Used 2009 Lexus IS 250 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$7,481 - $8,995

Used IS 250 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Very pleased with this car

johnc, 10/16/2010
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

I've had the IS250 for 2 months now and it's everything I'd hoped. Great looks, terrific fit and finish on the interior--which sold me over the BMW 3 and even the Audi A4. As others have noted, the ride's not as sporty as some others but I'm not on twisting turning road all that much anyway, whereas the comfort and style are always noted and appreciated. This is my 3rd Lexus (RX & GS) and have loved them all.

Report Abuse

2018 REVIEW- STILL the best car ever!

Eric Rayel, 07/02/2017
4dr Sedan (2.5L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

This particular year (2009) of the IS250 is stellar. All we can say is it still looks great, handles great in all weather and we have have zero issues with it. We have always maintained it at a Lexus dealership so that helps. Drove it 1,000 miles cross country and then had it shipped to my son- STILL no issues other than maintenance. Bought another Lexus, this time NXT200 and have been very happy with it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great mid-size sport sedan

jlandry, 11/10/2009
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I chose the IS250 over BMW 3 series and Audi due to superior interior fit and trim. Lexus interior finish is by far higher end than BMW finish at a more affordable price point. Obviously the 250 could use some more power, but you can get that in 350 and the 250 gets great mpg. Combined hwy and cty mileage averages about 26mpg. I get 31mpg on hwy. The audio and nav system is superb. One drawback is not being able to program the nav system while the vehicle is moving. Bluetooth is clear. Dashboard instrumentation layout is very sporty and provides quick reference for temp, tire pressure, mpg and distance to empty. Paddle shifters are nice touch and add some sportiness to daily drive.

Report Abuse

great Little Car

john591, 02/10/2010
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Ownership experience has been positive. The car draws favorable reviews for its styling. The fit and finish are excellent. It is quiet and very solid feeling on the road. Only complaint is getting used to a limitation on driver visibility to the rear.

Report Abuse

Great car

1HappyGuy, 02/18/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I was considering a BMW 328i which has a much sportier feel but when I compared the features of the IS 250 to BMW, Lexus proved to be a much better value. True, the IS isn't a BMW but the style, workmanship, navigation system and options are much better than what was available with BMW and I don't have to contend with the run flat tires that come standard with the 328i. Lexus tweaked the steering to the 2009 IS and this results in a much better drive. Keyless entry system and quiet interior are wonderful. People don't realize that I am driving when I call them using the Bluetooth feature. Get the iPod connection. It works wonderfully with the 13 speaker sound system which is very good.

Report Abuse

Lexus IS 250 AWD - 2006 technology

alterbear, 01/26/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I leased a new Lexus IS 250 AWD after being told that the new model been updated for 2009. Yes, there are some minor styling and other changes, but it's still a 2006 technology platform. For example, the navigation system has no text to speech, no traffic info, outdated maps, poor routing - you could do better with a portable unit for $150.00.

Report Abuse

Good bang for the buck!

Wooping, 10/19/2009
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I've put 9,000 miles on this IS250 Automatic. This is a pretty nice ride. Hard to believe it gets better mileage than a manual. Go figure.

Report Abuse

It ALMOST could

sig alph g, 02/19/2009
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Coming out of a pickup I realized that it was going to be a small car. However, it rides like a true sport luxury car and with all the creature comforts, i.e., HID, temp seats, navi, etc. I feel it was a good purchase. The ride is a lot better (to me) than a comparable c300, and 328i. Also, the quality of the Lexus is second to none. The interior fit and feel makes a Benz or Beemer really feel entry level. Lastly the power.. I didn't want it for the "power" but a little more "oomph" would have been great, as well, the back seat has 0 leg room. maybe a I250/350L would be good?

Report Abuse

Wonderful car

James, 07/29/2009
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

We have had this car for a month now and simply love it. The external styling is best in class and the interior is top notch. Every detail is well thought out and the fit and finish is outstanding. I can understand why other reviewers focus on the power, but I consider this car a luxury car that is sporty, rather than a pure sports car. We test drove the A4 2.0T Quattro (used to own an Audi allroad) and really liked it also, but the interior seemed outdated and the engine, although better kick, did not seem as refined as the IS250. And, in the end we didn't want to be in the Audi shop all the time like we were with the allroad. Bottom line, Lexus really did a fantastic job on this car.

Report Abuse

Fun commute

chastek, 11/21/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is my third Lexus. It has typical Lexus build quality, good exterior looks, and great brakes and handling. The car is a much more engaging drive than my ES, but not as demanding as a BMW 3. I'm averaging 27 MPG in mixed driving and thoroughly enjoy my commute now. It's quiet and comfortable, though the rear seats are just for show... no one over 12 will want to sit back there.

Report Abuse

Its beautiful, really.

Bhutto, 12/27/2008
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

Before buying this I test drove a lot of vehicles, MB C class, BMW 335 and Infiniti, but IS has a different nice good taste to it, more stiff (in a good way) than MB, more stylish interior with same driving experience than BMW, more style than Infiniti (I think). Liked the exterior styling and standard features like fog light, LED lights, turn indicators on the side mirrors, side mirrors are heated too. I am really very very happy with my choice and recommend you all to test drive this to realize what a nice car it is. Its Lexus.

Report Abuse

great car

John, 10/04/2016
4dr Sedan (2.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I love this car! It rides and handles beautifully. Too bad that over the years Lexus Dealerships have only one goal which is to make as much money as possible. Customer support has deteriorated over the years. This is my fourth Lexus and this car is by far the best. I just wish it was a Honda or Acura so I would not have to deal with Toyota.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Luxury Sporty car

Eric, 02/12/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Good handling, sexy exterior, luxury interior, good pick up.

Report Abuse

Overall very good but....

WD, 09/27/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

All in all a very good deal, I agree with all the positive features mentioned elsewhere. I read somewhere about an annoying noise from the dashboard that starts few months after having the car, and I actually noticed that, it's from the driver's corner of the dashboard, a high-pitch annoying noise that occurs most on unsteady roads. I play music loud while driving and that can masks it, but a real disappointment.

Report Abuse

Best car I’ve ever owned

UberYo, 11/14/2019
4dr Sedan (2.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned cadillacs, Lincoln, Chevy, Nissans and Chrysler cars and by far this is the best car I have ever owned. I bought it last December 2018, and it had 110k miles, I just hit 130k miles today as of 11/13/2019. I love the reliability this car offers and I love how it drives. It picks up when you need to plenty of power to get up the hills. I took it on a 800+ miles road trip and it is decent on gas. I love the HID headlamps with adaptive lights. The stereo is also great quality, good bass with speakers in every spot they could think of. Only thing i would like to change is the exhaust sound, I’d like it a little deeper where you can hear it purr. Definitely would recommend the Lexus IS250!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

TERRIBLE Driving Position, Hurts R Leg

docboy, 06/29/2009
6 of 11 people found this review helpful

Traded TSX for IS250 AWD. Decided on IS over the G37, 335, TL, and WRX. Thought the IS had the most comfy front seats of the bunch. I was sorely wrong. Happy at first, nice ride and solid handling, until my right leg started to hurt. Didn't notice it much at first, but after 4 weeks in this car, there's a glaring stupid BUMP protruding out the driver's side. Simply cannot rest my right foot and leg in proper straight ergonomic manner. Right leg simply cannot straighten out, liken a repetitive stress disorder. BUMP part of AWD trans; whole body hurts to drive. Regret buying this car, will never buy AWD Lexus sedan again. May be forced to trade-in after only 1000 miles! Ridiculous.

Report Abuse

Good but not Great

Mark, 01/16/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car since it first came out. Picked it up at the end of December 2005. The interior looks and feels great (but it's still not Audi in terms of physical feel). The seats look great and feel soft to the touch. However, after more than 45 minutes, they are so soft that your rear begins to ache as you can somewhat feel the metal platform underneath. They definitely need to take some cues from Germany. Nav system is very easy to learn and use, but like many others, you can't use it while moving. Interior lighting with LED accents is still state of the art.

Report Abuse

Expensive Corolla

bmh69, 10/16/2010
7 of 17 people found this review helpful

My first year leasing the IS AWD has been "fine." It is a sporty looking pre-luxury all wheel drive vehicle, top notch reliability and a spectacular dealership experience. Beyond that it's an expensive AWD Corolla with added bells/whistles. It does do a great job in the harsh Midwest winters, but is not nearly as fun to drive as the Audi/VW cars I have owned in past. Its handling is okay but not sporty; the ride is generally compliant but at times punishing. It never "goes" when you need it to and then whines like a four cylinder. I am generally not as excited to drive this Lexus as I was my previous autos, and sadly look forward to returning to a German AWD car when my lease is up.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Paul M, 09/02/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just bought my 09 Lexus IS250 awd and I love it. The exterior styling is very eye catching and the interior is top quality. The seats are very comfortable, the ride is very smooth and you can barely hear any road noise inside. The radio and AC area without navigation is boring but its functional. Could use a little more power but its decent and the car handles very well. Its a very small car so a small backseat is expected. The back-seats aren't usable unless the front seats are pushed very far up, but all around its a great car!

Report Abuse

Big Disappointment

City Doc, 12/26/2009
2 of 8 people found this review helpful

I traded in a Audi A4 for the IS250 and have been quite disappointed. The transmission is rough when shifting, it has no get up and go, and the blind spots are huge. I find myself having to look around a lot more in this car and am way more cautious after several near collisions because of the blind spots. The Audi was fun to drive. The IS250 is a chore. I'm getting rid of it after only 1 year.

Report Abuse

Its a BLAST that will LAST.

Smokey, 12/20/2019
4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this with 136,000 miles and it drives and rides perfect. Considering it was made with all the care and reputation that Lexus and Toyota have with cars lasting a LONG time, I expected it to not be beaten to death. Lucky that the seller was a Lexus mechanic and babied this thing for years. If you like to drive, you'll love this car. It is smallish compared to my old Audi S8, but I expected that. I don't need that big a car any longer and this little jewel fits the bill nicely. It is fun to drive, nimble and hugs the road nicely. Not as finicky as a German luxury car and it hasn't been in the repair shop as much as those either. I like that consideration! Nimble and quick, I would call the power plant peppy. I love the body styling and the interior is top notch. Mine came with the premium sound system and WOW! I am amazed that a car that is 11 years old is as quiet on the highway as this one is. At 70 mph you can whisper and your mate can hear you. I think I have found what I was looking for. The back seat is quite small, but I have a Highlander at home for traveling with more than 1 companion. This car is for ME to drive and I really enjoy it. Thanks Lexus. I think I'll do this again in the future!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050