Used 2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,369 - $6,888

Used Elantra Touring for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Practical and Sensible Car

bradjan69, 07/31/2011
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

This is our second Hyundai in 10 years. We traded our 01 Elantra in on a 2011 Malibu and hated it. We decided to trade it in on another car. We looked at all cars in its class and decided on the Elantra touring SE The test drive went pretty good. The 2.0L 4 cylinder had adequate execration and was very quite. The car provided good feed back to the driver while going through turns. Road noise in the cabin was quite as well. The controls are very easy to use and set up to accommodate the driver. Seats are comfortable and there is plenty of storage within the cabin area. Overall value of this car is unbeatable. For long trips the Crew Cab pickup will stay home we are taking the wagon!

Report Abuse

hard core touring

bassman26, 10/20/2011
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

Hi, update after 20,000 miles in my 2011 elantra touring se model. Right to the point; could use more top end horsepower for higher speed interstate travel, it doesn't really like to average over 80, especially up hills of any consequence. Off the line response is excellent, making easy work of around town driving. Better than many cars I've driven like a turbo VW or small mercedes; they are built for the high speed cruising at some expense of around town response. Perfectly reliable thru 20k miles. Drove through the 100 year storm last winter across tennessee, arkansas and oklahoma. I mounted Conti DWS tires, as the stock tires couldn't get me out of my snow covered driveway in Nashville!

Report Abuse

Better and less expensive than an SUV

grbgmncmth, 02/24/2014
GLS 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

'Does everything very well; truly great in several areas: driver/passenger comfort & cargo space w/compact exterior size, both low and hi-speed handling, ease of parking and maneuvering in heavy-traffic, braking distance, driver-visibility, fun-factor & winter-weather driveability (with 5-speed manual tranny), reliability, ease of service, and a long list of standard features. All that and an expectation of good long-term reliability for 19G including tax and title? I'm pretty happy. UPDATE: In February 2015, I rear-ended an SUV that had suddenly stopped on a merge ramp. 'Totalled my poor baby, but it protected me. No incursion of damage into the passenger compartment. I'm very, very sorry to see this car go bye-bye; it was terrific.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

SE model has European feel

obx2003, 11/08/2014
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought this car when it was 33 months old with 31K miles from a Honda dealer. After a year I can say I'm quite happy with the car. Sporty handling and a decent combo of power and economy. I'm a DIYer so I was happy to see oil & filter changes are a breeze. Engine uses no oil between oil changes. The hatchback practicality is great. A golf club bag fits neatly across the back. I had narrowed my decision down to this car or a Toyota Matrix. I'm happy with my selection. I average over 30 mpg in mixed driving and about 34 highway mpg

Report Abuse

Nice inexpensive wagon

limee, 01/24/2011
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Bought the car as I needed to transport my 2 German Shepherds. With the back seats down, it accomodates them well. The SE trim has a stiffer ride than the GLS which I like. Looks very smart in Chili pepper red with the upgraded wheels. Have 3000 miles on the clock now. Averaging 25 mpg in mixed driving and up to 31 on a 500 mile trip to San Diego. The car is nicely put together with no sqeaks or rattles. Idles very smoothly and is entertaining to corner with when the dogs are not in the back! Leather seating surfaces are by far the way to go as they are easy to keep clean especially from dog hair!

Report Abuse

Great little urban runner

dave, 11/20/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

So far I really like this car, it is a economy car so I don't expect a great ride, but I like the features , like heated seats, and just about every little added feature there is, i used to drive a truck and just got tired of filling the tank up, Now I just drive by the gas station and smile.

Report Abuse

115,000 miles and still going strong!

Paul Pennington, 04/15/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car as my family was expanding and wanted something practical but still fun to drive with decent looks. I have not been disappointed. For me the 5spd manual transmission is a must, I have gone one some long extended road trips - 20 hours in a single day and the bullet proof engine just keeps on going. I'm 115,000 miles (185,000km) in with no problems. I just keep up my maintenance, oil changes and changed my timing belt (400$) and the car has treated me well. The space with the seats folded flat is incredible - I have carried tables, lounge chairs and everything in-between. Great Car!

Report Abuse

Sporty Lite Station Wagon

Ruprecht, 10/20/2010
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought the 2011 Elantra Touring recently and think it is a nice car so far. It is reasonably priced and nice- looking. The steering and braking are excellent with the new Electronic Stability Control. Hyundai did a good job of updating the car and creating what is essentially a small station wagon. It looks more like a station wagon than a hatchback and has a huge amount of space for a compact car. Overall I like the car!

Report Abuse

A speedy "little" hatchback

jayteejr, 02/02/2011
12 of 16 people found this review helpful

I research every one of my purchases to DEATH and buying a new car was no different. We have a young child and two dogs, so needless to say we needed something that could haul them all comfortably. I am not a fan of SUVs and a minivan was out of the question. Browsing Edmunds I ran into the Elantra Touring, scheduled a test drive and never looked back. The SE trim game me everything I wanted and the manual transmission keeps it fun to drive. Only about 300 miles on her to date, but so far this has been a great purchase!

Report Abuse

First time Hyundai Buyer

bear7, 03/19/2011
34 of 50 people found this review helpful

I've never considered a Hyundai before in my whole life. I'm a patriotic American and have tried to buy American over and over to help my fellow countrymen but - damn! - I'm sick of the cars. I researched a hatchback, SUV or wagon for the wife to replace her rapidly deteriorating Saturn Ion. The Touring is designed by Hyundai Europe in Germany (it's the i30 over there) and it feels like it. we feel we got a German station wagon for a Hyundai price. Outstanding standard features and PEP #2 options (reasonably priced) and comfortable as heck. huge cargo capacity. We love it. Excellent price through TrueCar.com.

Report Abuse

A couple of recalls along the way, but reliable

Paul Durgin, 07/18/2016
GLS 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This was initially a European product that Hyundai imported to North America for 2 or 3 years. Even though some publications have said this is a worse-than-average vehicle for frequency of repairs, my experience is that the 2011 version has been highly reliable. The recalls were for minor problems that local dealers straightened out in an hour or less each trip in. My only issue areas are the seat comfort for longer trips and the amount of road noise that gets into the cabin. On the other hand, the 5-speed manual is very pliant and well-synchronized going both up and down. The car has never let me down.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Such a disappointment!

vtbh2012, 09/18/2017
GLS 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Hyundaia Elantra Touring new in April of 2011, and am desperately hunting for a new car in Sept. 2017. This car only has 60,000 miles on it and has been a money pit from the get go. It has ALWAYS had issues with the sway bar and sway bar links. At LEAST once a year we're having to replace them, which is absurd. The car also sounds like it's developing issues with the transmission, as it gets jerky switching between 2nd and 3rd gear. This car only has 60,000 miles on it, which is hardly anything. I like the size of this car, and the gas mileage is pretty decent (around 30 mpg), but the amount of money we've had to sink into this car has been awful. I would have assumed we just received a bum car, but my in-laws also purchased the same car about 3 months after we purchased ours, and they dumped it after 18 months as it was also consistently breaking down and needing repair. I'm not sure how this car has received such high reviews. I will be glad when we can get a new one. This has left a poor impression of Hyundai on me, and I'll be going back to Hondas from now on.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun car

mrh4, 02/05/2011
10 of 19 people found this review helpful

Hyundai's best kept secret, strong engine, roomy interior, loads of features, averaging 26 mpg- haven't taken any long trips yet, had car about a month now, rides and handles like a sports car. Electric steering handles great. I've driven Toyotas for over 20 years and glad I made the switch.

Report Abuse

Victoria

Canada, 10/29/2010
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

I just trade my 2010 Nissan sentra for 2011 elantra touring. After experience the poor quality of the sentra specially the CVT what's a joke. After all. I picked the et. It's a simple mechanical design power train, less electrical wiring, fewer sensors. Less trouble for sure. Power is plenty for my ( I am not a racer ) smart design for useful space. The car is solid build. It handles so well at all speed. I would recommend it to any one. Good price and high quality overall.

Report Abuse

Day 1

abe1215, 05/22/2011
21 of 47 people found this review helpful

This is NOT a review, but rather first impressions after purchasing. I'll skip the technicalities, as I don't have enough statistics to give a solid evaluation yet. The car looks and feels like an ideal match for intended audience - small family of 2-4. Not small, not too big either. Very nice set of essentials for driving, safety and comfort. Car feels very well planted on a road. Nice torque and acceleration. Pretty smooth 4-speed automatics. Excellent visibility. The interior is comfortable, easily fits 6"+ drivers. Cargo space is great, esp. with folded rear seats. Very little of fake metal insets that look so nasty Elantra Sedan '11. The beginning is very positive. To be continued

Report Abuse

Fishtailing

John C, 01/25/2019
GLS 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had to brake for not just one but three deer standing in the road way at 3 am on a dry day, no ice or anything on the pavement. I applied the brakes firmly did not slam on the brakes in a panic mode. I applied gradual and firm pressure to the peddle. Result was the back end fishtailed erraticly and made me feel like I was going to lose control of the vehicle. I did not like the feeling at all. This car gets great mileage and on has 50,000 miles on it despite being a 2011. The back end of this car must be to light. I can think of no other reason. Why it would respond the way that it did.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still going strong

Luis, 09/22/2019
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car with 96000 mi., I am about to hit 216000 mi., mostly of highway driving as I was a long distance medical courier. Oil changes at about 5000 mi. and timing belt at 150000 mi. Let's talk about the bad: As someone mentioned, it has problems with the sway bar end links which produces a clacking noise, easy repair, $20.00 part on ebay and $50.00 labor at local mechanic (avoid dealers), one alternator which didn't abandon me totally, was about 200 mi. away from home but made it safely (all accessories off, radio, AC, etc,) of course following day didn't start, about $300.00 repair. Replaced clutch at 200000 mi. and throw out bearing, a couple of tire rod ends and one wheel bearing.Things that need repair but don't affect performance: tire pressure sensor need to be replaced as batteries are dead and light stays on, cruise controls disconnects shortly after engages (3 to 5 mi.), road and wind noise saturates cabin, you'll feel every bump on this car as it has a stiff suspension The good: hugs the road nicely at 80 mph, even on rain and wind I feel safe at 60 mph, had a blown rear tire doing 75 mph and I didn't think it was me as it has low profile tires that are about 4" (no sudden pulls or feeling of lost control) from the ground. The 2.0 liter engine with manual transmission is strong enough to merge into highways, transmission shifts with no effort and precisely,no oil burning between changes, don't need to add antifreeze, AC cools nicely at highway speeds at any temperature, in city driving it struggles at 90 degrees. Very happy with it!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1 year review...so far so good!!

gwilly, 06/20/2011
12 of 60 people found this review helpful

We already have a 07 AWD Santa Fe, with a pretty reliable record. Didn't know about this car 1 year ago, but it fits the bill perfectly. Mileage is 25-28 city and 31-34 highway with a light foot, car coasts very easily in neutral, I throw it there often. Ride can be harsh on the freeway in So Cal, my wife dislikes this bumpiness caused by the perpendicular cross-cuts in the pavement for water drainage. Overall no problems at all, with a few rattles coming from the shifter and occasionally the car idles like a diesel for no reason. I would recommend the manual shifter if you want to have more control over the driving experience. Older people with bad backs will not like the SE.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050