Used 1995 Chevrolet C/K 1500 Series Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$868 - $1,827

Used C/K 1500 Series for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Are you kidding?

Rich, 11/15/2010
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I have had this beauty since November of 1995. Never has she let me down. She now has 278,000 and I just came back from a 3 week hunt in the mountains of Arizona. I used the 4 wheel drive. She was up and down muddy roads, in the snow, and up steep grades. I never worried for a second that she wouldn't make it. I will never sell or trade. I'm thinking of including her in my will.

Report Abuse

Chevy Quality

lurod2001, 05/19/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Have had this truck since brand new. Currently has 145000 miles and still going strong. Starts right away, drives anywhere, pulls great and gas mpg not too bad for such a big vehicle. In my opinion, this is the best chevy body, after the body from the 68-72 years. The interior looks brand new. I had a coat of scotchguard applied from the dealer when I bought it. I have had lots of vehicles, both American and Japanese, from 50k vehicles to a recent Scion Xb and I got to say this is the only vehicle I've kept for this long. I tell my 7 year old son he will be driving this truck to (if gas is not $10 a gallon!). There are a lot of Chevys on the road---250k for his truck is the norm.

Report Abuse

1995 K1500

vtman731, 10/23/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck for $300.00 it had 206000 miles on it. It was a plow truck it was beat to death i spent $1000.00 on parts and it runs great it has a 350 in it the eng does not burn any oil i hall wood great all around work truck

Report Abuse

1995 Silverado Extended Cab

spike_n58, 04/08/2013
C1500 Silverado 2dr Extended Cab SB
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck about 2 week's ago, She had 122,200 mile's. Everything work's, and run's smooth as a kitten purring. The v6 is plenty of power for what I use it for. It get's excellent gas mileage. My wife love's it, She has a 2010 cobalt, and she drive's the truck more than the car! The service engine soon light come's on every now and then, I can't seem to find anything wrong with it, I think It's a short. Also it is a 5 speed automatic.

Report Abuse

1995 chevy W/T 1500 4.3 5 speed

aman95, 08/28/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

166,000 miles runs and drives like it just came off show room floor! Love this truck! 4.3 has plenty of power, great on gas, perfect running condition, no check engine light!

Report Abuse

A dependable truck

airluetzow, 04/09/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A good truck lacking only a little power. The newer vortec chevy's will outperform this older TBI engine model, but it is still a brut when you put the pedal down. The interior is nice with easy to reach controls and nicely placed cupholders. Great looking truck, especially after a wax. No major mechanical problems, except replacing the muffler, but that is to be expected. Great for 4-wheeling. Overall a dependable, nice riding truck.

Report Abuse

Old Girl

UnckleGunk, 09/24/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck before moving up to Alaska. Just went over 100 thousand miles last month (Aug 08). Only had to change a water pump. I love my ole girl!

Report Abuse

awesome truck

russ, 02/13/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck brand new. Now have 311,700 miles on all around excellent service. Had to put some major repairs but no drive train repairs as yet. Starter just went out. New A/C, Booster pump, wiper control/high low beam control radio and water pump. Hope to run it to 500,000 still looks great and ride is superior. Never did do good on gas but that's a truck. Been across country 3 times ready to go again. I think I have the highest mileage of most any 1995 Silverado on the road today. Always serviced on schedule.

Report Abuse

Best truck I've ever owned

Richst, 08/05/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

What can I say? 198,000 miles and it is only recently that I have had to replace a few inexpensive parts (water pump and thermostat). The AC blasts cold air. It's only been tuned twice in 7 years and passes air quality inspection year after year. It's been in deep snow, sand , mud, and just about everything else and has never let me down. I love this truck

Report Abuse

Great Truck

HydroADSL, 10/07/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Well over 200,000km and still going. Awesome pick up and go with the 350 V8 and the 5-Speed. Controls are easy to see and operate. Looks great when shes all polished up.

Report Abuse

Like a Rock

Mikenet6, 01/06/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought it new. I have enjoyed every mile I have driven it. It still looks like new and drives like new. It is the most comfortable vehicle I have ever had. I have had no major work done to it. I would say chevrolet broke the mold with my truck.

Report Abuse

1995 4WD Cheyenne Ext Cab SB

Raumulin, 05/30/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have thoroughly enjoyed my ownership of this vehicle. It is very comfortable yet rugged enough for the back county that we hunt and camp. 1995 was the last year before the vortec engine, so the back yard mechanic feel right at home working on the 5.7 liter V8. Should you need to. I have changed the oil and plugs myself with ease. Like my wife says, "it's a TRUCK, but it rides nicer than many of the cars we've had or ridden in." We purchased our truck without power windows or door lock intentionally, and have not regretted it one bit. We are always outdoors and have never had a window fail to roll down/up when needed. Very reliable rig.

Report Abuse

Great truck

sheaff8, 11/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is great. It will do anything you want it to. I put a 33 inch all terrain tire on it and I am always pulling my buddies out of the mud and this truck has no problem. I take this truck in the mud fairly often and it has never gotten me stuck. The 350 is a great engine to do modifications on. Great truck!

Report Abuse

Great Truck!

Lenny_d, 05/21/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the truck used with 38K on it in 2001. At about 60K I began to lose my reverse gear.I was able to baby it for a long time and the truck now has 160K on it and I am going to put it in for a transmission job shortly.The transmission place has told me this is a common occurrence with the 1995 transmissions.(You lose low and reverse gears.)It still doesn't burn oil and runs great.I was always surprised at how well it handled.It is starting to rust on quarter panels and around wheel wells but I think the $2500 transmission job will be worth it.I hope to get another 2 to 3 years out of the truck.

Report Abuse

Who designed the air vents???

katdog26, 06/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Silverado, but the one thing that really bugs me is the placement of the driver's air conditioning vents. There are 3 that are supposed to air the driver, and none of them hit you directly. We have owned 3 GM/chevy 1500 series trucks and all of their brakes have been soft. Nice overall ride, very reliable. Many cupholders! A bit slow acceleration, but adequate for an automatic. All around great truck.

Report Abuse

Great Truck!

YRC, 07/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I travelled cross-country several times and found this to be a comfortable and reliable vehicle. I was recently involved in a head-on collision (speed of approx 50 mph) and walked out with just minor scratches and bruising. I wore a seat-belt and the airbag deployed. I think this truck was well-designed because of the way it took the impact of the crash. The interior of the cab was not damaged even though the truck is considered totalled.

Report Abuse

'95 Chevy C1500 Silverado Review

jawordell, 04/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

305-V8 w/auto. Excellent vehicle. Still gets 18.5 MPG @ 100000 miles. Does not use any oil between changes. Highway performance and handling of a car. Plenty of power to tow. Low maintenance vehicle with many pluses. Highly Recommend!!!!

Report Abuse

Great Dependable Transportation

Jim Kaufman, 11/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Quite, comfortable good handling without all the frills.

Report Abuse

A Rock

Flea, 02/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I truck is amazing!! I have owned for a only short amount of time but I love it. It has great low-end torque and power. Accecleration is respectable for a pick-up. The interior is very comfortable and roomy. There is nothing I dislike about this truck, accept for the gas mileage. 14-17 miles per gallon is about normal.

Report Abuse

ONE GREAT & GOOD LOOKING TRUCK!

TTD82, 08/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I HAVE HAD THIS TRUCK FOR QUITE A FEW YEARS (5 TO 6 MAYBE) AND IT HAS BEEN A WONDERFUL TRUCK. NO PROBLEMS WITH IT AT ALL. FUN TO DRIVE, GOOD LOOKING. THE ONLY DOWN FALL I CAN FIND TO SAY IS THAT THE FUEL RATE IS NOT GREAT. BUT HEY IT IS A V8 TRUCK. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TRUCK TO ANYONE WHO ASKED

Report Abuse

Excellent Chevy Truck

SteveGoose, 08/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have had virtually no problem with it during the 100k+ miles I've driven it. Runs like new and drives like new. I plan to buy another one in a couple of years, after I put another 100k miles on it.

Report Abuse

Chevy 1500 extended cab-V-6

rod neal, 09/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle was purchased new in 1995. It has been driven an average of 10,000 miles a year. It is equiped with a V-6 engine that suffers in acceleration needs and really doesn't have that much improvement over the V-8 when it comes to gas mileage. It has been an extremely dependable vehicle. The main air conditioning hose was replaced in 2001 and the windshield wiper motor was replaced in 2002. All power features such as electric seats and windows have held steady with no problems. It is an automatic transmission that has never had any strain put on it.

Report Abuse

Converted Ford Man

Converted Ford Man, 11/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just Purchased my first Chevy full size P/U. I only wished I had done it earlier. I am so impressed with the compfort, style, & the mpg for an 8cyl. is awsome. (13-22mpg) Not bad for a V-8. I traded in a "93 Ford F- 150 XLT Ext. Cab 4X4. With all the same options -the cup holders and bucket seats w/console. I don't see me looking back. I believe I made a smart move.

Report Abuse

The Eternal Pickup!

Stoopy, 07/21/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First ever new-from-the-dealer vehicle I ever bought, and over 10 years and 150,000 miles later, it's essentially the same pickup truck! This amazing thing refuses to break, stumble, or die. I have the 4.3 V6 and 5-speed manual transmission, am still on the factory clutch, shocks, and even front brake pads! A little slow but very reliable! I drive it for about 2 or 3 hours a day in highway commuting traffic, from high speeds to bumper-to-bumper traffic, and don't even notice using the clutch pedal anymore. Words cannot describe what I have been through with this truck in 10 years and I know that one day, when it finally goes, I'll break down and cry like a kid.

Report Abuse

dependable

MRHURT, 12/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

always there when i need it.

Report Abuse

Love My Truck

TJA, 12/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ordered this truck new just the way I wanted it and have loved it for all 153000 I've put on it. The only reason I have to say goodbye and sell it is my second child coming soon and I can't fit four in the cab. A great truck for anyone wanting that good old 350 V8 TBI that is easy to work on and maintain yourself. Have had no major problems with it.

Report Abuse

tazz loves his chev

tazzman, 01/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

very reliable fun to drive truck....with plenty of power to tow or haul anything you would want to

Report Abuse

Unstopable

jackson, 11/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck with 170k miles. It still drove like new. Now I have 279k miles. In that time I replaced the clutch and ignition switch. Other than that I just put gas in it and drive. This is a work truck that gets used hard. These trucks are great

Report Abuse

Chevy, Like a Rock

Andrew, 02/24/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 4.3L V6 give the truck good MPG ratings for a fullsize truck. It is limited to what it can pull or haul, but i have never had any problems with small loads. It makes a great work truck or in my case daily driver, because it always starts and keeps on running. It has been a great truck for me, and I strongly recommend it.

Report Abuse

Truly Is "Like A Rock"

AltairDusk, 02/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the truck used with 146,000 miles on it. I have since put on about 6,500 miles and the truck has been rock solid. The ride is excellent, I grew up in a family that owned almost all Dodges and while I still like Dodge my truck rides almost as good as my Dad's 2002 Dodge Ram and it's only a '95! The V8 350 has all the power I'll ever need and the 4wd Z71 package is awesome! Never been in a situation this truck couldn't get me out of. I Love my Chevy!

Report Abuse

9 years of excellent service!

Tfoxx, 05/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been an awesome vehicle. Ordered special from the factory so I could get the options exactly the way I wanted, including leather seating, 350 V8, power everything. Absolutely no complaints. Performance is good, ride quality is pretty good for a truck. Handling is very good for a truck (Z71 suspension) OEM tires were noisy and harsh riding, - replaced with Michelins and have been happy. Only service in 120K miles is front brakes (twice), 1 tune up, 1 water pump. Fuel milage was 17 new (combined), now down to just under 15, so it is a bit thirsty.

Report Abuse

Wish I bought a V8

MJames, 12/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my truck with a V6,5 speed manaul transmission, thinking I would save gas mileage. I was wrong! Not only have a given up power but with a new Jasper motor in it only 14.79 average gas mileage. I love my truck. Love the look but deeply regret giving up the V8 for the V6. Also my air does not recycle and is always sucking up gas fumes from engine. I can not find a leak any where in the tail pipe system. I don't like the fact that you can not stop the flow of outside air into the cab when the fan is in the off mode.

Report Abuse

The best truck"s are Chevy!

Gman, 12/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have never had any repair on the 1995 Chevy silverado 1500 ext cab sb 5.7 350.cib. The best ride I have ever had in a truck, and full of power. A little hard on gas mileage around 13 to 15 mpg. Front brakes changed two times in 103,000 miles. Never replaced rear brakes. The paint has held up great, still has deep gloss look. Over all the best truck ever.

Report Abuse

K1500 4WD Ext Cab LB

mf, 12/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new 10 years ago! Awesome. Owned a Ford F150 before - no comparison. I keep tricking it out with more items, Magnaflow dual exhaust, Manik grill guard, PIAA lights, etc. - I'm addicted to this truck. Never had one problem. Approaching 127,000 miles and still going strong. I've looked at changing trucks, but can't justify it. With a new born now, I'm getting his car seat set up in the ext. cab. This truck is so easy to work on. Tried and true Chevy 350 V8. Tranny is perfect. Used to have a 7,000 lb boat I towed. Installed an electronic brake system - worked great. The long wheelbase helped too. The styling is still awesome! I'd buy another in a "hearbeat."

Report Abuse

Like a Rock!

Tim, 06/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Other than a defective wiper switch- recalled by GM finally - and kind of weak brakes, this has been a fantastic truck for the past 10yrs. It has driven well, towed well, still rides great, and the fuel economy for a V8 hasn't been bad either. Other than normal wear and tear, it has had no major mechanical problems in 10 years of hard use. Guess "Like a rock" means something. I hate to sell it, but will look for a new Chevy truck soon- hope it's half as good as this one has been.

Report Abuse

Got to love it!

Aaron, 07/15/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the truck in '96 with 43k miles on it. She now has over 296k miles. All I have done is standard stuff. The transmission gave up at 260k miles. The only thing I have done to the truck is replaced the starter! Love the body style and you can buy just about anything aftermarket for them. She gets around 22 mpg out on the highway. Just cant beat that 350ci.

Report Abuse

Best truck ever. Luxurious ride

CHEVY C1500 STEPSIDE, 10/04/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever driven. A very reliable truck. Luckily got it with custom paint. The best looking truck in Maryland. It gets noticed quite a bit especially after a car wash!

Report Abuse

great truck!

alias123, 04/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

170,000 on my c15 and all i've done outside routine maint is to have the starter replaced.

Report Abuse

This truck is awesome

tornadoes77, 02/27/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my truck for 2 years now. It has a 4.3 V-6 and it has gone though a foot of snow with out a problem. I couldn't have a better truck. The gas mileage is not the best, but it's a full size truck what can you expect? I will have this truck till its days are done, then ill get another Chevy. Chevys rock!

Report Abuse

My Old Truck

claremore boy, 04/25/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my truck since 8000 miles. It has been the best vehicle I've ever owned. It has never left me stranded. It is family. Therefore it will never be sold or traded . In all this time, other than the recalled wiper assmbly, I have replaced water pump, brake booster, power steering hoses, and brakes once. The original tailpipe just got replacef 2 weeks ago, and I have over 150,000 miles on her! Like I stated before, she is family and has earned the right to someday rest in my field, but she will never be gotten rid of.

Report Abuse

Nice work truck

tombo2213, 04/06/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck for $0. It sat for 6 yrs after it was in an accident and was used as an abused work truck. After about a year, and $10 thousand dollars later it's in tip top shape. Brand new interior, stock and brand new paint job, green. New tranny, brakes, shocks, wheels tires, exhaust,bumpers, everything. I'm 17 yrs old and I'm glad this truck was my first vehicle. Great truck, looks nice, gets lots of attention, A little rough on the bumps. Wish I had the V8, but it's still a great truck

Report Abuse

I love my truck

Jeremy, 10/05/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my first Chevy truck after owning a Ford sports car for a couple of years. I had a really bad accident with the car and decided I wanted a full-size truck just in case it happened again. It runs strong in all weather and has been mechanically sound since I bought it.

Report Abuse

chaddd

chaddd, 04/01/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

just got last yr with 264,000 miles, had to do headlight switch,igntion switch, clean throttle body. so far good truck, i have the 5.7 motor auto

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050