Used 2017 Subaru WRX STI Limited Consumer Reviews

List Price
$37,777

Used WRX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best combination of fun and value!

Matt, 04/08/2017
STI Limited 4dr Sedan AWD w/Low Profile Trunk Spoiler (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Pound for pound and dollar for dollar, nothing rivals this car. It performs like a Corvette (actually outperforms a Corvette in bad weather) but you can get two of these for the same price. I'm too old for a car with a wing-- I think they look silly-- but when Subaru added the option of a lip spoiler instead of the wing I went ahead and made the purchase. The back seat is plenty roomy for two adults (or a baby seat or two). Note that it ships with summer tires, so if you live somewhere that gets below 45 degrees you'll need a second set of tires and rims. Also, you'll need the center arm rest extension for comfort, but be warned that the Subaru arm rest extension will replace your nice padded carbon leather/red stitching with cheap black plastic. Get the JDM dual console arm rest extension from subispeed instead-- it gives you the same higher elbow support but it allows you to reuse the original console lid, preserving the overall look and feel. Update: still love to get into this car every time. My son and I took it on an epic four day road trip from Chicago to the west coast. It's fine if a bit loud on the interstate, but it really shines on the twisty two lane roads. Very comfortable seats, the interior controls have before intuitive, and with new all season tires the road noise is lessened. Update 10/10/2018: A year and half into owning the car, I'm still thrilled to get into it every morning. One drawback: the navigation system is garbage. But with Google maps on my phone, I have a perfectly adequate workaround. Update 10/10/2020: Still in love with this car. Just got back from a 5200 mile road trip and loved every mile. Now that it's off of warranty I've made a few of the bolt-on modifications (turbo inlet, cold air intake, turboback exhaust, bigger injectors, fuel rails and lines, bigger fuel pump) and it's even more fun to drive. And even with the stage 3 mods I get 26 mpg on the highway. Loads of fun, especially for the money. Update 4/13/2021: Not much to add-- drove less than a thousand miles since the big road trip (not commuting to work b/c of pandemic). Still love this car though.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome

Roland, 08/12/2016
STI Limited w/Wing 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I drove the 2017 WRX and the STI,and I have to tell you,the only reason I bougt the STI is because it sound better,if feels better,and performs better.that simple,my STI limited it has everything I want on a car.It's been 2 years now and I had drove the car for about 10000 miles and I just recently change the oil and the car is still brand new,I think it sounds a little louder, when I turn it on everything rattles inside of my house and I have not done any performance at all but what can i say I love my STI. Recently I broke my foot and I can’t drive it so my wife has been driving the car around, She get a lot of compliments but She hates the car because it’s too loud, She loves the looks.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Clunking noise.

Tim Matthews, 03/09/2018
STI Limited 4dr Sedan AWD w/Low Profile Trunk Spoiler (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 11 people found this review helpful

Since about 4,000 miles, the car developed a clunking noise in the front suspension. It is progressively getting worse. It has been in the shop four times across two different dealerships. They can't find the problem but they admit it is making a noise. Even Subaru America will not do anything. At this point I am hiring a lawyer. Update, I traded the wrx in on a more reliable vehicle, GMC Sierra and I have no issues with my GMC.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Speedy!

Aaron Comins, 01/28/2017
STI Limited w/Wing 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Awesome car and i mean awesome! Extremely fast and exhilarating to drive. Few cons are non heated steering wheel and nav Screen is small.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Loving my sti

Big Dee, 11/02/2017
STI Limited w/Low Profile Trunk Spoiler 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love it. Boost is great ... handles great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

57 cars owned and this one does it all...

Eric, 04/21/2019
STI Limited w/Wing 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Unless you need to tow something, or haul more than 5 people, there isn't a better car, period. This satisfies the driver, the player, the metro, the green thumb, mom, girlfriend, kids, teens, and it will make grampa feel young again. It is just SO satisfying to drive. Every muscle car is fast, yes. Problem is, you get 2 gears and unless you want a ticket, the fun is done. I'm shifting as much or as little as I want. I can be docile or aggressive. I can get 25mpg,or I can run it like it's intended and get 20mpg. The interior has SURPRISING room both front and back, and is comfortable when adjusted to your liking. I am 6' and have a toddler car seat behind me with room for both of us to spare. Tremendous tech features and easy logistics. Attention to detail given in the STI Limited, and it feels very modern and sharp. Radio needed adjustment and fine tuning, but sounds terrific through the Harmon Kardon speakers. For performance, the STI HAS IT ALL. AWD, Forged wheels, brembo brakes, big turbo and intercooler, responsive steering, tuned suspension, Adjustable center differential, and 3 adjustable ECM settings on the fly that are very noticeable in their differences. All of it comes with Subaru reliability and durability. I'm just so happy this one fell into my lap. You will not regret it. Like the title says, I've owned 57 cars in 25 years of driving, mostly because I get bored easily. This is my new favorite! Onlu one recommendation...buy the JDM armrest extender for the center console. It was a strange design to have the OEM one so low.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050