Used 2004 Mitsubishi Endeavor SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,856 - $3,485

Used Endeavor for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...67

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

11/28/2018 Update Endeavor

endeavorlover, 05/20/2015
XLS AWD 4dr SUV (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
49 of 49 people found this review helpful

This vehicle has been the best I have ever owned. We bought used with 21,000 on it now here it is 2015 with 109,000. We have had up keep that is normal for a car this age, brakes, belts, hoses, shocks, etc. we also have had to replace the water pump, and all bearings on the axles. I would drive it across the U.S. Today without hesitation. It still doesn't use oil. Have always run synthetic oil since we owned it. It still runs like a sewing machine. We will keep it until we have it towed off hopefully many years from now. If you find one well maintained, BUY IT! Is very safe and dependable. The AWD is invaluable for rain, snow, and ice. May 2016 After changing sparkplugs and changing in all belts and hoses for the very first time since owning my Endeavor, the motor runs so smooth and still very peppy. This is now our second vehicle and does not see as much use as it once did. Still this vehicle has been outstanding. It does have inherited design flaws to contend with but they are not dangerous. If you can find a used Endeavor the 2004 model in particular you will have made a good investment. The key is well maintained. The motor still does not use oil, the transmission is very tight and drive line incredibly strong. I still feel this vehicle has been on of the very best I have ever owned. I would never find an equal anywhere that had the same miles. Still only one occasional squeak in the interior. There are some design flaws with the vehicle. Exterior door handles, exterior vent in front of the windshield, and paint is peeling in various spots. I still feel and wish I had bought two of these 2004 Endeavors. Still a great vehicle and dependable anytime and anywhere. Nov. 2016 We still own our dependable 2004 Mitsubishi Endeavor. We just put I believe our fourth set of tires on it. Nothing much has changed. The vehicle is an outstanding daily driver. It is ugly as hell because of the peeling paint but otherwise sound. I still wish I had two of these vehicles. Just a bulletproof vehicle. One thing of note, the timing chain is something that should be checked and adjusted every 25 to 35,000 miles. Do not forget or overlook this very important item less you have aluminum shavings ruin your motor. All electrical still works et. power windows, locks, wipers, heater, A/C and blower. This AWD would be a great vehicle for a first for your teenagers. May 2017. This old Endeavor is still as sound and not using any oil. I have to replace the rear drivers side exterior door handle. The second of four so far. These handles just don't handle UV rays! Other than looking like it has some paint disease it is sound. All electrical items work. It only has 118,000 miles. It has been regulated as my second driver. I think it has become part of the family and most likely be around for a long time to come yet. Got to get a paint job for it someday. Nov. 28, 2018 Well here it is the end of another year almost and we still have our Endeavor. She, yeah it's a woman, is still humming along. Here are notable things we are dealing with so far. I truly wish the door handles were metal! Definitely not kid proof. They're made of plastic and UV is a killer. So I have bought three new handles and have decided to paint them before installing them myself. I believe once these are painted and clearcoat put on this will stop the brittelness problem for good. I will let you know on my next update. As far as concerning the engine we only put 9,000 miles on it but ALL city miles. It still doesn't use oil. It is getting close to time to having the timing chain checked so we will have that done by a great local mechanic we trust. The paint job is still peeling and now small rust spots on top of the cab have appeared so it is time to head to a body shop for 2019. The interior still is immaculate but problems found is the drivers side sunvisor has lost a screw and needs repaired. For some reason the back panel on the passenger side seat has fallen off. I highly suspect an attack from some children has caused this as one of the plastic clips is broken. Exterior trim has been doing well other than the door handles. I crawled under the vehicle to give it a pre-winter inspection and found light rust spots scattered about on the frame. They are not serious yet and very light but need sanded and primed to prevent further damage. Maintenance has been key to this vehicle but every cent has been worth it as it is still a very sound and solid vehicle. I would still drive it anywhere without any hesitation. I was interested and decided to Google this vehicle and found so many others who have had great service with this vehicle. One sticks out who had 348,000 miles on their Endeavor. I believe it this is an incredibly well built vehicle mechanically. One other thing before closing. I am getting ready to install a fourth set of headlights! To me excessive and really not sure why this is occurring. I would be interested to know if other owner has this problem too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

105,000 miles - Major Problems About to Hit?

endeav04awd, 05/20/2011
New LS AWD 4dr SUV (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I bought this SUV in 2006 with 14,000 miles on it. Enjoyed the comfort, the power, the visibility, and the price. Mileage is average - about what I would expect for the body design and an AWD drivetrain. The AWD has done wonders for tire ware - very even with quality tires. Early on, had the classic water pouring into the passenger and/or driver side floor; 2 trips to the dealership to fix . I get maintenance done regularly. But, engine oil every 3k - 5k with synth oil, & @80K engine started to develop cam/lifter clatter upon startup (goes away once engine warms up).

Report Abuse

endeavor rules

PaRtYgOd123, 03/22/2003
Limited AWD 4dr SUV (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

the endeavor is a wonderful suv with complete comfort good looks and very low priced for whats its worth.it gets good gas millage for an suv and is very roomy in the inside.

Report Abuse

Reliable endeavour

rodo, 08/10/2015
New XLS AWD 4dr SUV (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

I had in the past a VW, Chevrolet, Nissan, Chrysler, dodge, ford, Toyota, and after i bought this Mitsubishi endeavor I was concern about it, because I've herd bad comments on Mitsubishi cars, well I never had a problem with it, drives very soft and good all the time, is quiet, never made any repairs of nothing only regular maintenance it has 176,000miles and it looks like it can go for 300,000 easy without a problem

Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Vehicle We Have Owned out of 30.

Mike, 01/30/2017
XLS Fwd 4dr SUV (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Bought my wife's 2004 Endeavor new in Oct 2003 for $26k OTD. Has 351,167 miles now on 31 January 2021. It is our around town vehicle since we bought a new 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport Ultimate Turbo. I do 95% of maintenance and keep up with everything regularly. I change the Mobil 1 synthetic 10 - 15,000 mile guaranteed oil every 5k miles (annually) That mileage is now about 5,000 a year since my wife retired. Wish I could buy another one just like it. The only issues were the A/C condensation leaking into the driver's side floor and the P0431 code for catalytic converter slow to warm which causes the check engine light to illuminate. For the A/C fix, I had to remove the seats and carpet and clean everything then added the extension hose to the A/C drain under the SUV per the TSB. All is fine now and has been for many years. One set of Firestone Destination LE tires ran 100,525 miles! We have 86,000 miles on the Destination LE2 tires now. I wish it didn't need premium gas. Best vehicle we ever owned. Plan to drive another six years or 30,000 miles when I retire at age 70. Update: I never did the timing belt work because the first change was due within the 100,000 mile warranty. I let the shop do it afterwards because it required some special tools. Shops messed up about four of the six times. We temporarily had a small coolant leak from the metal tube leading to the water pump under the intake. Shop says it is too hard for them to fix. I ordered new seals but the leak stopped a long time ago. The dash has had an annoying squeak for years. It gets about 21 MPG on highway on premium fuel. I hear a noise from area near the three belts. Been noticeable for a while. I changed one belt with only 15,000 miles since it was stretched out of tolerance. I think the noise could be the original power steering bearings? We will need tires by next fall.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...67
Items per page: