Used 2016 Subaru WRX Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$17,995 - $30,990

Used WRX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The perfect daily driver

Xavier Rodriguez, 08/20/2015
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
34 of 34 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car for a few weeks now and Now onto the pros. The first thing would be the engine, it's amazing! You have plenty of power down low in the rev band so getting the car up to speed is very easy. Also, there is plenty of torque so if you want to pass someone on the highway in 6th gear you can easily once boost kicks in. 0-60 times very close to the STi because you can get the 60 mph in 2nd gear. If you're into modifying your car, the FA20DIT engine takes mods on very well. If you look online you can see people with Stage 2 WRX's making very similar power to Stage 2 STi's. ETS has over a 400 whp WRX with a stock block, fuel pump, and injectors (try that with the EJ257). The next pro is the AWD system which is amazing for all four seasons. You get the excellent traction you would expect out of a Subaru during the winter months but also get the excellent traction on the dry pavement as well. Once you know how to launch an AWD car properly, this thing takes off like a rocket ship with barely any wheel spin like a FWD/RWD car would have. The MPG is very good if you stay out of the turbo, you can easily get 30mpg+ just cruising on the highway. Subaru also definitely stepped up their game in terms of interior material quality. The interior has much more soft touch points than in previous iterations of the WRX. The Premium model comes with nice features such as fog lights, cold weather package (heated seats, side mirrors and windshield wiper de-icer), and sunroof. Now onto the cons. I am not a huge fan of the stock 6-speed transmission. I didn't get the STi short throw shifter so I can't speak on that but the stock shifter has pretty long throws and it's very notchy. I've also sometimes had difficulty going from 2nd to 3rd gear when driving the car quickly. I've grinded the gear before as well as sometimes accidentally go into 5th gear. Subaru has never been known for having great transmissions, but I wished they made this one a bit better. Another con is the stock sound system which is absolute garbage! I didn't get the H/K upgrade or the Kicker upgrade so I can't speak on those, but the stock speakers are just horrible. Very quiet with no bass. Definitely something I plan on upgrading as soon as possible. Another thing I don't like is that stock center armrest, I wish it was a bit higher. There is an extension you can get as well as a JDM center armest option you can buy online, but I wish they made it a bit taller from the factory. If you can deal with these cons which aren't a huge deal, then this is the perfect daily driver for someone who likes to have a bit of fun on their commute to work and back. The car is quick, practical, safe and reliable which will be tough to beat. If you want to leave it stock, you'll have fun. If you want to modify it, you'll have even more fun! I look forward going to work each day because I know I get to drive this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 base model WRX

Pearl White WRX, 08/01/2015
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

I went from a 2007 stage 2 STI to a bone stock 2016 WRX. During the 1st 1,000 miles it was hard to tell just how fast the WRX would end up being after break-in. The turbo spools so much faster than the STI but then I was shifting around 3k RPM. Luckily I had read many reviews about the touchy throttle, quick spool and then running out of steam around 5k RPM so I knew what to expect once I did get past the break-in. If you're looking for a dragster this is not the car for you, especially in stock form. The turbo spools very quickly and very suddenly, at 5,000-5,750 RPM there is a very noticeable dip in power and then it starts picking up again and then you have to shift. The stock tune is really my main complaint, but I understand Subaru intentionally tuned it very conservatively for longevity. It handles better than the 2007 STI without a doubt. The STI had very stiff suspension but noticeably more body roll and under steer. Where the STI could really stretch it's legs on a racetrack, the WRX really shines blasting through the canyons. With it's short gear ratios and instantaneous spool, the windier the road the better. My other critiques would be the gear shifter feel, the STI was not a smooth shifter either but the WRX is very notchy. The stock speakers and Bluetooth are not great, sometimes the stereo will refuse to connect to Pandora. The all black interior shows off every speck of dust no matter how often you clean it. The initial bite of the break peddle is not as good as the STI (but most cars aren't). The dreaded Rev hang is definitely noticeable but actually doesn't bother me at all, but it was weird at first. I know I'm way in the minority on this issue, but I think the stock exhaust is a little loud and boomy (my stage 2 STI was catted, resonated and I had the stock mufflers on it. I know, weak!) And seriously this is just nitpicking. 99% of WRX owners will replace the stock tune, shifter and bushings, add louder exhaust and upgrade the stereo. So basically all my "complaints" are extremely fixable. Now what I love about the WRX. The looks, I absolutely love this body style! The lip spoiler, the 17 inch dark grey stock rims. The interior is very well laid out and the steering wheel is awesome! It handles amazing, unbelievable for a $27k car! The fuel economy is great. The gauges and touch screen interface with the backup camera are really nice. The seats and the driving position are perfect in my opinion. The extra 2 inches of legroom in the backseat go a long way, 6+ feet tall passengers can comfortably fit back there now. The truck space and folding rear seat backs make it very practical. The outward visibility with the little split windows up front are great. Overall there is very little to dislike about the 2016 WRX base model. For a $27,000 non front wheel drive, 4 door, 6 speed manual sporty car, I couldn't find anything else I would rather have.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A blast to drive!!! 2016 base WRX

Josue Lopez, 12/30/2015
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I'm loving this car, I had a 2009 WRX and this car is completely different, interior, engine and suspension wise. This car turns flat there is no roll, the suspension is stiff, you feel like you are really driving a sports car. Tire and wind noise can be improved. Interior is a big improvement over old WRX's, now it is a nice place to be. Materials and design are much better and the sound system even though is not the best is much better than the one that I had before. ( Hate that sound system ). I got the short shifter and is also way better than the long throws of the old 5 speed WRX's. The engine delivers very good torque starting from 2300 RPM's. When driving on the highway on 6th gear you don't need to downshift to get the car going, with the old engine you had to wait until 4000RPM for it to really start moving. As one reviewer said on this new engine, it feels like in Research and Development stage. When you press the gas pedal halfway (maybe much less) from 2300RPM you feel like a nice surge of power that decreases around 4300RPM's it feels very nice and fast without using the whole tachometer. Now if you press the gas pedal all the way down there is no linearity in the power delivery, is like you can feel the turbo easing up then spooling up a couple of times before reaching redline. It is part of its personality. The sense of solidity and good grip give you a nice secure feeling. The WRX that i had got flooded 5 years ago with 7k and truth is I didn't like that car. After reading the reviews of the 2015 model year I decided to give it a shot , test drove it, like it, and now after 2k I want to go to work, and after work home just to drive it. It is not perfect but you learn to appreciate how good it is!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 WRX limited– Mostly positives!

JayJayJay, 02/04/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

OK, I’ve gotten to know this car incredibly well, and I love it. I’m sure you know about all the positives – – it’s got incredible lateral grip on the turns, and corners beautifully, and it’s very fast. It’s not a Ferrari, but if you leave your foot on the accelerator in high gear you’ll be over 100 miles an hour before you know it. And this car gives you tons of acceleration from about 3300 Rpm up, when the turbo kicks in, especially in the first three gears. It’s fun to pass other cars if you need to when the needle is above 3300. It’s got a lot of personality, and this is so much fun to drive. I love that most WRX’s are still stick shifts, although some of you are probably going to opt for the automatic option. You will amaze your friends who are, like not expecting much from it and then you take them on a windy Canyon Road. That’s what I love about this car, it’s a wolf in sheep’s clothing (although it does look a little bit aggressive). This model has an incredible stereo system with subwoofers that I love, and leather seats. Later years have the LED daytime running lights around the headlight edges — The C lights, as people call them. This one has LED headlights, but does not have the bright C lights like the new ones do. I wish it did. Gets a nice 30 miles to the gallon while cruising on the highway in sixth gear. Overall, I Love this car HOWEVER there are some drawbacks to this car that you should consider before you buy it: The suspension is very, very firm, which means the car drives spectacularly on smooth surfaces, and during turns, but, if you hit a pothole in this car, it is extremely jarring, and you will feel pain ( and maybe cry for a moment) for your poor vehicle’s suspension. Also, the all wheel drive is spectacular, and you can feel it working on turns. And when you go over little humps where maybe you catch a little air and only two wheels are on the ground, The all wheel drive keeps you connected to the road with the other two wheels. Awesome. .... ......but I find if I am slowly making a tight turn on uneven surface— like a place where the angle of the end of a driveway and the road are opposed —-the AWD system actually sort of jams up and automatically “stalls“. This can be dangerous if you’re waiting at an uneven gutter/driveway to turn into fast traffic! ....... You see a break in the traffic, pull out the clutch pedal to enter traffic, and suddenly there’s a grinding noise because the all wheel drive system is not meant for a slow, tight right-angle turn on uneven surfaces, and the engine literally stops giving you power — Power you need to get up to the speed of the traffic that’s zooming towards you. I know Subaru tries to be, and is, one of the safest car companies out there, but this seems like an accident waiting to happen for someone who doesn’t understand the system. Also Subaru has twice had to replace my side view mirror caps because the automatic mirror heaters inside them are causing the mirror caps to sort of melts a little bit. Annoying! Despite a couple of quirks, I love this car, so I extended my lease to 42 months, and if the new redesigned one was out, I imagine I would lease the new WRX, too,. I can’t wait to What Subaru does with it. At least I assume there is a new one coming out, this one’s been out for a few years now.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best I have ever owned!

Jonathan Guzman, 03/05/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great control, great ride, and great style. This is the best car I have ever owned and it just keeps getting better every time I drive it. The limited edition has sooo many features that I wonder how it feel without them. The performance is so great I honestly don't know the difference between the STI and the Limited edition. Either way this is a great car and if you haven't test driven it yet, you need to. O and before I forget, I am a family man and this car has plenty of space for two baby car seats, which means if you're single you'll have plenty of space for those party weekends. UPDATE 9/16/2018: Still a great car, amazing performance, and great style that lasts. The only problem I have had with the car is a poor performing battery. Not a problem because I always replace my car battery with a dry-cell battery just because of the deep winter conditions that seem to weaken car batteries. Other than that I'm a Subaru owner for life.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Finally a timing chain

Calarco, 07/28/2015
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Quick engine. twin turbo kicks your head back at 3500rpms. ride is smooth, road noise due to 17inch rims with skinny tire side walls. great clutch and smooth shifting 6 speed. The Stereo just stinks. rear speakers mounted in rear door. WHY WHY WHY. HD FM reception fades in and out and with your windows down and sitting on I95 the volume is cranked to 40. Needs a AMP. OK on gas but likes the cooler burning 93 octane. Expensive. With heated seats and sunroof plus shipping and taxes, 30,000. And get the 500.00 5yr rim and tire replacement. Still breaking motor in. My last car was a 09 Mustang and this WRX beats the stang in everway except the stereo, and too much eye candy gauges. Under warranty; Throw out bearing on clutch. Recall on intake for turbo. A/c not that cold even after charge Ditch the dunlop tires. They are hard as rocks. I slapped on Continentals all season, Great comfort ride and good in snow

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

WRX ROX!

Lee Rousso, 03/06/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my fifth Subaru and by far my favorite! It feels like a big upgrade from my Legacy, even though the Legacy is more of a luxury car. The big difference is the 252hp engine...I love the extra power.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sports Car for the Outdoor Enthusiast!

Aron M, 04/07/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

So, I have always wanted to own a Subaru WRX. Ever since I drove one in 2002, I have been in love. The symmetrical all-wheel drive, the look, the feel of the car grip the road, the speed...oh, what speed, indeed! It is amazing, when you slam the stick shift from 1st to 2nd, and the turbo kicks in (albeit with a bit of turbo lag), it makes you feel like you could take on the best Nascar drivers! Now, I have my 2016 Subaru WRX Premium as my everyday driver. I leased mine, and have been driving it everyday for just over a month. The first couple of weeks take some getting used to with the clutch. I have just gone over the 1000-mile "break in" period. Unbeknownst to me, however with a read of the manual and a quick look online, I did not realize that I had to keep it under 4,000 RPMs, and not take off really quickly. Whoops! I am still having trouble adjusting to the clutch, and I have not owned a ton of manual transmission cars, but I learned to drive on a stick shift, and driven plenty more. I do not stall out, but my biggest problem is the shift from 2nd to 3rd (with smooth shifts only happening maybe 1 out of every 3 times), and 3rd to 4th (with smooth shifts happening 2 out of every 3 times). Not bad, but I would like to get both numbers down to 0 by the end of my second month. At least with a quick Google search, I realized that I am in good company. With all this in mind, I love the looks that I get when I am driving it on the road, the turbocharged 268-bhp engine is plenty powerful, and it feels like a sports car. A sports car that can handle the snow and mud! And at only $30,000, you won't mind getting it a bit dirty. I have yet to take it to the snow, as it is April in Fresno, CA and it has all but disappeared. I still have the summer tires that came with the car, but I plan on getting all weather this fall. The WRX can be a bit touchy in city traffic, in 1st or 2nd, but you get used to. My advice is that if you do not want to deal with a clutch like this on a daily basis, then look at other stick shift cars that are easier on the person shifting. What I mean is more forgiving. Or just spend the extra money and get the CVT (continuously variable transmission). After the first couple of weeks, I even started to doubt my penchant for driving stick shift. However, as I stuck (pun intended!) with it, I have been overjoyed that I did! So, if you are a Subaru WRX enthusiast, and want to feel like that kid that just got his first Camaro at the age of 16, then I highly recommend this car. It may not be for everybody, but I definitely is worth that test drive!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

WRX Made My Smile Wider:)

Buddy, 06/28/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I own/lease a 2017 WRX.And this cars despite some reviews does not ride harsh at all .I have never been so impressed with the performance .Steering is awesome and car is as tight as a drum.Get one! You will love it.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Great performance value

zeus, 03/06/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Really enjoy my WRX!

David Feinstein, 03/28/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Extremely well made car that is a blast to drive. It performs well, and looks great without drawing too much attention. It's fun to drive every single time I get into it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

2016 WRX 1 year and 26,000 miles later

valerysbills@gmail.com, 11/30/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought one after being urban and car-free for 2 years. Had SAAB turbos before and wanted something fun with a stick which is becoming harder and harder to get in the US. Always wanted a WRX and was hoping for a 2nd hand clean STI which turned out harder to find than I though. Bought new since the Prem was within my budget (should have ordered Limited for the lights alone). The Good: Nothing offers AWD and this much fun for the price. Tons of aftermarket goodies for tuning. Good fuel economy for a near 300 hp car. Little turbo lag. Beast in the snow when I put snow tires on it. Far better interior quality than that FisherPrice plastics that Subies have been known for. The Bad: Interior is still cheap with a lot of rattles. Stock ECU tune is crap... falls flat on its face at 4,300 rpm and a COBB tune is a must (or a pro-tune). Headlights on prem and base have poor output. Interior ergonomics are 3/10.... One-touch window for driver only (in 2016!!!), no light sensor to adjust dashboard brightness (in 2016!!!!). A lot of engine movement which leads to sloppy shifter feel. Good car for the money but you will spend a lot of time and $$$ on aftermarket bits to remove/resolve some of the penny pinching that Subaru did.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

108K miles. Purchased in late 2015. A reflection

Max, 10/29/2018
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I got the car in October 2015. Right off the bat I loved it, dealer serviced its whole life, no issues until about 70K. At around this time I had a washer in the center differential "explode" as my tech at the time and now personal friend said. I was past my warranty and Subaru ended up doing a one time good will on it and saved me from an $1800.00 repair bill. No one knew why it happened and it was something that never happened before apparently. Got the car back and all was well up to about 100k miles(prior a recirculating valve hose popped off, but no biggie). At this point my throw out bearing was failing and I thought they would have replaced it when they had the transmission off the first time, as it had a service bulletin/limited recall on it. That was not the case, even though I brought it to their attention prior. Asked Subaru of America to maybe help out a bit, they declined (oh well, was worth asking). Threw in a new clutch and flywheel (Clutchmasters fx200 kevlar and ACT fly wheel) because, well I'm paying to have it off at 100K miles, why not just change it now then in 40 down the road? Then that TOB bearing broke off a piece and collapsed the clutch over the course of 4000 or so miles, this isn't so much a reflection of Subaru at this point but is something to keep in mind about choice of clutch when it comes time to change yours if you buy used. Over all though, you will notice that the clutch and 6 speed transmission are the bulk of the problems with FA20DIT WRX's. So if you're buying one, just know that it's the least reliable car of one of the most reliable brands, it's a sports car with 4 doors, and it needs often more aggressive then suggested maintenance to get the most out of it. With that said it is a fantastic car over all. With aggressive tires it will refuse to break traction, and the AWD 40/60 takes off like a bat out of hell. With the new engine platform you can expect often times better then advertised gas mileage(30~41) mpg hwy with normal tires) too if you have enough self control to not keep it in boost all the time. The gearing isn't optimal(not terrible) as some more qualified reviewers could explain if they put it head to head with the old 5spd. Big fan of the twin scroll turbo as well, super punchy in the lower mid range, but drops off on the top of the revs. If you go hard in corners, your tires won't last long either (40K on a summer Hankooks) The Subaru Bluetooth can get a little jenky if you have odd ball phones, other then that it all works fine. Most my miles are highway in FL so this will have a lot to do with what temperatures, miles, environment that this particular car has seen. I drive it spiritedly, but no launches or abuse. Hope this helps anyone looking to buy make a more informed decision.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Can't Find Much to Like

Christopher, 03/10/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
13 of 27 people found this review helpful

I hate this car. Maybe I'm just too old (55), but I struggle to find anything I like about it. OK, the handling is definitely great, and the climate control, too, but that's about it really. The acceleration, while good, is uneven and falls off suddenly at higher RPMs. But even that is OK, it's just everything else. Most of my complaints are small issues, but when added up just make for a crappy experience, especially considering this is a 30k-ish car in premium trim like mine. My biggest gripe is comfort. I heard nothing but good things about the seats when reading reviews, but they just don't work for me. I've had chronic neck and shoulder pain since the day I bought it. The arm rest with the extension and heated seat switch positions are a ridiculous afterthought. Add to that, that the engine races when started cold, even on warm days, and takes a long time to settle into a solid normal idle, the clutch feel is poor (I've driven sticks all my life, I know), the transmission is reluctant (maybe it's the STI short throw in mine) and sometimes will not go into first when the light turns green leaving you screwing around letting the clutch out and retrying. The interior materials are pretty substandard, it's ride overly harsh (they should save that for the STI), lots of road noise, and perhaps worst of all is the stereo, so you can't even drown out all the annoyances with some good music. I'll close with the comment that my 16 year old Jetta GLX was a better car in every respect except acceleration (not that bad with the vr6) and handling (too soft). I really miss that car... Be warned, this is not an enjoyable daily driver. [12/19/16] Update. After trying to live with this for a year, I finally sold it. I never warmed up to this car, and never looked forward to driving it. The transmission shifting that I complained about was the only thing that improved with time. That said, after about 1000 miles the throwout bearing started making noise on cold mornings. Reading up on that issue revealed comments that said "they all do that" and others that said they went to the trouble of trying to get it fixed, only to have it do it again in short order. I totally lost confidence over that issue. In spite of me saying I liked the climate control, that changed to not liking it when the weather turned warm. On hot days It just continues to blast you with cold air, never seeming to get a clue when enough is enough. I'd have to turn it up to 85 to get it to stop, otherwise it would just blast cold my whole 10 mile ride home from work. Never had that issue with my VW, it would almost immediately start dialing it back automatically. One of the final "last straw" issues for me was when one cool damp day I left it out and the side windows were all misted - I thought, "oh, I'll just roll the windows down to wipe them clean". Good luck with that, the windows in this piece of crap don't even touch the wiper trim. I literally had to push out on the windows while rolling them down and up to try to get them to wipe clean. Give me a freakin' break! If you have ever had a nice car and you buy this, you will forever be disappointed. I did have a happy ending, though. I managed to get out of the WRX and into a GTI for almost a wash due to the deep discounting at VW, and in the process picked up everything I was missing including leather interior, an awesome Fender stereo, push button entry/start, adaptive xenon lights, rain sensing wipers, etc, etc. If you must buy a WRX, I would advise buying a base model, spending more for any higher trim level is a waste, and will not somehow transform it into a better experience. It's like putting lipstick on a pig. It is what it is, a track weapon, not an enjoyable daily driver.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Value - True Drivers Car

DW, 01/04/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

The base audio is good only for the disinterested listener. Skip the HK-Nav package - upgrade the tweeters, speakers and add a subwoofer. Twice the car at a fraction of the cost of the real competitors.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

fast fun car electronics suck

Wayne Boucher, 05/19/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 14 people found this review helpful

I bought this car the day after Christmas and I love the handle and acceleration, I have a 2006 Miata 213,000 miles which I love and kept, the new Miata looks nice but driving it was very disappointing the new Miata is a dog because of the electronics. I wanted a manual transmission, yes corporate America not every is lazy and wants an automatic, some people like driving and hate cars that drive themselves. I love the acceleration of the car and the handling is awesome, once you shut off all the electronics crap that is. I hate the electronics, the hill assist I would not have bought the car if I could not turn hill assist off because it screws up driving the car, I shut the traction control off unless I forget, I wish I could shut off the antilock brakes, those suck. The airbags are dangerous, my daughter sits in the front and the airbags do not work by weight but by electric capacity and you can't shut them off so I am looking at how to disable them so my daughter doesn't get killed. The radio is the biggest piece of crap, it has 9 options which most of them try to connect to your phones internet, I want to delete those apps but can't. Touch screen radios in my option should be outlawed and I will be removing that crap radio from the car. They put a lot of annoying electronics in the car but if you search the net you can shut a lot of it off, wish I could shut off their annoying driving suggestions that come up when the car starts or it's icy out, I know how to drive, don't need a car telling how to drive. On the plus the car has tons of room inside even in the back seat, more room than you would think for the cars size, they kept the interior simple which I like, I hate a lot of fancy crap, the truck is huge which is a plus because the new Miatas trunk was no bigger than a back pack. Acceleration is incredible, when you hit the throttle the car launches, it is more fun than the Lamborghini Galardo I drove because of the manual transmission. The handling is awesome too, not as nimble as the old Miata because it weighs 1000lbs more, it is still great for windy roads, lots of fun. I like the styling and you can get it real colors instead of just silver and black, I got bright blue, looks awesome. I wish I could have got a sun roof but they only came with leather and I will never own a car with leather so I will have to add the sun roof later. If you want a fun car try a wrx, they for people who like to drive, I like to drive and will never own a self driving car.

Performance
Report Abuse

Very Happy with NEW WRX2016!

Steve Miller, 03/13/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Needs premium gas as it is a performance car. The 4-cylinder turbo boxer engine is on Ward's Top Ten Best Engines list for 2016! Fun to drive...makes me smile every time! SM

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great engineering

DB, 03/24/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car is well thought out. Tuned for enthusiasts even with the CVT, which is amazingly responsive. Handling is like on rails. Value (fun) for the money is unbeatable

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice ride

Someone Somewhere, 05/05/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is fast and fun, but it's also nice to drive smoothly. It can also get great mileage (29+MPG) around town if you are mindful.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Everyday Dad Mobile!!!

Lance, 06/26/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car can easily fit a family of 5 as long as your kids are all 12 and under. A lot of fun to drive and extremely easy to drive. I do agree the clutch is a little touchy compared to others I've had before. I see myself enjoying this car for years to come, and who knows I might get another one when I pass this on to the kids!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

More than I expected!

Tsong, 08/25/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had been looking for a brand new 4 door affordable Japanese performance sedan that offered a 6 speed manual for a while and the only options for me while I was looking were the WRX and the Honda Civic Si. I ended up with the WRX because of the fact that I may be moving somewhere with snow and would like the AWD, although I am skeptical about the reliability of a turbocharged car, this being my first one ever. I know for sure an Si would last a lot longer than the WRX but I was willing to take the leap and so far I am not disappointed. My previous car was a 2008 Hyundai Elantra which I had for the past 8 years since new, and compared to the WRX, the cabin was bigger and the chairs were a little more comfortable, as well as the trunk was bigger, so those are the main differences I notice body wise. The WRX interior quality is high in my book, with me looking at it as a turbocharged AWD Corolla/Civic/Elantra, and compared to my old Elantra as well as our 2011 Corolla S, the leather and metal accents as well as quality plastic make it a lot better than both my Elantra and Corolla, although I do wish there were more compartments. The headliner fabric is really old school with the fuzzy fabric, but they upgraded that on the 2017 to the material they have in most new cars (and on the sun visors for some reason), and I wish the doors would lock automatically after 30 seconds like on my Hyundai as well as if you could just open the door when it is locked in the inside and it would unlock (on the front doors) like on most other Toyotas, Hondas, Hyundais, etc. My main complaint is that the audio system is horrible, being that sound is flat, no bass at all, etc. My stock Hyundai system was as good as my Logitech computer speakers producing rich bass and great treble as well. I had a Costco Executive 50% off discount so I upgraded to the Kicker Speakers (6) for around $300 (including labor) without the sub and it improved it by a bit, but it's still only 60% of the sound quality as my Hyundai's, although it's now bearable. There is only 1 USB port and I plug my USB drive with music into it; it takes about 30 sec-1 min to start playing from when I start the car. The Starlink system overall is not great but it works, since it's laggy compared to the system in my 2013 Honda Accord which is faster, with bluetooth taking about 10 seconds to connect too. I drive on average 300 miles in about a 10 day period and get about 22-24 MPG AVG since it's mostly local, but when I have driven all freeway for day trips, the best I have gotten is 32.7 MPG but I usually average around 29-30 depending on if I engage boost often or not. The shifting is notchy which I like, and there is rev hang, but you are able adjust your shifting technique to accommodate (although if you get the Cobb Accessport and do the Stage 1 Tune it will rid of it, but that's if you are ok to risk your warranty before 36K miles). The AWD launches the car flat, totally different from FWD and RWD, and the suspension is stiff enough for taking corners but still good enough for daily driving. The main part that makes the car fun is the usable boost from the low to mid range, from around 2K-5.5K RPMS which is what makes it so great! I got the World Rally Blue which is a bit flashy, but I feel like you must get the signature color for this. The rims (on my Premium) are just dark gray 18' Enkei's from the 2011-2013 STI (previously Silver), but it really brings the exterior all together, making it look aggressive and perfect. I feel no need to change anything on the exterior as it already looks so good stock. Overall, if I could go back, I would get the Harmon Kardon audio upgrade since I don't really like aftermarket, and the car would be exactly the way I want it! The Kicker speakers are bearable so I don't see the point in spending more to upgrade again, since I do like listening to that turbo whistle once in a while! Basically if you want a practical, reliable?, economical, powerful, affordable, and fun small sedan that can perform in any weather, this is it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Practical and a blast to drive.

Robert Van Ackooy, 02/08/2017
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second AWD turbo (I had a 91 Eagle Talon TSi AWD for about 16 years) and first with an automatic. I picked up my white WRX in August of 2015. I love a manual with AWD, but with a 5 speed Mach 1 as my other car, I wanted one of my cars to be an automatic. The CVT in the WRX really mimics a manual very well. Responsive and not too smooth, so that you feel like you are driving a performance car and not a family sedan. Not gonna deny that a manual would be awesome in this car, but the CVT is not time spent in the penalty box at all. The technology in this car is pretty amazing. Never thought I would ever drive a fun, sporty car like this with so many bells and whistles. Lots of safety technology too. Maybe my all time favorite interior (I like it even better than my previous 2011 VW GTI). Seats are comfortable and the instrumentation looks terrific in red. The upgraded (HK) stereo really sounds amazing. The car is fast and feels fast. Very satisfying to drive. Love the signature hood scoop and the quad exhaust looks very sharp. I haven't had one regret about buying this car. Practical (4 doors, plenty of rear seat space, spacious trunk), safe (blind spot monitoring, lane change alert, rear camera, awesome AWD), and fun (great acceleration, nice exhaust note, athletic handling) all combine to make this car a total package. No boring drives in a WRX. Update (2/8/18): I had a Borla Catback Exhaust installed recently and it made a big difference in the sound. Factory exhaust was fine, but a bit tame. The Borla Exhaust added more tone and a lot more personality to the car. It simply has made a fun car to drive, even more fun to drive. Not “over the top” loud, but definitely noticeable in a good way. Update (8/10/18). The addition of the aftermarket catback (Borla) has continued to impress me and transform this CVT equiped WRX into a great sounding car. The extra tones coming out of the exhaust make you feel like you are driving a manual WRX. The CVT’s attempt to mimic shift points is enhanced by the rewarding growl of the exhaust. It is as much fun to drive now as my 5 speed manual 2003 Mustang Mach 1. Particularly in 8 speed sport sharp mode. Plenty of performance, awesome AWD, practicality of 4 doors/roomy back seats, and now a sound to match the performance make this car a cut above the rest.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A fun car, just know what it is you're buying...

Dovolmoy, 03/03/2018
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Okay, I'm a Subie driver, and the Rex is a Goddess. That being said, you have to really know what the WRX family really is, a boatload of fun, great, evolved drivetrain, amazing handling and all of the things that remind you it's a Subie on a daily basis. Hmmm...what do I mean by that? Okay, here's the deal, I've been a Subie driver for a while, I'm used to uh...less than opulent interior appointments, road noise and of course because I live in New England, potholes, other cars in its class are far more sparing on one's senses. I'm one of those guys with a sort of "Auto Union" envy. My car is in the same price class, but where the GTI is refined as only VW can, my car is uh, less refined. Why the Rex? It's simple, it's just a straight-up car, 6 speed, Symmetrical AWD, fun machine, a total beast when called upon and just plain solid car at leisure. I spent a couple of extra bucks for fog lights and what I consider an adequate car system. No really cool stuff like the GTI, just a straight up car. All of the ventilation works adequately. Sure there are days when I wish I had a bit more luxury, but the Rex is a trade-off, it's just a blast compared to the other cars I drove (GTI and Focus ST). If I wanted an automatic and a bit more creature comfort, I'd probably end up with....(drumroll please)...I have not a clue, but I've been driving Subie for a long time. I'd probably end up with a Forester XT.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

great car.

david, 02/24/2019
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In shopping for my 2016 Premium WRX, I found a big difference between cars, as far as clutch and shifting in particularly. some cars have been driven harder than others. Buyer beware. Very happy with the car, and I'm glad that I took the time to drive several cars before choosing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I couldn't love my car more

Cherijoli, 09/17/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

I am a service manager at a car dealer and have been exposed to many makes and models. This is by far the most fun car to drive!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 WRX

Ron, 05/02/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Disappointed

Sydney, 11/28/2019
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Car is very beautiful, was so excited to drive something sporty and new as my other cars are 20 years old. Right off the bat we noticed the clutch is very stiff, but nothing I can complain too much about as it will probably get better with time. My boyfriend bought the 2016 subaru wrx 2 weeks ago (early-mid November) as a "gift" for me/us. Has been driven every day/ every other day no issues. Day before thanksgiving it decides not to start 😑 most likely needs a new alternator. Definitely rethinking keeping the car. Very ticked and disappointed to say the least. Have never even had an instance where my old cars refuse to start like this. Will keep updated in case it turns out to be a different issue.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Vrroom Vrrroooom!

Kimberly Minton, 01/20/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

How to be a responsible driver! This car has got it all. Great ride, sleek, stylish and just plain FAST! I've found I can get better gas mileage driving in sport mode when traversing Ca. Foothills and traffic. I'm what you'd call a very ofensive driver. Way too many bad drivers out there. The similar design of the Impreza, this hot little car stays in incognito. The only criticism is too much outside noise. A bit rigid ride but completely makes up in handling. I love, love, love this car!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My First Subaru WRX

Kabir M., 03/24/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have usually been a European car person but I wanted to try something different. I liked the new FA20DIT motor in the 2015+ Subaru WRX's and so I took the car for a test drive. The handling on this car with the boxer engine is great but the car could use a little more power (coming from a Twin Turbo 300hp/tq BMW so a little biased on power). I just finished a long 1500 mile road trip through bad weather and really great weather and the car has been everything I could ask for. I also negotiated a really good price for this vehicle as the MSRP was 33k (Premium with Sports Package and a few other options). I bought the vehicle at AutoNation and they were really helpful. I do a mixture of highway driving and city driving for work and definitely some spirited driving through the mountains here in Denver. The only small issues I have with the car (which obviously I didn't care enough about because the rest is great) are there's quite a bit of cabin noise (used to a BMW though) and hill start can be annoying to get used to but good for beginners. I also recommend the sport package which includes the STI Exhaust, STI 18" Wheels, STI Shift Know and the STI Short Throw Shifter (STS). The STS is definitely worth it in my opinion. Overall the 2016 WRX I own is amazing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lot of bang for your buck

John Morin, 04/05/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second all wheel drive Subaru and my fourth 4 wheel drive vehicle all together , and its a joy to drive , I love my new one just it was a long wait to get the color I wanted, i had to wait and extra 4 months to get it right , other than that alls good. I"m able to keep it out of the snow now, and use my Outback for the snow .

Report Abuse

Wrx base

Jeebs, 05/03/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ducking love it! Winter is coming up, and this car is awesome in the snow...almost looking forward to some white stuff...almost.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun to Drive

Robert Stewart, 04/11/2018
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great mileage for this type of sports car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Driving Good, Interior Bad

AJ Krockomberger, 03/04/2020
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you enjoy working on your own car, I would highly recommend the 'rex. If you don't mind a little turbo lag and love churning through gears on backroads, again, I would highly recommend the 'rex. If you simply want a stylish daily driver, this is not the car for you. CONS: An extremely lackluster and, at times, gaudy interior detracts from the daily driving experience. The infotainment system is straight garbage; it barely does what it's supposed to do, even on my limited trim model with an '''''upgraded''''' system. The sound system is abysmal for a vehicle of this price range. Fake carbon fiber and hard plastic were not good design choices by subaru. PROS: Performance. This vehicle performs comparably to an i4 BMW 3 series, while having a much lower MSRP. The ride is stiffer and the cabin is louder, but cornering is a breeze and there's plenty of power here.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050