Used 2016 Subaru Outback SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$10,899 - $22,183

Used Outback for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I dare you to find a better car for the money!

Charles, 12/06/2015
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
79 of 79 people found this review helpful

Purchased '16 Limited edition of the Outback with just about everything the factory can install on it, plus a couple of dealer add-ons. It beat out the Hyundai Sante Fe Sport and Tucson, as well as the GMC Terrain. This car is comfortable given its off-road capability. It handles well on winding roads, and stops when you want it to stop. The Eyesight system works very well, and I absolutely love the rearview camera and cross-traffic warning system, especially in mall parking lots when next to tall suv's and pickup trucks. The entertainment system is a bit intimidating, but we are catching on slowly. The interior has leather appointments, making it easier to slid into and out of the vehicle with bulky winter clothing. Plus the additional clearance height means the seating is taller, making it easy to "climb" into and out. Pros include spacious interior (you don't feel cramped), the power rear gate, fuel economy, 10-way power driver seat, lots of interior storage cubbies and cup holders, and dash instrumentation. A couple of bothersome things to get used to: 1. door locks are not activated when car is put into or taken out of gear (get with it Subaru - first car in 25 years that I have owned that did not have that feature); 2. there is a lag in the transmission when switching from reverse to drive that requires you to stay on the brake pedal bit longer; 3. it takes a touch longer to get car moving when accelerating from a standing stop. The last two will resolve themselves over time as I get used to the vehicle. Overall we are very happy with the Outback, and look forward to driving it in all types of weather. It should be on your list of cars to test drive and evaluate.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Subaru Outback - flawless performance -

Bob, 12/21/2015
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
63 of 63 people found this review helpful

I have never even looked at Subaru's before becoming interested in one. After looking and driving virtually every other similar styled vehicle out there (small suv's/wagons) we decided on the Limited model pretty well loaded with most options available. Two weeks after buying we had an emergency 1,900 mile round trip come up. This vehicle never missed a beat entire trip, was very comfortable and I am well over 6' and about 265#. Didn't have much time to get used to the Subaru before having to leave so was not familiar with how everything worked, i.e. the navigation, radio system, lots of safety features but didn't take much to figure most of it out. We were in very heavy rains at end of trip and even in some pretty serious dust storms early in the drive. Have seen reviews indicating not enough power with the 4 cylinder but did not have any instance of not having sufficient power and did go up some pretty steep stuff. Acceleration while getting onto freeways and passing more than adequate. Some things hard to review at this time as no maintenance costs yet, purchase cost very good compared to other similar equipped vehicles we looked at. Obviously we have no idea of resale value at this time and warranty has not been used. Right now if we had it to do over again we would have purchased the exact same vehicle, seems to fit us perfectly. The dealer, Modesto Subaru has been excellent as has been the salesman, Ron Myers, who was able to answer all our questions well with absolutely no pressure at any time. Continued review after owning vehicle for slightly over 1 year now. Again, the Outback has been flawless and while the power is not like a turbo would be or 6 cylinder it is more than adequate for all our driving. Have got as high as 36mpg on a 200 mile round trip via highway and in town mileage when driving most of a tank has never been under 26mpg. Only maintenance costs have been for regular service which is only every 6 month's. Could not give 5 star on value as couldn't do that on any new car out there as simply all are expensive but would consider this Subaru a better value then any other vehicle in its class. Definitely worth anyone looking for similar type vehicles to test drive one to check them out.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Electrical drain

Tom E, 08/07/2016
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
63 of 63 people found this review helpful

No modern car should leave you stranded. After purchasing a brand new 2016 Outback Limited - the battery is completely drained in 13 days (with not using the vehicle). Dealer reports this is "normal!" WT_?!? That is NOT normal. I would have given higher ratings across the board had it not been for this crucial issue. You cannot park at the airport and go for a 2 week trip without getting stranded. Given this situation, if you buy one of these, also buy a 10mm wrench so you can disconnect the negative battery connection when you plan to take a trip. ... this is my wife's car, had it been mine I would have returned it - this is unacceptable. 2/8/17 Update: Returned from a trip and the OEM battery was depleted in 9 days. In multiple conversations with Subaru of America they have agreed to pay for a larger capacity battery. Prior to this vehicle ALL Subaru's use a Group 35 (640 CCA) battery, yet the vehicle is sold with a OEM Group 25 (only 550 CCA). Considering the vehicle has tons of electronics that is ALWAYS ON I'm dumbfounded that Subaru would roll these vehicles off the production line with such a small capacity battery. You either have to disconnect the battery (and it takes ~90 miles for the computers to fully reboot and restore all functions - like windows) or bring a jumper battery with you if you plan to park for any extended amount of time (even if the security system is not engaged). This remains unacceptable to me ... my wife isn't too worried about it. Costco carries the same batteries used by Subaru = Interstate Batteries. Costco carries the Group 35 for $75-80, or you can get the larger 700 CCA capacity 24F700 battery that has more lead to hold a charge longer - this is what I replaced the OEM with - I have not had a chance to test how long it will hold a charge when the vehicle is not in operation. What I would like Subaru to admit to is that the OEM battery is inadequate but they are not going to do that. It will take more than me complaining about this. Subaru is not alone, this is becoming more common across newer vehicles that have a lot of electronics you cannot turn off. BTW - none of this is mentioned in the owner's manual - and if it did, would you buy it? Overall - we are satisfied with the vehicle but not thrilled like we were and remain with the 1996 Subaru Legacy LSi Wagon (320,000+ miles), which remains my favorite = that's why it is 4 stars. The Outback is sturdy, reliable with the exception above, feels very safe, handles snow well, is comfortable, much bigger than the LSi, and competent. The electronic dash for the radio is difficult to use when driving as you cannot keep your finger in one place with the road bounce = I miss having actual knobs and being able to toggle between my favorite stations quickly and not having to look at the screen - thereby taking my eyes off the road. A good vehicle but I'm hesitant to purchase another because of the ability of the vehicle could leave me stranded - then again, perhaps any of the newer vehicles suffer the same fate. 2/9/18 update - no electrical problems with the larger battery. Last summer returned from a 2 week trip and the vehicle started fine with the battery attached. I don't know if that would have held true had it been for 3 weeks. I'm hearing either road noise from the tires or the transmission - a slight whining sound that we did not notice before - no change in driving behavior. Continue to average 25-27 mpg in mixed street/HWY driving. 8/10/18 update - no change from the last update. Average mileage has increased to 26-29 mpg. I used a trickle charger this summer to ensure the battery would not be drained. I still think Subaru should have a recall to replace the battery and submit a bulletin of the draining issue. 2/12/19 update - again no change from the last update. OEM tires are loud and are about half worn now (at 40k miles) - I look forward to replacing them when worn with some quiet tires (the 1996 Legacy wagon has Continental True Contact tires and they are fantastic - much better and quieter than the OEM's on the Outback). Car has not sat unused for more than a week in the past 6-months so I cannot report of the battery drainage is still a problem - I suspect it is as there would be no reason for an magical change. 8/13/19 update - Was out of town for 3 weeks and had a trickle charger on the battery to ensure the battery would not drain - this has worked - but this only works if you can add a trickle charger where you park for more than a week. OEM tires continue to be loud. Based on the wear pattern will need to replace by about 50k miles. 2/17/20 update - Ironically the Costco replacement battery started to fail and was replaced at cost by Costco. A weird thing we notice with the Subaru when you disconnect the battery is that it make take a day or two (or more) before you can control the passenger side window = very weird and inexplicable. Otherwise - same as before

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Impressed with the new Outback Limited Loaded

Lars Anderson, 08/18/2015
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
101 of 103 people found this review helpful

I have never owned a Subaru. I have owned 2013-15 BMW X3, Audi Q5 and Q7, VW CC, and Honda Odyssey for comparison [Yes...lots of new car purchases in last 2 years]. I test drove the 2015 VW Golf Sportwagen [better fuel economy and acceleration but smaller, less advance safety features, and more road noise] and 2015 Mazda CX-5 [just didn't do it for me but deserves a look]. I traded in my 2013 X3. Flaws, but not deal breakers: Voice recognition for entering destination address never works, and system locks out manual address input while driving so you need to stop to change an address in this setting. The Keyless FOB can not be programed to unlock all doors with one button, but keyless entry with door button can. Key FOB open button just has to be pressed twice. Adaptive cruise control button that adjusts distance from car in front not iconically intuitive. Side mirrors don't power fold. Mute button for music doesn't pause song. Turn signal level a little high for optimal ergonomics for me. Poor acceleration but adequate for conservative drivers. XM radio screen difficult to navigate. Voice recognition takes few minutes to initialize but bluetooth acquires instantly. Things I like moving from front to back: Very good head and fog light dispersement, Limited 18" wheels, Night time Approach light in the side mirror and side mirror auto dimming feature, HK stereo is quite impressive and better than premium Q7 stereo, Lane assist really works keeping you in the lane if you don't put hands on steering wheel, adaptive cruise control, lane change warning doesn't warn too early like Honda Odyssey system, Blue interior lighting and instrument panel, 3 12V and 2 USB jacks, Quality/Speed and resolution of infotainment screen, well balanced steering, Forward Adjustable head rest [not just up and down], seat comfort and leather quality, electronic parking break, rear seat AC vents and heated seats, rear seats flip down effortlessly and flat, rear trunk screen cover can be stored in car when not in use, rear seats can recline a bit, roof rack adjustability, road noise on chip & seal roads is very good and better than Audi but similar to BMW, minimal wind noise. Corners well with minimal body roll during conservative driving but certainly not on any rails. I am very impressed with quality, comfort, and electronics. Fun to cruise [quiet and comfy] so I can hear the great stereo. Look forward to tackling some dirt roads and throwing skis, kayak and bikes on top.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Customer must change the phone?

Jay, 09/24/2016
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
126 of 131 people found this review helpful

I purchased 2016 2.5 limited at the last April 2016. The problem started within a couple of days. It started with random changes of the interior clock. Then the audio part (it is a sort of computer) turns off and re-boot again time to time, while driving!!! Then the key less entry does not work at all intermittently. So when i open it by physical key, the alarm actives. I went dealer and they re installed the program, then changed the audio part. At last they said it is not the problem of the car, but my phone interfere the car. Ask me to update my cellular phone or change my phone. Really? I am always updated my cell iphone and my wife also had same problem when she drove. How can they explain this? I think i need to change my car rather than my cell phone.... Update, March 2017. 1. Couple of weeks later, the center console and interior electricity went out for days. I brought the car again. At that time they said ' the fuse was loosed and detached', and that is all. After that it apparently all the electrical problems are solved. Was it a small fuse problem?? Hard to believe. 2. The Audio is excellent. 3. The mileage is good. mixed mileage is about 27 mile per gallon. 3. The ride does not meet my expectation. I have motion sickness some times, which I did not have other vehicles ( I have been driving constantly since 1990, more than 8 cars). When driving over the pothole or bump, the vibration/instability is too bad, it feels like this car aged more than 10 years.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent vehicle

Tim Johnston, 09/13/2015
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
63 of 65 people found this review helpful

We owned a 1998 Legacy Wagon for 17 years, putting about 125,000 miles on it. It was a great car -- very reliable, comfortable, and capacious. When we decided to replace it last summer, we immediately went to Subaru again. We've only had our 2016 Outback for a couple of months but are very pleased with its performance and versatility. We've never owned an automatic before (!) and at first we were a bit hesitant because the Outback does not come with a manual option, but we find the AVT very smooth and the manual paddle shifts on the steering wheel are a great way to lock in a gear when you need it. (We frequently drive to a place we own in the Blue Ridge Mountains and being able to set a gear while driving up a very steep and windy highway is a convenient.) We didn't get the EyeSight option, as I didn't like the idea of all that electronic intrusion into my driving -- I was pretty sure I'd end up turning it off, so why buy it in the first place. We did get the optional cargo area and rear bumper protectors, which I recommend if you are going to use the car to carry cargo other than groceries and suitcases. We move a lot of gardening supplies but I think they'd also be good for dogs or sports and camping equipment. There are levers to remotely fold down the rear seats from the back of the car -- a big convenience. The climate controls are not very intuitive and the clock is small and poorly placed amid several temperature readouts. The backup camera display is large and clear -- much better than on our 2013 Toyota Tacoma. As the Edmunds review says, acceleration is not spectacular, but it's certainly adequate and quite safe for merging on to freeways or passing on 2-lane roads. If you are in the market for a station-wagon style SUV, the Outback is worth a close look.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not even close

Flyer, 04/26/2016
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

After months of research we had narrowed our search down to the 2016 Toyota RAV4 Limited Hybrid. We've driven Toyota's for years. The morning we were going to the Toyota dealer we decided to go drive the Subaru Outback 2.5 Limited. The Subaru dealer was blocks from our house and on the way to the Toyota dealer. After reading many poor reviews of the Subaru's acceleration issues and the gutless 2.5 engine I was shocked by how well the Subaru accelerated. Not only was the acceleration much better than expected but the Subaru held the road WAY better than the Toyota (we test drove both in pouring rain) and felt far better balanced and much easier to control. The road noise in the RAV4 was extremely loud and obtrusive while the Outback was much quieter. The interior on the Subaru felt comfortable and spacious with great lines of sight and visibility. The RAV4 felt cramped with awkward lines of sight. If you are considering one of the other SUVs (RAV4, CR-V, CX-5, Ford Escape) I would highly recommend test driving the Outback before buying one of the other cars.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Moving up to the 2016 Outback Limited

S D Miller, 01/05/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

I looked at several other vehicles including the Forester, Hyundai Sport, Volvo X60, VW Tiguan and the Audi Q5. In the end the Outback seemed a much more logical choice for the money. The Outback rode a little better than the Forester and Tiguan, but the Audi Q5 was indeed a nicer vehicle, but at a much greater cost. The Subaru Outback Limited was a loaded vehicle and really liked the latest safety equipment provided. We immediately drove the vehicle from Houston to KC and hit some of the worst rainstorms we'd ever been in. There were even tornado's. The vehicle handled marvelously and was always sure-footed. The front and back seats were both very comfortable for four adults and handled all of our luggage. The HID lighting was not available, but I will get after-market which is a nice option when driving on old blacktop roads. The only other item not available was a front passenger seat memory & height adjustment. It can be difficult for over 6 ft people when the seat can't be lowered. The engine is very smooth with the transmission, but definitely could use a few more ponies under the hood. However, the trade-off with the 6 cylinder didn't really work for us. There wasn't a big difference in power in the lower range and the mileage dropped quite a bit - as do most larger engines. The Turbo 4 cylinder as in the Forester would be a welcomed option indeed. We did end up getting an extended warranty due to all the electronic equipment on this model. (not shown in total price)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

High Expectations Were Met or Exceeded

Jim K, 10/20/2015
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
75 of 78 people found this review helpful

After reading every "expert" and "consumer" review that I could find, and after watching every YouTube video about the 2015/2016 Subaru Outback, I decided to order one in July. My wife and I picked up our Outback, October 9th. Before ordering, I was very concerned about the "wind noise" problems described in some of the 2015 reviews. Our car has no "wind noise" issues, and road noise, even at 70 MPH is subdued. Very quiet and comfortable cabin. We only have a little over 600 miles on the Outback so far, but that includes a trip to Sevierville, TN, from our home in the Upstate of SC. The route up I-26W, and I-40W have many high climbs and steep descents, including many twists and turns. The new Outback did a terrific job, easily handling the mountains. I used the Adaptive Cruise Control extensively during the highway portions of the trip, and it was amazing how well this feature worked. It is easy to turn on, and easy to set the distance between you and the car ahead. It reduces a lot of stress. For a car that is fairly big and heavy, the Subaru handled nimbly, both on the serpentine sections of I-40W in northwestern NC, but also in the narrow twisting road roads leading into and out of the Cades Cove section of The Great Smokey Mountains National Park. We are averaging about 23.5 MPG with the 3.6 H-6 in mixed driving conditions ( almost 50/50 city and highway). I am 5'11", and my wife is 4'11". The driver seat easily adjusted for both of our driving setups, and the "Memory Function" for our two driver seating positions, make it very easy for either of us to drive. We traded both of our older cars in on this new Outback, as we are retired, and think that we can get by with just one car. Some people complained about no height adjustment for the front passenger seat. While it might be a nice addition for the Outback, my 4'11" wife has no problem seeing out from that passengers seat. The Navigation system also got some negative comments the past year or so. I was happy with the Ford Sync system ( no nav display; written-spoken directions only), so I am really happy with the Outback Navigation System and Display. It only takes a few minutes to setup and save your various "destinations" to a "favorites" file. To test the system, we went to a very remote address outside of Sevierville, TN, near Lake Douglas. The Nav System guided us flawlessly to the destination. Some people also complained of the Voice Guidance being too intrusive. The volume of the Voice Guidance can be adjusted easily from the on screen menu. A truly nice feature of the Nav System, is the "next turn" display, showing up not only on the 7" nav display, but also in a display on the driver's dash, that also shows MPG, MPH, Trip A and B mileage, etc.(switchable from steering wheel controls). We took another couple through Cades Cove with us, and they were very comfortable in the back seat; plenty of legroom, and A/C-Heating Vents for the rear seat passengers, too. The rear seatbacks recline for additional comfort. Since we only have a little over 600 miles on the car, reliability and some other higher mileage issues can't be address yet. So far though, this is one outstanding vehicle, and it was worth the near 3 month wait to receive it. The "Owner's Manuals" are extensive, and I read some of the material every day, and then go to the car to use what I have learned. I think that it will take a month to read, and understand everything. One cautionary note, the "keyless" functions of the car warn of the possible hazard to anyone who has a pacemaker installed, due to transmitting antennas located throughout the car. This could effect you or your passengers, so you may not want to go the "keyless" way. Our car was ordered with everything except the auto-dimming side mirrors. All in all, a really nice vehicle. Very pleased. **Updates as of 4/26/16 Mileage 9267 MPG Combined 23.9 Best HWY MPG 26.8 (70 MPH) Terrain - Rolling Hills to Flat I still consider the cabin "fairly quiet". The noise level greatly depends on road surfaces. I sometimes think that the cabin might be a little too noisy, but riding same roads in a Cadillac SUV, and a BMW X5, produce similar quietness levels; Concrete whistles, black top is quiet, and milled roads are aggravatingly loud! We have made 6 trips of 650 miles in a day, and the drive was not fatiguing. The seats are comfortable, and the adaptive cruise control is terrific. Coming into Atlanta from I-75 and connecting to I-85 via I-675 and I-475, is a nightmare of construction, and general craziness. I just stayed "right", out of harm's way, and the adaptive cruise was terrific. I still rate the Navigation System as excellent. Just load up your "Favorites" and go. It sometimes takes a while to "search" for places, but not too daunting. However, it's better to do your research online, find the restaurant or hotel's address, and just enter it into favorites. Can't write more do to Edmund's software.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

bluebaru

archer, 11/25/2015
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

About a month ago, I trades my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit and I am beyond happy. The Jeep had more bells and whistles than a church, bit the Subaru is less than an inch in most dimensions and super easy to drive. The quality is outstanding and I really like the eye-sight technology. I bought the 2.5 4 cyl, after driving a v-6, I will do no towing and find the engine more than responsive enough for me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Outstanding in all respects.

Steve Ratcliffe, 04/13/2016
2.5i 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I was downsizing from SUVs since I don't need the third row and don't tow anymore. I studied and drove the Volvo, Mazda, Honda, Toyota, Nissan, and Hyundai. The Subaru Outback beat them all "Hands-down". I bought the Outback Limited 2.5 with the "Eye Sight" system on it and find it to be far superior to any other make for excellent setting options and comfort in using it. I also like the multitude of options with the audio and map controls. The back seat is also comfortable and has adequate leg and hip room. I highly recommend this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

No complaints. Whaaaat?

Rusty Castleman, 07/22/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

As an engineer, I expect a lot from a vehicle and am hard to please. We traded a Volvo XC-90 which I never liked because so much about it "doesn't make sense." So far, I've not uttered that phrase a single time about our Outback. Engine is very smooth and quiet, ride is great, very quiet inside and well appointed. The Eyesight system is phenomenal! The adaptive cruise control is amazing; works so well that in stop-and-go traffic the car will drive itself almost - you only need to lightly touch the accelerator to make it move once it stops. Fuel mileage is great at 33 mpg on the highway. With the 4 cyl engine and CVT transmission, it is a little sluggish at slow speeds, but you need only to downshift with the paddle shifter for the extra power you need - as soon as you let off the gas, it shifts right back into 'Drive'. Of course you can move the shifter to 'M' to shift manually. The only thing I find lacking is the navigation system, which like every one I've ever seen is hopelessly outdated from day one. (Why don't they just link to Google Maps and be done with it?) Other than that, it's everything we hoped for.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 Outback 3.6 Limited w/MRP/KAS/NAV/ES-CVT

Ron Tamulonis, 03/27/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

I'm in my 70's and we hold onto our cars for 15+ years. I did a years research from talking to Subaru owners in my neighborhood and Mall parking lots plus reviewing owners comments for vehicles 2014 on that I could find on the internet. If folks had a complaint I looked to see if that complaint carried through on the latest dated reviews or did it disappear. I wanted the latest safety equipment that I could afford like: Adaptive Cruise Control; Eye Sight: Blind Spot Detection; Rear Cross Traffic Alert and found this vehicle had these plus additional safety features. We drove to Florida and loved the Adaptive Cruise Control that maintained a selected safe distance between us and the car in front from out 75 set speed to 45 mph slow downs and back to 75 without having to reset the cruise control speed. I loved the "Multi Information Display" in front of the steering wheel which I set to show the next route change without having to look at the large Navigation screen. I was disappointed in the navigation system in that it kept trying to take us off route 95 in what was completed Florida construction areas also it couldn't find the Motel address in Miami that the motel gave to us. However when we did a Custom search in the Accommodations category we found our Motel listed and hit Go and it took us directly to it. Both my wife and I have back problems and we didn't experience any pain or discomfort spending over 8 plus driving hours per day (an unexpected benefit). We didn't have any hesitation going from Reverse to Drive with the 3.6R engine that often found with the 4 cylinder engine. We didn't have slippage (wheel spinning) going on to a major highway from a side road in the rain. With the keyless ignition, I did find out how to listen to the radio picking up the grandsons with the engine off. My wife and I love the car and would highly recommend the 3.6 Limited 2016 Subaru Outback. Review #2 I'm lowering my review of the cargo/storage area to POOR because when I put in semi-full bags of leaves and push them forward, the last bags touch and turn on the cargo light switch in the roof. I didn't notice the light was on and had a dead battery the next day. This happened to me twice after going to the recycle center before I figured out that the cause of the dead battery was from pushing leaf bags in the cargo area that hit the cargo/storage light switch. I haven't had a dead battery since I check that the light is off after using the cargo/storage area. Review #3 I was driving in a very very heavy rainstorm and the eyesight stopped working and I didn't expect that to happen. So there are limits on the rainfall intensity for eye site to work and next time I'm driving and it's raining that hard I'm pulling off the road. That was the only time eyesight stopped working. I don't know if the back-up camera set-up is askew a little or it's me as the car is never perfectly positioned in the parking spot. Next time I bring the car in, I'll have them check that. We still love the Subaru.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Subaru

Bon Voyage, 07/23/2016
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I've owned my '16 Outback limited with eyesight for about three months/ 3000 miles. It is my second Outback (non consecutive). Overall, this is a great utilitarian family car, and if you have owned an Outback before, you'll recognize its strengths and weaknesses. The car offers great utility, use of space, and overall function. It's not sporty by any means, but it is great at getting me and all my stuff (including a one year old and all his stuff) where I want to go comfortably and safely. It's a fantastic road trip car, with incredible back seat comfort. The adaptive cruise control included in the Eyesight package was worth every penny. I never used to use cruise control, but I use the adaptive cruise control on almost every trip. The gas mileage is also very good for the weight of the car. I have generally experienced 30 mpg average when driving 75 on the highway. There are downsides. First, don't buy this car if you're looking for sporty handling. This should immediately be clear from a test drive, but acceleration, road holding, and "feel" are not sporty. However, they are in line with reasonable expectations. The only surprise I have had from a handling perspective is how much the car jumps/skips when it hits a bump, especially when going around a curve. My '01 Outback did this a bit, but I was surprised to experience it in my 2016. The outback holds the road over imperfections far worse than other cars I've driven in this price range. Secondly, the entertainment/nav is a massive point of frustration. It has a lot of functionality, but it is hard to navigate and overly complex. While the navigation is nicely integrated into the sound system and dashboard. However, Waze and Google Maps outperform the navigation so profoundly that I don't even use the integrated navigation. After running Waze in parallel with the Nav for a few months, the Subaru navigation has so consistently provided sub-optimal or confusing directions that I prefer to just use my phone. This leads me to my other complaint about the the system. It works pretty well over Bluetooth, but as soon as you plug the phone into the USB, the system wants to treat your phone as an iPod and the whole experience gets disrupted. Overall, the entertainment system is super clunky and hard to use. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to save preset stations (have not yet opened the giant manual) and the system is heavily integrated with Sirius, which really undermines the system if you don't buy a subscription. With all this said, I'm very happy with the car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Outback Shine Again

Barry Hecht, 02/22/2016
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Consumer Reports Loves this Car, and so do it. I have yet to experience all of its features, so this is an early review. The instrumentation and infotainment/navigation/active safety systems are particularly well laid out. Ergonomics are exceptional, always a Subaru plus. I have only the 2.5 l engine, which is exceptionally vibration free and quiet. Acceleration is OK...not great, but certainly adequate. I can get better acceleration when I really need it with the paddle shifters. Benefit is very good gas mileage. I expect the CVT to be a real plus. I bought the car with the "eyesight" (active safety) and Nav packages. It is close to an autonomous car. I can travel highways without using the gas or brake pedals (careful...this is a double edged sword, but it works!) Note: No experience on reliability; car is too new. However, this is my fourth Subaru Outback (or predecessor), over 31 continuous years, and the others have been great in reliability. Second Review, 13 months: There are a few items on the technology side that are either difficult to work, or I have not learned them yet. Voice commands are 80% NOT reliable, and I speak clearly. Very difficult to control radio while driving ---(touch controls on screen for 36 stations). Autonomous cruise control was dangerous to use in a snowstorm in mountainous Vermont, but using Paddle Shifters worked great to control car on hills.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ski car

Peter Phares, 02/05/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

The Outback was purchased as a ski-commuting vehicle (for usually no more than 2-3 passengers, including driver). I've had it 2 year, 8 months and driven 22,000 miles- 90% highway (200 miles each way to skiing). Overall, good cargo capacity, loading/unloading of cargo, and equipment (fold down half of the rear seat and putting skis inside in ski bags). The ride is comfortable, and I use the dynamic cruise control a lot- which works well, even in heavy traffic or slow traffic. It's a generally a fairly quiet vehicle with muted road and wind noise (except side mirrors- see below). GREAT snow traction! I haven't had any issues getting moving in 8"+ of fresh snow, and have never gotten stuck. The 6 cylinder motor has good power, and the CVT works well generally- but reverse responsiveness is a bit uneven, and strange compared with a standard automatic (but hasn't been a big deal). The paddle shifters are very helpful on downhill grades. Fuel economy is ok, not great. Highway fuel economy is much better if you keep it under 70 mph on the freeway (which can be slow on some CA freeways)--- keep it 2-3 MPH under 70 and I get 26-28 MPG. Avg 70 MPH, and I get no more than 26 MPG. If you average 75 on the freeway, you'll get 24 mpg max. I don't jackrabbit start or use heavy throttle, mostly drive with eye-sight cruise control on. Currently, I'm not using the roof rack and don't have a cargo box- so loading the roof would reduce mpg further. I would have preferred a turbo 4-cylinder option to the 6 cylinder. My biggest complaint about the car is driver seat comfort. I am 6'1", and 210 lbs. The seats are not large enough for someone over 6' tall, and it's difficult to find a comfortable driving position for longer trips. The view of the instruments for taller drivers isn't great. If I had the ability to change the car, I would create a longer seat cushion for more thigh support, add more bolstering on the sides of the seats (almost none there now, not good in corners), improve adjustment range of seat tilt, and increase the steering wheel telescoping length. I have a 2009 Honda Accord coupe and a 1999 VW Passat, and in both cars I find several comfortable seating positions for long trips--- not so in the Outback.... I'm constantly adjusting the seating position, but nothing feels quite right. The center console intrudes too much into the leg space. I'm not uncomfortable in the car- but never very comfortable either. It also could use a center armrest which adjusts up/down. Wind noise with side mirrors is bad, in anything more than a light cross-wind you get some significant rumble coming off the mirrors (guessing 10 mph+ cross winds it gets rumbly). The door storage pockets don't work well for water bottles. MirrorLink never worked (connect to phone for phone based apps)- from what I've read, I need an older version of the app on my phone (which is not compatible with my newer Samsung phone). This is a joke that Subaru didn't update the MirrorLink to work with newer phones. The App menu still prominently displays 'MirrorLink', yet the functionality isn't there- horrible to sell the feature they never planned on supporting. One other complaint is the quality of the lower body cladding--- it pits very easily. My VW Passat with 180K miles on it has much less pitting on the lower cladding from snow and sand coming off the tires than the Outback with 4500 miles. The front splash guards need to be bigger and the cladding plastic a higher quality. Overall, I'd give the car a "B" grade. The jury is out on whether I keep it long term or sell in a few years (I normally like to keep a car for 8-15 years) Too early to tell on reliability (no repairs thus far at 22K miles). Friends with Subarus have had good luck with reliability- other than the older models with known head gasket issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Second Outback ... better than our '13.

Steve H, 11/13/2015
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
35 of 37 people found this review helpful

Our '13 Outback Premium had 50,000 miles on it, and we got a good trade on a '16 Limited. We did go down a trim level, but other than the radio & leather - we are happy. The Outback overall is not too big on the outside, but not too small on the inside - so a good comprimise. And it's a nice balance between performance and economy. We had a minor issues with a wear spot on the outer edge of the leather seat along the outer seam area on the '13. The local dealer worked with Subaru to get it repaired free of charge (thanks C&S Waterloo & Subaru). And the repaired seat (new leather top portion) still looked good and was holding up when we traded for the '16. I do like the cloth seats in the '16. Our '16 drives better and gets better mileage than our '13! We now have 4,000 miles on the '16. The 16 CVT is calibrated a little differently than the '13 - and seems to do much less "downshifting" going up hills, which is way better! The CVT just is happier overall - so more enjoyable to drive. Also, the ride seems more compliant (not as harsh over bumps, etc) while at the same time - seems to corner a little flatter. To me, the driving experience has improved over our '13. The MPG's are better with the '16. In our old '13 highway driving was around 26-28 at best, and really negatively effected by how windy it was. The '16 seems to get 27-28 just in 45-55 MPH suburban type driving. And on the highway we've gotten 30-31 on long trips (like driving from IA to SC). On the interstate we are usually going with the flow traffic, so 7-8 over. (Ofcourse that uses more gas.) Even though this is a mid-level Premium, it has nice freatures (and more than the '13). We decided to get the sunroof, instead of all the new safety options. The safety features would be nice, and hopfully they will be standard in most autos in the near future. And I should say, the mid-level radio in our Premium is really not too bad. Not as good as my '13 Limited (ofcourse), but you can stand to listen to it. I'd recommend the optional plastic trim over the rear bumper by the tail gate, and the all weather floor protectors, and the seat back and cargo protectors. We got the power rear gate, and it works OK, but not a big deal too me. Ironically, since I've had the Outbacks, we have left the mid-west winters for the SC area (and grand daughters), so haven't actually had much snow experience ... yet. But returning to IA for turkey day in a few weeks, so who knows??? I've just done the normal maintenance, and no problems (other than the worn leather in the '13 that Subaru replaced). The Outbacks have been good, and the '16 is better One Year Review Had the car a year now, has 30,000 miles! Running back and forth between IOwa and South Carolina. Car has NO issues. Just normal maint at Subura dealers and a couple recalls. Mileage seems to have improved since about 18,000 miles. Driving from SC to Chicago this week first tank showed 32 MPG on car computer and second tank 31. We like the power lift gate more than we thought. Like the cloth seats too, comfortable - and seem to be more durable than the leather on our '13. Wish Subaru would offer a mildly tuned turbo on the Outback that would have about 25 more hp and torque - but use regular gas - and not use more gas! Overall both our Outbacks have been good, but the '16 is better due to drivability and handling than our '13. Almost two years old now ... and 43,000 miles. We like the power lift gate more than we thought we would. Handy when walking up to the car pushing a grocery cart, or at Costco with a load. The original tires are wearing out and need to be replaced, expected. Good car Update July 2018 We traded the '16 with 53,000 miles for a 2018 Outback. Got the safety features this time, instead of the sunroof. Kind of touchy on the lane watch. Adjustable cruise cntl is nice in stop & go. Buy on the highway if you come up on someone slower, you have to remember to pass - or you will slow down and "match" their speed. Like the styling of the 2018 so much better than the '13 & '16 we owned. Having a "sometimes" issue with the back-up camera. Backing out of the the screen is under exposed (darkish and blurry), so I can't really see with it as I back out of the driveway. Then, about 7-8 seconds latter, the screen flicks and adjusts to normal - and I can see fine. BUT, that's after I am done (or 90% done) backing up. The '16 did NOT have this trait. Have taken it to a dealer twice, so far - it is not fixed. Tried a reprogram, next thay said will be a new head unit (radio). So, supose I'll try that. The dealer in Charlott has been good at trying to make it right. The service writer, John is good to work with. And hoping it gets fixed! As a back-up camera you can't see with isn't much help!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I didn't want to love this car so much....

Diane, 03/26/2016
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I had been driving a luxury wagon for 10+ years, and it was time to get something new. I always assumed I'd once again buy expensive and keep whatever I got for 10 years. We looked at wagons/SUVs from Volvo, Lexus, etc., and had the budget to buy any of their models. We didn't like the Volvos. The Lexus RX350 was nice, but seemed a little too fancy for our needs. Also didn't like the lack of visibility out the back window. When I walked into the Subaru dealership, I was just there to cross the Outback off my list. (And it was only on the list because I kept seeing them zipping around on the freeway and had been experiencing car envy, which was odd considering that I always thought Outbacks were boring). I walked in, saw the Outback model parked on the dealership floor, and fell in love. There was no turning back.....that was the car for me. We bought it fully loaded, paying less than I'd paid 10 years ago for my luxury car. It's been a couple of weeks now and I LOVE this car. I don't know if I will keep it 10 years. It's nice to know that I don't have to, because the price was much more affordable. The car drives like a dream and it has everything I wanted inside and out. I've read all the criticisms of this car, and can honestly say that I've not experienced any of them. The car has ample pick-up, although yes, I have to step on it a little harder than I did with the old car. Once I adjusted to that, it's been smooth sailing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This is one awesome car!

Mike A., 10/22/2015
2.5i PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

My 2016 Outback 2.5 Limited now has 2600+ miles on it with 2000 put on during a round trip to St. Louis and back. I love this car already. It's very roomy and comfortable, handles well, has plenty of acceleration (especially considering it's a 2.5 liter four cylinder), gets 33+ mpg on the highway, and in every way so far, has exceeded my expectations. The sound system is plain awesome, and the safety features just outstanding. While traveling on an interstate doing about 65, a car suddenly switched lanes and cut in front of me. The Outback's Eye Sight system detected the treat and automatically applied the brakes and slowed me down. I can't speak to it's reliability yet, but expect it to be very good based on Subaru's history. I have several minor complaints...both the clock and the outside temperature display are on an information "strip" on the lower part of the dash, and are quite small and can be difficult to find quickly. The manual(s) have a ton of information in them, but can be tricky and a bit difficult to use 1) because of how they are organized, and 2) because the writer's first language was clearly not English. I think Subaru could have done better in both areas. Overall, the car is fantastic and I am very pleased that I opted for the Subaru. In my opinion, it offers great value, and I would heartily recommend it to anyone considering it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car, couple minor shortfalls

Luther Meitzner, 11/05/2015
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

I've only driven the car for 1500 miles, but 1000 of that was in a single trip. The more I drive the car the more I like it. It's comfortable, smooth, solid and enjoyable. The nav system is excellent, the eyesight system is very functional, and the cruise control system is amazing. The only drawbacks are well known, often written about, and fairly minor. There is more wind noise above 70 MPH than in my 2011 Outback. I think this comes from the rack, but can't be sure - it's a rumble and not from the wing window that apparently was a problem on the 2015 models. It's not bad, just a little irritating. When shifting from reverse to drive there is a longer pause than seems appropriate. This isn't really bad either, but is something I've had to get accustomed to when backing into traffic. For about 1 or 2 seconds, you aren't going anywhere. The last slight irritation is the 2.5L motor. In most instances it has sufficient get-up-and-go. When trying to accelerate quickly on the freeway or on a busy city street it can be a bit of a dog. Nothing huge though and only slightly worse than my 2011. All in all, I love the car and hope to keep it for ever.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

No longer your father's Subaru!

WJZ, 12/22/2015
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
32 of 34 people found this review helpful

I've owned many Subaru's over many years. I'm no die hard Subaru owner however. In the past, they've been quirky and were always "catching up to the competition"! This newest generation is close to, or at the top of the heap, among it's competitors and I find myself more than satisfied with it in so many ways. Perfect? No! Going to acoustic glass in the front quiets typical wind/road noise up front but only highlights noise from the rest of the chassis. Not a real problem in and of itself, but I feel Subaru should have gone the rest of the way with noise reduction. Let's face it, this is a car that can cost almost $40K and road noise (although not bad) should not be quite as noticeable. There are a few other shortcomings, such as the lack of power adjustments on the passenger seat and some displays on the dash are too small. In all honesty, the technology can be a bit overwhelming too (ex: the separate manual for the navigation system is bigger than the owner's manual). There are more warning lights and buzzers than anyone needs, they can be distracting and we've shut a few off altogether. All this being said however, doesn't mean this isn't a wonderful car with many great features. It is that and then some. First time with a 6 cylinder Subaru and we find the motor quiet, refined and quite impressive from an acceleration perspective. The 6 cylinder engine changes the character of the vehicle perceptibly for the better (IMHO) and fuel mileage is not atypical. We've compared this vehicle to many others out in the marketplace that it competes against and it simply has more features, at a better price, than all of them. In the past, we've found the Subarus we've owned to be reliable, capable and to have above average resale value (in spite of their quirkiness). As of this review, I can add they are now better all around, even if that means a bit less quirky as well. Owning the vehicle for over 1 yr. now, my only real complaint is the overall noise level of the vehicle. Now that the tires are worn down a bit, there is a bit more road noise being transmitted into the vehicle thru the chassis. I think Subaru should banish this to "a thing of the past". We also own an 11 yr. old BMW X3 and I don't think the Outback is as quiet as the old X3 (that vehicle not known for it's quietness). Summing it up then, the Outback is still a very nice vehicle, but more refinement would certainly help it's cause.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Good Car

anotherORhipstaru, 05/28/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

The biggest draws to the Outback for me were the resale value, practicality and build quality. For the price, the materials and construction are very good. The options were great, near luxury.It's difficult to find them on a similar vehicle for the price. The interior is pleasant and logically laid out. The back storage is great. Not just the total cubic feet, but the dimensions allow flexibility in what can be stored. I have the 3.6R, and it was worth it. The ride is smooth and quiet, great for long trips. The acceleration responds quickly, but might not be pony-car-esque for some. The power is good for mountain passes and keeping the revs low. The clearance is high, so there can be occasional control challenges at high speeds with heavy crosswinds, but good control during normal driving. The gas milage depends on how it's driven. It can be either powerful or efficient. There's an instrument to help with that on the dash. Even though I've evaluated it in a rational way, please don't take that as "not fun". It's tons of fun feeling that I made the right choice, a year later, when making my car payments. When shopping, I test drove fun cars too. They were great to drive for a half hour test drive, but I bought something I could live with. The Outback was the right choice for me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

> > > BETTER THAN EXPECTED < < <

A Casual Observer, 07/09/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

After carving my initials in 2 oak trees in a 415 HP Pontiac G8 GXP in heavy rain, my goal was to buy a "safe," comfortable vehicle with reasonable performance. The Subaru Outback 3.6R Limited was my choice. 4 months and nearly 8,000 miles later, the decision was one of the best I've ever made. My worst fears, excessive road/wind noise and poor acceleration, were unfounded. On ramps and overtaking slower vehicles on 2-lane roads are both effortless. Road/wind noise is insignificant, even wth 2 roof-mounted bicycles. This vehicle is a gem. I foresee 200,000+ miles on my Outback over the next 8-10 years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My wife loves it

Desert Mountain Biker, 07/15/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

This is our second Outback. My wife hated the passenger seat in the 2006 and wasn't too fond of the hard seat on the driver side either. Fortunately, the 2016 has enough driver side adjustments that she can find a very comfortable driving position. The passenger side was still an issue so we didn't buy until I found a cushion in one of the upper level catalogs that relieved that problem. It has a support matrix and memory foam and it boost her up a bit since which is ok since she is 5'4". If the passenger seat had the same adjustments as the driver's seat, we could have bought the car sooner. She loves the radio and the great visibility and the backup camera and warning system. I really like the adaptive cruise control. It is great for both local driving and for the freeway. Average gas mileage is an honest 24mpg and we have gotten 27 +mpg on long trips through desert and mountains but most of our driving is not in dense city driving. We recently did a trip through Colorado to Animas Forks at 11200 feet on a very bad road. The only vehicles on that day that made it up into that region were the intermediate sized 4WD vehicles and newer Outbacks and Foresters. The x- mode was really nice for the return trip down the hill and the hill holder was also nice in places where the car could slip backwards between shifts. The navigation system is nothing special, confusing at best but useful once one gets use to it. But it does seem to miss useful data like gas station locations in Cal. The phone and Garmin type navigation are superior. I wish we didn't have to have the moonroof - mostly useless in a desert climate - in order to get Eyesight. Based on more than a 60 fillups, the indicated fuel economy is 5.5% too high. Not bad but not correct either. I wish the seats were a bit longer but my wife would not have liked that. Fortunately, the seat adjustments make long distance driving comfortable. Based on several hours of riding with my 6'1" frame, the back seat is also amazingly comfortable and roomy especially in comparison to the 2006. We had one trip for hours through the desert in 122 deg heat with no problems. The A/C worked very well. The engine is very responsive and quiet. Downshifting for long declines with the paddle shifters is easy. We have has no problems and see the dealer for the scheduled service only. And unfortunately for me, my wife has stopped driving our other car and is now a great fan of Subaru. The only negative is that the battery failed at only 14 months in a hotel parking lot in Tucson. Fortunately, not very inconvenient. 17 months later, the replacement battery from AAA also failed in my garage. That one was free and the inconvenience was minimal. I had also talked with a lady waiting for service at the dealership who had had 2 battery failures within the first 2 years and was waiting on yet another. The service rep recommended getting one of the portable batteries for jump starting at ~$100. Given that we live in the desert, the heat could be a factor but the life is much less than any other batteries I have ever had. I will be buying a portable charging device when the current batter reaches 1 year. After 3 1/2 years and 56000 miles, the car still runs beautifully. There have been no maintenance issues. But we have replaced 2 windshields because of rocks from the 101 in Scottsdale, AZ. Because cracked windshields are so common here, our auto insurance has full glass coverage. In the spring we also had the moon roof shatter when it was hit by something from a large panel construction truck going the opposite way. That was also covered under insurance. The tires were replaced with Michelins about 12000 miles ago and they might have slightly reduced fuel economy. A great vehicle and we will be looking forward to test driving the new XT when it comes out in the fall.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Outback 3.6R Limited

Juan Gomez, 04/17/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

Update: After owning this vehicle for over a year, I can tell you that I love this car and have Zero regrets. it never disappoints. It continues to feel more luxurious and expensive than it was. Power of the 3.6R is excellent. Confort is great. As far as negatives, there are few. 1. Bluetooth connectivity in the 2016 model is a mess. Iphone struggles at times. 2. Front / Center vents are to high and hard to get the air to hit driver and passenger comfortably. Needed to be lower in console. 3. Misc wind noises due to high profile and roof racks. But nothing to really complain. Overall, I would buy this car again in a heartbeat. This is my second Outback. First one is 17 years old , 170k miles and counting. Plenty of technical reviews out there so I will keep it to personal view. Ourback 3.6R is everything I wanted. It gives me that awesome feeling that I know I am in a Subi. The engine is definitely not sport tunned, but coming from 4 cylinder it feels strong. CVT feels ok. Not a huge fan of it, but also, does not bother me at all. It just goes about doing it's job. As for the interior, This car feels more expensive that it was. I sat in many cars before deciding to buy another outback. Jeep GC felt big, yet cramped inside. Plus that V8 engine paired to that awful transmission felt like a caged gorilla fighting you at ever move. 4Runner, too bouncy. Audi Allroad, too small. No regular sized adult can fin in the back of those. Volvo wagon, was nice. Felt more upscale than the Subi, but surprisingly, the Outback feels better built. Heavy thump of the doors etc. I didn't expect that. At the end, the Outback reminds me of a farm donkey. Definitely not as sporty as thoroughbred A6 Avant, nor a robust as clydesdale Land Cruiser, but I know it will take me thru hell and high water, it is virtually indestructible, it will be cheap to maintain; and all of this while properly fitting 5 adults and boat loads of gear inside. There is a reason the Subaru Cult exist. These things just work. The ONLY negative I can give it is in regards to the driver side front seat. It is a tad too stiff for long rides for my taste. But then again, that is compared to the Honda Odyssey which we all know is more of a couch on wheels. This Outback is great. I look forward to many years of ownership.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 OUTBACK...LUXURY REDEFINED FOR THE BEST MONEY

JP Robertson, 11/10/2015
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
29 of 31 people found this review helpful

This is my fourth Subaru, and my third Outback Limited. The new changes in the 2016 are very noticeable. I looked at the 2015s, and the 2016 drives so much better. Noticeable is the retuned steering, suspension. Other new additions are Starling SOS. What is so noticeable about the 2016 Outback Limited is how quiet the cabin is for a PZEV 4 cylinder. Acceleration is good, not great - 174hp. Fuel Economy is good average 21 mpg around city, and 35 mpg hwy. I wish the warranty would match that of Hyundai or Kia...but being a Subaru, there are hardly ever any problems. The leather is much improved from the 2014 old design, the dash is absolute luxury, and the harman kardon stereo is 10x better than the 2014 model. The touch key board is very user friendly and you really don't need the book to read on how to use it. Lane Assist Warning works like a dream, as does the blind monitoring...My favorite feature is when someone walk by behind you or drives behind you - you are warned immediately. A bigger moonroof, and my favorite fun toy - voice command (you can do anything from call phone, to change your speed on your fan)...and it is fast and responsive, and understands you. Unlike the 2014 model. Overall I love this car! a lot of car for the money, especially when you compare it to Audi Allroad $55,000 MSRP or Volvo XC60 $50,000 + when you add all the goodies the Subaru has. Why pay more? when you can get all the luxury, safety, and 4WD at such a great price $25,000 to 35,000 (limited loaded PZEV). I totally recommend this car, especially the new 2016 Outback. Its an amazing vehicle with all the upgrades!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car-Bang for the buck!

Nick Manno, 11/13/2015
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
29 of 31 people found this review helpful

I've owned SUVs in the past ('97 Nissan Pathfinder and '05 Acura MDX) so I was a little nervous going to a wagon. But after thoroughly researching vehicles that fit my needs I kept coming back to the Outback. I opted to get the 2016 Outback 3.6R with Eyesight in the gold color. This car matches the ruggedness and utility of my Pathfinder and the classiness of my Acura with unrivaled safety equipment to boot. After waiting nearly 12 weeks for it, I am 100% glad that I went with this car. So far I've owned it for a several weeks and have logged several hundred miles. Most of the concerns that have been mentioned in blogs or forums (eg wind noise, transmission hesitation, weak engine) are a total non-issue now for me. I have not noticed and am not bothered by any of it and really have limited things that i could pick on. Maybe something that might be an area for improvement is the under storage compartment where the spare tire is. It really is minimal and not much room to put things in. The other item is the tow hitch, factory only offers a class 1 hitch instead of a larger 2" receiver hitch. Other than that I love this car. looking forward to the first snow fall. Really am hoping to be able to keep this car for at least 10yrs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

First Impressions

awm, 08/27/2015
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

WOW...Amazing! We just purchased the 2016 Outback Limited with EyeSight. It's basically fully loaded. This is our 3rd Subaru. We started with a 2012 Impreza (which we traded in) and then a 2013 Crosstrek. As I'm ready to retire, I was looking for a new vehicle that included the latest safety features. As I learned about the EyeSight system, I was intrigued. Simply put, it's totally amazing. Everything seems to work as advertised. The display when one engages the adaptive cruise control shows the vehicle icon and the vehicle in front of it. The lanes will blink if one is crossing lanes without using the turn signal. The lane assist is amazing. When engaged, it gently but firmly steers the vehicle back in its lane, but is inactive if you mean to cross lanes and use the turn signals. The display even shows when the vehicle is braking. The vehicle will brake on its own when EyeSight is engaged and you keep your foot off the brake pedal. We're still learning how all of the safety features work. The 12 Harman-Kardon speakers are great, and the Infotainment system looks impressive, but I have to learn all of its features. The Outback feels very luxurious inside. We like our Venetian Red Pearl exterior. The alloy wheels are sharp-looking. The car has a solid feel to it and the ride is smooth, but not too smooth so that you lose the feel for the road. The Outback definitely has better acceleration than either the Impreza or the Crosstrek. It's amazing that the stated fuel economy is exactly the same for the 2016 Outback and 2013 Crosstrek. The side mirrors do indicate when there is a vehicle in the blind spot. All in all, a very impressive technological tour de force. But, it is still an Outback, with lots of "for people on-the-go" features and great interior human and storage space. Over the years I have observed that many people who retire buy a new Cadillac or Lexus (or similar). The Outback is meant for active people of all ages, including those that are retiring. Can't wait to use it in the snow. In short, the Outback is the "let's go and enjoy the outdoors" vehicle that we all expect, and much more in terms of quality, features, performance, and safety. Great job Subaru! <br><br> Additional Review After 6 months of ownership- <br><br> Our overall impression is still very positive. The EyeSight system is amazing, and appears to be working very well. I especially like the alarms that tell you if something is coming your way when backing up. This works well even for children walking along the curb to a school bus stop. Very useful feature. Having seen some specific negative comments from others, I can address them from our experience- - Wind noise. Yes, there is some, when driving on the Interstate. However, it's very similar to all of our other vehicles, so it's really not an issue. - The heater works very well and quickly, including the seat warmers. - The leather seats are of high quality. Very attractive. - Yes, the clock is not in the best spot. You have to teach yourself where to look. - Now that it's wintertime in the East Coast, we did notice that the 2.5i engine is a bit noisy during a cold start. But the noise dissipates as the engine warms up. - We do have a small dog, and we put her crate in the back on occasion. The crate fits easily, thanks to the generous space. In short, we're looking forward to warmer weather to take the Outback out for longer drives.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car...but the seats...

Tim, 03/17/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I looked at cars for months. Took a hard look at the Murano, Edge, CX5, and Grand Cherokee before finally getting down to two: Acura RDX and Outback 3.6. After multiple dealer visits to both and a lot of research, I found the lack of trunk space and higher price tag of the Acura (along with outdated infotainment on Base model) pushed me to the Outback. Outback has been everything I hoped (with one exception I'll get to below). The 3.6 with the CVT delivers the best driving experience I've ever had. It's not a BMW to be sure, but the acceleration and shifting is so smooth, I'm blown away. So happy i got the 3.6. And I love the fit and finish inside, high quality, and definitely a luxury look. While i found the infotainment screen a little cumbersome at first, once I spent 20 minutes or so with it in the driveway, i love it. Nice big touch screen and great phone interface too. I also like how the arm rests hit me while I hold the wheel, and the headroom is fantastic (I opted NOT to get the sunroof). This care feels more like a luxury car inside than the RDX did. The only thing I don't like are the seats. I'm 6'1", and the drivers seat is way too short. I realize 90% of Outback drivers are 5'4" women, but these seats are awful. I haven't done a roadtrip yet (only had it two weeks), so I'm interested to see how I hold up. For anyone over 5'10", be very sure you are ok with the seats on this car before you buy. Do a nice long test drive or keep it for a day if you can. I'm looking into some after market bolstering options, but I don't think there's much that can be done. It's a shame too, as I couldn't be happier with everything else about this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

First Subaru and it's awesome

Jay, 02/17/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

This is my first Subaru after many years with Honda. Felt it was time for a change and absolutely love my Outback 3.6R. For my needs, it has everything I wanted. I do wish it had more horsepower but that's nit picking as the H6 is more than adequate for daily driving and trips with gear and passengers. I test drove the 2.5 and 3.6 back to back on several occasions and felt the 3.6 was smoother overall. The CVT with the H6 engine is a great combination. I actually forget it's a CVT. Subaru programmed in fake shift points but they weren't necessary. With that addition of the CVT fuel economy was improved and it's not that much lower than my 4 cyl Hondas. I've exceeded the estimated highway mpg many times on road trips. City driving can yield quite low mpg but I usually get the combined 22 mpg or better. Cargo space is more than enough for my needs. Seats are comfortable with the leather and it's nice that all seats, including back, are heated. In the 3.6 you get HID headlights which are great. Many times don't need my high beams as I used to need in previous cars. Although I don't take it off road often, when I do it handles great. I switched out the rear sway bar to a stiffer one because I felt that on pavement it had a bit more body roll than I liked. Once I put in a 19mm sway bar instead of the stock 16mm, road handling was dramatically improved. I could go on and on about the pros of my new Outback but best thing to do is test drive one. I highly doubt I'll be going to back to Honda or any other brand any time soon. I find myself coming up with reasons to go out just to drive my Outback. Update: It's been over a year now with my first Subaru and it's still a joy to drive. Have not has a single issue to date. Currently at 22k miles. Any regrets of switching from years of Honda's is but a distant memory.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still happy after more then 18 months

captjrh, 01/28/2016
2.5i 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

We're alive... great advertising, true story. My wife and I were rear ended, while we were moving. Impact was so hard it opened the cover on my moon roof. We were fine, the Outback, not so much... but the Honda was a total loss. All fixed and still keeping us safe.been driving it daily since January of 2016 and really like the ride. A/C is cold, Nav is accurate, and back-up camera nice and clear. Still, a few things that I don't care for are: 1) both side mirrors are small and don't tilt out enough, and 2) doors don't lock automatically while driving. Still Happy with the MPG. Real concern is when parked in the hot sun, the inside gets wicked hot. Get an Aftermarket auto start cause the Subaru auto start requires you to be standing almost on top of the car. Safe Driving!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I love, no LOVE my Subaru

SCM, 04/30/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have generally thought that Subaru's were good cars but if I'm honest they have been at best just ok to look at and more often than not kind of ugly. Growing up in a ski resort many people drove Subaru's because they are good in the snow and affordable. I was needing a car that would allow me to haul around dog crates and signs I use in my Real Estate business. I looked at many SUVs and found that most of them were just OK. I didn't even look at Subaru because of my perception of the looks of the car. Then I saw the new Outback and thought "It still looks like a Subaru but it is much nicer looking". It was like knowing a girl who is plain and then meeting her sister who has the family resemblance but is a knock out. I did a great deal of research on this car and in terms of safety, reliability and performance it looked like it could not be beat. I then went for a test drive and was expecting the car to be a bit sluggish but to my surprise I was happy with the acceleration. I drove the 6 cylinder and although acceleration was better you took a big hit in the MPG. The interior fit and finish of this car is top notch with leather and soft to the touch finishes everywhere. Most of the other cars I looked at looked like Tupperware had done the interiors with all the hard plastic everywhere. The eyesight system ROCKS! This car will keep you in your lane, apply braking in an emergency and has adaptive cruse control. The car is quite with a bit of a stiff ride which gives you the ability to use the car off road. I really like that the car sits up high so it is easy to get in and out of. The mileage is amazing being that the car is large and four wheel drive. I am getting about 29 in town and 34 on the highway. Not bad as it is rated at 26/33. Absolutely everything about this car functions well. rear seats fold easily, rear hatch opens electronically. seat comfortable and adjustable. Really good infotainment center as well. To be fair there are a few minor things I would change. I wish the doors would lock when the car is put in gear and I wish the passenger seat had a height adjustment but if that is the extent of my wish list for a car I think that is pretty short. In my work, I often have people in my car. I get lots of comment's like "What kind of car is this" and "This is nicer than I thought Subaru's were." I showed this car to my mother who liked it so much that she bought the identical car a month later. I think what sold her is that were she lives they had a snow storm that was the biggest in something like a hundred years. They did not have enough snow plows to do the streets and even people with four wheel drive trucks were having difficulty getting around. My Subaru did so well that I ended up driving her neighbors to the grocery store as none of them could get out of their drive way. If something happened to this car I would go out and buy it all over again. My research tell me that I'm not alone in this. The car is #1 in brand loyalty, Owners keep their Subaru's longer than any other brand and they have the highest resale value as well. I guess we all love our Subaru's This is my favorite car I have ever owned. UPDATE: I have now owned the car over a year and put 26k miles on it and I'm happy to say I still LOVE this car Update II I have had the car two years and it is still the best car I have ever owned update III 56000 miles and still the best car I have ever owned Update IV I’m still in love. At 65000 miles some of the maintenance items are starting to be needed but I have still yet to have any kind of breakdown. Update V: 75000 miles and only scheduled maintenance. I still LOVE this car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Officially an Outback addict

J. Margeson, 06/25/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have been through a number of cars in my life...from little Mercedes convertible roadster to big Jeep Wrangler and everything in between. The Outback without a doubt is proving to be my favorite all-rounder. It handles much better than one might think so you get a real drivers experience. It's true that with the 4 cylinder you are not going to win any drag races BUT it has more than enough power to get me moving along at a good clip. The trade off is great mileage for my long commute! This is the first car that I've been able to sit in comfortably for hours on end due to the seating, and during Snowmaggedon this vehicle was simply worth its weight in gold. I dare say the Outback performed better on the snow covered roads than my Jeep, and definitely better on wet roads. It has a TON of room in it, both for passengers and cargo. I'm 6' 3" with room to spare in the front and back seats. Interior is quiet and comfortable. And from what my research shows, this car is going to have a great resale value when I decide to get my next Outback!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Update

Patrick, 03/25/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I have now owned this 2016 3.6 loaded Subaru Outback 6 months. What I'm impressed with is the overall ride of the vehicle. Steering, suspension, quiet cabin, are all indications that the folks at Subaru have decided to make this more than just a quirky wagon. You can feel the grab of the all wheel drive system and it instills confidence for sure. My first long distance trip was seamless. The 6 cylinders clearly provide the passing power needed. The only issue I have is the radio reception. Compared to my last vehicle (2006 Acura MDX) the strength of the reception is noticeably weaker. Overall I just love the Outback!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Nice!!

KTW, 04/03/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Great safety features but not all are standard features so you will need to pay extra for them. I have a young child and a lot of children in the neighborhood so the safety features & back-up camera were very important to me and well worth the cost. I previously owned a Volvo XC70. In comparison, the interior is a little roomier but the material is a little lower quality & not as luxurious. Visibility for me is much better and I like that the vehicle rides a little higher but not quite as high a SUV. I have had the car for a only month and so far I have had no maintenance issues. The car, at first, was a little "jerky" when starting for a stop and it just took a little time to get used to the "touch" on the accelerator. All in all I really like the car. The gas mileage isn't great with the 3.6 engine but it's still better than my Volvo.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Best deal for a practical off road car

Julius, 05/10/2016
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for better access to climbing areas. For the price, I could not find a better car with high clearance that can handle off road driving along with reasonable safety features (Eyesight package) for long drives. This is a great, fuel efficient car for comfortable road trips to adventure destinations. The one thing it is not is a fun drive. It is a relatively low power SUV crossover, so it lacks acceleration and sportiness, but that isn't why you buy an Outback...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Why buy an SUV?!?

William Roe, 08/04/2016
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

The obsession with big trucks and SUV's baffles me. This Subaru is PERFECT, and gets much better gas mileage! We just returned from a 2000 mile trip with 3 kids (2 in car seats) and 2 adults and a back full of luggage. The 2.5i engine did just fine in the mountains, and we had no problem with room! Was the back seat cramped, yes, but the 30MPG was fantastic! We have had this car for 1 year now, and I'm very happy with my decision.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Steering:

Elton McCann, 08/04/2016
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

It seems that the Outback has a tendency to drift from one side to the other. It requires constant correction and on a long trip steering becomes tiresome. I have contacted the dealership about this problem and the conclusion is that it is a characteristic of the Outback. Everything else about the car is great and the problem doesn't seem to bother other people but it does me. My 1999 Dodge pickup is easier to hold in a straight line than my 2015 Outback.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Avoid light colored leather seats

Janet Preis, 01/13/2016
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
20 of 22 people found this review helpful

Love, love, love my 2016 pzev 2.5 safety option loaded Limited Outback. The leather is as soft as butter. That is the only problem with my car. I chose the taupe colored leather and it's finish is so soft the part of the drivers seat cushion next to the door started showing that I wear jeans (blue was rubbing off on the cushion) after I had the car 3 months. Advise black leather. In case you're wondering: 1. I always wash new clothes before wearing them. 2. None of my jeans were even near new. The two-tone leather interior is gorgeous but they did the handle one grabs to close the door in taupe not black. That shows dirt quickly. My mpg is only 25 because I drive in cruise control but it's sooo worth it! Rubber exterior along bottom part of car rubs off on legs or pants in extremely hot weather when car has been in the sun for long periods.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love The Features

Tim Satterfield, 11/26/2015
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
25 of 28 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2016 Outback Limited with all the bells and whistles. The car looks great inside and out. In fact, inside it is close to as nice as any luxury car I have owned (MB, BMW, Acura), with leather all around, a great sound system (HK, including sub), comfy seats, and excellent safety features. I am only 1,000 miles in, so can't comment on reliability, etc., but will say that the EyeSight system is awesome! I love that it detects anything behind or to the side of me, and alerts me when I am veering or getting to close to other traffic. It is easy to see all around this car, much better than the Toyotas and VWs we have recently owned. While it is a workmanlike car on the road, the comfort features in the cabin keep us happy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Disappointed for Many Reasons

Lisa Smith, 08/05/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
29 of 33 people found this review helpful

There are so many things that are disappointing to me with this car. Some off them include: after 6 different trips to 2 different dealers I learned that the random hesitation I was experiencing was due to a bad coil pack on a spark plug. The reason it took me more than 15 hours of drive time back and forth to the dealers is because the computer they have running the car randomly decides when it wants to save error codes. For my mechanical issue the engineers who created the computer felt it made sense for it to only hold my error code when the check engine light came on for the exact same reason in 2 consecutive ignitions. My cylinder 1 misfire was impossible to duplicate by the dealer until I made the 6th trip to dealer and I just got lucky because the engineers who created the computer felt it is not necessary to store my previous misfire error codes. Another disappointment is the hatchback. It will not release unless the vehicle is in park and all the doors are unlocked. So, I am guessing the engineers who created this have never dropped a child off at ball practice or been in a slow moving school pick up lane before. If they had they would know you never put your car in park and unlock the auto lock doors before your child jumps out to grab their bags from the back and you quickly get out of the way of the next family dropping off or picking up. I also absolutely hate the keyless FOB. it is my first time owning one and I will never purchase it again. You cannot lock the car with the FOB inside. As a human I should be able to decide when I want my car locked and when I don't regardless if I have a key inside or not. I could elaborate more on this but this may just be a personal preference thing versus an engineering mistake. It is ridiculous to me that this car does not have one dedicated USB for charging a phone when it is not running. Their is no possible way that 1 cell phone can draw enough power to damage a car battery if it is not running. The fuel mileage has been disappointing too. I have never averaged more than 25 mpg regardless if it is combined driving or not. Lastly, the dealership I bought my Subaru from was a joke. Lou Fusz in St. Louis could have cared less about my random misfire problem. They did nothing to help me troubleshoot my random glitch and poor performance and they eventually just blew me off as did Subaru themselves when I called them. They simple said it is covered under warranty but the caveat to that is that it is ONLY covered if they can get the problem to duplicate at the dealer. Finally the second dealership, Webster Groves Subaru in St. Louis helped me to say that I should go to an auto parts store and ask them to do a code reading on it when the check engine light came on given that the car does not store any of the information after I turn the engine off. Needless to say, I do not LOVE. my Subaru....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love the car HATE the Nav and Entertainment system

Jeff Z, 04/08/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I love my Outback. I've got the eyesight and navigation system. The eyesight is incredible and one of the reasons I purchased the vehicle. I frequently travel the midwest for my job and wanted a safer car. The eyesight with auto adjust cruise control is probably the best feature of a car I've ever owned and makes long trips much easier to handle. The front drivers seat is also SUPER comfortable especially when the butt warmer is on! The thing about the car that is absolute garbage are: 1) The navigation system is awful and at time unusable. It frequently has me getting on and off the highway for no freaking reason and says there are traffic jams ahead when there are none so how can you trust it. It completely freezes up on me when I am driving in Chicago and almost got me into an accident while I was trying to get it to work. 2) The entertainment system integration with your phone frustrates me to no end. The apps for the vehicle are an absolute joke and Subaru should be ashamed of what they are putting out compared to other car companies. The buttons on the steering wheel are not the best choices for me to have on the wheel and the voice system is utterly USELESS. 3) Gas mileage is nowhere close to what they advertise - I usually don't even get close to what they advertise for the city mpg when I'm driving highway miles so that is very disappointing. Even with these items I would still buy the vehicle, although I wish that I could have turned down the navigation upgrade as for me it is barely usable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best vehicle

David, 05/01/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I wanted a wagon with a comfortable seat and some power to replace my 2012 Prius V. I loved the Prius V but the seat was very uncomfortable. After driving CRV Touring AWD, Volvo XC70, Acura RDX AWD, Allroad and Outback, I was surprised to find myself really liking the Subaru Outback. I like its spacious interior, simple and logical layout of audio and navigation systems, and overall feel and looks of the interiors. The seat is extremely comfortable. There is no need to read the manual because everything is intuitive. It runs very quiet and acceleration is acceptable even with a 4 cylinder engine. I chose the 3.6 R Limited for for power and smoothness. The adaptable cruise control works very well. I also got the factory trailer hitch for my bikes. However, there is excessive wind turbulence with moonroof wide open. Other than that It is the most versatile, practical and fun to drive wagon. It has gotten 21 to 25 MPG.

Performance
Report Abuse

Keep Your Outback, Outfront

richard flaherty, 08/04/2016
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

After only a month I can tell that this car has it all over the Toyota Venza it replaced, except, except, the Toyota, and others I understand, offer free basic maintenance (oil changes, etc.) and state inspections for the first two years, twenty thousand miles, which means the user will pay pretty much nothing during a three-year lease term, i.e., turning it back before the third maintenance date. Subaru should offer this perk. Nevertheless, I feel this is going to be a great car for me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best value in a 4WD SUV

Tim, 01/14/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
54 of 63 people found this review helpful

After hearing friends rave about their Subaru's we decided to replace our aging 4Runner(over 340k miles) with a 2016 Outback Premium 4 cylinder. Initial impressions are: great build quality, plenty of room & storage, entry/exit very easy, great sight lines, wonderful mileage, great handling and traction, * Steering feels well centered, tracks great and provides just enough feedback to make long drives comfortable. * Ride is well controlled and handles the pot holed northern Ohio roads with grace. * Very quiet interior at speed. * CVT transition also feels like it’s not a CVT, provides the common shift breaks and always seems in tune with what’s needed. * Acceleration of the boxer 4 cylinder is what you should expect, I never feel under powered and unable to pass or keep up with traffic. But never feel like there is a big reserve to pull from when needed. * Gas mileage is fantastic for an 4WD SUV with this much room, this is where the boxer 4 come in. * An intangible as it may sounds - it feels like a well-engineered vehicle. From the packaging of the engine and 4WD drive system, to the details that include underside paneling, engine bay access for maintenance, cross bar and roof latches, ties downs in the rear for cargo, triple door seals, safety systems that include a hefty rear door impact beam, etc. We shopped around and even considered an Acura RDX, we own several other Acura’s and also considered Mazda(CX6 and CX9) and Ford(Escape and Edge) entries. While the Acura was a much better vehicle in every category(expect MPG) it was also another $11k. I love the look of the Mazda’s but they felt cheap with lots of wind and engine noise, poor CVT shifting and a tin feel to everything about them. The Fords were the biggest disappointment, horrible shifting, poor ergonomics and over-priced. Both felt cheap in comparison. I don’t understand how Subaru is able to build this car for this price when I compared it to similar entries from Mazda and Ford. The Outback was leaps and bounds a better car and value.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Johnny Cash-black on black Outback

Alp Traveler, 10/25/2015
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
43 of 50 people found this review helpful

The above ratings may have been rated higher if I had enough miles on my car to properly assess them. I have just 500 miles and have not actually had a chance to experience what some of the questions want ratings for. I was driving a 2003 Vibe, this is 2015. I loved her(my Vibe), no complaints, no mechanical issues, but....it was time to move forward and treat myself to a new vehicle(she had a new owner within 24 hrs of listing). The problem, no vehicle spoke to me until...I test drove the Outback, MULTIPLE TIMES, over a year period to finally make my move. I did spreadsheet after spreadsheet, comparing mpg, insurance, specs, tire size, safety features, read reviews, etc. of my narrowed down search of about 4 different cars by different companies. I ended up ordering a 2016 Outback with all the bells and whistles, including the 3.6 engine. I LOVE it, it has nice and smooth acceleration and it drives solid. I was unsure how I would feel about the CVT but find no complaints at all. I did decide to purchase the 3.6 vs the 2.5 because I did not like the CVT and the 2.5 lag while test driving on the highway, accelerating on the entrance ramp of the highway and passing. As mentioned above, my spreadsheet statistics meant I was only going to put an extra $100+ a yr into my gas fund by going up to the 3.6 vs the 2.5. For those of you who eat out frequently, that means you might eat out 1 less time as a family for the advantages. It is presently fall, my winter will be upon us soon so I can see how it drives on the snow and if the driving ability matches all of the reviews I read previous to buying my car. I ordered the black on black because I did not like the look of the black colored wheel arch molds and cargo rack when looking at purchasing the white Outback. I did not order the tan interior, although I think it looks VERY SHARP with a black exterior because many reviews, including conversations with various dealerships, made mention of the tan leather taking on colors from blue jeans, etc. I plan on keeping Johnny Cash for 7-10 yrs, I wanted a no hassle interior (no regrets, my car looks very sharp). I love the concept of the luggage rails pivoting out upon the need to use them. I carry many items on my rooftop but do not like the extra noise and depletion of gas mileage by having a fulltime rack on my roof as I did with my past cars. This concept is waaaaaay cool! Should you need a longer roof line to fit your Thule box you can switch the rails to different positions so they provide a longer roof line. I ordered the Eyesight and love it! I especially like the cameras, the side mirror warnings and the adaptable cruise. I have not driven in conditions that allow the fog lights to "do their thing" on curves but the concept sounds promising. I will revise my review as I put more mileage on my car. Don't hold your breath though, on a good day I may only put 10 miles on my car. After a few road trips this winter I will be able to better assess. All I can tell you is, everytime I get into my car or look at it I am totally geeked. I made the right choice.....sorry Grand Jeep Cherokee and Honda CRV you just didn't speak loud enough to me. If you are in Metro Detroit, Michigan, I highly recommend Al Serra in Grand Blank. They will work with you, not pressure you, not trick you and make your purchasing experience smooth. I checked out 3 other dealerships, some of them 2x's. I was so unhappy that I was willing to fly out to the east coast to buy my car, until, I found Al Serra. Areas of improvement: Passenger seat-no lumbar adjustment Heated seats-does not reset to "off" when car turns off Dealership All Weather Mats- less than ok, I ended up buying WeatherGuard and love them Heated Steering Wheel-no option Small Glove Box Subaru site-no ability to purchase seat covers, yet their motto is pet friendly. This makes you needing to go off-site in order to purchase. 2017-18 Fall....I have owned the car for 2 years now. My evaluation is still close to the same as my last eval with few adjustments. I wish the car was a tad bigger,closer to an SUV but still love my vehicle. We just did an 8 hour drive and both of us felt like the front seats could add more comfort for road trips. My mileage is better than what was predicted by Subaru. Road noise is ok but after being in our Buick Encore where they have "Bose noise canceling" in the cabin area,I have become more sensitive to road noise. Also,the vehicle only recognizes 1 phone. If you share vehicles in your family that means 1 person doesn't have their phone sync.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Perfect all around vehicle!

William Roe, 10/06/2015
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

I only have a couple hundred miles on the car, but this is everything I hoped for. I have previously been a VW, BMW, Acura owner and this vehicle is my favorite so far. It provides a perfect blend of utility, comfort, safety and economy. I don't live in a hilly area, and don't pull weight so the 2.5i is plenty of power, and I prefer the few MPG you gain. I also went with the PZEV... a few hundred to have peace of mind that I'm doing my part in polluting less. No complaints with the car at all, I'm very happy with the purchase!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car

Mary Remington, 12/04/2015
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

Stepped outside the box on this vehicle and bought the top of the line. Absolutely love this car. I is very comfortable with 10 point driver seat adjustments. Wish I could raise the passenger seat but only moves back and forth. The safety features of the EyeSight are really great, so glad we opted to get this. The dash is well designed. Only downside is on rare occasion there is a glare from the screen but only on rare occasion. Four cylinder has really has good pickup.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It took 9-weeks to get what I wanted and it was wo

Richard, 05/08/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

First the wife and I love the way the 2016 Outback looks. We have had the car for only one week now. We test drove the 2.5 limited first around the test track, our dealership has. We got out of the 2.5 and right into a 3.6 limited, once more around the test track, what a world of difference between the two engine's. My concern was merging into highway or turnpike traffic, with 4 adults and luggage. We ordered the EYE-Site package, for the extra money cant beat all the safety features. We keep our cars for at least 10 years. Before even test driving the car's, I went into the Subaru service shop and spoke with two mechanics. I asked them if they would purchase the 2016 outback, one told me he has a 2015 outback and pointed to it in the parking lot. The other mechanic, let me know that he had a 2011 outback and would have a 2016 if he could afford it. Both told me if I keep cars for 10 years, to order the 3.6 engine, if I can afford it. Took 9 weeks for our car to be built and delivered, to the dealership. After all the research we did, I feel confident our new 2016 -3.6 Tungsten Metallic Limited, will be around for the next 10 years and hopefully enjoyed every mile driven.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Value packed

Mike, 02/15/2016
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We opted for the 6 cylinder. Vehicle is very peppy...plenty of power. Love all the features you get with the full electronics package. I especially like the Eyesight Technology.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050