Skip to main content

Used 2017 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$19,965 - $42,998

Used 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...13

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Rams keep on trucking

Rod Naples / Maine, 03/02/2019
updated 09/06/2022
2017 Ram 1500 Laramie 4dr Crew Cab 6.3 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
44 of 46 people found this review helpful

Bought this truck two years ago it’s the second Ram I’ve owned the first one I had I owned for 16 years . I must say they have come a long way . The 17 is a beautiful truck I have the Laramie 4x4 it’s a great truck I have the hemi motor and still get around 22 mpg on the highway thanks to the 8 speed transmission . It’s ride is unreal for a truck I test drove other makes and they didn’t compare to the ride you get in a Ram . It also is a pleasure to drive and handles great . I have The ventilated seats the heat and cool work great . I also have the alpine stereo system while it is not as good as Bose it does sound great . I also have the LED lights in the bed makes it easy to see things in the bed at night I did buy a tailgate assist on eBay so my tailgate now lowers itself slowly . I also have the Pearl White paint I would always pay for the paint upgrade it just feels like a better finish . I also bought the lifetime warranty it’s expensive but felt it was worth it because when my truck needs repair it will take the sting out of it . There’s also plenty of leg room front and back . The only thing I don’t like about the truck is the rotary dial shifter just doesn’t belong in a truck it takes away from the other finishes in the truck . I will say you also get more truck for your money then Chevy and ford if I bought one of there trucks it would of been 5-10k more . So keep up the good work Dodge -Ram would definitely buy one again I hope this was a helpful review . Have now owned almost 3 years still feel the same way about the truck still no issues I did have rear view camera replaced under warranty . Great truck don’t think other brands compare . Make sure you look at dodge before you buy another brand . Have now owned the truck for 5 years still my favorite vehicle . I’ve had one issue that Dodge was more than willing to fix my sunroof it was leaking it’s a known problem . The dealership did not want to spend the man hours trying to fix it which I don’t blame them so it was sent to a body shop . Knock on wood so far so good . The other issue I had was the driver side door wouldn’t recognize my key fob but the dealership fixed that no issue . I would highly recommend buying the lifetime warranty if your going to spend that much money for the truck it’s a smart thing to do because if you need repairs after basic warranty runs out they could be costly and with the lifetime warranty you have more peace of mind . But overall great truck I would buy a Ram again . Well it’s been over 5 years now have had water leaking issues with the truck 1st my sunroof was leaking and after getting on YouTube it’s a known problem Dodge sent mine to a body shop to be fixed which they did fix with no charge to me which I was happy about but it is a known issue with Dodge but they don’t let you know that 2nd my cab break light also leaked because of a 2=cent gasket they use also a known problem just check it out on YouTube it could be solved with a better gasket that fix cost me $124.00 to me Dodge should of picked it up because they know it’s a common issue just use a better gasket instead of the cheap way out . Overall I still love the truck but beware of these issues but I would buy a Ram Pickup again . Also if you buy the lifetime warranty like I did check to see what it covers because a lot of things it does not cover . But I’m still a happy owner . A lot better than a Ford or a Chevy .

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
5 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the GMC SIERRA 1500 LIMITED
View Offers
GMC.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. See your GMC dealer for details.

3 out of 5 stars

Ram kicks you in the butt if you get too close

Richard Ray, 01/24/2019
updated 01/31/2022
2017 Ram 1500 Laramie 4dr Crew Cab 6.3 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
28 of 29 people found this review helpful

You might ask yourself why such good rating and then poor rating. We have been buying the dodge trucks for 15 yrs. We are honest, have good credit, and my husband is a disabled veteran. If you want a good truck that tows well and gets good gas mileage then buy the ram but do not depend on the Chrysler corporation to back its product if you should unfortunately buy a lemon. due to my husbands failing health we added U connect , GPS, and kept the sirius. We felt this a good investment for traveling due to distance of doctors. The truck has now had 7 radios replaced, amp replaced, satelite antenna replaced, and a body control module replaced. The u connect does not work and thru their tests have found out all of the radios had previous owners so we asked for a new radio with a big refusal. The truck has now been in the shop and the engineers and technicians with dodge cannot fix it so we asked for a replacement new truck. This has been a nightmare. We get assigned case managers that lie and close out our case stating the truck is fixed. Also the front speakers are muffled. We are so disappointed and feel if we are to get our truck fixed we will have to pay for an attorney. Shame on chrysler for doing this and theyare the Ram that kicked us in the butt.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Ram big horn

James, 01/05/2017
updated 07/13/2017
2017 Ram 1500 Big Horn 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.6 ft SB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
45 of 48 people found this review helpful

Great truck. Looked at the silverados as a comparison but the price difference was insane. For a Silverado with less equipment than the big horn, chevy wanted almost 9k more. I'm sorry but even if chevy has better resale I doubt it's that high. If I wanted a comparable truck from chevy it was almost 15,000 more. I've heard of people saying ram isn't as reliable but I believe that's a myth seeing as how everyone I talk to about rams says they love it and have never had any problems. Because of the new "knob shifter I opted for an extended warranty just in case" . The truck rides great. It seemed more smooth then the chevy and just about as quiet inside the cab. The stock stereo has great sound and the engine noise is just the right amount not too loud but it makes its presence known. The cab is huge. Crew cab has more room then our old suv. My mpg gauge tells me I'm doing almost 20 mpg but the real word when I do the math it's closer to 18. Overall it's a great truck with great looks. Good engine. The hemi sounds awesome. One thing I've noticed is the small ft and finish stuff where ram falls short. Little things that don't hurt the truck but makes you think "really...." definitely recommend it though.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Nice big horn 2017 RWD 5.7 Hemi

Diego E, 01/09/2018
updated 07/12/2021
2017 Ram 1500 Big Horn 4dr Crew Cab 6.3 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
26 of 28 people found this review helpful

First, I have to say I love car and this is my first truck, so There are some things that I still ignore about trucks.... I love my Ram, why I add 4 star,? My only ''cons'' is the fuel economy in the city, The Fuel economy falls dramactly in the city (12-13mpg) I think If at least It give you 15 or 16, will be perfect. Cabin is quite , material are good! The info system and screen are very nice and easy to use. The ride is smooth with unloaded bed, so Its a good point. The acceleration and shift are smooth, you can feel the power of the acceleration. I hasn't towed nothing, so I can't give an opinion about that, Nethier about the realibility, I own the truck for 3 months(2500 miles, But I bougth the car with 11000 miles), but I did two small road trips, with no problems, good fuel economy in the HWY using cruise control (22-23 mpg) at 60 mph. I tested the Silverado before buy my RAM, I hd the idea that to choose the silverado because last more than RAM, but I didnt want to pay 4000 More for a Silverado LT as I wanted. i gonna prove the realibilty of my RAM, so Im new and I don't have previous ideas of RAM! I thougth that the ram will be hard to park but It's easier than I thougth . I prefer park back I think its easier, the sensors and the huge back up camera help you to park. the distance between each axes is no a problem to park. For convinence I think the rear seats have to have a USB port or power plug. Updating the review with 20000 miles: continue doing a great job, 0 issues. ***Update 1/8/19 28600 miles.... 0 problems, good engine, Im happy with RAM, I suggest do no buy a new model until next year, it's better to wait and let them to correct all the issue for the first year in a new model. The only thing that I don't like is I had to go 3 times for recalls in the last 6 months,but anyway they already repaired it with 0 cost. It's a smooth ride and very good truck. oil change each 9000 miles,using penzoil full synthetic as the manufacter recommends, I change myself the air cabin filter and the engine air filter to avoid pay the dealer, but I used good brands for that. update 7/9/2021 66000 miles, no problems, run smooth

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Quality Standby

Norm, 01/26/2018
2017 Ram 1500 Laramie 4dr Crew Cab 6.3 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I've owed many RAMs - the ride is and has always been luxurious, the vehicle dependable and the maintenance quite reasonable - the 2017 upholds the tradition. Would have preferred the "bench seat" version to the center console since the bench seat has separate controls for driver and passenger and still has the storage. The gas mileage is a definite downside. The smaller engine is only marginally better (owned both) with bit of loss in performance so it's a toss up. There's a few aggravating details. There's no possible benefit to the tail gate top being shaped to direct water into the bed. The knob shifter just plan s....s. And call me old fashion, but the lack of a cd player puts me at the mercy of a radio jockey's selection or the "high tech" electronics that just don't seem to give easy self selection options once the music is stored there.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...13
Items per page: