Used 1999 Lexus LS 400 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,822 - $8,225

Used LS 400 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The most reliable & comfortable car in the world!

afriend4life, 09/01/2013
4dr Sedan
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I've owned a dozen cars in the past: 2 Cadillac's, Jaguar, 3 BMW's, Infiniti, Corvette - most I've owned for 12-15 months and had to invest $1700-$3300 per year on maintenance. I've owned '99 LS400 for 3+ years & it has been the most reliable car I've ever owned - my ex, Lexus SC430 was just as good, & they both have the "world's most reliable engine" award. I do a safety inspection once a year & surprised to hear that all is good, no problems with suspension, engine or transmission. I'm only changing oil every 10K miles (using Amsoil), brakes last long & tires are good for 70K miles. Besides better handling that my ex-BMW 540i had - this Lexus has been such a pleasure to own & joy to ride!

Report Abuse

Me and my Lexus LS 400

padevlin, 04/22/2005
4dr Sedan
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I just purchased this car about one week ago; it is the best car that I have owned during my 53 years of driving and I have driven just about all of them. I could not afford a new one; had to settle for a used one. It is in excellent shape for a 6 year old car. Heavy miles but in excellent condition. I can't decide which I like best: the design or the drive? It is a fabulous car and I am glad that I finally own one. It is a real thrill to put the pedal down and feel the surge of the powerful V8 after driving a V6 over the last 5 years.

Report Abuse

It's True, the BEST Sedan Made

MrPino, 11/20/2011
4dr Sedan
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I've owned over 50 cars in my old age and the 99 LS400 is one of the best. I also have a LS430 but find myself driving the LS400 the most. These cars are powerful, quiet, extremely relaxing to drive and get very good gas mileage. With proper maintenance, the LS400 will go 400,000 miles without a problem. I've owned 21 different Lexus cars and still consider the 1998-2000 year models to be the best.

Report Abuse

Best Lexus ever made

anna, 04/12/2009
4dr Sedan
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Best Lexus ever mAde. Best car money can buy you, no mechanical problems, no oil leaks. It mind bubling that germans can't make qualiy cars. I never see BMW, MB, VW or AUDI with 100000 miles and no leaks. But Lexus can go no problem to 300,000 miles without any issues. It is a tank-comfy one, looking good, very fast. If you're willing to pay a speeding ticket just hit the accelerator and in a heartbeat you get 155 mph. I did update my wheels to 18", that got me big improvement in handling and cornering, it was worth it. Car that you could trust, will not get you stuck.

Report Abuse

True touring sedan

tb7600, 03/28/2005
4dr Sedan
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

This is a true touring sedan -- fast and smooth -- stylish -- reliable -- comfortable. This is my second LS 400,owned a 94 model and 99 model. It will be very hard to sell me on another make besides Lexus. If you want a sedan that does it all, this is your car. From 80 mph to 140 mph this car is amazing. The traditional sedan owners are totally unaware of the LEXUS !!!!!!

Report Abuse

Excellent, comfortable car

micahberry, 03/05/2012
4dr Sedan
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Excels on the interstate, where it absorbs pavement irregularities superbly. It is a comfortable traveling car for my family. This is not a back road burner – the LS400 features a lot of body roll, which is to be expected as part of the design. You will be hard pressed to find a more comfortable long-range cruising car. I purchased this car with 113k miles. As of this writing, it has 140k. I have had to replace the starter, which I have learned through owner’s forums is a wearable item. In addition, rubber suspension bushings on the car should be replaced to keep the incredible Lexus ride. Thankfully, they don’t need to be replaced but once every 10 years or so!

Report Abuse

Smooth Jazz On Wheels

lexpilot, 05/01/2002
4dr Sedan
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My 99 LS 400 5 speed is much faster than my 97 4 speed. I've owned expensive cars for 20 years and this is my favorite. A usable hotrod. Perfect for trips. Concert sound going down the road. Quiet inside. The most restful car on a trip around. Room to put your luggage. In short a perfect long distance cruiser. No wonder there are a lot of high mileage LS 400's around.

Report Abuse

Where have I been?

Allen Wilson, 02/21/2003
4dr Sedan
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

After a friend purchased a '98 ES 300, and seeing how quiet, well designed and smooth it was, I was forever taken by the Lexus name. My next venture was to find a bigger version, which of course is the LS. After test driving one, I was amazed at the smoothness of the ride, the accurate control, the solid, tight and assuring feel of the steering. I bought one a month later..

Report Abuse

99 LS400

Richard Corder, 05/20/2006
4dr Sedan
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My 3rd Lexus, the most reliable brand I have even owned. Zero problems with the car, strong performance, highway mileage is in excess of 27 mpg. Dealer service is outstanding, follow up from the manufacturer is excellent.

Report Abuse

the legend lives on !

rockinbaz, 02/05/2012
4dr Sedan
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

hi this is the 6th lexus ls400 i have owned and they really are the best kept secret , its so so quiet , its the "sound of silence " the one i have now is a late 1999 model with cream/beige soft leather, its got more toys than toys r us...i did have a 430 but i like the 400 better its done 152 k i paid £2000 for it its just fantastic i would like to have one of the last 100 built in 2000 , and before i pop my clogs i will have one, i am 69 and i live in bolto ... oh and the dealers are simply the best a lexus owner can get !

Report Abuse

The 2nd Lexus ....

steve397, 11/06/2011
4dr Sedan
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is my second Lexus. First was a 2001 ES 300 and I still think it is an excellent vehicle. But the 400 is truly the embodiment of comfort. At 63, fun driving is being able to drive for 6 hours to the mountains and arrive relaxed and able to enjoy the football game; Or drive to the formal New Year's Eve gala in comfort and style. The gas mileage is excellent, 29.5 on the highway trips (I use the ES300 around town). The back seat is so relaxing, our guests usually fall asleep on the trip. The CD/stereo is very fine. Terrific car.

Report Abuse

Lexus: My Dream Machine

sargeusmc57, 08/15/2005
4dr Sedan
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I've salivating for a Lexus lo these many years, and at last I own one. Used, albeit, but mine you bet. It is a treat just to look at this car. And to sit in it and drive it is a great treat for an auto enthusiast. I have driven just about everything in the American cars, and they can not compare in the slightest with this Lexus LS400. As for performance, it is exceptional - - 0 to 60 as fast as a Corvette. Quick enough for me at age 69. I just love to drive, wash, and polish this car. The look and feel of it are outstanding. On the road it is getting a tad over 25 mpg. I never came near that with any of my Detroit v8s - not one of them. Try one of these used as I did; it's great!

Report Abuse

"Tis a True Review"

rnovaq71, 11/11/2002
4dr Sedan
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is some vehicle; I traded a 2000 Audi A6 Bi-Turbo for this 1999 Lexus LS400 w/42,000 miles. Let's start w/power; this car is a monster that's always under control ! The interior satisfaction is superb, it's 1st class 100%! Plus everthing works in perfect harmony! All controls & gadgets are placed w/in the access of driver or passenger. The exterior is flawless! No rattles, no sqweeks, no noise, just listen to the symphonic Lexus sound system. Even the CD-changer is above the glove box. Read all the reviews on the 1999 LS 400 ! In an un-perfect world it is truely the perfect vehicle !

Report Abuse

Sweet car

JTP, 08/18/2003
4dr Sedan
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Almost everything about this car is perfect. The best ride of any vehicle I have ever been in, almost silent inside, yet it grips the road like a cat climbing a tree. Every detail has been thought of by the Toyota engineers. Interior feels luxurious to the point of opulence. Lush walnut trim, plush leather seats as comfortable as the best chair in your house. Getting into the car instantly relaxes you. Almost unheard of even in a full-size car nowdays: three adults can sit in the rear, and the one in the middle is actually comfortable. Engine is as powerful as it is quiet. How do they do that?

Report Abuse

What a car!

Michael Corbett, 06/21/2002
4dr Sedan
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Traded my '96 LS 400 for the '99. I thought the '96 was the finest of the 40 cars I've bought in my lifetime. I was wrong. The '99 LS 400 tops anything I've driven, and I've many cars. The big changes in engine, suspension, etc. that took place in '98 through the 2000 model year were very obvious when I drove the '99. I was hooked on that drive and I'm still hooked. I really think this is the finest overall production sedan built, period.

Report Abuse

Survivor Story

Alive!!!, 06/18/2003
4dr Sedan
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

The best thing one can say about this vehicle is that it ALWAYS lived up to the hype, even in a major accident. I was hit by a full-size SUV, who ran a red light at 55 MPH, no skid marks. I am 6' 7" and I walked away. The car was totalled, but it did it's job. The safety cage around the passenger compartment held completely - not even a tear in the leather! The roof did not buckle - with the sunroof open! I will never own another make of vehicle.

Report Abuse

33 year old view

esanjose, 10/31/2002
4dr Sedan
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I narrowed my new car choice to the Infiniti G35 Sedan. However, the dealer had a 1999 LS400 on the lot. After test driving the G35 and the 1999 LS400, I was hooked on the LS400. My wife even agreed that the used Lexus felt more secure than the new G35 Sedan. I would label it a european sports sedan with top ratings in comfort, security, handling, and acceleration.

Report Abuse

99 LS400

tripole, 09/28/2005
4dr Sedan
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The vehicle was purchased as a Certified Pre-Owned, and has been flawless over the past 50K miles. The acceleration, and great fuel economy, are fantastic. It also stops on a dime. The build quality is excellent.

Report Abuse

A Great Car

George Yurch, 08/04/2006
4dr Sedan
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is the type of automoble everyone should have the opportunity to own. It is such a great car to drive with no mechical problems. Just keep making the best car in the world. We've owned 4 and will never own anything other than the best.

Report Abuse

The envy of all other manufacturers...

CloudNine, 10/22/2009
4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my second LS-400. Prior car was a '92 model. '98-00 version has many improvements over earlier models. VVTi, 5-speed trans, far more European 'feel' overall. Nakamichi audio is only bested by newer Mark Levinson system. Seats are quite firm but offer excellent support. Onboard trip computer is fun to toy with. Excellent fuel economy for a 3900-lb. vehicle, ranging as high as 33mpg on straight highway runs. Averaging 23 overall (mostly city). Only use genuine Toyota T-IV fluid when servicing the trans! Keep the oil clean and the 1UZ-FE engine should last forever. Styling has aged very gracefully. Still attracts attention even though 10 years old. HID headlamps excel. Pleased overall.

Report Abuse

LS 400

rben, 07/15/2002
4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchased my preowned 99Lexus approximately 6 mos. ago. A perfect blend of luxury, comfort and performance for a large sedan. It makes no pretenses for its 290HP, thus fuel consumption is a bit higher than some cars, but I knew that going into the purchase. A very quiet and "trip- worthy" machine, so loaded with features that I discover new ones each week. I'll keep this car a very long time!

Report Abuse

A wonderful car

JC, 01/25/2007
4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've now owned my 99 LS for about 2.5 years. I've driven the car about 20K per year since I got it and it's really a remarkable riding and driving car. It's not a car of feeling as your almost numbly fixed to your seat. Once you drive other cars, you'll really notice the exceptional quality of ride, solidity, and performance. This big car handles good too. This car is superlative when it comes to being practical. It costs a third less than a Jag, it has comfy room for 5, rides like a Lincoln, fast as a Mustang, a teen sound system, great gas mileage, looks great and half the cost of a Benz to maintain - still a bit pricey.

Report Abuse

An Experience

Harold, 10/11/2007
4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Simply the absolute best car I have ever owned out of 15 vehicles. What more can one say except hearty congratulations to all the engineers, technicians and stylists who did the outstanding work on ths car. As someone has already so aptly said in describing this vehicle, "Cocooned tranquility".

Report Abuse

great cruiser

norman jourdenais, 05/30/2016
4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

It is a joy to drive. Very responsive and surprisingly economical. Still own the car and hope to keep it for the forthcoming future.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Perfection

parvez, 07/12/2004
4dr Sedan
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Nothing wrong with this car. Maintenence isnt frequent, but if it hits, be prepared to break out the check book. I have 75,000 miles on it without a single serious problem. If your looking for luxury, comfort, speed, and value, this is your car. Get the prestige, the resale, and the true smoothness. Destroys BMW and Mercedes in the way it drives. Best family luxury car bar none.

Report Abuse

Lexus 400

Jim Ricketts, 04/22/2003
4dr Sedan
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

It has the ride of luxury sedan yet it can be a performance vehicle when you punch it. Great gas mileage. Lousy cup holders!

Report Abuse

great car

mike f , 09/23/2002
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

well worth the money

Report Abuse

Super Car

Mike, 03/18/2007
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought the LS 400 certified pre-owned. The car is now almost 8 years old and it rides beautifully to this day. I had one minor mechanical issue early on fixed under warranty. Overall I am very happy.

Report Abuse

99 Lexus LS 400

WMR, 12/13/2003
4dr Sedan
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought the car with 49,000 miles on it. It has been an excellent car in every way. This is my 3rd LS 400 and I plan to buy another one when I sell this one. Each one has been better than the previous one!

Report Abuse

Lexus LS 400 Review

M Schindler, 08/12/2006
4dr Sedan
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Fun, fast, durable, reliable. Good value.

Report Abuse

Mercedes S Class vs LS 400

james r, 03/30/2003
4dr Sedan
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

The Mercedes seats are bigger.You can't get the Lexus seat to go parallel like the mercedes seat.The Lexus will reach 130 like you are going 90 but the mercedes feels safer and you don't feel a detached from the road. I like the Mercedes larger steering wheel which makes a real difference at hgh speeds. the LS 400 is virtually maintenance free The interior of S class is much nicer.The cheap sun visors of the LS 400 and head linner are pretty sorry when you look at Merceds even 20yrs.ago The fuel economy in the Lexus is averaging 18-19mpg/city 24-26.9 hwy @75- 85mph The omputer of the Lexus is always off 1-1.5mpg. I still want a newer S class class

Report Abuse

Quality,quality and boring

mid-lifer, 03/21/2002
4dr Sedan
1 of 10 people found this review helpful

The quality of this car is outstanding. In many ways better than it's German rivals. I have had no problems at all with car. The dealer is the best I have come across. The down side is it is a bore to drive. After a drive up the Oregon coast I turned to my wife and said I'm selling the car.

Report Abuse

A Beast!!!!

Iggy , 02/03/2021
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Words are hard to describe this Beast, this is the best car ive ever owned and i honestly don't think it's any car out there to match it. The smooth ride and the air shock seats makes this car unforgettable and the V8 and the quick response to the foot makes me more in love with the Beast. Ive lined this car up with many and LS always proves itself. I recommend anyone to this Beast.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050