So I finally found one back in 2013. It's a 2004 Tacoma, 4 Door and 4x4. Since I've had it, I know that I will never own another truck unless it's a Toyota. Now that I'm a single Father of 5 children, ages ranging from 14 to 4, all of us fit comfortably even with my 4 year old's seat. The previous owner had placed an alarm on it, which made it make that aggravating sound every time I used the remote to lock it, so I quickly disabled it. But other than that, I absolutely LOVE my truck. I've only had to use my 4 wheel drive "low" a couple of times when Deer hunting. It's amazing, of course the turning radius while in 4 wheel low isn't the greatest, but I think that's the case in most 4x4 trucks. But I was pleasantly surprised when I had to use the 4 low, and how easy it was to get me out of my situation's. The only negative thing I can think of about my truck is the clock location. It's located a little lower than the steering wheel and if I need to see what time it is, I have to look around the steering wheel to see it. Other than that, I think it's common knowledge that a Toyota vehicle is reliable and with regular maintenance, will last you for a very long time. I wished I could afford a new model, but maybe after I win the lottery, I guess I should start playing it first. But like I said, when it's time to pass my truck down to my boys, I will not buy anything other than a Toyota. They look great, run great, have good safety features, are fairly economical and will last it seems like forever, depending on how the owner drives it and maintains it. I'm a Patriot and I buy American made products when I can, but in my opinion there isn't an American made truck that's half as reliable as a Toyota. So drive safe, wear that seat belt, and I hope that whomever reads this has a blessed day. God Bless America and I hope God Blesses each and everyone of you.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

An excellent vehicle!

Corey Dulan, 02/07/2016
4dr Double Cab PreRunner V6 Rwd SB (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Ive had mine for ten years. I bought it in '06 with 27k miles. Loved it the moment I drove it, its a great all around vehicle. Ive NEVER broke down. Only thing that has gone out on its own was the A/C compressor at 148k miles, it has 202k as of 2/6/16. Gas mileage is ok but this truck is solid and well worth the investment. I wont drive anything but a Toyota after having this incredibly reliable truck. Cant say enough good things about it except I wish I had another one or three.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy Camper

Real McCoy, 09/02/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned, very sporty looking and scheduled oil changes is only maintenance that has been required. Very happy with this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Toyota trucks can't be beat

Uncle Dan, 07/31/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I sold my beloved '88 Toyota extended cab truck to buy this one. That was the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned and I hope the Tacoma holds up as well. After 11,000 miles, no problems at all. This is a well designed and laid out small truck. I purchased it through Edmunds internet referral service and it was simple. I entered the options I wanted and the next day I got a call from North Hollywood Toyota. They had the exact vehicle I wanted in stock and quoted a price that was 10% under sticker. I may have saved more with a lot of calls, but it wasn't worth it. I told em I'd be out to pick it up and I was in and out of the dealer in less than an hour. Simple.

Report Abuse

I trust this truck to get me wherever, whenever

Indy, 12/22/2017
4dr Double Cab V6 4WD SB (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying the people who say these trucks are unreliable or have left them stranded, I don't believe them. This is coming from someone who has one with 230,000 miles on the clock, that's been beat senseless off-road and driven long hard miles on road. Never once has it had an issue. Not once! Just basic maintenance and care. To me this includes the replacement of things that get worn out after 200k miles off-road. Like wheel bearings, tie rods, shocks etc. Which I have had to do, but like I said I've never had an unexpected break down or issue. This truck has been %100 reliable. I also see a lot of people complaining about ride comfort which I admit is not great, but what you have to understand is Toyota build a vehicle to get you there, not pamper you. That's why Lexus was born. It's not meant to be a luxury sedan. It's a truck, grow up. The Tacoma is meant to give you the confidence to go anywhere you want to go because it can and will make it there. Doesn't get the best mpg, the interior quality is just a bit below average and it could use a bit more power if you ask me, but non of that means anything to me in the grand scheme of things because properly maintained I would trust this truck to get me around the world... a few times.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GREAT LITTLE TRUCK!

Jar-Head!, 09/16/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I finally decided to get rid of my 94 Toyota Pickup Truck (135,000 miles on it) and upgrade to something a bit nicer. I had to go with another Toyota truck - my 94 was just so good to me and really did hold its value - even with the high mileage. I wanted to wait for the new and redesigned 05 Tacoma but figured that the current model has been battle tested (something that new vehicles can only claim after being around for a few years). I really wanted a 4-door but was turned off at first when I found out that they only came with automatic transmissions. After a test drive I changed my mind. Bottom line - it's a very solid truck that will last!

Report Abuse

My Used '04 Taco D-Cab

Rattles, 07/13/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck used and it only had 10k on it. Its my 3rd Toyota truck; an 89 XtraCab with 163k and a 91 4Runner with 269k (both had 22REs and 5 speeds). This truck was near-perfect for me for what I was looking for. The only problem I have had is a squeaky rear leaf spring. Otherwise it lives up to its Toyota reputation. I love the DoubleCab after having a sedan.

Report Abuse

Tacoma Crew

gnshpdude, 05/16/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

2.7 L Is a little underpowered and only gets 1 MPG more then my friends V6 Tacoma. Seats get a little uncomfortable on long rides. Other then that a great reliable truck.

Report Abuse

Lemon

DevScott, 06/25/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My tacoma broke down after a week, had it fixed, broke down again two weeks later. They have been blaming it on interior water leaks that short out the electronics. It's in for the third time now, still leaking water, still breaking down. 2000 km. 5 weeks old. It's been in the shop for 12 days and counting. Anybody can make a lemon. Don't get caught up in

Report Abuse

THE 4 DOOR TACOMA

JIM IN FLORIDA, 08/22/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

,THE 4 DOOR IS GREAT FOR 4 PEOPLE OR FOLD DOWN THE SEAT FOR STORAGE.I SEE IN THE REVIEWS THAT WE ALL DONT LIKE THE CLOCK,, I CHECK IT AT RED LIGHTS,,HAHA,,I LIKE THE WAY IT HANDLES, DESCENT ON GAS,(LIVING IN FLORIDA WITH THE A/C ON ALOT CAUSES MUCH LOWER GAS MILEAGE)LIKE THE RELIABLITY OF IT,THE ONE THING I WOULD LIKE TO SEE IS A DIGITAL TYPE COMPASS ON THE MIRROR LIKE I SEE IN SOME OTHER 25,000 DOLLAR VEHICLES. I TRAVEL ALOT WITH MY TRUCK AN MAYBE A DIGITAL COMPASS/TEMPERATURE GAUGE COMBO ON THE REAR VIEW MIRROR.I'D LIKE TO KNOW IF ANYONE NOTICES AFTER IT RAINS, THE WATER DRIPS RIGHT INTO THE POWER WINDOWS CONTROLS

Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page:
51050