Used 1997 Honda Accord Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,180 - $2,884

Used Accord for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Timex watch and 97 accord take a lickin

Larry A, 11/14/2015
LX 4dr Sedan
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

Very well built car easily repaired FYI people don't be stupid and get taken in by crooked mechanics. YOU CAN repair your own car all u need is google, you tube and some tools and don't be afraid to get your hands dirty. One of the most amazing cars I ever owned just keeps on going and going hoping to make it to 400,000 miles next year

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1997 Honda Accord SE

KKBama, 03/01/2003
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

This Accord was my very first car and is an excellent first car for any high schooler. It's cute and sporty while still being practical and functional, especially on the gas mileage. I bought it at 29,000 and the only problems have been mostly small ones-- the power windows are sometimes slow, the A/C and defogging are sometimes flaky and I also have "phantom locks"-- whenever I lock my car, manually or by remote, the locks continue to make a sound as though they are locking. But I have never had a major problem with my Accord and I always feel safe in it.

Report Abuse

A Consumer Car With Zip

peterpaul, 01/28/2013
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

This is my second Honda Accord in the last few years. My first was a '97 Honda Accord SE with 185,000 miles on it that I bought from a junkyard for essentially nothing: it zipped around fine, sipped gas, and was cheap to repair. It died (lesson, never buy a used car without a maintenance history) as the old owner ragged it. For the above reasons, I bought one last week, a '97 EX with the V6 engine in it. It has 138,000 miles on it and is in excellent condition. It has zip and pep and really gets around town. Even better, as it has all the maintenance records going back to purchase, I can see it has been well kept and for a fraction of other cars. Yay 94-97 Honda Accords!

Report Abuse

LOVE MY SE!

krm, 02/15/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My sister had leased this car for 3 yrs and I snatched it up the day she went SUV. 135K miles on it now w/numerous 2K mile road trips under her belt. You can not destroy this car! I drive on possibly the worst tires in a winter snow zone without chains or studs and as long as the front bumper isn't pushing snow, I get wherever I need to go. My fuel mileage has drops to about 20-21 MPG with the winter ethanol mix we're forced to use, but she runs like a champ! Great car!

Report Abuse

Best Car I've ever owned

Brian, 11/13/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought it with 70,000 and currently has 227,000 replaced 1 half axle, 1 battery, upper bushing on front. 34 mpg on highway w/ cruise combined around 28 mpg. At one point at about 110,000 it would just shut off as if I turned the key off but would catch in gear again b/c of it being a 5 speed standard. I called Honda and they told me that it had been recalled for bad ignition switch. Made an appt at the local dealer. Honda replaced everything. igniton switch, points, plugs, cap, wires and even an oil change at NO COST.. Now that's SERVICE! In fact I just bought my wife a 2004 Accord EX.

Report Abuse

Great Car! Very solid!

Stephen, 03/10/2016
LX 4dr Sedan
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 3 years and it has been almost perfect for me! It only has 102,000 miles on it and it could go on forever. I have recently just had to fix the transmission a bit because the torque converter locked up but that is due to most of my driving is done on the highway because I am a college student who drives 250 miles home twice a month or so. The engine is a tank and will run forever. No major complaints about this car at all. It was and still is my first car and I am looking to get many more years out of it. It is the perfect first car! It is not flashy, nor will it make anyone impressed, but it gets the job done efficiently. Honda is known for their solid cars and this is just another solid, well build car. I even put in an aftermarket touchscreen stereo and speakers. This car is very easy to modify or change out little things. 9.5/10

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1997 Honda Accord

Paul, 03/14/2016
LX 4dr Sedan
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Simply the best car I have ever owned. Have owned Gm, Chrysler, etc and they don't compare reliability wise. Simple car, which is why they last as long as they do. 250k, tires, oil changes and brakes. Fantastic car....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

BEST CAR!!

gvnnpd, 06/20/2013
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought mine with 60k, i now have 120k. Ive only done oil changes along with once a year wax. It looks new and runs great! Ive only needed to do the a/c compressor, which was only $300 what a steal! when my friends same year Saab was 1,200. Boy did he have a Saab story! This car takes you anywhere and everywhere! Ive taken it to Colorado in the mountains, to the beaches of california, never has it ever broken down on me. At times ive though of getting a new car but then i remember that NOTHING compares to the gas and reliability this car has. Its a gold mine, thats why its been rated the #1 stolen in America! crooks know where theres gold mines.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

camman97, 11/13/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My sister got this car when she was 15 and it had 50k miles on it and now shes 22 and she recently bought a new fusion but this car was passed down to me and now with 203067 miles on it and we have had only 1 problem and it was the EGR valve but it does have minor faults like the windows and paint but otherwise a fine car and i would buy another one

Report Abuse

Original Owner - 13 years and still goin

melachuri, 04/24/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great Car. Replaced A/C evaporator at 70k and radiator at 100k. Other than that did all needed maintenance - CV joints, Timing belt, etc.

Report Abuse

My 2nd favorite Honda

thehub, 06/07/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second '97 Special Edition four door, and neither has disappointed. The ride is smooth (on new Pirellis) while it is not a Porsche, it is reliable, safe and fun to drive. It is comfortable as all get out! This is my 6th Honda, and only my 1989 Accord Lxi has been better. Honda is a cut above the rest. Buy one, and you will not be disappointed.

Report Abuse

97 Accord Over-rated

bernerjc, 03/03/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

97 Accord -not so reliable Lost trans. ($2400) due to a faulty trans. pump just after warranty (per mechanic-was a mfg defect) Honda did finally pay for 15% of repair 3 A/C repairs in last yr. $3650 of repairs in 45,500 mi $0.08 per mi repairs 27 MPG Worth $9500 now vs $18K new (not bad val. retention) Overall ownership cost incl purch. price minus curr. val., insurance, title, repairs, gas: $0.40/mi. (above $0.365 normal avg) well above my Civic's $0.31

Report Abuse

Great Car

Rick S., 02/27/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned. I was in a major accident (was rear ended) when the car was 3 months old. Car was fixed and is still running better than many newer cars. At 117,000 miles everything except battery & brakes is orig. I hope it lasts for another 100K mi.

Report Abuse

Happy Accord owner

hnk000, 08/29/2008
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've had my Accord se since it was a year old/25k miles. It now has 250,000 miles on it. I've done every maintenance requirement on it. And had only a few problems all things considered. Brought it from la to ca and back. After all this time the only problem I have is the leaks. But after so much wear and tear what else could anyone ask for. A great car. I'm attached still after all these years. And it still looks perfect. Word.

Report Abuse

300,000 miles and going strong

chilli1, 07/20/2012
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Over 300,000 miles on original motor and transmission. Almost nothing has ever gone wrong with it, except it would shut off or not start, and problem was a recalled ignition switch, dealer fixed for free. Hope to get a half million miles out of it!

Report Abuse

1 of three I own, need I say more...

scott, 06/02/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I own three 97 Honda accords, two Lxs and My SE. My lowest mileage Lx has 135,00 and my highest 212,000. And they all run like new. Have had to do very little with any of them. They wear tires like a dream, usually a set lasts longer than manufacture rating. My tip for everyones weak motor widow troubles is to spray some lube on the window channels going vertically on each side, the problem is not the motor, it is binding friction on the glass sides itself. This will make the windows work like new.

Report Abuse

Thank God I bought this car !!

kaio, 04/12/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Only maintenance and tire change over the past 3 years.

Report Abuse

WELL MADE!

vaneverette71, 01/31/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 97 Special Edition in March, 03 with 60k on her. The only things I have done besides oil changes have been replacing the radiator and timing belt (1st time!) at 160k. I wish I had a stick shift, but it still runs well and burns very little oil. I change oil every 7.5k. The new hondas look good, but since I'll only get $2-3k in trade, I think I'll hang onto this baby a while!

Report Abuse

Great Car

CHK, 09/02/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought the car in 2006 when it had about 150,000 miles - have made many trips from PA to NH and back with never a problem - this car has never let me down. It now has 215,000 miles, and I'm looking to take it to 300,000. The only service I've had to do is routine maintenance, and repairs that were a result of my own dumb mistakes. Great car!!! Looking to by buy another car in the next couple months - this one will be another Accord. Thanks, Honda.

Report Abuse

High mileage

windshawne, 11/14/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the car in 2003-3 days after I bought it, I had to have the heads redone. Researching its history, I found the car had been abused, however, as of today, it has 199,500 miles on it and it's still as sound as the day I bought it. Just the past oil change it has started to use oil, so I need to investigate that. This has been the most reliable car I have ever had. When it finally dies, I will buy another one.

Report Abuse

Wolf in sheeps clothing!

crm, 06/15/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Accord from day 1, it has been trustworthy, reliable, and virtualy maintanence free! I recently decided to power up the underpowered motor with a turbo, and replace the suspension with polyurethane bushings, and coilovers. I now race it in autocross every week with 70,000 original miles on it! I wish I had realized it's potential earlier!

Report Abuse

Best Car Ever!

Jones, 02/15/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I originally had a 1989 Ford Mustang GT and had traded it for my 97' Accord EX V6. Have to say honestly was my best decision ever! I have ever option available, leather, power seats, power windows and locks, steering wheel controls, etc. Only issue I have had was replaced a cracked radiator but come on it has 156k miles for god sake! The window motors are somewhat slow but i manage, the a/c isn't great but it keeps me cool. Although my C/E Light is on I have no had any performance issues, it starts right up on first turn I think its just because the Tach stopped working. Although I am having a new transmission installed now but that is because the car was lowered and i bottomed out.

Report Abuse

Great reliable car

Scott, 03/12/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this EX-L V6 in 02 with 68k, now has 193k. Other than normal maintenance., it hasn't needed anything. Doesn't use any oil and the v6 is peppy, yet gets good mpg. Disc brakes on all 4 wheels seem to hold up very well. Been through 2 teenage drivers and still survived ( I know they didn't baby it). Plan on keeping it another 100k. Power windows have gotten a little slow, but seems to be a common problem on these cars. Spray silicone once in while does seem to help. Looking for another 97 accord for my next teenager.

Report Abuse

Honda

jmc1946, 06/29/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Dependable auto, only problem which is common to Honda's is that the windshield fogs up easily, air conditioning/defogging is not the greatest.

Report Abuse

The best in reliability

kagodo, 08/30/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent overall performance. I almost bought a Plymouth Breeze which was one year older and half the price. No regrets.

Report Abuse

Not as good as others

Asian user, 09/24/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

got it from a private party with 85,000 miles on it. The trans is jerking in the "slow & go" situation. Won't happen when it's " Stop & go". That's why I didn't find out at the test drive. I have been a Toyota fan for more than 8 years, their trans just smooth like silk. Been to shop (not dealer), they told trans jerk on high mileage Accord are very common. No solution unless change a used one-$1,200. Also, many of the repair cost are higher than Toyota. it does have one advantage: it's timing belt need to replace every 90,000 miles, not 60,000.

Report Abuse

Good Car

RaLpH, 12/06/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just wanted to say that this is a great car. I'm 16 yrs old and happy to be driving a honda accord. These are the best cars ever, they run forever, Very Good Quality!

Report Abuse

Nice car but what's with the P/W?

ImportOnly, 01/28/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We just replaced our '87 Acura Legend Coup with a '97 Honda Accord for my wife and although we love the cars for their overall quality and reliability, what's up with the power window motors burning out? I can understand it on the '87 Acura Legend, but the '97 Honda Accord after having it for only a few weeks that motor on the driver side window stopped working. Honda needs to improve the that power feature of the cars. Everything else is superior to anything else on the road for quality and reliability. Great car!!!

Report Abuse

Definitely worth the money

heyguysitsme, 10/18/2014
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought the car from another college student. Already gone on multiple long road trips(100 miles or more one way), and it just keeps on plugging along at 250,000 miles. I drive 80 miles a day round trip on the freeway, and its done very well. 28 mpg average. Only problem is that these cars are supposed to have 17 gallon gas tanks, but when the needle is on empty, mine only takes 13. Not a major issue though. Definitely worth the 1000 dollars I paid for it.

Report Abuse

Bulletproof reliability, short on zoom

honderfan, 06/19/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this Accord LX for over 6 years now. Never had any trouble with it other than a couple of minor issues. Change the oil and put gas in it, and it will go... The engine is extremely anemic for a car this size, and this is *with* a manual tranny!! And ift he AC is on, foeget about any accelerations... The performance and corenering leaves a lot to be desired as well. But if you are ever looking for a good, reliable tranport to get you from point A to point B, look no further than this car.

Report Abuse

Honda Accord EX '97

CelticRainbw, 08/06/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Reliability and quality are the keys to the '97 Accord's overall performance. It is easy and affordable to maintain - no mechanical or electrical problems. It is easy/fun to drive and responds beautifully (great on wet roads and in snow.)

Report Abuse

A Pretty Good Value

santaman58, 03/01/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our 7th Honda. Overall, we are happy except for the driver's side power window failure that we experienced. Seems many others have the same problem. More road noise than I would like, but the overall value is still good and the dependability is good also. Drive power is adequate and comfort is good. Nice styling, except for the fabric covered side armrest, they would be better in a more cleanable material. Hopefully all these items will be corrected when we purchase our 8th Honda.

Report Abuse

Its a Honda...

ickes, 10/14/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A blend of the EX trim features with mechanicals from the LX, the SE offers a mid-level option. If I had to do it again, I would have bought the EX with 20 more horsepower. Everything else about this car is perfect - a classic Honda.

Report Abuse

100k and alot of life left

nanj, 11/06/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

just paid off and no plans to sell, could use more power, 25mpg w/ ac on - 28mpg w/o, over 30 on trips, front window motors replaced under warr, were very slow, now just slow, no other problems, 7k oil changes Mobil 1, 90k trans service is too long, fluid was black, did flush, mostly hwy no abuse, put on bigger tires, much better handling, using 205/60's looks factory, orig tires looked small..

Report Abuse

1997 SE HONDA ACCORD

gdnstar, 12/30/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I HAVE REALLY ENJOYED THE 1997 HONDA ACCORD. I HAVE HAD FEW MECHANICAL PROBLEMS. I WILL NOTE THAT I HAVE HAD 2 SENSORS GO OUT, FORTUNATELY THEY WERE COVERED UNDER THE HONDA EMISSIONS WARRANTY.

Report Abuse

Run Forever

jenthor, 11/09/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used with 62,000 miles on it and currently has 107,500 and have changed the timing belt and should be good to go for another 100,000 miles. Never had a probelem with this car.

Report Abuse

My Honda

KT, 12/27/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my first car. I got it with 166,000 miles on it and I had it for a year now and there has been no problems with it so far what so ever. The only few minor things that bothers me is when the car accelerates its not as a smooth and quiet as I expected it should be, its kind of loud and and the orange maintance light did not go away when I inserted my key, to set it back to the green light, the leg room in the back is kind of too little. Overall I love my honda and I plan on keeping it as long as I can, hoping it'll last me at least through college. I would definitely get a brand new one when I graduate from college.

Report Abuse

198,000 and still going strong

wreckbum, 03/29/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle with 150 miles. I fell in love with it and still am. It has 198,000 miles and I know it can still go another 100,000. The power windows in the front were always slow, but no problems. I drive on the highway alot and the car performs great; many long trips doing 85 to 100 mph continously. The CV joint boots did not go until 90,000, where in most foreing cars I have owned break in 35,000. No mechanical problems have occured. Had 2 major accidents and the car still performs great. I will never buy another make but Honda.

Report Abuse

Love my Honda

Karenn, 07/08/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have had my 97 Special Edition for almost 9 years and am looking for another one! Loved the car; reliable, reliable, reliable. Only issues were a weak air conditioning system - even when was working after being repaired several times due to leaking inside the car and just warm air coming from the vents, it was still weak A/C - barely kept the car cool. And the driver's window never had much power going up once it was down - tended to freeze up in the winter - not good after paying a toll and not being able to get the window back up. Those were my only complaints with the car and I think subsequent models have taken care of that.

Report Abuse

Not Too Shabby But Very Vanilla Car

Woodbyrne, 07/13/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Pretty decent car in terms of reliability. I now have 133k miles on it and have experienced the following problems since owning it: needed new exhaust system and radiator. These are normal wear and tear items. Engine is perfect. Problem now is that it's starting to get annoying old car problems. Sun roof began to leak so I just sealed it and took out the motor. Weird rattling noise under the car. Windows were always slow but now I have to push the passenger window up when closing it or it won't move. Once in a while the car will just turn off while you are driving. Car is too old now to dump cash in. And I won't get any $$ for a trade-in. Just going to drive it until it dies.

Report Abuse

Great Car - Honda Success

Jbruce, 06/09/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought our 97 Accord 4DR Special Edition as a Certified lease return when it was 3 years old and had 32,000 miles. Though it was used when we bought it, it seemed like a new car. The ride is very stable and quiet. Fuel mileage is excellent. Features include CD player, sunroof, security system, woodgrain accents, alloy wheels and all power accessories. The seats are very comfortable, and it is easy to sit for hours. Our only problem is a creaking noise infrequently from front left suspension. The engine could have more passing power, but we benefit from the great gas mileage. Honda is a winner and we love their cars!

Report Abuse

Finally a used car you can rely on!

Dakny, 03/09/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My biggest fears about buying a used vehicle were reliability and sturdiness of interior and exterior design. I have to say that my car still looks and drives great. It stands up to harsh road conditions and is not expensive to maintain. I still get between 310 miles and 350 miles to the tank. I would definitely either keep this car for a long time or trade up for a newer Honda Accord model.

Report Abuse

An amazing car

JCA, 08/19/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

These cars continually amaze me. I bought mine from the first owner, and it had 100K on it. I couldn't believe how well it still ran, though. It was like driving a new car. The only thing the previous owner had replaced was the tires and the timeing belt. It's a beautiful looking car, and is so solidly built I'll easily be able to run up another 100K on it before I even need to think about replacing anything.

Report Abuse

My first car

shaun, 01/25/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the first car I've owned that I am actually paying for (I just got out of college) and I have to say it's a fantastic piece of machinery. For being a "boring family sedan", Honda does a good job of making me like this car. I've never had any problems with it in the past 9 months owning it, and will probably own it for a while to come.

Report Abuse

My 1997 SE

Erik Hoggatt, 05/06/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my baby, I take it every where. I drive it to work everyday and would not be afraid to take it coast to coast if needed. She has 230,150 miles on here and have only had services every 60,000 miles except for the timing belt replacement at 105,000 and 210,000 miles. I have the oil changed every 5,000 miles and would recommend this vehicle to anyone who needed a good commuter vehicle, I got 28.9 miles per gallon on my last tank and I'm well on my way to 300,000.

Report Abuse

Modest and Reliable

Kaizen, 05/24/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am the owner of a beloved 97 Accord SE- sedan. The car presently has 200,561 miles and had only had it's timing belt replaced once. The car is still in top running condition and frequently makes road trips out-of-town with ease. The complaints about the vehicle are slim to few in between, however, in 97 Honda needed much improvement in their electronic department- power windows were slow or the window motors burnt out. Overall, a wonderful car. Going this evening to pick up my 05 ex-v6 sedan with leather, nav and xm radio. I am looking forward to the increased power, from 130 hp to 240.. Thank you Honda...

Report Abuse

Best thing I could have bought!

pastrypuff, 07/17/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car! I got it 9 years old, but she still drives like a dream! At the 156,000 mile mark this car is still quiet and reliable. The gas mileage is still great, I've had to only do little things to it. I would recomend this car to any one!

Report Abuse

The Ultimate driving machine

Kaio, 09/26/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this Accord for 7 years and I loved it so much that when I needed another car, I bought the exact same one brand new (Accord SE). It has given me absolutely no trouble at all and looks and drives like brand new. I still have the original rear brakes. I have replaced the front brakes once. 2 sets of tyres, a muffler and an expensive 105K mile service ($1000) which included air-conditioner and timing belt. Other than that it is oil change. On top of that it is soooo fun to drive. I wonder why people buy any other car.

Report Abuse

My HOnda

Rob X, 04/11/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

One of the best and most reliable cars I have ever owned. A pleasure to drive and always dependable.

Report Abuse

Reliable

Brian M, 03/29/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We've owned this vehicle for 10 years and have had zero mechanical problems. Incredible reliability and it still runs nicely with 165,000 miles on it.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050