2018 Edmunds Best Retained Value Awards

2018 Best Retained Value® Awards

Buying a car is exciting, but with the price of a new car averaging more than $35,000, it?s more important than ever to understand the true value of a vehicle beyond just the sticker price and monthly payments.

Whether you buy or lease, understanding how much a car will depreciate is the key to getting the most for your money before you drive off the lot. Smart shoppers know that vehicles with strong residual values help maximize your money at trade-in, or tend to have lower monthly lease payments.

With this in mind, we?re unveiling our picks for the 2018 Edmunds Best Retained Value Awards. These awards recognize the brands and models that have the highest projected private party residual value five years after their launch, expressed as a percentage of their average True Market Value® (TMV®), and are part of our ongoing effort to highlight overall vehicle value for shoppers.

Toyota and Porsche are the 2018 brand-level winners in the standard and luxury categories, respectively, with Toyota claiming five model level awards and Porsche claiming another three.

Keep reading to see all the winners of the 2018 Edmunds Best Retained Value Awards.

By Brand


Standard: Toyota

Honorable Mention: Honda, GMC


Luxury: Porsche

Honorable Mention: Acura, Lexus

By Category

Cars | Suvs | Trucks and Vans


Honda Civic

Compact Car: Honda Civic

Honorable Mention: Toyota Corolla, Subaru Impreza

Audi A3

Luxury Compact Car: Audi A3

Honorable Mention: Acura ILX, Lexus IS 300

Honda Accord

Midsize Car: Honda Accord

Honorable Mention: Toyota Camry, Subaru Legacy

Lexus ES 350

Luxury Midsize Car: Lexus ES 350

Honorable Mention: Lexus GS 350, Cadillac CT6

Dodge Charger

Large Car: Dodge Charger

Honorable Mention: Chevrolet Impala, Toyota Avalon

Porsche Panamera

Luxury Large Car: Porsche Panamera

Honorable Mention: Audi A7, Mercedes-Benz CLS Class

Subaru WRX

Sports Car: Subaru WRX

Honorable Mention: Ford Mustang, Chevrolet Camaro

Porsche 911

Luxury Sports Car: Porsche 911

Honorable Mention: Chevrolet Corvette, BMW M2


Honda CR-V

Compact SUV: Honda CR-V

Honorable Mention: Toyota RAV4, Honda HR-V

Porsche Macan

Luxury Compact SUV: Porsche Macan

Honorable Mention: Acura RDX, Audi Q5

Toyota 4Runner

Midsize SUV: Toyota 4Runner

Honorable Mention: Jeep Wrangler JK, Toyota Highlander

Lexus GX 460

Luxury Midsize SUV: Lexus GX 460

Honorable Mention: Lexus RX 350, Porsche Cayenne

Toyota Sequoia

Large SUV: Toyota Sequoia

Honorable Mention: Ford Expedition, Chevrolet Tahoe

Cadillac Escalade

Luxury Large SUV: Cadillac Escalade

Honorable Mention: Lexus LX 570, Infiniti QX80

Trucks and Vans

Toyota Tacoma

Midsize Truck: Toyota Tacoma

Honorable Mention: Honda Ridgeline, GMC Canyon

Toyota Tundra

Large Truck: Toyota Tundra

Honorable Mention: Chevrolet Silverado 1500, Ram 2500

Toyota Sienna

Minivan: Toyota Sienna

Honorable Mention: Honda Odyssey, Ford Transit Wagon

2016 Best Retained Value® Awards

2015 Best Retained Value® Awards

2014 Best Retained Value® Awards

2013 Best Retained Value® Awards

2012 Best Retained Value® Awards

2011 Best Retained Value® Awards

More About the 2018 Best Retained Value® Awards

Winners were chosen based on:

Highest Projected Residual Value after five years, expressed as a percentage of "cash" True Market Value® (i.e., True Market Value less applicable generally available customer cash incentives).

Model awards are based on a computation, for each qualifying model, of: (i) the average cash TMV® price over the first five months (if available; minimum of one month) for such model, and (ii) the average projected five-year depreciation computed for each of the first twelve months after the launch of such model.

Brand awards are based on a computation, for each qualifying brand, of the sales-weighted averages of: (i) the cash TMV® prices for the first five months (if available, minimum of three months) for all qualifying models of such brand, and (ii) the projected five-year depreciation for all qualifying models of such brand.

Model level qualifications:

Only model year 2018 vehicles are eligible.

Model must have been launched by 12/31/2017.

Model must have sales in January 2018 that are not less than 25% of the average sales in that month of all models that fall in its award segment.

Edmunds must have TMV® data for the model for a minimum of one month

Brand level qualifications:

Each Brand must have qualifying models competing in at least four of the 17 award segments.