Skip to main content

Used 2019 Buick Enclave SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$25,645 - $40,998

Used Enclave for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
1 out of 5 stars

Buick Enclave Transmission is still a Lemon

Gary Smith, 01/08/2019
updated 01/12/2021
2019 Buick Enclave Premium 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 9A)
115 of 119 people found this review helpful

A new transmission was installed by the dealer (Banks Chevrolet-Concord, NH) who provided outstanding service with our lemon. The original transmission failed and was replaced with a new transmission. Approximately 1 month later the second transmission developed a chuggling noise and is clunky and does not shift smoothly on hills going both up and down. I strongly recommend avoiding Buick's with this transmission! I bought a 2019 Enclave in October 2019. Immediately experienced transmission surging while driving down my moderately sloping driveway. Then on Dec 20,2018 I could not go over 27 mph nor shift gears. Towed by dealer to their shop and told they had to order a new transmission from N. Dakota if available. Which leads me to suspect that new transmissions must be in demand due to being a chronic problem. Web searching indicates 2018's had same problem and the 2019's have the same model number transmission as the 2018's. Hope to not have to go the Lemon Law route. Dealer has been very good. GMC, I am not so sure! You would think they would have corrected the transmission problems for the 2019 models, unless they had use up their transmission inventory.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
7 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the Buick Envision
View Offers
Buick.com
*The Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Buick vehicles’ destination freight charges.

1 out of 5 stars

Transmission Nightmare

Matt, 02/09/2019
2019 Buick Enclave Premium 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 9A)
105 of 110 people found this review helpful

I too have a 2019 Buick Enclave with transmission problems. Took it into the dealer after 2000 miles after it started shaking when accelerating. The dealership said it needed a new torque converter and we could drive it until the part was available. This was around New Years, we went back to get the Enclave and the dealer said they were later told by GM just to flush the transmission as it had too much lubricant from assembly. We took it home and it still shuddered, called the dealer and GM said to flush it again. This time when we picked it up it was worse than when it started. So now GM told the dealership to replace the torque converter however they cannot locate one. So now 6 weeks after this started we are still waiting for a torque converter that may or may not fix this.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Lemon - 2018...Same issues with the 2019

JB, 05/06/2019
2019 Buick Enclave Avenir 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 9A)
63 of 66 people found this review helpful

Accelerating 17-20 mph the transmission shudders again at 27-30. The first vehicle had so many repair attempts that it had been repurchased by GM. I now have a 2019, Enclave Avenir which is demonstrating the same issues. This is of major concern, especially now reading the reviews of the same concerns. The service technicians have been wonderful, and we really want to like the vehicle, but this is just ridiculous!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Best SUV

OB, 03/31/2019
2019 Buick Enclave Essence 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 9A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Entire family loves enclave. we had a 2010 and put 177000 miles which we replaced with 2019 essence trim - we always lease to buy as u will know during lease if a problem comes. It gives a lot for its price compared to competitors. Before getting 2010 enclave we had BMW X5. We sold x5 at 135000 miles. To be honest X5 cost way more in maintenance above 120000 miles than enclave. We liked enclave better

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Impressed

D. Porter, 04/01/2019
updated 04/04/2022
2019 Buick Enclave Avenir 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 9A)
56 of 60 people found this review helpful

Didn't want to purchase a GM product, but since the Enclave is the only CUV with three usable rows of seating which still has decent cargo space behind the third row, I took a chance. So far I've been impressed. The ride and handling are very good, the engine has plenty of power, the transmission is a little less smooth than I expected but it's responsive, the tech features are useful, there are many safety features, and the fit and finish are very good. No problems with anything so far. It's not perfect of course. Some of the materials are not luxury level, the auto stop/start is stupid and there's no override button, the seats are not very comfortable, and there are a few missing amenities, but overall it's been very enjoyable. Update: It's been over a year now with the Enclave and everything is still great. No issues whatsoever. Update: Nearing 25K miles now and still love our Enclave. Other than replacing a broken sunshade bracket there have been no problems. Update: Third year and it's still great, no problems. The excellent AWD system has come in handy a few times in the snow. Too bad the morons at GM decided to replace the AWD system with an inferior one starting in 2021.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: