Used 2000 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,222 - $2,930

Used Monte Carlo for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Awesome Car

niclin, 05/26/2012
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I'm 19 now bought this car after my '89 cutless rusted out. I saw this car at the dealership (in mid 2011) it caught my eye right away so I took for a test drive, liked it, bought it, took it home that same day. I've had it for almost a year right now and I have to say it's a very reliable car to have except the tranny is slipping at 188,000 miles, my driver side seat heater went out, had to replace the front right bearing, and the control arm. When I bought it it still had the original fuel pump so i had to replace that as well. It has great pick up for how heavy and big the car is which is pretty surprising, while getting good gas mileage about 22 city and 28 hwy.

Report Abuse

Pace Car Excellence

Ritomcsspc, 02/17/2004
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2000 mc pace car edition new and absolutely love it. The pace car package added to this vehicle was an excellent idea making a car that is one of a kind. There were only about 2222 of this type made for that year. I love the quality of this vehicle and have had no problems with the car. Even after owning it for over 3 years it still brings a thrill to drive it and still turns heads. I've been very pleased with the power and handling of this car and have taken it through the curves on the road at 80 or 90+ mph without flinching. I love the power but am glad to here Chevy is now offering a supercharged edition of the 3.8 liter engine.

Report Abuse

GM's best-kept secret

Erik Smith, 12/22/2009
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

As a car salesman, I sold these for years, and just purchased one for myself. The 2000-2007 Monte Carlo was a standout in the GM lineup, and used models are a bargain in SS trim (avoid base models). The car, unfortunately, was misunderstood -- witness the reviews here. It was really one of the last "personal luxury" cruisers -- stylish, extremely economical with the 3.8, roomy, and as powerful as it needed to be. A better performer than most 4-cyl cars, cheaper to operate than many, cheap to repair. If maintained, expect 200K-plus miles. Only drawback is the endemic GM midsize steering shaft problem, which can be solved cheaply ($5 or so) with DIY lubing. A wonderful car, a classic.

Report Abuse

best car

Ryopan, 08/22/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2000 Monte Carlo LS new in 2000. This is the best car I've ever owned. I put a lot of miles on it each year simply beacuse I love to drive it. It has been on two Cross Country trips from Texas to New York. The Monte Carlo is comfortable, reliable, fun to drive and just excellent all around. It is the best!

Report Abuse

I was looking for an Imapla

Open New Mexico Road, 09/24/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was looking for an Impala, but the salesman introduced me and sold me on the sportier sibling, the Monte Carlo. 85% of the 114,000 miles are highway miles...good miles. The 3.8 engine is as strong as the day I bought, and except for two recalls, only had to replace the drivers' side power window toggle switch. Still gets good gas mileage, 30 mpg in the city. It was also comforting that I did not have to trade it in when I had to put two car seats, on teenager, and a wife into it. It actually had more seating space than my wifes S-10 Blazer. Has the original paint, no problems except for highway debris. I would love to buy a 2008, but going to keep the 2000 until she can't go no more

Report Abuse

Reliable Commuter

Curtis , 10/02/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2003 with 60,000km. I am now up to 280,000km and the car runs as smooth as the day I bought it. Haven't had to touch anything under the hood. Just the usual wheel bearings and tye rod replacements that you would normally have to with this kind of mileage. I have car pooled with people recently who drive imports and I just find they can't compare to the smoothness/comfort of a GM.

Report Abuse

The New Monte Carlo

TallPaul, 03/01/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Plenty of head and leg room even for 6' 4" people. Comfortable interior. Handles well in snowy conditions. Great gas mileage. Smooth responsive excelleration. Handles good for a larger car. Fantastic retail price. Good standard options. A sports car for a tall man.

Report Abuse

Love my MC!!

callen, 07/14/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The styling on this car is irresistable. Extremely roomy, comfortable, fun to drive and looks GREAT! Have not had a single problem with the car; couldn't be more reliable. I'm planning on selling my '00 LS and upgrading to another MC, the SS this time though. GM does it again!!

Report Abuse

fun to drive

alan olsen, 04/22/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

the car turns a lot of heads.whether it be people in the street or in other cars,they have to take a second look.

Report Abuse

Felicity's Review

Felicity, 04/13/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my car! I love the Monte Carlo! She is so sweet, and so much fun to drive. My Monte is so hot, even when she was stock she was so fly and and her curves all in the right places. She drives beautifully and oh so smooth. I sure hope she lasts me my lifetime.

Report Abuse

Love my LS

BigKLB, 06/17/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is, to date, the best car I have ever owned, and I have owned many, many cars. I think it is a great value for the money. I have had no problems with this car at all. I am 6'2" and have plenty of head and leg room. The style and mechanics are right on the mark for me

Report Abuse

excellant car

BK, 03/13/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

fun to drive, plenty of room

Report Abuse

2000 Chevy Monte Carlo LS

montewithproblems, 01/01/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my Monte Carlo used with 98000 miles. Granted it wasn't new, since I have owned it I have had many problems. Heater blower motor and resistor went, ball joint, thermostat, transmission is starting to hestitate, power mirrors only work when they want to, and now the car is leaking antifreeze. I was told by my mechanic that the head gasket is going. I have only put 10000 miles on it. I would worn others to be cautious buying a used one with higher miles. The seats are uncomfortable. The car does look great though and does turn heads. Just wish it was more reliable. This is probably my last Chevy!

Report Abuse

Its an ok car

mellowc, 04/06/2010
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Looks unique, but has no guts in it. The 3.4 L model will get you from a to b, but this engine will certainly not win you any races. Nice front seat, but cheap parts have cost me some money. Engine also blew a head gasket, which this engine is known to do; $700. I was looking for a car with some get up and go, this is not it. Its an ok car, but leaves you wanting more.

Report Abuse

Excellent car, sorry to see it go

IL Monte, 02/03/2010
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

An incredibly reliable and safe car. I had my 2000 LS until it was totaled in an accident with a semi, but I walked away unharmed. Sorry to see it go, but it kept me safe. In 9 years of ownership, my only real problem was one fouled injector. Another issue but much more minor was having to replace the passenger side power window switch two or three times. Other than that, two new sets of tires and two new sets of brakes due to regular mileage, and no complaints. Regular oil changes, regular maintenance, change the fluids regularly, voluntarily swapped out plugs and voluntary tune-ups. Take care of this car and it will take care of you. Sorry they don't make Montes anymore.

Report Abuse

Worst Car I've Owned - NO MORE GMS

lastGM, 02/07/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car new - nothing but problems: ABS, Fuel leak under hood, transmission problems... I will NEVER buy another GM car.

Report Abuse

Chevrolet 2000 Monte Carlo LS 2dr.

2DR LS Coupe, 03/14/2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great gas mileage. Uncomfortable seating, makes back hurt with way front seats are made. Too uncomfortable entering and geting out of car, both front and back seats. Too low from front stepping out of car in front. Back headrests are very uncomfortable when trying to turn head, unable to see behind. The younger ones like drivng it though. So far it has been reliable and I do believe it is well made. I will never buy another 2 Dr. Too uncomfortable.

Report Abuse

My love let me down

Hera, 07/11/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I fell in love at first sight with the newer Monte and bought one in 2004. It was an excellent car for the first year or so then things started to go downhill. By 75,000 miles the car started missing and hesitating which seemed to be fixed by frequent tune-ups but the solution was only temporary. Now, with a year left on my 5 year loan, the car has major electrical problems - turn signals only work occasionally, some of the lights in the car quit working, it has troubling power surges that make it stutter while moving and it keeps killing a perfectly good battery. I was advised to dump it soon by a mechanic I took it to recently. And I too had to replace the driver side window switch.

Report Abuse

Hey Baby! Nice Car!

Xplicit Kontent, 12/10/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car last year. All in all, I love this car! The seats have adjustable lumbar support which makes it easy to make your seat have the perfect level of comfort and you have lots of room instead of being cramped together. I added a K&N air filter and add Lucas Oil fuel additive each time I change my oil. These two things jumped my gas mileage from 21 to 26 mpg(city) and 29 mpg(highway). I recommend this!

Report Abuse

Best Car I've Ever Owned

geege, 05/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has the best combination of style, comfort, power and amenities. It is a joy to own. Other than a rattle under the car that has been fixed, I have had absolutely no problems with this car.

Report Abuse

Love my Monte

Burkie, 06/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the fun car to drive. Has great pickup and lots of room Has a big truck for traveling. It has been in the shope three times.Once for a steering problem, airconditioning clog and brake cable came out of a holder. Nothing major just inconvence.

Report Abuse

Convinced me to buy American

Beagleboy99, 11/09/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned a lot of cars over the 35+ years I have been driving, and consider myself a "car guy". I've owned mostly Japanese-Honda, Subaru, etc. Approaching a mid life crisis, I was looking for a car to accompany me on that journey. I'm a big guy, and wanted some comfort, and I usually carry a lot of stuff, even some lumber once in a while. I saw the first 2 MonteCarlo SS's on my local dealer lot, and loved the retro look. One of my favorite cars was the 1973 Monte, and this captured that essence nicely but updated. This car was impressively well made (Canada), was very comfortable and very reliable after a 6 month rough period at first. This was a winner for GM, sorry to see that it is gone

Report Abuse

Good at first...!

Matt, 01/22/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I first bought the car and was excited because not too many of them were around. It had a few problems at first covered under my warranty, fuel filter leaked, needed a rear strut. It shifted great at first and now at around 125000 its really rough. Things started to go wrong after the 120000 mile mark. Little things at first, coolant temperature sensor, some of the plastic paneling in the car. Windshield wipers The main problem is the tranny which is very common around 120000 k. Besides that the car is powerful for being a large sedan. 0-60 in about 8 seconds. You can by-pass the governor as well...as soon as you reach the governor quickly put it in neutral and back in to gear, there ya go!

Report Abuse

2000 SS. Best I've Ever Owned

chasd3, 06/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2000 Monte Carlo SS new in 2000. This is the best car I've ever owned. I put a lot of miles on it each year simply beacuse I love to drive it. It has been on two Cross Country trips from Texas to New York. The Monte Carlo is comfortable, reliable, fun to drive and just excellent all around. I hope to purchase another one soon.

Report Abuse

MoNique the DivaMobile! <3

Joey, 09/17/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my maroon Monte Carlo in January 2009 from my dad. She had 151,000 on her, and there was a crack in front of the driver's headlight where my dad had kicked her because he is impatient and she cold started on him. The battery cables have been troublesome, but is tolerable. I've put rear brakes, a new intake gasket, a wheel hub, new tires, and a new starter on her, approximately $2300. I only use premium fuel and a bottle of gas treatment with every tank, change the oil every 3000 miles, she has been good to me. Coming up on 188K, and she will accompany me on my move from Indiana back to Michigan. To many more years and miles with my baby!

Report Abuse

What is edmunds prob!!!

jamj, 07/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car for what it is not for what it's missing. I too would love to see it w/ rear wheel drive & a v8 but like I said i love it for what it is a very comfortable, fun ride.

Report Abuse

MONTE

T STANGO, 10/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

GREAT AUTO

Report Abuse

SS Monte Carlo traction system

Janny, 10/31/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my car. The ride, look, and style are fine when it is not having problems with the traction control system. Of course, when it is at the shop it drives perfectly. The problem does not reproduce. Has anyone else written about this problem? When the traction active light comes on the car will drag.

Report Abuse

Nice Car

Mike Spohn, 05/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Looks good Rides nice Handles very well good performance

Report Abuse

Great car

BigC, 12/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

love everything about it, the lookand the performance,not a V8 but good enough im tall and it is very comfortible. one recuring problem i have is with the light senser, i have to replace almost every 8 months becouse of short. had same system in my camaro, that work flawlessly.

Report Abuse

i hate my ss

AngrySSDriva, 12/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i love the body style and interior but what good is a car if i feel it is not reliable? i am a foreign car man but went against myself and bought the irresistable body style. my check engine light comes on if i fart too loud and i recently had to have my rack and pinion replaced at only 30000 miles!!! The weather strip for my trunk is also always coming loose.owned it one year been to dealer 3 times for aggravating probs.

Report Abuse

OK except for repeated frontend problem

Netman, 12/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the car but I have had repeated front end problems. Problem is associated with the "intermediate shaft bearing" so the dealer says. It has been "fixed" several time. I am trading it in.

Report Abuse

nice car

Alexander Gogoberidz, 01/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

nice car. had no problems with it so far.

Report Abuse

Still Awesome after 3+ Years

Westsuburban, 02/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car from day one. It has never been back to the dealer! It's a 2000 with 53,000 miles.

Report Abuse

Scared SS Owner

Scared Chevy Owner, 09/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I loved the car when I drove it, but during the first month the HVAC head had to be replced for a light bulb out, the radio had to be replaced because it would not connect to the message center and the car alarm goes off if the trunk is opened with the key. Sometimes the doors lock automatically, sometimes they don't. All this at 32,000 miles. What's next?

Report Abuse

monte carlo ss

pc, 07/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car. I bought it used a year ago and have loved every minute of it. I love the luxury ride yet the sporty look. You have the best of both worlds with this car. This is the fourth Monte Carlo that my family has owned over the past 30 years and i would buy another one.

Report Abuse

2000 monte is at least pretty

theunbound1, 10/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

car mechanically stable....beautifull exterior design...my prob is the butt- ugle interior...everything is hard plastic and there is nothing really accenting anything..looks like they spent a lot of time designing the body and 10 seconds on the interior. the super-special radio sounds like a singe speaker radio in a tin can and is probably the worst stock radio ive ever heard. i keep bopping my funny bone on the hard plastic center console..and there is no cusion-like grip everywhere there should be. but hey it gets good gas milage and looks really really nice on the outside...

Report Abuse

Track Tested

olenc, 11/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car mainly because of past Monte Carlo experience, and being a NASCAR fan of the # 3 Monte Carlo.I had the opportunity this summer to go to Talladega Superspeedway and take it 2 laps around the track. Awesome at 120 MPH!!! Awesome around the highway too. No problems so far. I bought it with 67,000 miles on it and I will put 55- 60,000 anually on it. Great experince so far.

Report Abuse

Great Monte

B.Mooney, 01/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned this Monte for over 4 years, the only flaw so far was the heater element in the drivers seat stopped working. Very impressed with the comfort and reliabity.

Report Abuse

great car

da big dog, 02/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new in 2000, and never had it back to the dealer except for a power window switch that went bad at 185,000 miles. The only mechanical problem that I had was that I lost overdrive around 165,000 miles, but I truly can't complain, I ragged that motor and transmission hard for the life of it,but the engine was rock solid when I traded it. The other nice feature about this car was even though it had soooo many miles on it in such a short period of time it still held good value for a trade in, I would strongly recommend this car to anyone......

Report Abuse

ss baby

djg1173, 02/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

best car i have ever owned

Report Abuse

Best Car I've ever owned. I love it

hd, 06/06/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's a great car. I bought it for college and I'm now out of college and I'm still driving this car. It is an absolute blast to drive. It's wonderful for someone who is going to be going to school and doesn't need a full size four door car but I'm the the point where I am going to be having a baby so I'm going to be needing a four door car or SUV.

Report Abuse

Love the Style, but Hate the Problems

Capehart, 02/10/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

46 miles after purchase, the computer goes out. Great for 2 years, then the transmission goes out, sunroof gets stuck open and needs to be replaced. Now after a new head gasket from the leaking oil, it leaks worse. The car only has 88,000 miles now.

Report Abuse

Great Car for the Money

karch, 03/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had more good comments about this car than any I have owned. Its fun to drive, has loads of features, and looks great. The paint is fabulouse easy to keep shiney. Average about 23 mpg around town 27 on the highway at 75 MPH. Had a few early problems nothing major. One of the best dashboards with all but one button easy to see. Fog light button hidden by the steering wheel.

Report Abuse

Driving a beauty

jay, 03/03/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have enjoyed driving this beautiful vehicle. It's a real eye catcher, and iI have had numerous compliments on my SS Monte Carlo. Many thanks to the guys at the Chevy corporation. I just wanna jump up and click my heels!

Report Abuse

Good vehicle

Wayne Louisiana, 05/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am very happy with this car. Fast for a V6. I bougtht it from a little old lady w/9000mi.4/02in So. California that wanted a new car. I flew there to buy it and drove it back to Louisiana. I have 38,000 on it now. I have had a stupid rattle behing the glove box that no mechanic at Best Chevrolet in Kenner,La. can find. Never have a car fixed there !!!! It gets better gas mi. than my wifes' 2003 Mazda 626. Never buy that car !!!!! I will buy a new one next body style.

Report Abuse

good car

okteltim, 01/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Good car and is fun to drive. Good mileage around town (25+)when keeping the foot out of the CARB.

Report Abuse

A legend

Joe, 02/06/2017
SS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A great value

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050