Skip to main content

Used 2015 Ford F-150 SuperCrew Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$23,998 - $43,985

Used F-150 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...20

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Muuuuch better than I thought!

Wes, 08/19/2015
updated 08/29/2017
2015 Ford F-150 XLT 4dr SuperCrew 6.5 ft. SB (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
46 of 50 people found this review helpful

I've been a Toyota/Honda guy since 1987 because I've always been very happy with their quality and reliability. When I started looking at a full sized pickup, however, I broadened my search to include Ford for 3 very large reasons: They have come a LONG way in the area of quality, their Ecoboost engines offer great fuel economy, and Ford did not take government bailout money. I originally wanted the SuperCrew, but it did not fit in my garage (about 4 inches too long). So, I went with the SuperCab. The major factor that won me over to the Ford over the Toyota Tundra is the gas mileage. Even at today's prices, I could not justify buying a Tundra that will not get better than 15-16 mpg (real world) on the highway. I've now driven my 2015 2WD Ford F150 XLT for about 1500 miles. It may be a bit too early to draw any concrete conclusion, but at this point I do not think Toyota could have built a truck that is more solid or quiet than the Ford. I've been blown away by how quiet the 2.7L twin-turbo Ecoboost engine is, and the power is more than abundant. Ride quality is pretty much what you'd expect from a truck with an empty bed when going over things like railroad tracks and other bumps in the road. A bit jittery. However, when it comes to highway cruising I've been very pleased with the smoothness of the ride. I'm also very impressed with the sound deadening that Ford employed in the cab. This thing is quieter than the Toyota Avalon that I traded for it. Overall, at this point, I could scarcely be happier with my choice. This is my first ever full sized pickup. If things continue as they have, I think I can honestly say that I will be a Ford truck buyer for life. VERY impressed with the strides they have taken to produce a product with the advanced level of quality that I've experienced in this F150. Update - 2/17/2016 - I now have about 14,000 miles on the truck and very little has changed from my earlier comments. About the only negative that I've found is that the EPA estimates of 19/26 are wildly optimistic. Around town I'm usually at 17-18mpg (probably about 50% highway, 50% in-city), and with pure highway driving I'm usually at 20-21mpg. In fact, on my last 1100 mile drive to Phoenix I averaged about 18 on the highway. I've talked to the Ford dealer about it and all they can say is, "you have to watch how you drive this thing!" The implication is that the issue is with me and that I must drive with a heavy foot on the accelerator. Nothing could be further from the truth. I'm very light on the accelerator and I always use the cruise control on long highway trips. I've also since read other reviews and the mileage issue seems to be a pretty common complaint. Fortunately, gas is cheap right now. Update - 8/29/2017 - I now have almost 49,000 miles on the truck and have been blown away by the quality. I've had absolutely no problems with this vehicle. As in, none at all. I have yet to take the thing in for any kind of warranty work. Absolutely nothing has failed. I can't remember the last time I've put almost 50k miles on a vehicle with no issues whatsoever. My biggest complaint is still with the gas mileage. Around town I seem to still be averaging around 17-18 mpg, and on the highway I'm lucky to see 23. Not much to add at this time.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Still the best vehicle I've ever owned since 1973

Daniel Gagner, 08/05/2016
updated 02/16/2021
2015 Ford F-150 XLT 4dr SuperCrew 4WD 6.5 ft. SB (5.0L 8cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

6th update: February 2021. With the pandemic and being retired I haven't put that much mileage on the vehicle in the past several months. Up to about 80,000 miles now. Still no issues. Before we start going far from the house traveling after this pandemic is better I'll get a new battery just because this one is over 5 yrs old. I did get some new tires. I could have waited a bit more but wanted new treads for winter. 5th update: It's August 2020. The vehicle will be five years old in November. The mileage is 75,000. The only mechanical repair I've done to this truck is a parking brake cable. I did replace the evaporative control filter located on the top front of the engine. $28 and fifteen minutes with a socket wrench. The tires and brakes passed inspection last November Still in the green. The Ford garage has green, yellow, red rating. I'm thinking that they will also pass this November. If they do I'll be at least 85,000 miles until the next inspection. I find this pretty amazing. Still running smoothly with no issues at all. MPG sill avg. 21.5. I'll consider a battery replacement within a year just to not chance getting stuck at some point. This is still the best vehicle I've had in my lifetime, since 1973. No rust (Maine) with Krown undercoating. definitely the most cost effective. 4th and yet another update. Edmunds send an email and asks me to do this once and awhile. It's Aug. 2018. All that I've written below is still true. No issues. I poked and rear brake light by accident, my fault. Purchased one on Amazon for $89 and it installed in about 10 minutes with two screws. The dealer one was much more expensive. The truck will get one more year on the tires. They'll last through 60,000 miles. Still with plenty of thickness on the same brake pads. probably get 60+k out of them too. No issues at all at this point. Really happy with this. Gas mileage seems to be dropping a bit over time. My mixed 21.5 mph is now around 20.5. Maybe the engine is just beginning to wear a bit. 3rd update It's early 2018, the vehicle is 2015. About 40,000 miles on at this point. Still no issues. I dropped my review a bit in the technology area. Not a big deal, but the vehicle is made so that the USB ports don't have power if the vehicle is off. So, the trac phone I have plugged in will run out of juice over a few days if the truck isn't used. I have to run the truck a bit then re-turn it on. The rest of the stuff is fine though. This is the sync system. Not super great but it works fine, and voice activation doesn't have the personality of my Amazon echo but it's functional. The 2016 version of the f-150 had upgraded to carplay. I understand that's much better. Since I'm only talking about the usb port you can probably guess that I've not had any other issues with the truck. Still the best vehicle I've ever owned and it still rides like driving my living room. Long, sometimes 5000 mile trips roaming the country with our cargo conversion camper is a real pleasure in this vehicle. Fingers crossed until the next update. 2nd update: In four months it will be 3 yrs since purchase. So far so good. No issues with the truck. It still rides, handles, and looks like new. I'm still delivering it once a year to a place in Vermont to do a Krown undercoating, a Canadian undercoating chain. It's penetrating oil based. On those places where heat builds up, like the muffler and differential bell housing, rust spots developed (yes even on the stainless muffler, It's the heat I'm told). I've primed and painted with 2000 degree rust oleum. It's staying on. I'm still loving this vehicle. Fingers crossed for longevity. Update: One year later and I still love it. Issues: left rear backup sensor fires after going through the car wash or a heavy rain when I back up. Stops after it dries. I came off a lifetime of chevys with two being trucks. The last silverado I owned (2003) the frame rusted out at 84,000 miles. Couldn't get it inspected. I don't know what happened. Same garage, roads, and care as my tahoe that had double the mileage and three years older but no problems. Anyway.... This vehicle is quiet, has nice ammenities in the interior. I tell people "It's like driving my living room." The fit and finish are very good. Mileage after 12,000 miles is consistently (calculated by hand) 20.5-21.5 mpg. When I pull my cargo trailer it drops to 12.5 but it's not the weight, it's the drag. The trailer is v-nosed but tall. The v8 is reliable and seems plenty powerful. The only issue is that when using cruise control on hilly areas when towing, it downshifts sort of hard to drop the speed. Then again I don't use cruise control much on hilly areas. I've driven it a lot around town and taken trips that put 5000 miles on it in a few short weeks. Great vehicle so far. I learned to hate my Silverado. I love this truck and so hope not to learn to hate it. Time will tell. BTW.. this one is getting a yearly dose of Krown undercoating.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Got a Lemon but a nice truck otherwise

Rob C, 02/03/2016
2015 Ford F-150 XLT 4dr SuperCrew 6.5 ft. SB (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
32 of 35 people found this review helpful

Bought a new 2015 XLT 2.7 ecoboost for a great deal. 42250 MSRP and with 7K discount and 7K rebate paid 28K for this truck! First new vehicle in 27 years. Unfortunately it spent 33 days in the shop out of the first 90 days of owning it. It shut the engine off while driving 3 times. Now after 3 repairs attempts it shifts irregularly now and then. Great design and most have no issues but this one was just not one of those without problems. Highway mileage is awesome, acceleration if really great. Roominess cant be beat and the camera spoils you. I did not like the 8 inch screen that only uses 2 of the 4 boxes if you don't have navigation and climate control, kind of a waste. Ford bought my truck back after the CA lemon lawyer took care of handling it. Decided to stay with used vs new.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck

RDStrat, 05/03/2016
updated 05/04/2018
2015 Ford F-150 XLT 4dr SuperCrew 4WD 6.5 ft. SB (5.0L 8cyl 6A)
20 of 22 people found this review helpful

My 2015 F-150 is plain out awesome. Ford engineers out did themselves with the redesign of this truck. From the aluminum body to the engine choices, this is one high tech machine. The 5.0L engine has brass ones compared to the 5.4 in my previous truck. It sounds sweet too! The interior is superior to any other truck out there. It's super comfy but also designed for the working person. No chintzy little buttons here. It's a work horse disguised as a luxury vehicle. I've always owned Ford trucks. I had my last F-150 for 14 years. No body rot or major issues when I traded it for the 2015. Actually the only reason I still don't have it is because I fell in love with the 2015 model and just had to have one. I have no doubt it will last me just as long...if not longer. UPDATE: After 2 1/2 years of ownership I'm still lovin this truck. It has been flawless and has never had to go back to the dealer since the day I brought it home.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Very Nice Truck " BUT "

jim, 10/04/2015
updated 06/11/2021
2015 Ford F-150 XLT 4dr SuperCrew 4WD 6.5 ft. SB (5.0L 8cyl 6A)
50 of 58 people found this review helpful

Outside looks very nice,BUT rear bed sits way too high for my likes.i plan on lowering rear height a couple of inches,ride is a little bouncy with empty bed but was to be expected. one big complaint is for almost $50,000 you dont get the 2 speed 4wd Auto system in an XLT,to me it makes having a 4WD almost useless for any on road driving,or having to keep turning it on and off all the time as you run into dry pavement at times,come on Ford all 4WD systems should have the 4WD Auto setting,most of us dont take them off road,we need to just set it and forget about it in Auto setting. I have the fold down console whiuch the headrest blocks the cup holders by the floor when down,my 2011 ford cup holders pulled out past the headrest,so no problem,new design sucks,along with that why were the headlight switches moved so low,hard to operate there,also the new AC vents are not as usefull as old ones,feel truck has moved backwards in design since owning a 2011 XLT to compare it with. I am getting 18MPG city driving with the 5.0 V8 and 21 on highway,i have no complaints with that,love the outside looks of truck and get lots of complements on the Ruby Red Metallic color,so heres hoping i will get used to its little flaws IMO,and that it dos not need any warranty service,as i did with my 2011 XLT ,thats another story, Well here is NEW update,I have now had truck for about 8 mos.and i love this truck inspite of some of the things i had mentioned when i first got it new,you get used to things after awhile,so far i have only had a problem with hard downshift from 5th to 4 gear,but that has mostly stopped but took almost 4000 miles before trans programed itself,still getting 18 miles to the gallon with the 5.0 very happy with that,the blocked cup holders i mentioned I &solved by removing headrest to fold down console,I never use it as a seat anyway,still trying to decide how to level truck,raise front or lower back ? lol, It does ride great as is,and has not needed to go back to dealer for any warranty work so far,just oil & filter change,which costs WAY too much at Ford Dealer.UPDATE 10/10/2016 still great, no problems,lowered rear by removing blocks under springs,looks great now almost level, no change in ride,the 5.0 engine exhaust sounds really good with stock exhaust system on it,still vary rare hard downshift from 5th to 4th,so have not had ford dealer reprogram trans computer,there is a service bulletin for it,that ford has out for the problem.UPDATE 04/2017 truck doing great,no problems at 16,000 miles,just oil changes and tire rotation,the Goodyear Wranglers are holding up very well too ,still loving the truck.UPDATE 12/2017 Truck still running great,now has 22,000 miles on it. NEW UPDATE 12/2019 still own truck,and it is doing great,no issues,a couple of minor recalls,still have original Goodyear tires on it at 40,000 miles still very good tread left ,did lower back of truck by removing blocks under springs,looks better now,did have to get Ford dealer to reprogram shifting of trans ok now,just installed new battery in it lasted about 5years,Still Lovin It !๐Ÿ˜ƒ And it's almost paid for lol .Another UPDATE 6/2020 Still very happy with truck,now 5 years old no big issues,still factory Goodyear Wrangles 43,000 miles,should last 1 more year,shocks starting to feel a little soft,just had new Bilstein 5100 shocks installed all the way around,with front adjustable to raise front end up 2" now finally leavel,shocks great ,huge improvement in ride,all in all it has been a great truck for 5 yrs now,hope it continues ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ™‚

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...20
Items per page: