Used 2013 Mazda CX-9 SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price
$12,900

Used CX-9 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Car so far

grassshearking, 02/08/2013
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

I have about 500 miles on my 2013 CX9 AWD Grand Touring SUV. I wanted reliability, a good array of technical options, comfort, quite ride and seven seats. I looked over a variety of options - the GM suite of products (Enclave, Acadia, Traverse), Toyota Highlander, BMW X5 and Acura MDX. I added the CX9 to the list after seeing its consumer rated reliability index was a 92, higher than the Highlander. My decision came down to the Highlander and CX9. Did not trust the GM products, Acura MDX is too expensive, same with the X5. Compared to the Highlander Ltd, the CX9 GT has a better middle seat, better technical options, a better ride, and is a much better value. Paid $37k out the door for min

Report Abuse

don't buy from Byers Mazda- Columbus Ohio

elantra6, 01/24/2013
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

CX-9 is a great car. Very good quality, great Value. Compare it to all 7 seaters- CX 9 is the best value. I got my for $34,000 - Grand Touring - best value on the market I was very disappointed with Byers Mazda - Columbus Ohio - actually with their service department. The outside mirror is shaking a lot, so I went there to ask the to fix it. It's bean almost a 6 months and I have been given all kind of excuses not to fix it - very disappointed.

Report Abuse

Excellent 7 seat SUV

gman_mi, 05/29/2014
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

After a lot of research we decided to get the 2014 CX-9 Touring AWD with the Tech Package to replace our aging minivan. Some of the other vehicles we test drove were the Dodge Durango and Honda Pilot. The CX-9 had the best combination of interior space, looks, features, car-like driving experience and value for money. After a month of driving around we have been really satisfied with the vehicle. The vehicle is easy to drive and park which is unusual considering its large size. The Touring w/tech package offers a lot of near luxury features(Navigation, Moonroof, heated seats, leather, Bose speaker) but still keeps the sticker price reasonable for a large SUV. 3 yr Update: We liked the vehicle and we did a lease buyout. Now we have put in 44000 miles and the vehicle still looks and drives good. 3 years of midwestern potholes and rough roads have induced a few minor rattles in the cabin but overall the interior and exterior have held up well. Gas mileage has remained steady around 17-18 mpg in mixed driving and 21-22 on long roadtrips. Other than oil changes and tire rotation every 7500 miles no other service required. Key fob battery had to be replaced after 2.5 years. We are very satisfied with the vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Large SUV that Drives Like a Car!

12thfan, 05/09/2013
22 of 25 people found this review helpful

I have had my Cx-9 Grand Touring since January and love everything about it. I even like driving to work! I test drove the 4 Runner and Explorer but didn't like either one. The 4 Runner felt rough like I was driving a truck and you definitely heard and felt the engine working. I also didn't like being on a truck axel. I loved the Exterior of the Explorer, but felt the steering was too loose. I looked at the CX-9 once we read all of the great reviews. When we test drove, it was my favorite by far and it was the best value- a winning combination. Usually my favorite is the most expensive one! The steering responds extremely well and the V6 is the perfect amount of pick up.

Report Abuse

Sooooo not the minivan

mamams, 05/02/2013
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I just purchased my CX9 and let me tell you, I am loving it. I did not want to get out of it after my first drive to work. The interior is very comfortable and the small touches that Mazda has added are really nice. For instance, there is a little well in the center console for your USB or charger cord to rest in, so that you can fully close the console. The all weather mats were standard on my model and I love them too! I drove others, such as Ford, GMC, Chevy, and never felt like I was LOVING driving them. Once I saw the CX9 reviews, I thought I would try it, and am so glad I did. This car is VERY fun to drive. I am so ready for my first road trip in about 3 weeks!

Report Abuse

Excellent family car

jzwerl02, 05/26/2013
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Recently turned in our Lexus RX 350, looking to spend a little less this time around. The car is great (it's my second Madza; I also have a Mazda3). The only two things I can think of to complain about are the navigation screen is a bit small, and the interior material just feel a little cheap. But I guess they have to cut corners somewhere if I'm going to save this much $$$!! Otherwise the car is great!

Report Abuse

Buy a Pilot or Highlander

Brant, 08/04/2015
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is an update to my earlier review. Do not buy this car. Yes it handles and accelerates well and is roomy and fairly fun to drive. Downsides are manifold. Compared to the 2009 CX9 I owned: The 2013 continues with poor gas mileage in a range of 12 mpg to 20 mpg. The sheet metal is thinner hence the car easily picks up dings. The NAV system is useless so I don't use it. The transmission has a mind of its own. It is rough and clunks and bangs when shifting to drive at times. It downshifts randomly when tapping the brakes. The front brake rotors have warped so the brakes pulsate dramatically. One on the key fobs has already died. The central locking system is unintuitive and frustrating. I am generally a Mazda fan but they decided to cheapen this car. There are a lot of good cars on the market today and these named flaws are unacceptable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Initial review: Great!

syndic8r, 10/29/2013
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

It has been almost 3 years since before deciding on the CX-9 Grand Touring Tech to replace my '04 Highlander. I still really like the vehicle. Great vehicle for the price. The ride is very nice and although the 20's do make the ride a tad rougher (as reviewers have said), overall the ride is more than acceptable. Vehicle has acceptable power, which is helpful as I live in a hilly area. Gas mileage is right around 18. I do much more city driving than highway and I'd love it if the mileage was better, but it's acceptable. I do a lot of listening to streaming audio and podcasts so the tech is important to me, and my only gripe. System talks to Android for text interface, but doesn't "see" android for music. Music player has more functionality for ios platforms than Android. If car is parked for a couple of days--like at an airport--you have to reconnect phone as the system loses connectivity. Gracenote feature has never worked for me, even after attempting to update. I hope that the updated version of the car cures these problems. I'm definitely considering another CX-9 when this lease is up.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Not as good as my 2009 CX 9

stopresisting, 10/09/2014
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I came from a 2009 Mazda CX 9 Sport AWD which I absolutely loved. Not a single problem with the 09. I knew that the '13 was almost identical to the previous model year 9's but with more technological safety features. I had to have a rear view back up camera. The Blind Side Monitoring system is wonderful. Although the New Grand Touring (GT) came with 20 inch wheels, I didn't really feel a big difference in ride quality. The wheels are stylish but not chrome. As another reviewer stated, the sheetmetal is not as it was in previous years and easily prone to dings. The newer model's glove box has no locking mechanism and the coin storage drawer is gone.

Report Abuse

Engine dies at 68K miles & Mazda say "Tough Luck"

Rich K, 11/01/2018
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just experienced every car buyer's nightmare. Purchased new CX-9 in 2013 and did all the required maintenance for the first 60 miles. After 5 years and 3 months and 68K in miles the engines completely dies. The reason per Mazda is the a "very rare" situation occurred INSIDE the engine where the internal water cooling systems broke and leaked into the engine resulting in broken rods and the need for a completely new engine that will cost $10,000!!!. The dealership passed me off to Mazda corporate who then spent 10 days contemplating what they would do for me. Their answer - "Too bad for you. Out of warranty go pound sand" Needless to say I am fuming and you can take this review as blowing off steam. With that said, the fact that I did everything right in regards to taking care of my Mazda CX-9 and the engine dies and needs complete replacement is the real take-away. Consider yourself warned. Don't walk - run away from this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Car is 5 years old and still love this car

abrandvo, 11/02/2013
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
38 of 61 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 5 years now and am still so glad I made the decision to go with the CX-9 rather than Toyota Highlander. The car still looks and rides like new. I have been diligent about scheduled maintenance but that is all that has been needed as far as repairs. The car has been extremely reliable with only 2 very minor recall notices that the dealer took care of immediately and gave me a loaner to use while they had the car for a few hours. I still love the ride and feel of this crossover compared to others I test drove and friend's cars I have ridden in. It accelerates and handles more like a sports car than an SUV. It corners well and I love the blind spot monitoring for changing lanes and the mirror tilt when in reverse for parallel parking. The technology is great and enhances safety and driving enjoyment with the ability to pair my phone, tablet, etc for calls, texts and music. Mazda has made improvements on MPG added even more safety and technology to the new CX-9 including a more luxurious and upgraded interior , but the way this car is holding up I will likely be keeping it for a few more years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent Vehicle to drive

jmorana, 07/22/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Mazda CX-9 Grand Touring that I recently bought is awesome. Nice feeling when you drive it, superior technology package, comfort and have 7 seats!!! . Thanks to George Dupuy who took the time to show this excellent vehicle to my wife with all the details. The test drive was a great experience to make the final decision to buy this car.

Report Abuse

Bad transmission / torq. conv. & NHTSA: Bad brakes

atom88, 03/23/2016
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We have a 2013 CX-9. Since we've owned it the torque converter and new transmission were completely faulty and replaced, the brake booster, lower control arms (and now front ball joint). The brake booster problem has existed on other Mazda vehicles dating back to 2003 (over 10 years). in 2012 Government investigated problems of leaking master brake cynlinders of 2008 Mazda CX-9. NHTSA already investigated the 2010-2011 CX-9's and Mazda "extended the warranty" on those vehicles. What about the 2013 CX-9's? Why was the problem not yet remedied on the 2013? I have COMPLETELY lost confidence in the Mazda brand: brakes, transmission and steering. It's a great vehicle, but what good is a vehicle if you cannot stop or steer or have power to the transmission? Safety should be FIRST priority and MAZDA has failed miserably with these issues (especially brakes). The brake booster was supposedly "fixed" under warranty, The next day the orange wrench mechanic light illuminated on the dashboard and cruise control broke. It turns out the brake booster was still faulty. We took it back and they have supposedly "fixed it this time". This is the 3rd major repair of this vehicle and it is now less than 3 years old! I do not think I would buy another Mazda again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Class on a dime

Bethany P, 09/27/2017
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my third Mazda I've owned and won't buy anything else. I love Mazda for its dependability and class.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 2nd CX-9

brantw, 08/19/2014
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I previously had a 2009 model I put 92,000 miles on and was happy. This new model (2013) not so much. The sheet metal seems thinner as the car easily picks up dings and dents. The front brakes are pulsating and I do not drive the car hard. The transmission constantly downshifts as soon as I tap the brakes and this is irritating. The car sometimes clunks into gear when shifting from park to drive. Finally, the central locking system is not intuitive. I park in the garage and leave the keys in the vehicle. On several occasions the car has mysteriously locked itself. Thankfully I have a spare key in the house. Still a decent car but would not buy again.

Report Abuse

Very pleased!

Chuckgap, 07/17/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

It seems that owners either love or hate this vehicle. One on line site claimed it was in the top 10 vehicles that are cheaper than they look. I think this conclusion is totally unwarranted. Traded for our CX-9 when we became grandparents. Bought the Grand touring and yes the navigation system is old tech and needed upgrading. The ride is smooth and quiet even with the 20 inch wheels. The front seats are very comfortable as is the second row, third row is tight as in most similar vehicles. My brother has a BMW X5 and I will compare rides any day. I have had no problems with the transmission as it shifts smoothly and we get 20.7 miles per gallon - lot's of highway miles and small city so in heavy traffic I am sure it would be less. Uses regular gas which is a plus. Bought a hitch carrier to improve storage as we haul 2 adults, 2 car seats and a 40 pound dog. I have owned multiple Mazdas and have always been satisfied. I recommend this vehicle but would drop down to the touring edition and either use a smart phone or Buy a GPS add on!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

From 7 to 1

mrpladd, 03/18/2013
26 of 52 people found this review helpful

Test drove 7 SUVs and all were nice and capable but the CX-9 was the only one that really excited me after the test drive. Pilot, Traverse, and Pathfinder were too cavernous. Explorer had too many bad reviews (here, CR) and I rented one for a weekend and it was falling apart at 1700 miles. Acadia was overpriced. Durango was a really nice ride and came in a very close second but was probably more SUV than I needed (I don't tow). The CX-9 website does not do justice to the looks of this SUV. It is very sharp looking and people have given me nice compliments. Got it last week and drove 2 hours to Boston this weekend. So comfortable. Didn't want the drive to end. Fit kids and luggage no prob

Report Abuse

Good car minus the navigation

skgpo3, 12/23/2014
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for two years now. I got it when I had two kids I now have 3. Overall we have run out of room. My 6'5 husband puts either the driver or passenger seat all the way back causing cramping in the 2nd and third row. It creates constant fights with my kids as they then both adjust their seats trying to get more room. You can't fit 3 car seats across the 2nd row. I can barely do a Costco run with 1/2 a third row up. The navigation is horrific and always freezes leaving me to pull over and enter my destination in my cell. My husband hates my navigation and refuses to use it. When it does work, the directions are not great.

Report Abuse

Not an Envoy

Draykana, 12/28/2017
Sport 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this car because we outgrew our Envoy. We needed to seat 4 kids and 2 adults. The biggest complaint I have with this car is that it has hardly no head room. With the slant everybody is giving cars nowadays you almost always hit your head getting in or out. I'll note my husband and I are not tall people. The nice thing is it does sits a little higher off the ground like my Envoy does, although it has bigger doors so it is easier to get my little one buckled in her rearfacing carseat compared to my Envoy. I can fit my babytrend jogging stroller in the back, but it takes up the entire back unless I put a seat down. As for driving performance it handles well. I've only driven it on rain and dry roads, but so far it has done great. Good turn radius. Smooth ride even on poor roads. It's a quiet ride. Visibility is a little tricky when backing up since they squashed the top down. Gives you a bit more of a blind spot. This is my opinion so far based on a two month ownership. First time Mazda owner.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loved it except for awful engine/water pump design

AliG, 03/29/2019
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Loved everything about this car until the water pump broke at 38,000 and 6 years old and because of poor design, whole engine had to be replaced and Mazda corporate or dealership was not helpful at all. They clearly don’t value their customers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

BAD water pump and timing chain ruined this car!

Derek Price, 06/13/2019
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

1st Owner, 136xxx miles, regular oil changes and maintenance. Water pump and timing chain (Po216 code) went out and come to find out, those are very expensive repairs AND doesn't truly reveal how damaged the engine is. When ASE-certified and trustworthy mechanics refuse to do the lucrative work because of the terrible history of the design, you know there is a problem. In fact, there is a lawsuit pending https://www.ktmc.com/ford-lincoln-water-pump-engine-failure ).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

$4100. in non-warranty repairs - Don't trust this

Toyota lover, 09/15/2019
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Original tires hydroplaned drastically (Replaced with Michelin tires ($800). Brake booster and brake master cylinder failed at 104,000 miles.($900.) Gas tank vapor back fill flapper check valve failed at 106,000 miles - Couldn't pump gas without is shutting off every 10 seconds ( New gas tank $2000). A/C doesn't stay cool when car idles for more than 10 minutes on a hot day ($400 and still not fixed). Never had such problems with my Toyotas. (200k miles before any problems at all). Never will buy Mazda (Ford made) car again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Car or brand...

bb_nj, 07/13/2013
14 of 45 people found this review helpful

Bought spanking new CX9 AWD and was super excited. The drive is nice though the voice interface can be improved. Alas this was short lived and not to mention super frustating. So much so that I have decided to let go of the vehicle at a lose. Why... because Mazda sold me a car for which they do not have spare parts. My car is in workshop for more than a month for simple parts like bumber and grill. They do not even have eta on the back orders. The Customer service is no help and would not even consider a loner car. I am spending from my pocket. Even after the car is fixed I have lost complete faith in the brand. Please do share this critical info with friends.

Report Abuse

Good but could be much better

lmabadie, 01/22/2014
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 35 people found this review helpful

This car is fun to ride and very comfortable. Fuel consumption a little high. Worst by far are the Navigation System, voice recognition and the electronic interfaces, such as the Sirius radio and Bluetooth. Those do not seem to have even been Beta Tested, such a poor design that makes you wonder about the rest of the car. Sad part is that it it is just poor software, which needs an urgent upgrade.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mazda Engine Problems

Pissed Off Wife, 08/12/2019
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR! We purchased our 2013 Mazda CX-9 August of 2018. Everything was fine and we loved having an SUV for our growing family. On Memorial Day, our engine overheated while on the way to Mini Golf and it was towed the next day. We found out our engine was completely fried, water pump failure, you name it and its happening! We brought the car to the dealership and they acted like they were going to see what they could do to help us. I am guessing since this is a known Mazda problem, they are aware this was going to happen. They quoted us 10,000 for the vehicle to be fixed and said they can only find new engines. Our vehicle has sat all summer while we continue to go back and forth. We were also only notified about an airbag recall and not about the other dangerous ones this vehicle has. Truly so disappointed. This was the first vehicle my husband and I have bought together and it has been a true stressful nightmare. I hope others are warned before its too late.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Go zoom zoom mommy

cgllane, 07/02/2013
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just got our new CX-9 in May. We have already put nearly 6000 miles on it, and have loved every mile. My daughter likes to say go zoom zoom mommy, so I do. It is so much fun to drive and comfortable for the whole family on our long road trips. We love it. And the staff at Freeway Mazda in Ogden were all great to deal with.

Report Abuse

I cannot wait for my lease to end

Michael, 07/29/2015
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I now had my 2013 CX-9 for 27 months and have logged 14k miles. To date both key fobs do not work (one is used by my wife and one by me on weekends). The navigation freezes at the exact moment you need it. The exterior sheet metal easily bends. Gas mileage is weak (but I knew this going int the lease). Other then the above the car will meet expectations.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome Ride

Sharon Gentles, 02/20/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Putting the Sport in Sport Utility Vehicle

Mike VonMoss, 05/20/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After seven years with the Mazda CX9 I love it as much today as the day we drove it home. This is a too much overlooked and too much under appreciated SUV. We've done everything with it from pulling a camper to shining it up and taking it on fancy date nights. I love the way it drives, taut, balanced, and smooth. It is a large vehicle but it doesn't drive like one. It drives smaller, sportier, more controlled. It handles curves with confidence and cruises the interstate smoothly. If you find a well care for CX9 buy it, but not mine, mine isn't for sale.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050