Used 2004 Audi allroad quattro Wagon Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,847 - $4,015

Used allroad quattro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

AWESOME CAR! nothing like it on the road

joedepaul, 01/17/2012
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Got over 100K miles and drives better than great. Recently forked over a grand to get belts and pump changed as is routine for a vehicle with these many miles. Worth every penny for peace of mind. I can't say enough about the styling. There's no other car out there in this class, new or old, that looks this good. You would think the interior would be dated but looks better than a lot of the newer luxury brands out there. The car looks great both inside and out! Quality superb! Driving dynamics and performance will keep pace with a brand new german or japanese sports sedan any day of the week. \And I have never, NEVER EVER driven a better car or SUV in the snow! AWESOME CAR!

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owned

Stephen, 12/22/2009
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is my sixth Audi Quattro. I'm an AWD only person, living in snowy MI. The V8 and the air suspension are wonderful. The interior is gorgeous, and I can drive it all day and feel SO coddled. I feel that this is a "no excuses" car. No matter the weather, the road (no holes in the oil pan due to rocks!) or the occasion (black tie dinner or plaid shirt camping trip), this vehicle delivers. I love this allroad. I have the monochromatic silver body and I really like the sophisticated, yet ruggedly athletic, look of this wagon. My wife's car is a 1995 Audi S6, which is not too shabby, either, but does not have the "no excuses" aspect of this allroad...be careful on rocky roads!

Report Abuse

Adore my allroad

ftauber, 02/24/2012
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I traded my Lexus RX300 for this 04 Allroad three years ago. The Lexus was wonderful and reliable but the Allroad is so much more fun to drive. The Allroad has 170k and it drives like a new car. I have had some minor problems brake light switch, window regulator, temp sensor, water pump, 1 front ball joint, spark plug coils, 1 cv joint and brake pads. in the last 50k. I have owned a BMW 540i and although I loved it the Allroad is even more fun to drive. My wife drives a Volvo XR-70 which is a wonderful auto but it cannot compare to my Allroad in the fun to drive catagory. My biggest delema now is what to buy next so I have decided to keep this Allroad as long as I can

Report Abuse

The "end-all be-all" crossover vehice

jdwing17, 08/17/2003
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

this vehicle is trully the "end-all be- all" crossover vehicle. Drives like a proformance car but carries a load. Looks good on the strip or in a stream. versatility makes this a star. Amazing handling on all road surfaces, this car also handles extreme driving conditions with ease. I am not a dealer, or stock owner, but this car fits in tight spaces and feels as solid as a truck. People mover or furniture carrier, this car does everything... trully; "the ultimate driving machine."

Report Abuse

2004 Allroad V-8 4.2 L

Yong, 08/25/2010
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought the car for its looks and engine and having owned another Audi for 10 years. I must admit it was a fun car to drive but then it started to go down slope after I bought it. One day, my wife forgot to turn off the lights, somehow both front air- springs went after 8 hours. That's three grands of repair. Then the windows switch went bad, and together with the transmission seal, another grand. Today took my car in for check engine light, the torque converter needs to be replaced, the cost: $3700. I wanted to keep the car but can't afforest it anymore. Granted I bought the car used, but at 75K miles the car is falling apart. Is it true that you can only lease Audi now?

Report Abuse

Great, reliable vehicle

Tigerfish, 08/22/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've owned the car for 3 years and am living in central Idaho. We received 300+ inches of snowfall this year and have dirt roads to contend with in the summer. Aside from a couple of minor oversights, like front seat cup holder placements and a split rear seat that only folds one way, this wagon is arguably the best on the road. Coupled with a 6-speed manual gearbox and it delivers excitement at every shift.

Report Abuse

German cars are expensive but in my experience reliable if cared for properly as with any car

content4evr, 11/05/2011
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2004 Audi Allroad 2.7T V6 automatic for 7 years. Still enjoy getting myself behind the wheel each morning. Given the fact I've pampered the vehicle in a garage for all this time and brought it in for routine maintenance religiously using nothing but synthetic oils, this vehicle has returned the favor by giving me reliable service and performance for 135k and counting. When the time comes to swtich to a new car I have no idea what I'm going to do. This car is the perfect blend of German performance, design, luxury, all-weather ruggedness, space and utilitarian conveniences. Can't think of another vehicle in todays market that blend these qualities as well as the Allroad!

Report Abuse

2004 Audi Allroad - Super Car 2.7 V6 Biturbo

stevoid123, 09/07/2012
32 of 44 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used from a dealer in Rockland Ontario. It's a 2004 Allroad 2.7 V6 5-spd automatc. I was able to find the Audi dealer in Montreal who serviced the car and obtained all the service records from Audi. There was a 50$ service charge but well worth it. The previous owner's name was blacked out but all details were there indicating full professional service and verifying the mileage. After a few weeks I had to replace 2 front upper control arms and fix a transmission oil leak. After 18 months I decided to upgrade the air suspension.

Report Abuse

great all weather car

steeltag, 08/31/2014
AWD 4dr Wagon (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 6M)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought this at 137k miles so some of the well known problems/maintenance had been performed already. It now has 145k miles and I really like it! superb all weather traction/capability, comfortable, quiet and powerful Since this is a 6 spd manual car, no troublesome auto tranny issues, but will need a clutch b4 long, Needs both front cv axles replaced (normal wear item), and some oil leaks fixed. Not as solid build quality as I'd thought it would be, several plastic breaking issues. I think this is a great USED car buy IF....proper maintenance has performed and you don't take it to the DEALER, get good independent mechanic. Update: 159k. More oil leaks repaired, expensive hoses($180), windshield( normal wear), brakes, water pump, thermostat (caused overheating ). Still like the cars capabilities, should be past most wear items for a while ( only paid 8% of original purchase price ). Great performance after computer remapping ( 'chip'), definitely worth it. Update 9/4/18: Still feel the greatest value of this auto is it’s capability in bad weather, 2nd: it’s a wagon so nice carrying/ storage capacity,3rd with performance flashed ecm , power is great ! Downsides: oil leakage is worse than my Jeep grand wagoneer! Always something is leaking, on German cars, parts can be expensive. To fix the current turbo oil leakage, I’d have to pull the turbo which requires pulling the motor to get to both of them! So, I just live with the leak. It’s a secondary type car for us so it’s not a deal killer.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hunk of Junk

allroadjunk, 02/02/2011
10 of 16 people found this review helpful

Buyers beware of this Audi at any price! I traded in my wife’s Lexus RX300 with 100K (great car) for a 2004 All Road with 75K. A week after we got the Audi the turn signal failed and the part cost over $100. To make things worse, it is under a front dash plate that is impossible to remove without breaking the cheap tabs that hold the metal clips ($150 to replace). Within a month it started to leak oil and I was told that the seal was a known problem and impossible to replace without a top end tear down (eight hours of labor). I did this repair and the trimming belt at a cost of over $2,600. Then a coil went and I was told to replace all six due to an Audi recall. A few months later warning lights started coming on and sensors that cost $300 plus to replace started to become common. I am now at 90K and I have another oil leak going to the turbo (min $500) and the air suspension has gone bad ($1,700 per wheel and should be done in pairs) and my check engine and ABS lights are going on and off. After owning over 65 cars, this is truly the biggest hunk of junk! Audi should step up and do a recall on the suspension and oil problems. While they did the right thing by discontinuing the “All Road” model they apparently still have many problems with the A6 (according to a 2010 worst rating survey) and God help you if you have an A8. My brother gave his to the “Cash for Clunkers” program.

Report Abuse

LOVE my Allroad!

gg1204, 02/17/2016
AWD 4dr Wagon (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

OK everyone....I am the original owner of my 2004 Allroad and was married to an Audi Tech, which helped of course with repairs. He would always tell me my allroad was the exception. I have had very little repair or major issues until past year. I am right now at 226,000 miles on it. I replaced alternator last year and am doing front axle repairs. I have pretty much replaced all air suspension and am on lifetime warranties all 4 wheels with Arnott. My car has been in my driveway now for two weeks and transmission shot. Im debating what to do and working with local tech who has an allroad sitting. Debating whether to do transmisison on mine or buy other allroad or somehow make one great allroad. Im not in a position where I can buy new right now, so decisions are forthcoming...Hmmm

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New allroad owner

New allroad owner, 12/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We had a 2002 Discovery II. Loved the thing! After our son, the Rover was just too impractical. Looked at the Volvo Cross Country and the allroad. Our 04 allroad is the perfect combo. Awesome looks, super nice interior and a turbo! We've only had it for a few months but so far so good.

Report Abuse

Love my allroad

Edmond Kalestiantz, 02/25/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have driven and owned 14 Mercedes Benz cars since '86. My last MB was '06 ML 350. Bought my 1st Audi and it is perfect in every way. Our '04 Allroad is a CPO car in perfect condition. We are 2nd owner and I love driving it, it is an absolute blast. Gas millage is not very good, but I was not looking for an economical car. I probably will drive less 5000 miles per yer.

Report Abuse

My opinion

RDWILLIA, 10/13/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Solid ride,ease of access and easy view of all controls (both daylight and nighttime.Driver’s seat and passenger seat have power adjustable.The driver has lumbar suprt. Stiffness of ride can be adjusted. The higher you raise the car softer it is. Lowest great for highway. In town raise it one setting so it will smooth out city potholes. It has twin turbo’s but that unfortunately includes turbo lag, which can be compensated for by using the Tip-tronic shifting when necessary. My car came with ESP and handles like its on rails. It’s an SUV with touring car comfort. Versatile.

Report Abuse

Great combination of luxury and utility

GRS, 05/07/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I owned a regular A6 2.7T before getting the allroad. The allroad was a pleasant surprise in almost all respects. It has all the luxury Audi is known for. I prefer the Allroad's ride to the regular A6. It can be raised to SUV height which is great for driving around the city and off road. It is as good as any vehicle in snow. It is a genuine autobahn cruiser on the freeway. The only limitation is hard off road. It needs beefier tires and it would be dumb to beat up such a nice car with that kind of use. I don't know why more makes don't offer this great combination of features. Con: lag is noticeable in regular Drive. Sport drive helps in newer models.

Report Abuse

AWESOME!!!!! OWN NO OTHER CAR

PARKCITY, 12/06/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I must have asked about 25 allroad owners before I bought this, and I didn't hear one negative thing. I still ask other owners and honestly have never heard a complaint. I love this car like no other. It is epitomized as a sports-car SUV with good MPG. The 6-speed manual is gutsy and responsive. The 2.7T is perfect for this car and gives good mileage for a car of its size, weight, and safety. The way this thing handles on the road is like my previous A4 quattro, but I've got room for my bike, snowboard and the like. I really like the fact that this will raise 6-8 inches; I have an SUV with much better gas mileage (manual trans helps) and the power and handling of my previous A4.

Report Abuse

Best of the Germans

DBA, 02/09/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned a Mercedes, a BMW, a Volkswagen, a Porsche, and my little Opel Kadett in college. I loved my Boxster S for the pure driving experience, but all told, no car I have owned has matched the Allroad I bought a little over two years ago. It hasn't given me a stitch of a problem and there isn't anyone who hops in the car with me that doesn't mention how great the car is. I have even had strangers come up to me asking me about the car. I like the zip it has on the road when you really need it, and I definitely feel safe in it - it has a real solid feel to it. It's no Honda when it comes to mileage, but at about 21 mpg (mainly highway driving), I'm happy.

Report Abuse

Real, Solid Value, A "Keeper"

Jim, 03/16/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It seemed pricey at first, but the Allroad delivers. Great style, amazing performance (on the highway at least), and build quality that MB should strive for (I've had 15 MBs and never again). The Allroad is simply amazing. My only regret is that Audi chose to go for the awful Q instead of bringing in the new Allroad. Looking at the new A6 it's nice, but no Allroad. I've had no problems, wonderful driving experiences (yes, there's the turbo lag thing, but you "adjust" ). The Allroad is a competent, accomplished vehicle from a mark that is a benchmark for the interior quality -- shame on Audi for not giving us the new Allroad.

Report Abuse

Family in CT

Joan Gill, 09/26/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have loved driving this car and find it is an adequate size for our family of 3; we have a 10 year old daughter. We feel very safe in it and love the power and performance of the 2.7T. We wanted to trade it in for a Volvo, as we're looking for a less expensive car; the '08 A6 avants are $55,000! Yikes! But when we went to trade it in, the Volvo dealer only wanted to give us $16,000. We're very disappointed with the fact that this car didn't hold it's value, even though it's been discontinued. We thought there would be a big demand for them!

Report Abuse

Do anything

onefastaudi, 12/07/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is such an amazing car, you can be flying down the highway at 120 mph in total comfort, then go offroading at 15 mph in the rocks and mud, go drive at 60 mph in the snow in total safety, and carry (inside) 10 feet long molding back from home depot. Very good canyon carver too. This is the ultimate SUV crossover. Does it all, does it well.

Report Abuse

Traded the 2.7 for the 4.2

mer2, 04/18/2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love this 4.2. 2.7 fun but a bit problematic...turbo lag, engine warning light never resolved. It was 2001 though, but mostly loved the car. So, this 4.2 is fantastic, the best features of the 2.7 but better. Full body color is beautiful, engine is a blast, interior is gorgeous and beautifully constructed, if you don't count cupholders. Can't praise this car enough.

Report Abuse

No Doubt I am Pleased

Adrienne Wallace, 03/19/2004
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th Audi. I lease every 3 years....I have never experienced vehicle let down. Additionally I have had the same salesperson for all 5 de

Report Abuse

love the car!!!!!!!

Michael Nicola, 12/27/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love this auto even more than my last Audi...these folks know how to please a cardriver.....would change very little if anything.maybe gas mileage. can't wait to see (and probably buy) the new Pike's Peak!!!

Report Abuse

The best Audi yet !!!

kjlade;riouiadsf, 09/18/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this allroad. This is my 2nd Audi and they keep making these cars better and better ...

Report Abuse

Amazing car

joey, 07/28/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Although the EPA rates this car's mpgs at 19, I found that by being gentle on the gas I could usually get around 25. This was the greatest car I ever owned. Amazing in the snow.

Report Abuse

Audi All Road

RichLI2, 09/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car Everything about is super first class. It is fun to drive, great looking. practical and a great alternative to a full blown SUV. It is all wheel drive, handles and drives like a luxury sedan and has all the utility of an SUV

Report Abuse

Swiss Army Knife of All Trades

RostyVyg, 09/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Who needs a SUV when car like this exists...

Report Abuse

allroadchuck

allroadsparky, 10/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have a home in Palm Springs and in Cripple Creek,Colorado.Spent the month of July in Colorado,and just drove the auto.Love it.Can it climb.

Report Abuse

allroad...allright!

Scott Z, 10/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is one beautiful car. The interior is outstandingly elegant and practical. The 2.7 is a sweet engine, but the turbo lag does take some getting use to. Build quality is very good to excellent, but does not equal the Japanese hi-qual cars. It's a delight to drive under all weather conditions. The styling has it all over the boxey Volvo wagon IMHO! The car doesn't need a V-8, even though one is now available. An upgraded chip for the V-6 adds another 65 hp! Fuel economy is not great, but the range with the 18.5 gallon tank is still good at 350 miles. The adjustable height suspension is a nice feature.

Report Abuse

amazed!

garyerichson, 11/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drove mercedes e class for last 10 years. I was amazed at the overall quality and attention to detail. Feels light, nimble and rock solid. Excellent performance. The perfect blend of luxury and utility.

Report Abuse

Who Needs an SUV?

5timeaudiowner, 01/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We swapped an A6 2.7T for the allroad. It is simply awesome... my wife doesn't ever want to give it up! Great acceleration, braking, steering feel, very comfortable, large cargo area, adjustable suspension, towing capacity. Love the beige interior. I get more looks driving this than my 2002 A4 avant w/sport pkg. I think its the wheels/flared arches and aluminum accents.

Report Abuse

Mostly good

rslau, 01/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car, but had problem with the auto trans; it was replaced within a few thousand miles on the car. The dealer was great in helping me with this problem. The car has had not problem after this, and it swifts must better with the replacement - the lag time between pushing on the gas & the car starting to move has improved. I would buy another allroad, but most likely with the 8 cyclinder. The exterior & interior design is extremely nice, though the seats can be a bit uncomfortable at time - not enough side support. It is altogether a great car to drive in both good & bad weathers.

Report Abuse

allroad

welling, 02/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

fun car to drive on the highway. The interior is great quality. The radio has wonderful sound and the controls have a good layout.

Report Abuse

A Car For All Seasons

williar, 02/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We chose this car because it is easy to get in & out of and is very prectical in everyday use. But unlike other wagons, it has a bulletproof full-time AWD system, a great ride, excellent handling, terrific performance, and an adjustable suspension that gives 5.6" to 8.2" of clearance. Reliability has been excellent, and the warranty covers everything for 4yrs/50K miles, including oil changes. A bit better offroad than a Subaru Outback, but rides like a Cadillac. Fuel usage averages 19 mpg; not bad for a heavy, powerful AWD car.

Report Abuse

you will like them all

tosh, 02/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my third Audi and they keep getting better. I am sold on the company and they stand behind thier product, but I have never had anything wrong. I have had this car lest than a year and have put many miles on it fast.

Report Abuse

best car I've had

jbengfort, 03/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fuel economy and mild drive-by-wire acceleration/transmission lag are the only drawbacks to this vehicle.

Report Abuse

pres

jonroe07508, 03/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

turbo lag bad bad fuel millage especially in city harsh ride over minor bumps esay to drive and fun to drive very well built

Report Abuse

Audi's the new standard!

Ardriver, 03/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After driving large American SUV's for 15 years, I thought I'd try something different. WOW! Fit, Finish, Power, Handleing, Acceleration AND AWD? what a package...

Report Abuse

Tires are the problem

dnwdeep, 08/03/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our third Audi wagon and second allroad. We are averaging 20 MPG in all kinds of driving. The car is fast and comfortable and has had few problems.

Report Abuse

what a car

afay50, 04/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the allroad I purchased rides like a luxury car with the speed of a sports car, it has everything in it from xenon headlights to esp(must read description from audi). automatic suspension high adjustment for different speeds and tiptronic trans. great car/wagon

Report Abuse

ALLROAD Built for the road

mhebert, 04/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded my BMW X5 for my Allroad, and I enjoy driving my Audi more. It has better road feel and the acceleration is comparable. I just finished a 1400 mi. road trip over 5 states, mountain passes, under many different road conditions, and I can report that there are very few autos that can match the performance, comfort, and utility of the Audi Allroad. It is one of the best cars I have ever owned!

Report Abuse

Love this car

murphwon, 05/05/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got the 6 speed O4 version of this car and I love it. Fuel economy is not great, although this bothers me more because of more frequent pit stops than because of the economy aspect. The car has had some growing pains with a noticable vibration in the steering wheel @ 60 mph and a slight clunk on severe left hand turns. But every day I look forward to getting into this car more and more.

Report Abuse

Perfect Car

nwPDXdriver, 06/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Needed a car for suburban driving and the trips to the mountains. Handles well in snowy cascade conditions. The adjustable ride hight is a nifty feature when clearance is needed. The seats are extremely comfortable and there have been no reliability problems except realignment once.

Report Abuse

excellent experience

audifan1948, 07/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great highway cruiser - We spend alot of time up and down I-95 from New York to Florida. Good amount of carrying capacity with the 2nd seat down. Look forward to more trips.

Report Abuse

Allroad 2001

H Varon, 07/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great in bad weather very stylish initial lag on V6Turbo Wipers leave spots of water on windsheld after spay would be interested to see how V8 responds would by anot

Report Abuse

Great Car

NWuser, 07/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Good all around car, perdect for people who are active in the outdoors and do not want a large SUV. A good sound system and clean interior make for a pleasant ride. More than enough power. Interestingly enough, since we bought this car, 3 others in our area have bought one and it is a common sight around NW portland.

Report Abuse

joy of driving

john melendez, 08/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I change a BMW-X5 2001 for this car.It has everything the BMW had plus I can used as a car when the hight is @ 4.8 inches. And as a SUV when the hight is @ 8 inches or so. Furthermore the gas saving compare a 13-17 to a 18-24mpg. Do not get me wrong I leve the BMW but a more money oriented me likes the allwheel allraod better. Now if BMW brings the % series Wogon n an allwhell mode. That will be topic for another conversation. Finally the audi does not have anything to fell sorry about the interors of the allroad they are great.. BUt the navegational system have room forimprovements

Report Abuse

Twin Turbo bliss

quattro-fan, 08/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My third Audi, this car is wonderful. Interior appointments are second to none. Seats are comfortable for long drives. Bose sound system is top notch. The car is quick and handles well for a big vehicle. Cargo space is excellent.

Report Abuse

Audi allroad

Jill H, 11/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I LOVE this car.....

Report Abuse

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome

Dan , 08/04/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the Audi All Road for my wife. I got the 4.2 engine for me. Hauls the family, all our gear, and it hauls fast! Beautiful with the solid body Black. Many looks driving this around.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050