Used 1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$784 - $1,819

Used Sebring for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Money Pit

joey_r, 09/30/2011
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I've had my '98 Sebring Lxi for 3 years now. I've sunk around $2500 into it. Had to replace the upper passenger side control arm, alternator, timing belt, computer, fuel pump & lines, and both tie-rods. Cheapest tire replacement was $121 each. I love the aggressive style of the car and the interior but all the money into it is not worth it.

Report Abuse

'98 Sebring Coupe

Katsalumnus, 04/21/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for more than nine years. I have only had normal wear and tear maintenance on it. I am a medium frame woman and the cockpit and placing of instrument panel is comfortable and useful.

Report Abuse

Disappointed

isis12, 09/02/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My 1998 Sebring LXi had 95,000kms on it when I bought a few weeks ago and it has a V-6 2.5L engine, it also looks like new. The exterior looks very sharp and sporty, it's fun to drive, and the interior also looks very sharp, with big buttons that are placed intelligently. The seats in this car are very stiff and no matter how much the driver's seat is adjusted there is no comfy way to drive this car. This car has terrible fuel economy because my sister who owns a Grand Am with a 3.1L gets less than 10L/100km in the city while my car gets 11L/100km on the highway and my car has a considerably smaller engine. This car has already cost me $1000+ in repairs. I would not recommend this car.

Report Abuse

Stay away

D Reynolds, 02/11/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS VEHICLE... is all I can say. I only bought it a few months ago and have nothing but transmission problems and brakes problems and now it is making all kinds of rattle noises. I wish I could take it back.....

Report Abuse

Total Enjoyment

leesa, 02/29/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This has been a great car and is fun to drive. I would purchase another LXI. Would not recommend for 4 adults, 3 is ok but over that it is crowded. Car is rather restricted for someone 6' and taller. Rear window is difficult to clean.

Report Abuse

Love my Car

robby, 03/21/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 8 years ago, it was the style that attracted me. I liked the sporty look of the front cowl. I love the way it handles, the performance, the comfort. I have taken very good care of it and it has been a great car.

Report Abuse

First Car

sebringbaby, 03/20/2012
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I had gotten my Sebring, almost 2 years ago. After the first year, It started turning off when I was driving it back and forth to school. We took it to many mechanics and they said that they couldn't find what was wrong with it. But quite a few said it might be the fuel pump. It is a good car over all. I loved it when my parents first pulled it in the parking lot.

Report Abuse

My First Car

Joey_R, 08/29/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my Sebring as my first car. I bought it with 150,000 miles on it and it runs great. Besides a replacing the control arm and flex pipe, the car has been amazing.

Report Abuse

This car was Great!!

Chris17654, 08/28/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle was great when I first got it. But later on in the year it started having problems. Every time I hit the gas it makes this humming sound that can really get on your nerves when on long trips out of town. Also the front axle seems to breaking down. There is some kind of rattling sound. All though it is almost impossible to get a better sound system installed because of the way everything is hooked up to the Amp in the trunk. The car is just to weird. The 1998 model should have been a manual anyway. It would work alot better so the buyers would be able to "Hook it up". Like cold air intakes etc.....

Report Abuse

Just OK...

Chris, 04/25/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have been happy with this car mechanically....but....too low in front, bad turning radius, rattles in glovebox and sunroof, exterior cladding fell off, stiff ride(but enjoyable). I have owned it since new. I would not buy another one. It has been an OK car and decently good looking. The cab forward design was interesting for looks but practical it is not. The newer models don't look as good, and the redesign doesn't even look promising. I won't recommend this car used unless you plan on adding a lot of aftermarket styling and equipment...should be cheap. It isn't even worth what edmunds or bluebook says it is worth.

Report Abuse

okay for cheap coupe

Mark, 08/23/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Yeah those cheap chrysler rims and the brakes I fixed but it does look good! I had to tape together the bottom of the front bumper from curb and road rash, to low! Nice exhaust sound to bad it doesnt translate into horsepower although it goes if you keep your foot in it. The one thing not mentioned is this cars higher insurance rating, still I'll keep it for awhile its kinda fun. Watch out for those curbs and potholes or you'll be looking for new rims!

Report Abuse

This is a good car.

Tim, 04/02/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car as a previous salvage with low mileage. I put over 50K miles on it in two and a half years and only replaced the starter and the battery. When I bought this car I heard of the trans problems so I made sure to maintain the trans every 30k, if you do this I don't think you will have any major problems. Overall this car defines reliability.

Report Abuse

The tires and rims are awful

annoyed at chrysler, 05/21/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had fifteen flat tires since owning this vehicle -- other than that it's been a good car. The flat tires cause the car to be unsafe & undependable. I have heard of other owners with the same complaint. What an absolute hassle. Would be interested in hearing from you if you have experienced the same trouble.

Report Abuse

Great Car

julemine, 08/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've never had to do anything to this car...it's been great and fun to drive. Twice I've hit a spot where I bent the wheel because the tire profile is extra small, but other than that...cool.

Report Abuse

fun car

genlee, 08/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car to own except for the audio system. That really isn't a problem for me anyway though since I am installin an all diamond audio setup. This car actually makes it funl to drive to work :)

Report Abuse

sebring style

tony_dano, 10/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the sexy interior design and fairly good acceleration and handling. Don't like the stiff ride and ground clerance.

Report Abuse

It's Fun to Drive But!!!!!

Cesar, 03/29/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought as a used car. It is really fun to drive and I lke but I had so many probles with the front end and rear suspensions. It was OK to fix these parts as I really like the car but all the parts are very expensive. I recommend to by this car brand new and if used should be in a perfect shape and condition. I love my car despite all these problems and I won't get rid of it.

Report Abuse

Enjoy it

cousindebbie, 12/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought it but do really enjoy driving this car. I do hope it stands up tp my expectations, but think it will. I feel safer in it than I did my Saturn and it is quieter and somewhat more comfortable. Seats can be a bit more comfortable, honestly. But I do really like this vehicle.

Report Abuse

perfect!!!

biggie, 10/24/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is simply perfect!!! I have had it for a year now. I have the 2.0l 4cyl. engine with a 5sp. This car is comfortable, looks great, completely reliable, great gas mileage, and fun to drive!!!

Report Abuse

Utter junk

Sebring is worthless, 01/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have never had a car I hated so much. Low profile tires cause the rims to bend at every pothole - 5 flat tires and one blow out. Ground clearance is horrid, it doesn't clear cement parking guides. The brakes continually squeal, even when new. Shakes constantly, and starting to make noises. Front seats are too small for most men [fine for me, as I am a smaller woman]. Speakers buzz and shake with louder volume. Horn is difficult to blow. Just yuk, yuk, yuk!!!! Also, turning radius sucks.

Report Abuse

Try before you buy

Jim, 01/18/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After owning my '98 Sebring LXi for almost a year now, I can honestly say I am very pleased with my decision. The key, if you are thinking about purchasing a Sebring coupe, make sure you test it out and test it quite extensively. Transmissions are an achilles heel so ensure shifts are smooth at numerous RPM settings. The 2.5 V6 is silky smooth - just be sure to replace the timing belt around 100,000 miles to ensure everything keeps going for another 100,000. Sure, there are a few minor niggles but the sheer fact that these cars are packed with some features now seen on premium luxury cars (garage door opener, auto-dim mirror, etc.) makes a used Sebring an incredibly good deal.

Report Abuse

my chrysler

your daddy, 02/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great car until 90,000 miles. Also, expensive to repair due to mitsubishi parts.

Report Abuse

Never Again

HowardL, 08/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This will be my last American automobile purchase or Mitsubishi. Trans problems, recalls, expensive tires and parts as well as poor front end design and the turning circle of the HMS Titanic made this the "car in the driveway". Underpowered and noisy, this was the sexiest piece of junk I ever owned.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050