Used 2004 Pontiac Grand Am Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price
$1,995

Used Grand Am for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Pleased Overall

Chasing Hazel, 03/13/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for almost a year now, bought it used with 38,000 miles on it. I easily put 1500 miles a month on my car driving to work and back, and Wisconsin winters are harsh -- and as of yet I have no major problems to report. Now, at 56,000 miles, the only work I've had done so far was a front wheel bearing, but I hit a pothole so I'm pretty sure that was my fault, not Pontiac's fault. I love my car, and wish I'd be able to buy a newer Grand Am when I'm done with this one, but sadly they don't make 'em anymore. It has a nice, smooth ride, and I love the way it looks. So happy that the 2004 doesn't have those ugly "ribbed" side panels!

Report Abuse

Excellent Car

navy67, 11/12/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Pontiac in 2005 when it only had about 12000 miles. I would have to say it is our most dependable running and peppy vehicle. It now has about 95000 miles on it and it still runs like a champ and the V6 still has a get-up and go. I wouldn't trade it for anything, especially seeing it is going to be passed on to my daughter.

Report Abuse

Good First Car

Kshoes, 04/08/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second Grand Am, my 1st was a 1999 GT. The grand am was my first car since i was 16. Now 21, I still love my grand am. It's fun to drive and has an awesome stereo with XM! Great for a new driver

Report Abuse

Jury's Still Out

DJ, 05/03/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since I bought the car I have had several problems that I am told are COMMON problems with Grand AM. So my question is why are these not recall items. I have had to replace the Traction control sensors 3 times and I just had to replace the ignition lock and switch which are of course only dealer parts because they have to reset the security features so some $1000.00 later I have my car again until the next COMMON problem occurs. I like the Grand AM but would never by another one. Foreign cars seem to be the most reliable. And I am all for AMERICAN made but our cars don't compare and thats a shame.

Report Abuse

Pontiac Grand Am V6

Mat, 11/05/2016
SE2 4dr Sedan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was my first newish car, bought in 2005 with 8k miles and kept until 2016 at 175k miles. Had the lower intake manifold problem, fixed. Had the "tick-tick" turn signal problem on and off for years then fixed. Ran well, other than those issues (all regular maintenance done) for 10 years then... Had the radiator fill tank fail, led to overheat. Lasted another year, then blown head gasket--possibly related to that one overheat. Car was fun to drive and good commuter, but mediocre quality.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My car is a beast for a 2004 Pontiac Grand Am se2

Steven, 10/18/2017
SE2 4dr Sedan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car had just has a hundred 20222 miles on it, and it's running stronger than ever I just replaced the subframe which holds basically the whole entire car together would a used one for $500 it cost me 2:50 to install this car is just an excellent shape this is a must-see they don't make these cars anymore so don't miss out

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

04 Pontiac Grand Am

John Z, 08/13/2018
SE 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Smooth riding & great acceleration!! Heavy car so the gas mileage is not great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's a shame they stopped making them.

Brandon, 02/24/2019
SE 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car for 6 and a half years, it got me through high school and college, and almost a year afterwards. A really excellent purchase. Besides the security issue with this car, as many other people here have pointed out, I've had one wheel bearing go out at 105,000 miles. To put this in perspective, I got the car with 98,000 miles on it, and it made it to 205,000 miles through 6 and 1/2 years until I slid and totaled it in the snow just recently (damage wasn't terrible, just no value left to it). And I consistently got roughly 30 MPG with it on mostly highway/backroad driving. The handling was always sharp too, but with the 4 cylinder there really wasn't much power behind it. I just wish they still made these, I would buy again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still running strong

The Grandy, 03/20/2019
GT1 4dr Sedan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I now have 216,XXX miles on the red beast. She’s still trucking along, slow and steady. I drive it like a grandpa, proudly, and it keeps ticking for me. I hope it’ll keep going to 300k!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car

Alexis davis, 03/26/2019
GT 4dr Sedan (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car runs great usual problems but solved with trips to shop for minor probloms

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050