Used 2000 Dodge Neon Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$790 - $1,827

Used Neon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love my lil Neon.

simplyme, 05/06/2013
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Love this lil thing! bought for 1800 as a commuter for school. Accidentally got a 3spd auto. but for living in a small town it does fine, I just avoid all hwy's. Parts are reasonably priced it's burnt orange manual everything cept auto obviously, but this lil nellie gets the job done no rain issues lights stay off =)

Report Abuse

Not a bad little quirky commuter

Michael Elston, 05/08/2018
ES 4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2000 Dodge Neon (Plymouth also made some) about eight years ago, for $600 from a guy who had bought his wife a new car and parked the Neon beside his house. When I made my offer, it had been sitting for two years on four flats and had a dead battery. Four new tires and a battery later, I changed the oil and set about chasing about a half-tank of watery gas out of it (took a lot of alcohol). Once the bad gas was out of it, the engine ran smoothly and had good compression, despite having 159,000+ miles on it. The fuel gauge is quirky; Filling the tank brings the needle down to 'E', and it slowly rises to 'F' as you drive. I'm used to it - no need to fix. Since I have owned it, the timing belt has been replaced, front driver-side hub replaced due to whine during right turns, headlights have gotten the obligatory polish to clear up the milky look (we put men on the moon, and we can't fix this stupid problem??), and had brake pads replaced (rotors fine). Not bad maintenance for eight years. 220,000+ miles now, still getting better than 28 mpg. Not the car you want for long trips (more than 100 miles and you feel beat-up), but a great commuter, which I believe was the design intent. Starts reliably on a cold day, handles well, solid fuel economy, noisy but easily drowned out with a few more watts, overall not much to complain about.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still going strong

MikefromOkanagan, 06/20/2016
ES 4dr Sedan
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My wife got this car new and now I drive it. I average roughy 10,000 Kms (about 6200 miles) per year. My commute to work is mixed city and highway driving and the 3 speed auto box does just fine. With proper winters it's decent in the snow as well. Have had to replace some sensors and seals but nothing major and the car is 16 years old. My mechanic uses aftermarket sensors which are cheaper and have better quality seals. This one being the base with no ABS, traction control, power windows, power locks means theres less to go wrong. Still a solid basic commuter Traded her in as we found a steal of deal on a low mileage lease return. Ran perfectly on the drive to the dealer. Hope she serves her new owner as well as she did us

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Been a very good car

Barry, 06/01/2010
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

My wife bought the car with about 60,000 miles on it about 6 years ago. Now has 144,000 and going strong. The only things I can fault manufacture quality to, are a bad oil pressure sensor and a tensioner pulley. Other than that it has been very reliable.

Report Abuse

Sad to see it go

LuvMyNeon, 07/01/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my Neon for over 8 years now. I love this car, most of the time. I would gladly have purchased another if Dodge hadn't stopped making them! In the 8 years I've had it, I've put 108,000 miles on it(currently at 121,000+). Other than routine maintenance, I had very few problems with this car. I replaced the front brakes twice, back brakes once, replaced the timing belt and the alternator. The car always idled a little roughly, especially when it was getting close to needing an oil change. The locks on the car did freeze frequently in the winter and the driver's lock broke completely earlier this year. I'm sad to see my baby go!

Report Abuse

I love my Neon!

ambee3, 02/04/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my Neon a year ago. So far I've had no problems with it, just new tires. I bought it when I wrecked my Intrepid and I needed a car in a fix. I bought my Neon for $4,500 with 27,000 miles on it. I've never cared much for Neons because I used to work at an auto parts store and people that had them would always complain about them. But it was a good deal when I needed one. A year later, I'm glad that I bought this car.

Report Abuse

2000 Dodge Neon

leviathaan, 02/27/2014
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2000 Dodge Neon automatic with 40,000 miles on it, it currently has 259,000. No real issues, replaced all 4 struts, rotors and 1 battery in the 7 years I've owned it. It has a slight tick in the engine, but other than that nothing wrong with this one, even after hearing all the horror stories, mine is still going. It still gets 30mpg in both the summer and winter.

Report Abuse

Awesome

parker21, 07/05/2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

What a great little car! I bought it as my first car for $300 with 149000 miles not too bad for 12 years old. It has few problems but I heard neons are easy to work on. Its also very comfortable and more interior room and features compared to the older past generation neon. Hope to have this car for a long time and get it running in time to get my license wish me luck with my new car eveyone bye! 2000 Dodge neon ES Automatic

Report Abuse

My Neon

Tina, 04/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never had any problems or complaints with this car! Dealer and manufacturer service has been excellent! Had lots of compliments on my car - would recommend owning a car like mine to anyone!

Report Abuse

Gotta have one

redhottneon2k2, 04/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was eerie about buying a Dodge Neon when in the market and accidently stumbled accross an ES Sedan with rear spoiler, Eagle LS tires, automatic, 2.0L V4. Has awesome power and easy get up and go. The only thing I have had it in the shop for was the damage done in a wreck which was easily replaced not repaired cause all the parts come off the frame and reinsures stability without having to weaken the structure. I was T-Boned on the drivers side, and can say that the car saved my life. The only other thing I was in for was a recall which took them 15 minutes to replace.

Report Abuse

Nice car!

AntMan, 05/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Good car, more than enough power stock, although more never hurt. Never had one problem with mine, only the factory recall issues 2 to date that I have gotten nothing really. Good design, nice new look, great gas milage, I always get more than 300 miles per tank.

Report Abuse

Still love it

ambersheree3, 02/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Neon with 27,000 on it, it now has 92,000. I've replaced 3 wheel bearrings (2 front, 1 rear), the starter, and have gone through 3 oil sending units (oil leaks from the wire harness plug) and I am still fine with driving this car! It still starts right up every morning and zooms through traffic! Even after $3000 worth of hail damage, and a enough other body damage to total the thing! It's definitely not the nicest looking car around, but it's free (paid off) and is still great after 4 years of crazy driving.

Report Abuse

A good first car

Shin, 04/05/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first car I've had this for almost 5 years now I'm at 108k miles, I've only had some minor issues. My car rough idles every once in a while and makes noises on the driver side front tire when I turn right, I've had it checked out and everyone has told me that there's nothing wrong, they only found a leaky freeze plug that sits in the back engine, however had my dad look at it and told me that its old residue, nothing to worry about. I have a leaky valve cover issue as well, I love the interior design, the only problem inside is the bar between the door and windshield, it creates a major blindspot, also I get poor gas mileage, between 20-25mpg...overall a good starter car.

Report Abuse

pleasant surprise

thehidking, 03/23/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had the car now nine wonderful years. I have over 100K miles and honestly I have missed many service times and still the car runs and drives like it did when I bought it with only 2 miles on it. I have owned a honda civic and toyota corolla and hated both those cars in comparison. Parts are cheap and readily available almost anywhere. The ride is a touch stiff compared to a toyota but it is faster lighter and more fun to drive. the AC has never been touched and blows freezer like cold. My brakes seem to last almost three years with 80% left on the origional drum shoes in back. The factory sound system was nicer than the civic EX I had before this.

Report Abuse

Watch Out!!

mad, 06/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Not a bad car until about 43k miles (warranty runs out at 35k). Now, AT THE SAME TIME, the rear main seal blows and its spewing oil everywhere, AND the dealer tells me it needs a new steering rack. That adds up to over $1,000 worth of repairs and I'm not even over 50k miles. I'll fix it then sell this stupid car before anything else goes wrong. I will never buy another Chrysler product again if I can help it.

Report Abuse

2000 Dodge Neon

Jonathan Hoffman, 08/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been very reliable, and also fun to drive. I can't say one bad thing about this car. It gets good gas milage too!

Report Abuse

My little bubble

Bebe, 09/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car has been good, although the power steering pump had to be replaced and the air conditioning broke after using it one summer. The car needs more pep and whats up with the back windows having no power?? I went to Honda to trade my car in and they were totally making fun of my cars lack of power windows in the back seat! Its good as a starter car but definitely move on to something better.

Report Abuse

The 2000 Neon

lotusland6, 05/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2000 Neon. Purchased 3/2000. Presently 51,000 miles. Repairs: 2 recalls both minor Maintenance: Tune up, Brakes, Front wipers, Transmission flush 4 cylinder is a bit sluggish but the passing gear is low enough to provide added torque. I would purchase a standard in the 2.0 Ride is okay for a sub. Although wind noise is noticeable. Overall: With the 2000.00 rebate it is a good buy for the money.

Report Abuse

built on a Friday

jason08641, 10/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had to give this car a 1 all the way down mostly because of the crappy service I got at Lucas Dodge in NJ. My neon has an intermittant electrical problem that made my car die at least twice a week. Lucas said nothing was wrong with my car or they were too stupid to fix it. Also a/c compressor went out and oil leaks all over the place. Do not buy a Dodge, especially a neon! Definately steer clear of the new svt or whatever it's called. It's just going to be a highly polished turd.

Report Abuse

Excellent low budget car

Jhatfi, 11/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My fiance and I bought her a Neon as her first new car purchase. It has been a good car for commuting and grocery getting. It suspension is a little soft and the motor is a bit noisy, but overall it has been very good to us. The gas mileage has been excellent, the stock stereo is actually very good, the seats are comfortable. I personally think that interior is rather plain and it could use a little refinement bringing it closer to class leaders such as the Mazda Protege and Honda Civic, but what can you expect for around $10k.

Report Abuse

A good value

chris, 02/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After over 38000 miles in two years this car is still running great and a lot of people like the way it looks.

Report Abuse

Great starter car!

Brianne, 11/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first car. I bought the 2000 model used with about 48,000 miles on it (highway driving). So far, I have no complaints. The one I bought is stripped down (no keyless entry, so CD player, no power windows or door locks), its an automatic transmission (which leaves a little to be desired seeing as it is only a 3-speed auto). It drives very nicely. I have noticed a wee bit of engine noise, this is only when I am above 75mph on the highway (not very often). The brakes squeal if it has been sitting for a while (like if I don't drive it for a couple days). Once the car warms up its fine. In any case, its a great little car, perfect for me.

Report Abuse

aarrgggg

SlvrNeon2000, 12/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ok where do I start I've had the neon for about 2 1/2 years now and it has 63k on it... and the air conditioning went after one summer use the sunroof went on me after one summer use... it makes awfull noises... and vibrates horribly although it does surprise me for room i'm 6'1 and able to fit in it not very comfortably but, i do fit... but, I wouldn't recomend this car to anyone that has high expectations... it is very affordable but, you get exactly what you pay for!

Report Abuse

Great First Car!

engstrom77, 12/21/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife and I bought this car about 1 1/2 years ago and we love it. It gets great gas mileage and handles the road very well. The car had about 27000 miles on it when we bought it and now it has 48000 and not one thing has gone wrong. It has good get up and go and decent braking power. I knew when I bought it that it wasn't a dodge Viper but it has good acceleration off the line and in traffic. The seats do sit a little hard on the lower back especially on long road trips. We love the design of the car and the inside as well.

Report Abuse

Don't let my score fool you

MidLman, 12/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car was purchased used and checked out for problems before purchase. Dealership said it was in great condition. Boy were they wrong. In only one year I've had the brakes replaced, had various seals replaced, including the rear-main engine seal, and had to replace the starter as well. That's 3 major repairs in only a year. And that's not including all the factory- recalled parts I've had replaced. Otherwise it's an okay car. Mine doesn't have many features, but it's a good size and it's fun to drive. Too bad it's going to cost me a fortune in repairs in the long run.

Report Abuse

Excellent car for $$ conscious buyer

Kboyle, 01/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Neon SE is a significant step up from the Geo it replaced. I drive it up and down the eastern seaboard once a month to visit my daughter, and the car performs well on the highway. The cargo room is immense for a car this size, and it has a lot better pickup than other cars I test drove. The biggest problem I have is the gear ratios. I have a manual tranny, and I find that I am constantly looking for a 6th gear once I get to around 70 on the highway. The engine noise can be significant at higher speeds, but the exceptional audio system easily overcomes it. I've put 71.5K miles on in 2.5 years, and the only problems I've had were from accidents -- which were easily fixed.

Report Abuse

Not Bad

uscg68, 02/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is reliable and has great fuel economy. With minor inexpensive add-ons it looks really sharp. It does however have a lack of horse power so don't think it will get up 'n go when you stomp the gas. It does have a alot of great factory options. Mine was fully loaded with all the bells and whistles. Premium Sound, Alloy Wheels, sun and moon roof. By adding tinting a rear spoiler and a bra it looks real sharp. For the buyer who wants performance Dodge makes the Stealth or Avenger. For a High School or college student away from home this is a PERFECT vehicle.

Report Abuse

Zooooommm!

mysilvrescapepod, 02/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My neon has 137k miles on it & its running fine (knock on wood). I live a long distance from anything so its gets me where I want to go. Great factory installed system other car companies should copy. Breaks squeak when its damp outside, its seats are a bit stiff, the motor isn't the strongest but it does the job I bought it for. I change my oil every 4,000 miles without pause which I honestly feel keeps my lil escape pod purring perfectly. Interior is nice & neat & easily able to clean when splattered w/ food or beverages. Exterior is awesome, with tint on the windows you might mistake it for one of the bad boys. Its a great start up car.

Report Abuse

Neon

web, 07/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

All I can say is that it is fun car to drive.It is alot more powerful, has very good acceleration in comparison to other vehicles in its class that I have test driven prior to purchasing this vehicle. It was alot more affordable too.

Report Abuse

Dodge Neon ES

spartygirl, 07/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My experience with this vehicle has been marginal at best. It is only 3 yrs old and has had steering column issues, power locks and windows failure (of course only front windows since the rear have no power at all!), other minor electrical prblems, and now needs a new AC compressor. Not something you would expect for a car with 50K miles and 3 yrs old. It also needed rear brake repairs at 20K. Admittedly fun to drive and has some pep, and nice looking, but I expect more out of a car - even if it is a Neon.

Report Abuse

Fuse problem; road noise

CaliDriver, 08/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used, when it was only one year old. I've now owned it two years, and I'm sort of holding my breath. So far I've only replaced my brake pads due to squealing. However, I recently replaced the radio fuse, only to have the radio go out on me again after two weeks. Could be a short somewhere. Bad road noise.

Report Abuse

I'd buy another

cts4ba, 08/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our second Neon and, for the price, it's worth the investment. You get a lot of car for the money when compared to what Honda, Toyota and Nissan has to offer. The incentives and rebates make Neon the top choice in my book. I've found that dealing with a 5- Star dealer is a definate plus.

Report Abuse

will never buy a dodge again

timsarahriley, 07/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have had a problem with the car since we bought it. As far as we know there was only one other owner, and why she traded it in, I can guess why. First it was the struts, then the brakes, transmission, knocking noise, air conditioning, I could go on and on.

Report Abuse

2000 Neon

kes, 08/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it rides comfortably with good lumbar support and with a fairly comfortable backseat ride. Problems are the front seat space if you are very small people it's fine but if you are on the large side you are constatnly bumping shoulders. The bars between the doors and windshiled cause a blind spot and are hazardous. Interior front and back windows are difficult to clean. Gas mileage for city driving is about 12 miles to the gallon but highway goes up to about 35. Mopar products are not dependable as in 3 batteries in 3 years. Minimal amounts of moisture in the air will cause the brakes to squeal, another Mopar product. Poor weatherstriping

Report Abuse

200 Neon ES

TheDon, 09/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had a pretty decent experience with my car so far. I'm already up to 97K miles on it. The horn has shorted out several times. Started going through spark plugs fairly quickly after 70K. This car has two converters on it... Most cars only have one. I found this out the hard way. One converter is over $500 for just the part. When one goes out, the other one does to so expect to pay about $800 there. The AC also went out around 90K miles and it didn't need just a recharge...Other than that I haven't had any major problems.

Report Abuse

Love My Neon

daughterofcyn, 10/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my Neon over 4 years and have only had to replace the brakes. The car is extremely reliable and has been across the country several times. I have to say that my Neon looks as good as it did when it came off the showroom floor -- inside and out. That comes from quality construction and careful care. I live in Texas -- 100+ summers -- and the a/c usually needs to be turned down because it works so well. Excellent car overall!

Report Abuse

Great first car

Josh B, 02/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A great first car. Good looking, friends love it. I got the stick shift and it's a blast to drive. Handles great, except not in the rain so much, and it tends to get stuck a lot on large piles of snow. Easy to modify, I added a tachometer, foglights, and remote control locks. Great pickup and very fast, I beat my friends Saab 900 in a couple of races. All in all a great car, cheap to maintain. Ive put 12000 miles on it in the last 8 months (which brings it to 96000 miles) and havent had to do anything to it other than change the spark plugs. Id definitely buy another one.

Report Abuse

Fun and Reliable

DragonDon, 10/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The only problem we had was the trunk rust at the pinch-welds. Was replaced under warranty. The oddball tire size and then charge $200 CDN per tire is ridiculous. Winter traction was horrid. I remedied this and used a slightly over-sized tire in the summer time (nice performance tire on new set of rims) and a separate set of tires for the winters. The car has been quite reliable. Never stranded us and even 3 years later, all the original bulbs are functioning perfectly. The car is the best powered in it's class for it's year. The Neon has the largest sunroof of just about any car I've seen. The 3spd tranny was sluggish at certain speeds.

Report Abuse

Great Little Car

Wigglet, 10/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is so great to drive. This is my first car. I feel great in it. Its such a cute car. Although it isnt that great on gas, it still gets me around. It can go fast, and handles very well. I reccomend this car to anyone, especially for a teen agers first car. They are not that expensive, and they still look good.

Report Abuse

Good Car For The Money

Jenkinsqh, 12/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the car new in 2000. Also considered/test drove the Civic, Protoge, and Focus. Rides were all fairly comparable, but Dodge was dealing quite a bit more than the others. I have just over 105,000 on it so far. Aside from scheduled routine maintenance, no repairs to speak of. I drive around 36,000 miles annually, and can count on it to come in at anywhere from 33-36 on the highway depending on speed. This is my second Neon (had a '95), and 4th Chrysler that I have bought new since '90. All have been good serviceable vehicles.

Report Abuse

Looking forward to my next Neon

LadyLuck, 12/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

At 7,000 miles, I took my Neon in because I was leaving a puddle of coolant wherever I went. There was also a 'knocking' in the steering column which was explained to me as some sort of rusted out pin that holds the steering column in place. Since then, wonderful smooth sailing. I hear everyone on the engine noise thing, I test drove a Civic, a Cavalier, and a Golf before buying this Neon new. The Neon was the loudest of them in my opinion, but the dealership gave me the best offer for my trade-in, by several thousand-and they were much friendlier about answering my questions.

Report Abuse

Its all right

Byron, 09/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had a few problems out of this car first my fuel pump went out at 70000 miles and then I just had to replace a gasket on it and now there tellin me I need a timing belt and a water pump for some one who get there service done on time should not be having these problems.

Report Abuse

Better than Honda

Better than old Hond, 10/24/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was having so much trouble with my Honda Odyessy that i needed to buy a vehicle to drive while the Honda was getting its second transmission. I went next door to the Dodge dealership and bought this. I love it. It is more reliable than my Honda ever was. I thinking of selling the van and just driving this. I hated getting stranded in the van all of the time. I would buy another Dodge in a minute over a Japanese brand

Report Abuse

I love my little Neon

jes, 02/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my little neon so far! I chose this over a Chevy Malibu after reading all the horrible reviews and problems that Malibu's have. If you are looking for problems on cars, EVERY car has it's problems, I don't know one single car that hasn't had SOMETHING go wrong with it. This car will treat you right if you treat it right. Take good care of it and do regular maintance. Feed it it's oil and gas and every once in a while, give her a bath and she will be your new best friend.

Report Abuse

Not bad for a little guy

lblazich, 03/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Neon was my first new car. I have really enjoyed driving it. I have not had any problems with it. It is small enough for me to get into small parking spaces but large enough for my family of four to be comfortable. This car has driven on two continents and in three countries and has been nothing but wonderfull. I am very glad I got a manual transmission.

Report Abuse

Neon ES- 2000

Skip R., 04/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Reliable, problem -free since day #1, a good value for the money. It loves to go fast!

Report Abuse

The Neon Glows, If Not Shines

CarDiva76, 05/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Why the disdain for the Neon? Reliable vehicle with a relatively fresh exterior. Perhaps the first generation had several bugs, but this vehicle only sees the dealership for routine maintenance.

Report Abuse

a very Bad Choice

Jarett_87, 09/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I first bought this car it worked and ran great for about two weeks then the starter stoped working at 43200 miles. This car was converted to propane before I bought it I thought that it would be good for the inviroment but the car gets less than ten miles per gallon.The car rides ruff i feel every bump on the highway and there's a whole lot in missouri. Another problem with the car is that there are no ash trays.

Report Abuse

owner

Lane Holt, 10/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very responsive handling, feels very solid & secure at highway speeds. Light weight results in better performance than the more expensive mid- size car with standard engine.

Report Abuse

a good fixer upper

alexx, 10/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i bought this car just this year for 300 dollars it had been hit in the front and needs both fenders and a hood, other then that im ery happy with this car, nice and peppy with the air intake installed i love the little deep engine tone, fun and does GREAT on gas, car has 115,876 miles on it and all i had to do to it was fix the back brakes,got a little tranny problem to but after i get past 20 mph i can floor it or do whatever, the stereo sounds nice but it takes a while to read cdrs, but it will work eventually, i will be adding altezza lights to the back z3 fenders and maybe some rims and for sure some tint it will look nice great car for what i paid for it

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050