Used 2004 Mercury Monterey Minivan Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
62 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,671 - $4,352

Used Monterey for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT VAN

rr, 03/02/2010
Convenience 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

HAD the chev venture and pontiac before this both were in the shop steady bought the mercury van and it now has 101000 on only problem was 120 bucks very reliable gets from 19 to 24 mpg very comfortable

Report Abuse

3.88 out of 5 stars

twice the stuff for 1/2 the price

Gweller, 10/23/2006
Convenience 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Had this van for 1 year. Bought used w 12k on it. Really shopped around. The good news is they depreciate from new like lead. 35k new paid around 17k So they're a bargain used. I've had one repair, heated seat stopped working. Wouldn't have had this problem w others models because at this price they wouldn't have had the option on them. Great bang ( leather, power sliding doors, dvd, front/rear parking sensors, stability control) for the same buck that will get you a base used Toyota or Honda.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Third review, now at 80,000 miles

Almon, 03/29/2010
Luxury 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

This van continues to be the best auto purchase I have made over 40 years of driving.I have had two repairs over the past six years. A door lock and an AC compressor last year. Total for both $900.00. This van is solid on the road and comfortable for my 6'2" 250 pound frame. Interior is very flexible. Pick up and passing performance seems to have improved over the years. I average 16 mpg city and 23mpg highway.

Report Abuse

2.25 out of 5 stars

Cheap Van

Flminivan mom, 09/11/2006
Convenience 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

We purchased our van new (17 miles) in 4/2005 because of the huge discounts offered thinking it was a great deal. This van has had to have rotors turned 3 times, rotors replaced 2 times, has been in for a leak under the rear seat 4 times (w/mildew), has been in 2 times for interior problems (dash) and had had the front tires replaced 2 times and other misc. problems. It now has 21,000 miles and is going back again for brake issues - vibration when braking. Don't waste your money on this unless you don't mind running it back for repairs every few weeks. Ford needs to acknowledge the major safety issue with the rotors. Too many others have had same problem for ours to just be a lemon.

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

Still doing great!

Almon, 04/01/2007
Convenience 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

My van now has 52,000 and the only problem was to replace a lock on a sliding door. Just replaced brakes and tires this month. Getting 21 mpg over all. About half of my driving is highway miles. My wife and I still love the looks and the comfort on roadtrips. The engine has a lot of torque and is fast off the line and good at passing in the 45-60 mph range. The advance trac feature really keeps it solid on the road.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Mercury Van ever!

vanlady, 10/17/2003
Premier 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great to have a van from Mercury again...and they nailed it! It is the most luxurious interior on a van that i have seen!

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Only for Mercury Fans

Boca Heat, 07/28/2006
Convenience 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

great on a road trip, never misses a beat. room to spare, good ride, good front seat comfort. Poor quality interior. Cheap plastic, poor fit and finish..looks and feels cheap, even the leather seats are not very good quality. very bad dash controls, figure it out if you can. this van will run hard and never fail its owner.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Finally replaced my villager and WOW

Heather, 09/01/2006
Convenience 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

The AC recently went out on my '93 Villager (I cried) and we made the desicion to start looking for a replacement. We looked at the Ford version of this, but were blown away by all of the extra's that Mercury added. We got the Premire and it has everything. We took it to San Diego for a week from Utah and were surpised at how much more room it has than our Villager. Luggage for a family of Six with room to spare! The older kids love the captains chairs and travel through 105+ temps was a breeze! My in laws took theirs through the Mojave the week temps were 120+ and had no problems. If it is anything like our Villager it will be with us for a long time.

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

2004 Mercury Monterey

kevinfriend, 06/30/2012
Premier 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 13 people found this review helpful

I am an owner of the 2004 Mercury Monterey, I have never wrote a review on a car in my life, but thought this important to do on this one. I bought the van with 38,000 miles, today it has 53,000. I have never been so disappointed in a vehicle in my life. This week the air conditioner is out. Its something at least once a month. I am easy on my cars, service is very important to me. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone. I am a 20 year Police Officer and really considering selling all of my Ford products because of this vehicle, terribly dissapointed in Ford Lincoln Mercury for allowing this type of vehicle on the road.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Transmission/egr headaches

famster, 06/16/2010
Luxury 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

My 04 monterey transmission went too, no warning! Cost $2000. 84,000 miles. Also having problems with engine light. Looks like egr valve. Cost about $350. Love the car, but the excessive repairs are bleeding me dry! With the transmission complaints abundant, why won't Ford do anything? From a large family of Ford owners, I may not purchase another due to lack of support of their owners and their own lack of accountability. How sad.

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050