Used 1992 Geo Metro Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$775 - $1,843

Used Metro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best car I've ever owned

Bob Hardison, 03/20/2008
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my Geo Metro new in Oct. 1991 as a 1992 model. I have a little over 208,000 miles on it, and it has never been overhauled and does not use any oil between changes at 3000 miles. The only repairs needed since purchase is the starter at 148,000 miles, and the front struts at Sears at about 100,000 mi with a lifetime warranty, and a replacement (no charge) at 201,000 mi. I still get average 33 mpg in town, and 47 mpg on a trip. I've replaced front wheel brakes myself twice (about $20.00). I will never sell or trade this car and I love driving it better than my new Nissan Altima, and I do drive it more. My Geo is a 5 speed manual. I replace the timing belt myself about every 60K miles.

Report Abuse

How great is this car

Bob Hardison, 03/28/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car has been the best car that I have ever owned. It is a 1992 model that I bought in Oct. 1991. Today it is Mar. 2007 and I have 206,000 miles on it and it uses no oil between changes and the only repair that I have had is a starter motor that went bad after 150,000 miles. I will never sell this car at any price. I get 47 MPG and the 12 in. tires only cost about $100.00 for all four, and it will cruise on the interstate at any speed you want it-even up to 100mph. I usually drive it there at about 75mph.

Report Abuse

great transportation

bob h, 01/15/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car, easy to work on and parts are readily available. Would drive this car anywhere! Mileage is great! Easy on tires

Report Abuse

Geo Metro is a best buy

jammo, 03/18/2002
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

A Geo Metro is a best buy. I have had mine ten yrs and love it. Maint included new tires [$120 for 4 on the rim!!] an alternator, two batteries and one new brake set-for 10 yrs! Seats 4 and gets fantstic milage. Total cost with financing,AM/FM Cassette, rear wiper and air was just under $10,000. Monthly avg cost-$102! $83 for purchase, $12 in gas and $7 in maint including parts, svc and oil changes. Still kicking and looking good-largest Geo ever made!

Report Abuse

Dream Car!

karentoby1, 08/08/2013
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Searched for ANY model/year metro for the past 9 months-price/condition ratio not acceptable. but luck would have it, i sold my blown engine 2001 corolla and had the money when this XFI pops up on Craigslist. other co-incidences aside-the guy shows up and the clutch is slipping-according to him it just started doing that [fat chance] and i said, "i'll give you $500"-he said ok. well i'll tell you-that car is fun as can be to drive! i put a new clutch in/tuned 'er up and my 100 mile round trip commute is a joy thinking about all that money i'm saving.

Report Abuse

322,000 on chassis 2nd eng&3rd tranny

avionicbug, 05/01/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Metro I have had it 12 years I put 222,000 miles on it since i bought it.I installed a motorcycle muffler and it sounds and performs great. I drive 88 miles a day.It is so easy to work on changing the eng or tranny in a few hours. It to me is both pricelss and worthless at the same time. I would not sell it for $4000 I am planning on seeing 1,000,000 miles. I laugh at the $4.00 gas and big SUV's

Report Abuse

One of the greatest cars ever

Jeff Pritz, 09/05/2016
XFi 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

As a professional mechanic, I have found the Geo Metro hatchback, with the 3 cylinder, 5 speed manual transmission, to be the easiest, least expensive car to repair, that I have ever owned. It is extremely fun to drive and very comfortable. I recently made an 11 hour trip and never squirmed around in the seat. I rented a brand new Nissan Altima and 40 minutes into my trip, my posterior felt like I was sitting on concrete. Gas mileage is fantastic. With a few simple and inexpensive modifications, I now get 65 MPG Hwy and 55 city. The first year I owned the car, I saved $2,200 (in gas), over driving my 1998 ford F150. Make sure you do not buy a rusty car. Look very carefully behind the front wheels, if you see any rust on the frame, walk away. Cars from the south are usually rust free. I truly cannot say enough nice things about this car. I buy most all my parts off of Ebay. The manual transmission is much pepier than the automatic and gets the best gas mileage. Like the original VW Beetle and the Austin Mini, the Metro hatchback is one of the greatest cars ever . At 194,000 miles (Sept. 2019) I finally had to rebuild the engine. It was running great but I dropped a valve. Cost around $600 (most of that was the machine work). I am now back on the road, the car has 208,000 miles on it, running fine, original transmission and shifts great. Metros are getting harder to fine (at least in my area) because people don't want to get rid of them. I will never be without one. Aug. 2018: My friend finally bought a Metro. After driving it a week, he thought the gas gauge was broken because it was hardly moving. He filled up, just to ease his mind and about fell over when he had only used a couple of gallons. He's getting 47 mpg.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owned

Robert D. Hardison, 07/10/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this Geo Metro new, and I have 210,000 miles on it. It uses no oil between 3,000 mile changes. The only repairs I've had are 3 timing belts (the old ones looked like new) I did this myself, one starter after 195,000 miles, one distributer sensor. My first timing belt cost $9.97, last one cost $19.97, -no other repairs. My gasoline mileage is tops 61 MPG, low 41 mpg (town only). I have a new Nissan 6 cyl Nissan Altima, but I will never sell my Geo Metro, as I use it 90% of the time.

Report Abuse

living within your means

livin large life, 09/10/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best vehicle I have ever owned. They quit making this car because it was to economical and reliable. 16 years and 230,000 miles with less than 200 dollars in parts, that is what I call having your cake and eating it too. I only wish that I could buy a new one today. This is my primary vehicle, which I own several new ones that cannot compare all around.

Report Abuse

my first car

Julia, 09/29/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got my geo metro as my first car because it was cheap and cute. It was the best decision I have ever made. I have had the car 6 months, have had to put a new set of tires on it and change the water pump. In all, not more then $300 in repairs. I love this car. And if it ever dies, which I doubt it will because it is more of a beast then my moms car, I will buy another in a heart beat. There isn't really anything I don't enjoy about this car. It is the best first car anyone can have, as long as they are reliable and wont wreck it, because they are simply awesome on gas and are on the cheap end of things when it comes to repairs. I'm glad I have my metro. =)

Report Abuse

fun to drive & economical too

wehrd1, 07/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car for a steal...it has 113000 miles on it and STILL gets 45 mpg with the A/C on!! Its actually a lot more roomy inside than i first anticipated. The a/c pulls it down a little, but what do you expect from a 3 cyl. car.

Report Abuse

My Metro Rocks

metrolover, 11/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my metro and it runs well. I have owned it for six years now and have had no major repairs yet. It had 50,000 miles when I bought it, and now has 125,000. Only performed minor repairs (tires, brakes, etc). Gets about 40-45 mpg (will get over 50 on the highway if I go about 55-60 mph, the faster I go, the worse my mileage). Just returned home from a 4,000 mile trip over a 2 week period and had no problems, didn't even worry about breaking down.

Report Abuse

Not that bad, but could be better

cysq, 01/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is pretty fun to drive. It can be great on gas, but it's a noisy bugger. The exhaust goes out every two years or so. Watchout if it is using antifreeze. If that goes out you'll overheat the aluminum block, which basically shells the entire car. If you buy one, don't spend ANY MORE than $400, no matter how nice it runs/looks. If there's any problems, automatically drop your original offer price. If they decline, the car's price is way too high.

Report Abuse

Get to know Geo!

geodriver, 02/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was my first car. I've had great fun driving it and fixing it up. Granted it was in disrepair when I got it, (due to previous owner's failure to maintain) I've had an excellent overall experience with it. One thing about this setup is that it's super easy to work on. Everything in the engine compartment is right on top and easily accessible. I've had it for almost 3 years now and the only drivetrain problems I've had was with the water pump and starter. Leaks absolutely no oil. It's served me very well over the past few years and I expect it to last for years to come. As Chevy said, Get to know Geo. You won't regret it.

Report Abuse

Most fuel efficient car...ever?

PizPump, 10/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wonderful little car. I specifically set out to find one of these Metro XFi's because of the amazing fuel efficiency (50-55mpg). Actually gets better MPG than the newest hybrids! Not only that, but it actually has a little pep (more than you would think for a tiny 3 cylinder). The car is very spartan, but that should be expected. It's a Metro that has been significantly lightened and all options removed. It is a means of getting from here to there for the least amount of money possible. If you're looking for comfort or performance, then you surely will not be satisfied. It is for frugal misers like myself =D

Report Abuse

Reliable work car

F. Mauritz, 11/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Geo when it had 35,000 miles, it now has 215,000 miles and is still running strong. I have replaced the water pump once, but nothing else mechanical. The fuel economy is awesome at nearly 60 mgp on the highway. A Geo Metro driver has to be willing to tolerate slow acceleration from the three cylinder engine. It gets no respect from SUV drivers or trucks and driving a GEO can be a bit nerve wracking in heavy stop-and-go traffic. Forget about running the air conditioner in stop-and-go traffic -- too much power drain.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050