Skip to main content

Used 2019 Kia Sorento SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$16,998 - $36,998

Used Sorento for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...15

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
2 out of 5 stars

Nice car but engine/transmission issues

famattjr, 07/26/2019
updated 01/29/2020
2019 Kia Sorento EX 4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl 8A)
98 of 99 people found this review helpful

Great car and ride but around 3500 miles developed what many reviews and discussion forum posts have noted-a "missing" or jerking feeling on acceleration as well as running, hard to tell if it is the engine or the transmission. Two visits to dealer, they say they don't notice it, I've been driving long enough to know when an engine is running rough. Some say it is a software issue, it seems Kia itself does not know how to solve it. To some it might not be noticeable or annoying. Update: 8,000 miles. Still love the car. It still jerks on acceleration but you learn to live with it. That's just the way it is. Brakes are VERY touchy, even other drivers notice it, especially at low speeds, you have to be very careful on the brake pedal. The radio controls are maddening. Scrolling through the touch screen it's easy to "select" a station instead of scrolling past it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Our Kia Sorento saved our lives

Adam Lupper, 06/13/2019
2019 Kia Sorento LX 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
74 of 79 people found this review helpful

My mom recently bought a 2019 Kia Sorento LX and immediately fell in love. Sadly, the Sorento came to a very sudden, sad death, when a truck pulled out in front of us causing us to t bone it. Totaling both vehicles. I’m giving this Sorento 5 stars on safety because if it wasn’t for its AMAZING safety features we possibly wouldn’t have been alive today. Thank you Kia.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Who would have guessed that KIA is now this Great?

CaryTechie, 04/01/2019
updated 10/04/2022
2019 Kia Sorento SX Limited 4dr SUV (3.3L 6cyl 8A)
38 of 40 people found this review helpful

Kia might not be the top of mind brand just yet, but do not overlook the Sorento. It's a 'just right' size, gets very competitive fuel economy. The SX-L is very luxurious inside with the nappa leather and attractive trim. The 'electronics' are easy to learn and actually seem way more intuitive than that of the 'other brands'. Very quiet and comfortable ride (the top of line Michelin tires on the SX-L help this a lot). I've had this for 15,000 miles now (first review was at 10k), including all day 12 hour trips, and comfort is excellent....matching my other near luxury Avalon. The 10yr. warranty seals the deal for me....I keep cars a long time. Just one caution....the 3rd row is a joke in just about ALL SUV's in this size range. For occasional use for childen only. I'm old now, so the 3rd row will be folded permanently in my Sorento. Most liked features: the adaptive cruise control, the stereo, and the LED headlights which are very bright and 'aim' around turns. Nav system is just so-so, and considering that they want $150 for a map update, this should be excellent...but it is NOT. POI finds are unreliable, and routing on local streets sometimes puzzling. Bluetooth phone system works great. An update from my first review....sometimes the transmission is a little slower to downshift than I'd like. Apparently this is a common complaint when you have so many gears (8 on this model). Second update....coming up to 2 years and 20,000 miles....still love the vehicle. Nothing has gone wrong...ie NO repairs needed. No regrets on the choice. Regarding the smart cruise control...Love it, can't imagine ever buying a car without it now. Makes driving so much easier AND Safer at the same time. 3rd Update....still loving it. Have not driven much due to covid restrictions keeping us home. One item of discontent was the NAV system. Guess what..Kia just revamped it...now offering FREE updates to map and the software....just do a 30 gig download to an SD card, mine took 6 hours on my slow internet. Then UPDATE in the car...that took about 30 minutes...and now I am MUCH happier with the nav system operation, and of course I have 3 years newer maps too. Nice job Kia. Update March 2021...coming close to 3 years of ownership. Covid caused very little driving in the past year, so I'm only up to 22,500 miles. Did have one failure...the left 'dynamic bending light' feature failed. Left light got stuck aimed far left of center. Despite initial hesitation from the dealer, they did replace at no cost to me. Good thing....you'll discover that parts cost a LOT. The entire headlight assembly, being LED and containing several 'aiming' servos....costs $1100!!! Plus labor. SO...technology is great, as long as it is working. Otherwise, it's still a great vehicle. This 2019 seems to be the 'sweet spot'....since they deleted some high end features on the 2020. Older models did not have all the safety technology that this one does. If you find a good used one...buy it. Has all the modern technology. Update 2021 October: now have 27,000 miles, and all is good...actually Better than ever. I had been complaining to the dealer about the transmission...slow downshifts, delays in response. Well...they now have a 'transmission logic update'...kind of a recall. They update the computer system, for free, during my last oil change, and Wow..it's like a different vehicle...all for the better. Snappy downshifts and it GOES. Now feels like the peppy V6 that is was supposed to be. I also sense it goes into a higher gear sooner, so I think the fuel economy has improved a bit too. So if yours is slow in shifting...ask about the recall....it think the number is SA387 (just going by memory). Overall...a very fine vehicle. Update April 2022.....still loving this vehicle. The previously mentioned Transmission code update made this a whole new and Better vehicle. With the improved shift points, I think I'm getting at least one, maybe 2 MPG better now. On casual country drives, the computer regularly reports 27 mpg for the outing (60 miles or so of sightseeing in the country). I think that's pretty good for this now powerful V6. If you want a Sorento...the 2019 model year is the one to look for. Update; Oct. 2022 still running great. Granted I only have 34,000 miles on it, due to reduced travel during covid, but it has been flawless....ie. nothing has broken. If you come across a used 2019...give it serious consideration. Our's is loaded with all the new electronic safety features, and thus it is current in features with the 2022's. A great vehicle for it's class.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2019 Kia Sorento much better than in the past

Mrs. Eileen Dover, 08/27/2018
2019 Kia Sorento SX Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl 8A)
120 of 132 people found this review helpful

We buy a new car every 10 years & wanted all the new safety features which this has. The computer screens were very user friendly unlike the Honda and Toyota, which made a difference. The Nappa leather seats are softer than the standard leather. The driver's seat also has a seat extender if needed (may not be in all trims?) The pick up is fine and all the safety features are easy to set, understand and get accustomed to. The size is nice, it's smaller than the Highlander & Pilot (so it is easier to park) and bigger than the CRV & Rav 4. No CD player on the SXL trim so I ripped 75 of mine onto a 8 GB flash drive and use it all the time. The 10 year warranty gives piece of mind. Until the self driving cars come out, this will be one of our main modes of transportation.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love our Sorento

RJ Blues, 09/16/2018
2019 Kia Sorento L 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
79 of 87 people found this review helpful

Not too big; not too small. Quiet, luxurious and safe, with Apple Car Play standard. A seven passenger SUV that gets 30mpg and a 10 year warranty.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...15
Items per page: