Used 2008 Honda Odyssey Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$3,500 - $10,995

Used Odyssey for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

1st owner & 5 1/2 yrs later I am still happy!

billybeefcake, 05/27/2014
EX-L 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
35 of 36 people found this review helpful

My wife and I picked out a 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L 5 1/2 years ago with 20 miles on it. We now have just over 73,000 on the vehicle, and we are even more happy now than when we purchased the van because nothing has gone wrong. There has been several recalls such as the brakes, the transmission reprogramming, and cabin noise, but Honda was pretty good (once they acknowledged the issues) at taking care of them. With a fully loaded van (family/cargo) on a flat road I can get 27/28 mpg easily. In town she avg. 18-20 depending on how much a/c we are using. As for us we have had a good experience.

Report Abuse

Where my Honda gone?

Honda Angst, 11/07/2018
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
48 of 50 people found this review helpful

I bought this van used with 104K miles (in April 2016) confident that I was buying a Honda (like I have most of my life) and treated right, they last. By all appearances the vehicle had been cared for. Great paint/body, the interior was clean and maintained and it ran well. Imagine my surprise at 107K miles when my low oil light comes on. I checked the dipstick and I had a drop of oil at the very end. No oil leaks or smoke from the exhaust. This is the beginning of my falling out with Honda. I took it back to the dealer astonished and looking for some answers. They conducting an oil consumption test and determined I was using 1-1/2 qts of oil per 1000 miles. After pressing the issue they told me they had performed a piston ring replacement on the vehicle prior to my purchase for the very same reason and that work was still under warranty. But it gets better. Next thing I know Honda has ponied up for an engine replacement. I was floored, but curious as to why they were being so incredibly generous. I found out why at about 20K miles into my new engine when it started using oil again without leaks or exhaust smoke. I took it back once again, did an oil test and it was determined that the vehicle was using 1qt every 1K miles and Honda said "that falls within acceptable parameters" and so they refused to do anything. This is when I started digging and discovered Honda has settled a class action suit in 2014 for...you guessed it, excessive oil consumption with certain 2008 Odyssey Models (all with VCM, Variable Cylinder Management). Honda extended powertrain warranties for most vehicles and some people that were a actually part of the class action were made whole, thus my engine replacement. Clearly that was not the problem and I eventually discovered the VCM was the actual culprit. I discovered that too late as the piston rings on my NEW engine were already damaged. I would eventually end up at the Honda shop again when the vehicle started experiencing constant cylinder misfires at about 40K miles into the NEW engine. They recommended piston ring replacement, but said ideally I should replace the engine, 40K miles and I needed a new engine. If you're considering one of these Odyssey's with VCM, buyer beware. If you cant verify the service records just walk away.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rear engine mount failure very costly

lonosc, 12/24/2012
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
46 of 49 people found this review helpful

I just spent $1K replacing the rear engine mount after 60K miles. After researching further, discovered this is common part failure, and will re-occur every 50 - 60,000 miles. Will definitely trade off this vehicle before another 60K miles and will never buy another again. This is a vital part and should not fail so frequently. I expected better quality from Honda.

Report Abuse

The new Honda Quality sadly

homersodysey08, 05/06/2014
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
39 of 42 people found this review helpful

I have had a few significant problems. First is was the soft break pedal which was a known technical service problem "fixed" by applying silicone to the known leak. At 9K mi transmission quit. They tried to blame me. They said they could find out what I had done for $180/hour. Needed my car so 2 days later they found a loose wire connector re-connected it "under warranty". Shortly beyond the 36 mo warranty (13K mi) again a soft to the floor brake pedal. I found the original TSB for the brakes and insisted they perform that "fix"a new VSA stability module I paid $400 for the part. Now they say soft is normal but I just got a recall notice for a brake defect, they got caught 5 yrs later

Report Abuse

My Favorite Van Ever!!!

undy6, 12/23/2014
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Nav, Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
27 of 29 people found this review helpful

I've had 3 Odysseys - an '07 EX-L DVD, an '08 EX-L w/NAV & DVD and a '12 Touring Elite. I've had a lot of cars, SUV's and minivans and the '08 Odyssey was my fav by far! I actually think it was better than the '12 Odyssey Touring Elite we leased. Zero issues, super practical features & layout, easy and comfortable to drive....I could go on and on. Only reason I don't still have it is because I was having issues getting traction in the snow (lived in Denver at the time) so I traded for a 4WD Nissan Armada. I regretted that decision almost immediately, still miss that van 3 yrs later! Hindsight, I really wish I would've tried putting on a better set of tires before trading it in :-(

Report Abuse

Honda Marriage on the Rocks!

Rich, 11/08/2010
EX-L 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
26 of 28 people found this review helpful

It was love at first sight, but after 26,000 mi, I'm close to filing for divorce on my 2008 Odyssey! "How do I unlove thee? Let me count the Defects!" 1. Rattles and window whistles from day one. 2. Mushy brakes: Recalled 3. Shutter and maddening erratic shifting: Re- programmed Transmission. 4. Loud Power Steering noises: Replaced plugged Power Steering Reservoir. 5. And, finally, failed Torque Converter: Replaced. I really what to love her, but she's making it awfully difficult. I guess, like some beautiful women, she's great to look at but she's nothing but trouble on the inside! I hope Honda doesn't run out of parts before the warranty expires!

Report Abuse

Older ones were better

craig, 08/09/2015
EX-L 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

2006 was one of the last year the Honda Van was really a good. Our 2008 has issues with the sliding doors, loose window trim on the sides and this crazy melting window glue that looks like black tar. A real pain to clean off. It seems to be a southern US thing with extreme heat or reflected heat on hot days, such as store windows back onto the car. Were looking for a new car and for the first time in 10 years it will not be a Honda/ Shame they could not stay focused on the details.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

No More!

Tony Cruz, 03/03/2015
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I bought my van with 30K miles, and now nearly 90K miles I had a major engine failure (cylinder 5 blew). Honda knows there have been problems with this particular year, yet, will not make me whole. My warranty, of course, was useless. I was over my miles by 200 miles, all highway miles en route to my father in laws funeral. They didn't do sqaut for me! Let's just say I will not be buying another honda again. They're no longer 'reliable' to me and they produced an inferior product. I've got two old Fords that are still kicking! I'll be buying American moving forward...thanks to honda.

Report Abuse

Honda's transmission is terrible!!!!!

burgh2, 10/23/2011
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Nav, Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

This is the second Honda I have owned..it will be my last. The Acccord I purchased had a bad transmission in the model line, but I was lucky and it ran fine for me. This time, I landed squarely on a terrible transmission. It shifts constantly at highway speed. 55-60, 60-65, 65-70, 75-80mph...I've tried setting the cruise and it just keeps shifting. It's like riding in a vehicle that is hiccupping all the time!!! I've owned Toyota's and Nissan's in the past and have had great success, so long Honda!

Report Abuse

Safest Minvan

pbconspiracy, 11/15/2011
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Traded a 2008 Grand Caravan, which was nothing but problems for a CPO 2008 Odyssey. Had it for 6 months with no issues. Extremely comfortable, and performed flawlessly on a 1,500 trip this summer. However, the best feature is the safety of this vehicle. My wife & daughter were rear-ended by a car doing 40mph while they were standing still. Car totaled; Odyssey incurred $5,000 worth of damage. Wife and daughter walked away unhurt.

Report Abuse

VCM a total flaw

Herb Tolawinski, 09/20/2015
Touring 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
23 of 26 people found this review helpful

Wish I could like the car but I'm tired of the repeated visits to the dealer to fix what really is a faulty engineering issue. VCM creates more problems than it solves. I wish that wasn't so. The Honda techs are saying this and, almost, apologetic about it. I wish that I could do my part to cut down on fuel consumption to be environmentally friendly. The problem is, the poorly implemented VCM causes me to go through 5 quarts of oil every 5,000 miles. I've had to replace cylinder rings and motor mounts and things are still not right. There's a TSB for this that's supposed to cover 2008+ vehicles but, for whatever reason, it doesn't apply to mine. So I'm stuck with the options to sell it (and pass this nightmare on to someone else who will develop the same feelings about Honda as I) or to remain on a first name basis with the Service Manager.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Need to discover noise

LEONA WILLIAMS, 08/07/2010
EX-L 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

The van has been making a popping and clicking noise in the front took it to the dealer several times the techs can not figure the problem. Right now the problem still exist problem can't be found, car is still under warranty. I received a rental and they called me back stating that the car was fixed, when driving of in the vehicle the noise still exist can someone please give me some legal advice. Thought when I got a Honda, I thought I was getting the best now I feel like I got a piece of junk. Should have gotten a Chevy. I am very disappointed

Report Abuse

Do Not Buy a Honda - Many Problems

steve, 03/10/2010
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

This car is a lemon and has transmission and engine problems. Torque Converter problem with transmission is a known problem they can't fix. They keep getting service updates for the computer but still can t figure it out. Seems like Honda is on its way to Toyotaville. So many problems covered up so the reliability of Japanese cars is now just history. Too bad.

Report Abuse

Honest Review / Inferior Vehicle

OddVan, 03/16/2009
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Vehicle purchased new 08/07. Have had many issues that started as early as 500 miles including dead battery, headlamp switch short, relays short, clunking noises to front undercarriage, steering column replacement, slider door safety locks freeze preventing sliders to lock while open, rattles to right door trim panels. The newest of the problems now at 21K to address with dealer is the headliner seam coming apart and the heater controls not functioning properly. We have NEVER been so unhappy with a vehicle. Traded our 02 Toy Sienna, what a mistake. Tried trading this vehicle in, dealers are offering low trade... now I wonder if the reliability factor was utilized in the low trade offers.

Report Abuse

Great Engine/Questionable Build Quality

BMerbler, 10/29/2010
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The Odyssey has been a great vehicle for our kids. We traded a 2004 Honda Pilot for the van. The shift has made it much more convenient to travel with the kids. The engine runs smooth and provides ample acceleration in the context of family vehicles. The quality overall is less impressive. Our van has just over 48k on it and has a several issues. First, it is already in need of CV joints for the front right and left sides ($600- $700), the leather on the drivers seat arm has already worn a hole (my wife is only 118 lbs-should be easy wear), housing cover on the roof for my satellite radio blew off exposing wires, rear tail light already burned out.

Report Abuse

All I wanted n a minvan

David Exley, 08/27/2016
EX-L 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

Have had this car for 8 years and have had no problems. Would buy again without hesitation. Only down side was mileage, but don't know what similar vans do. Can haul 4 adults plus 2 smaller people on backseat with no problem. Runs great with same acceleration. Easy to get in and out which becomes more and more difficult as you get older and joints don't not move like they did when younger. Van is a 2008 Honda Odyssey bought new.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Say it isn't so

corey, 06/22/2010
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have owned several Honda's. I am most worried about this vehicle.We love the comfort of the van, but have not enjoyed taking it for service appointments. If you have not had them put a new torque converter in, demand they do so. The new software package does not do the trick. I can tell you that we will not be keeping this van past the 60,000 mile mark. It will be one that will run out of warranty and blow up on your trip to Disney World. Run from this model. Hope they will solve the problems in future models. I was hoping to have the same experience that my friends have had with their vans. All of them have 200,000+ on theirs and are still running them. Save and buy an earlier model

Report Abuse

Frustrated Odyssey

Ed Warrior, 01/21/2010
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Nav, Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I can't believe an Odyssey with torque converter issues at 20k miles. It isn't the only issue with this year model add front brake rotor since first day and both front axis tips damages. New replacement not available until end of January. I am running a "new" minivan with a lot of problems basically since 0 miles.

Report Abuse

so sad

sad, 10/23/2010
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I absolutely would have recommended this van to anyone until about 6 months ago at 27K miles. The van developed a vibration which got worse @60+ mph. I'm afraid to drive great distances now for fear that its going to fall apart. I've taken it back for the 3rd time to "fix" the problem. They've (1) reset computer, (2) machined all 4 rotors, and lastly (3) road forced balance - none of these supposed "fixes" have fixed the road vibration i experience daily, it maybe even worse. I hate my van and am extremely frustrated with the lack of actual service for the problem at hand. I won't buy another one.

Report Abuse

a great hauler

zman34, 03/09/2014
EX-L 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

My first minivan due to kids. We left an x3 to get the van, as a left over from previous model year. Hard to beat for camping and any trip with the kids. Comfortable and peppy for a vehicle well over 4000 pounds. I bought it as a left over and saved 5000 which made the EX-L affordable I sold it at 80,000 miles after 8 years. No major costs other than suspension (shocks). Can't beat the room and driving dynamics. Flexible seating was nice, easy to flip down 3rd row. Recommended. Leaking rear shocks at 50000 were a bit expensive. Warranty replacement of wheel bearing and piece of the steering pump. At 70000 now with no other issues. Mpg socks but you are pushing a heavy box through the wing. .. What do you expect? The variable cylinder management is a joke for Mpg improvement. With the volume of these cars sold, I am not surprised there are a few issues reported here. My mazda 3 have been bullet proof to 70,000, still made in japan. Odyssey in A

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good Travel Vehicle - 2008 Odyssey

kathy68, 02/23/2012
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Owned a 99 Honda Odyssey and had it for 9 years. Many recalls including transmission replacement on that model year. Purchased a new 2008 Honda Odyssey and have had good luck with it so far -- over 65,000 miles on it. Soft brake issue recall was resolved. Traveled 4,000 miles last summer to Colorado through the rockies and also to the east coast and it was a great travel vehicle.

Report Abuse

Sorry I bought it.

Hannah Lechenstien, 11/09/2007
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have only driven this van about 3000 miles and I have to say that I am VERY DISSAPOINTED in HONDA PRODUCTS!. I have been to the dealership a total of twelve times for an array of problems. The sliding door fell of it's track onto my 7 year old's foot. The DVD player keeps skipping. The lights on the dash will go out with no warning. The brakes are starting to squeek when they are hot. It has terrrible gas miledge (13 city/16 hwy). I had traded a Dodge Durango that got better gas mpg than this thing. And it never broke down or sent me to the dealership for any repairs. I have almost three years left on the lease of this scary creature. I don't think I'm going to make it.

Report Abuse

Great '08!

Mrs. Philip Klostermann, 03/21/2019
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

This has been a very reliable well maintained vehicle. If I thought it needed something, like tires or rear shocks, I would go to the dealer to get it! Regular advised Maintenance is the key to Honda longevity. I followed the 15% oil change suggestion, as well as free tire rotation at every oil change. (I had free tire rotation because I bought my Michelin tires there at Bommarito Honda in St. Louis.) I've kept my maintenance file. When it was time for a new timing or serpentine belt, I got it. I listened to the service advisors because they were a constant in the service dept. They washed my van every time it was in for service, unless the weather was too inclement or the car wash was down.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Disapointed

NM467, 05/16/2010
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought this because my 2004 was a great van. The interior design is truly great, easy to live in and great for the family. The disappointment comes from the brakes(soft), transmission shutter, power locks that have a mind of their own and squeaks in the interior. The road noise is bad also and that was supposedly improved. The squeak not yet fixed, transmission reprogrammed not fixed and the locks can't be replicated when at the dealer. I have also had the drivers seat cushion replaced because of cracked leather this from a Honda with less than 17,000 miles on it. I bought this van to drive for the next ten years and at this rate I doubt It will make it to be paid off. Honda's rep is damaged!

Report Abuse

Rust problems Truck Around Tail Light

jeffwh, 01/25/2014
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Honda Poor Customer Service In just 5 years rust in around rear signal lights broke through the paint and started flaking off. It was unbelievable. I told Honda of the issue and they inspected the vechile and they concluded the vechile had not been in an accident or repainted. They would not pay for the repair. Van was well in perfect conditions otherwise. Amazing van to drive but customer service. Terrible! Be careful.

Report Abuse

Space Galore

mrcarp, 11/29/2012
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Nav, Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

As much as don't like to admit it, I pushed my wife into getting a minivan. We got the '08 EX-L in the summer of 2011 and are very pleased so far. Honda hit the mark with the Odyssey and the new ones look even better. We have not yet experienced any of the major negative issues that I have seen...knock on wood.

Report Abuse

Honda knows what they are doing

Danielle, 06/03/2018
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Nav, Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Having been raised in GM products, I was loyal until I test-drove the 2008 Honda Odyssey in 2018. Comparing it to the 2008 Chevrolet Uplander, it blew it out of the water. No wonder they stopped making minivans

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Ever MiniVan 2008

Harry Hanson, 08/02/2017
EX-L 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

We purchased this Mini Van in the summer of 2008. It was our first ever MiniVan the first thing I was told by my mother was that it rode so smooth and quiet! My wife & I take a trip (1650 miles one way) every winter and I can't think of a better way to travel with all our luggage including my golf clubs than in are Honda Odyssey. People ask me what the gas mileage is and I tell them I don't know, I didn't buy the van for its gas mileage. I bought it for its great ride, exceptional room and trouble free miles. It's not the sexiest thing on the road, after all how do you made a "breadbox with four wheels look sexy??? I love it so much we ordered a 2018 and are looking forward to putting 100k miles on it. Honda makes great engines and builds the best minivans out there.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Won't buy another Honda!!!

js114, 06/11/2009
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Nav, Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this brand new and at first I did not want a minivan, but I've found I like the convenience of it. Now I absolutely can't stand it, the passenger side door rattles. At first it sounded like a marble. They took the door apart and wrapped everything, it was gone for a few months, now it's a new rattle and now the other door has started. It's bad when your 4 year old says, "mommy my door is rattling again." You can't even turn up the radio to drown it out. It's only a year old and I want to get rid of it. I wish I never got rid of my 4Runner. Dealer says he's never heard of this problem. After reading the reviews, it sounds very common.

Report Abuse

Great car

Rifat, 01/02/2010
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Nav, Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second Honda Odyssey, first one 2002-2008, it is a great van, fun to drive, smooth, good fuel economy, strong and dependable, I drove the van from Cincinnati to Chicago with family of 5 and infant in a car seat, carrying 10 luggages, no problems at all, navigation needs update, dvd is excellent, wish if awd is available. This van worth every Penny.

Report Abuse

Never buy a honda

julieinky, 03/03/2010
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have owned Odessey since 10-08.My husband and I thought we were buying a reliable vehicle for our family, but proven wrong!While driving with our 2 children in the van hit the brakes to slow down and the vehicle accelerated on its own.We had to fight to keep from hitting the turning car in front of us.Had in dealership 6 times to fix the problem NOT fixed yet. This isn't a constant problem and dealer can not diagnose a problem. May not happen for another 600 miles. Therefore while driving constantly have hand on gear shift in case the van needs to be put in neutral.Scared to death to have kids in the van. Air leaks, wind noise, interior lights come for no reason!

Report Abuse

Mini Van Man

Anonymous, 04/09/2018
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Overall we are satisfied, however, we did have some transmission/recall issues to work through. Honda and the dealership stood by their product and completely resolved them to our satisfaction.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Poor Tranny

JR, 05/18/2016
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Have had nothing but problems with the transmission.

Performance
Report Abuse

Can a Mini Van be Classy?

Jerry Maske, 11/24/2016
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This one is. I keep it clean and it's a pleasure to ride in. I have knee and hip issues, so being up in the air make getting in and out a whole lot easier. It's been good to us and I expect it to continue. The local dealership has been trying to buy it back for years, so that's a great indication of how valuable and reliable the used Odysseys are. It's too big for our needs now so we'll probably get something smaller when we part with this one, but it has served us well. The Odyssey continues to amaze me. No problems at all. Change oil and filters regular, rotate tires regularly and it runs as strong today as it did when we first bought it. No interest in parting with it and taking on monthly car payments again. This one is just fine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good reliable family vehicle

Rodger Gregory, 06/23/2017
EX-L 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Ford electronics probably better for older drivers

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Odyssey my Odyssey

Paas, 02/21/2016
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ody Paint Job

jlsxpressllc, 06/07/2008
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Vehicle seems to drive well except for a slight pull to the right. Transmission seems to 'hunt' when driving slowly around town. Does much better when given a little gas and highway speeds.

Report Abuse

Anyone else with transmission issues?

stressedoutdad, 06/18/2008
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After several years of owning Toyotas, )'95 Camry, '01 4Runner, '04 Matrix), we traded in the Matrix after we realized we couldn't get three car seats in the Matrix. We found a certified '02 Odyssey w/ very low miles. (my wife cried, knowing that she was driving a damned van). Other than being drab gray, it's been a good vehicle. Having a bunch of work to do on my 4runner, I traded it in, and we leased a new '08 Odyssey EX. We've had it for 4 months, and have had it in the shop three times for a transmission issue: it CLUNKS, then the "D" light starts blinking, and the van continues to shift rough. To be fair, the dealership has given a rental (this one a Sienna! I might trade)

Report Abuse

Great Van

dovinb, 07/05/2008
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my third Honda vehicle and all of them have been exceptional products. I have just 4,000 miles on the van so far and I'm very impressed. It rides and handles very well! I just came back from a 3,200 cross-country trip and I was impressed with the gas mileage. Droving 78-82 MPH for most of the trip, loaded to the gills with luggage, my wife and 2 kids, running the A/C the entire time, I got a consistent solid 23 MPG. While driving on country back roads around 65-70 MPH, I achieved 27 MPG. In city driving I get 17-18 MPG. Everything is functional and well designed. No problems with anything so far.

Report Abuse

Love my Minivan

Christe, 07/09/2008
LX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my van. I tried the Toyota and was not impressed. Although you can get more for your money. The quality was not superb as mine. I'd rather get basic model and get the right choice! However Honda's basic does come with a lot. Toyota offers some of my basics as options. The gas mileage is great as well. I am getting 19/20 mpg. We all need that with the gas prices. I'd rather drive a van than any suv too.

Report Abuse

TPMS Light will not go off

DeeBee, 07/17/2008
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We resisted a minivan for a while, but after another baby, took the plunge. The Ody test drove better than Sienna and my older son liked the look, so we traded in our Toyota Avalon. So far, we have returned to the dealer twice (a long drive and missing work) due to the TPMS light coming on. Each time they reset it/initialized it and then an hour later as I drove it home, it popped on again. VERY annoying and the stability control won't work when it's on, so also a safety issue. I do like how it drives and the looks of it, but didn't expect to be annoyed by Honda already.

Report Abuse

Disappointed

Gail, 08/18/2008
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We just leased a 2008 Odyssey last week of May. Barely three months old, on our way for a vacation the car broke down. It was brought into a Honda dealer and they found that there was a leak on the transmission and the clutch was burned. Good thing we were able to stop at the nearest area. So scared of what happened as we were with our five year old son. Now, even if we take it back and they changed the whole transmission, i will never feel safe again especially for our son.

Report Abuse

Creaking, Squeaking, & Rattling

kp, 08/20/2008
Touring 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The first 3 months, this van was in the dealership off and on for 7 weeks. The rattling noises in the windows and doors were so loud that my 5 year old son thought it was hailing outside on a sunny day. Overall, space is awesome. Dvd & Nav function w/o any issues. Rear view camera is strange & deceiving. Almost out of car seats and will definitely switch out to a less noisy SUV.

Report Abuse

5,000 Mile Update - Not Good!

fiend_bear, 08/27/2008
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

OK - I have to agree with another reviewer that said many folks will take back their great ratings after putting some miles on the Ody. This is a follow up to an earlier review. The 2008 Ody drives and handles well, but that's where it all stops. Our problems to date include: steering spline knock, faulty wheel alignment, engine ping/knock, oil leak, rattling front windows, and Air Conditioning that currently works only on the passenger side. None of these issues were of course apparent when the car was purchased, but it did not take very long for them to surface. We are bringing the Ody in for service tomorrow, so we'll see how things go. But for now, it's two big thumbs down!

Report Abuse

Like it so far (10k miles)

geppetto2008, 09/03/2008
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Smooth driving experience with good pick-up when I need it. I had a v-8 Ford Explorer beforehand, and the Honda has as much acceleration at the Explorer. The brakes are fantastic, highly responsive, excellent stopping distance. We settled for the EX model because for the features in the EX-L, we couldn't justify the price. I don't understand the other comments re: road noise--our van is by far one of the quietest vehicles I've ever driven. Gas mileage isn't too bad--we consistently get 24 highway--but city suffers a bit at 17 mpg on average. We added our own DVD player and screen for a fraction of what it would have cost at the dealership---a little hassle, but saved us nearly $1500!

Report Abuse

Not sure about this car

Phred, 09/30/2008
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned the van for about a month and have driven 3K miles on a trip. On the positive side the van is nice to drive, looks good and has power. On the negative side the road noise is excessive. When passing a truck you can hardly hear anyone else in the car. The noise from bumps in the road is also very loud. Automatic shifting is rough. The front seats are not very comfortable compared to my 2005 Dodge van. The radio sound is very good but it has the poorest station range of any car I've owned in the last 20 years. The little mirror on the sun glasses holder is useless. It needs a compass. At this point I'm not too thrilled about this purchase.

Report Abuse

Update on earlier review

Phred, 02/06/2009
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 6 months ago and the more I see of it the more I think I made the wrong choice. Got stuck in a snow bank and of course there are no hooks under the car to attach a chain to pull it out - dig, dig, dig!!! Two months ago the side sliding door jumped off the track and had to be repaired -- two days in the shop!! On real cold days, before driving, the tire pressure alert show low tire pressure. I think Honda needs some better engineering!!

Report Abuse

Wish I had leased another Sienna

Todd, 02/08/2009
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Lease was up on my 05 Sienna, so I leased an 08 Odyssey, due to the better lease rate and better exterior styling. Wow do I miss my Sienna after 4 months. The Honda feels so cheap in every way. Fit and finish is TERRIBLE. Several paint flaws, poor fit of exterior trim, horrible fit of interior trim and interior surfaces which feel cheap and scratch ridiculously easily. Brakes are downright scary, they are so soft. Stereo is the worst I have heard since the AM in my old 66 VW. Rough ride, excessive wind noise and an amazing number of rattles round out the package. Hopefully this thing at least turns out to be reliable.

Report Abuse

Average

JTLS, 03/04/2009
EX 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought after totaling 02 Grand Caravan. Has awesome power, looks great. Climate control poor, only can control temp of rear cabin and not fan speed or mode from the front. Interior is extremely uncomfortable and hard. Dome lights will not go off automatically (What?). I drive mostly highway @ 80MPH and get about 18MPG. Caravan was 22MPG. Kinda confusing about maint schedule. There is no set time, you have to rely on the comp to tell you when to take it in. Might be 7500 miles or 3000. Stereo controls are too far away from driver to be comfortable. Hopefully the reliability and longevity will compensate for the shortfalls. Wish I had my Dodge back but playing the cards I'm dealt.

Report Abuse

first year review

MK, 07/30/2009
EX-L 4dr Minivan w/Nav, Rear Entertainment (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

First let me start of by saying that I am a huge car guy. Overall the odyssey is a nice minivan. It is a nice ride for a longer road trip or hauling people around, probably the best minivan out there right now, not that there is a very large selection available. On the down side it is far from perfect. First of when you get a car that is $40000+ you should expect better interior materials, especially on the dash. It's all hard plastic, kinda like the pre- 2007 GM's. I have owned infinities before in the same price range and the dashes were much more luxurious. Secondly the seats other then the driver side are not exactly comfortable. The backs stick out to much. The outside mirrors stink

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050