Used 2005 Subaru Impreza Wagon Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$7,000 - $7,499

Used Impreza for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Wagon

stocksj, 06/07/2012
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I've have my Impreza RS Wagon since new in 2005 and it's always been very reliable in all weather. Mileage is good and it always runs. I've used it as a truck hauling my hobby stuff and gardening things. The HVAC does not blow cold AC from the lower vents but it's no differnt than the 2002 WRX wagon I traded in for this. This car's a keeper for life.

Report Abuse

Maybe the best all around car

Subie4life, 03/09/2010
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I just got back from the dealer for a recall. Yep, after 96,000 miles this is the first time I took it to the dealer. What a great car. I've totally abused this thing (from landscaping materials to my 4-60 lb dogs) and it begs for more. I've only done routine maintenance (tires at 50k, oil every 3k) and it's as strong as ever. It thrives in bad weather (torrential downpours here in Miami and trips to the snow in NC). I get not great, but definitely good gas mileage (21-22 city, 26-27 hwy) and it has plenty of room for just about anything I need. Yes...you should buy one. I expect to keep mine for well over 5 more years and 100k miles.

Report Abuse

Perfect all around vehicle

Justin, 02/18/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I did a lot of research before buying my Subaru. I narrowed my choices to a Jeep Liberty, Mazda 3, Toyota Rav4, and the Subaru Impreza. The Impreza won out for a few reasons. I was looking for something that was good in the snow since I live in Minnesota. I was also looking for something that was good on gas, but could also be rugged and haul my camping gear. The Subaru Impreza was the perfect mix of everything I had wanted in a vehicle. It performed extremely well this winter in the snow. The car does better than an SUV for gas, but worse than most small cars. I am getting 23 city, 28hwy. Overall, I couldn't be happier with my decision.

Report Abuse

An Excellent Value

ScoobieDoobie, 05/17/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have ~5000 miles on Scoobie and it is a fine car so far. My wife wanted a wagon and I wanted a Mustang GT - a good compromise? I think so. Decent performance but this car is rough around the edges - the ride is firm, mechanical clatter and road noise are always present. Scoobie's economy car roots show through at times.

Report Abuse

May be the perfect car...

maastrichtian, 05/26/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Perfect blend of performance, utility, economy, reliability... Performance: 0-60 in ~6 sec (with AWD). Utility: AWD for off-road + rain/snow, >60 cu.ft. cargo capacity, decent ground clearance as opposed to many sports cars, allows you to navigate over bad roads or off road. Economy: I paid ~$22k & get ~25 miles per gallon fuel economy. Reliability: it's a Subaru! Everyone I've ever known who had Subarus still has them. Also nice is the long list of standard features: 6-disc in-dash cd player, side airbags, ABS brakes (saved me from a wreck about 100 miles after buying it -- I would have crashed into stopped highway traffic had I been in my Pathfinder), automatic climate control.

Report Abuse

Happy so far

theKman, 09/07/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

In a little under a year of driving this vehicle, I have had zero problems with it. I chose it for its AWD here in New England, even though I work for a Toyota dealer. It appealed to me much more than the AWD Matrix. I expected a little more power from the engine, and assume it's soaked up a bit from the AWD, but I'm glad I chose the 2.5RS over the WRX. I couldn't justify the $5,000+ premium over the 2.5, plus the WRX requires premium gas. The interior is pleasing to the eye, and very comfortable for my 6'3", 230lb. frame. The base factory audio system is extremely lacking in features and sound quality. I appreciate the functionality of the wagon and the folding rear seats.

Report Abuse

Versatile!

DD, 07/20/2008
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is meant to be driven hard, and it's loads of fun when driven hard. I wish the turbo would be more readily available, but what's really great about the car is the value for money - AWD, Turbo, Sporty, and a Wagon. It's a great blend of features I was looking for. It's practical, affordable, and a lot of fun to drive as a sporty car. It's my first new car, and it's been rock solid so far. No complaints.

Report Abuse

Great car, way more fun than many others

MFK, 12/19/2008
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I used to own a 1999 Legacy/Outback, I purchased this car (2005 Impreza Outback Sport) w/12000 miles and have found it to be a blast to drive. It was literally the car purchased by the little old lady (dealer put in a new clutch before putting it on the lot, I purchased Subaru warranty). Ironically, before I went Subaru in the beginning, I was driving V-8 Mustangs, the Impreza is way more fun, it is nimble, sure footed and safe and has great visibility. Compared to it's peers it is an all weather handling beast without over steer, under steer or torque steer (an FWD plague). The other car I have access to is a 2006 Nissan Maxima...I never touch it.

Report Abuse

Great car, no complaints here

mfk3, 02/14/2009
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had a 1999 Legacy Outback, went to trade it in and found this 2005 Impreza Outback w/14000 miles on it, I liked the style better than the 2008 Impreza Outback. I bought it as a Subaru CPO car and have never looked back or wanted for something else. In fact I looked at Mustang V-8's first (nostalgia), drove an Impreza RS and I was totally hooked on the Impreza. It felt like more of a performance machine than the Mustang.

Report Abuse

Handles like no other

usmm01, 08/17/2009
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am a loyal fan of Subaru, our old impreza was a 97 outback sport. This is my first purchase of a turbo. We are pleased with the WRX as usual with handling and fuel economy w/ cruise hwy. 29.5 mpg @ 65- 70mph! City 23mpg. I will own nothing but Subaru.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050