Used 1994 Acura Legend Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$769 - $1,854

Used Legend for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love this car! Best $600 I ever spent!

David Johnson, 03/28/2016
LS 4dr Sedan
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my 4DR Legend LS from its original owner on Craigslist. It had 196K miles on it and needed head gaskets, which the owner was honest about, and the paint was a little faded. So I spent 2 weekends taking the heads off, and while I was in there I put in new belts, hoses, and a rebuilt alternator and starter from Napa. Contrary to other reviews, the engine does *not* need to come out of the car to do this. That was 4 years and 40K miles ago. To celebrate the fact that I'll probably own this car another 10 years, I had it painted for $1000 by another guy I found on Craigslist a few month ago and it looks like new again! I've driven it from Colorado to California, all over Colorado, Wyoming and Utah, in all kinds of weather, including ski trips to the mountains. It has never let me down and the performance is amazing for such an old car. Even my girlfriend loves it! Update: April 2017. Still driving this car every day. Had a small oil leak at the oil pump gasket over the winter, but it only took me 1/2 hour and a $4 O-ring to fix. No other problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

14 years old and looking great

SJB, 06/21/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I always was allured by the body style of the Legend. Even after the fact that it is a 14 yr old car the design is unsurpassed. The Legend was way ahead of it's time. I bought this car with 120k and the motor is as if it was off the showroom floor. It squaks the tires from 1st to 2nd gear, without me trying. It is luxury and sport wrapped into one. 'Nough said!!!

Report Abuse

Walking could not be cheaper!

David Dahbura, 02/14/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car after leaving my business card on the windsheild in a parking lot. The car was perfect despite the miles which did not scare me. It has been FLAWLESS, it has had the usual preventative maintenance done but otherwise NOTHING has ever needed repairing. My only gripes are the LOW (very low) front bumper which seems to catch on everything and has now been repaired countless times and the too low driving position, but in defense of the later, I think my age and bum knee are more to blame than the car. I have calculated my costs for this car which I paid $3,000 for, and I assure you, I could not have walked the same distance cheaper than this car has cost. I want another one ASAP

Report Abuse

Why did Acura Stop Making This?

alexgutfleish, 05/18/2011
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

I recently inherited my grandmother's 1994 Acura Legend, which only has 42,300 on the odometer. Overall the car is great, I love the handling, the acceleration, and the rear visibility is fantastic for a sedan of that size. The only things I dislike are the automatic transmission, which bucks when going from first to second. Also, the car does not get the best fuel economy and requires premium fuel, which isn't the best when gas is $4.20-4.50 a gallon. Finally, in terms of technology its "outdated" (It has a cassette player and no GPS). Other than that I love it. Great car!

Report Abuse

beware the Blown Head Gasket of Death

mannydantyla, 01/09/2015
LS 4dr Sedan
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

First off, this is a good car. Great styling, very powerful V6 engine, fun to drive, and (99% of the time) mechanically reliable. I never had to do any major repairs except the CV shafts and a thermostat. That was until THE HEAD GASKET WENT OUT. And, on these cars, that means the entire engine must be pulled out of the engine bay to get the heads off and replace the gaskets. NOT WORTH IT. The speedometer was broken, muffler was shot, door jam was not working, telescoping steering wheel was stuck in the most upright position, seats where worn to shreds, rust was forming, etc. And all of that at ~140k miles. Good car but didn't last long. Beware if buying.

Report Abuse

Amazing Car

Bacchus, 05/02/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 82,000 miles and have had virtually no problems. The car now has new a new radiator and belts, and she runs like a dream with 132,000 miles. The car is completely comfortable, with ample room in the front and rear seats. The controls are all very easy to use and aesthetic. I truely love this car. The only problems I continue to have is loosing track of my speed. I swear my Acura cruises more comfortably and quietly at 100 than most cars do at 60. I look forward to a new Acura in the future.

Report Abuse

Last Forever?

Order the Schnitzel, 06/10/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had only the most minor of problems with this car: the little plate at the top of the shifter that tells where the gears are fell off, I had to replace the radiator twice, everything else was normal wear and tear. Why would anyone want to pay upwards of $20K to get a new car? Is the GPS or XM radio that important? Get the portable versions for cryin out loud.

Report Abuse

Excellent car

Robert Marks, 04/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

excellent car...acura made a mistake when they quit making the legend.. although I hear its coming back

Report Abuse

Awesomeness

justASK1, 07/30/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has aggressive, yet smooth styling, and is very good-looking inside and out. Great for the value: I think the car is awesome. Many great features like heated leather seats, heated mirrors, 4 wheel abs disc brakes, fully automatic climate control, 6 disc cd changer, etc. Mileage is somewhat poor, but that's to be expected since the car weighs 3500 pounds and has a drag coefficient of .34 (not very aerodynamic even for a sedan). I believe the poor mileage is also due to the ambiguity of the 4-speed automatic transmission, and although the car has a lockup torque- converter, the fact that the engine was mounted longitudinally contributes to power losses in drivetrain.

Report Abuse

Best car ever owned

CarlD, 05/05/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 94 Legend GS from my father in law with 187000 mi on it. He kept it in top shape. Every service was done on schedule and at the dealer. I have since done the same and now have over 340000 mi on it. It is fun to drive and a great looking car. Acura needs to bring back the Legend. I have a 99 RL and enjoy driving the Legend more. Everything on the car works. Have only had to do normal repair work. Engine still strong and burns no oil and passes emissions with no problem. Love this car!

Report Abuse

An excellent, well-rounded car.

tractor, 01/28/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car really did give the owners about everything they could need when new, and even as old as it is, it still doesn't disappoint. I've added a few touches here and there like a new stereo system and a short shifter and exhaust and those keep the car fresh. It really is a joy to drive. It allows for a sporty character and 4-door practicality. This car will perform if you know how to shift the 6-spd. Also, a suspension and brake upgrade will keep you happy. Keep on top of maintenance, especially with the cooling system and you will be pleased!

Report Abuse

Still lovin' it after 6 years

cstien, 07/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We purchased our car as a 2-year old and still love everything about it, 6 years later. There have been no major mechanical problems. We chose the tone on tone trim package which was a great choice. I've notice that other '94 models with the black trim look tired compared to my color combo. The paint still looks great and with 123,000 miles on it, it still runs like a top. This is a keeper 'til the wheels fall off!

Report Abuse

1994 Acura Legend- buttery ride

Rickster, 07/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Get compliments every week on how good this car looks... from strangers. White is best color w/toupe interior. The buttery/smooth drive is really great. I have 150K+ miles on it. Needed new transmisssion last year, but that is uncommon. Acura dealerships really provide great service and good value.

Report Abuse

If you buy one, get the GS!!!

nickikingcobra, 08/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the finest automobile I have ever owned. I bought an automatic equipted sedan (only because the 6 speed is so hard to come by) and though I miss the smooth shifts that I experience in my Accord coupe, the 230 horsepower type II 3.2L V6 more than makes up for it. I love pulling up to stop lights and leaving unsuspecting sport-compacts in the dust! The car pulls hard and sounds great doing it. I much prefer the Legend to its replacement, the Acura 3.5 RL. The Legend GS feels much sportier.

Report Abuse

This is the BEST!!

slkman99, 10/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WoW! This car is utterly amazing! I'm a car dealer and I've driven other cars such as BMW 328i Sedan, Audi A4, Honda Accord, Mercedes E320, & Acura 3.2 TL (2002). NONE of those cars measure up to what the Legend offers. The Legend has quality that is UNSURPASSED! I have loved mine since day one and I have NO intentions on ever selling this car. Even if I win the lottery and become one of the richest people in America, I will still park my 1994 Acura Legend L Sedan next to my Ferrari F40 & Bentley Arnage Turbo in my garage.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Alik, 12/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best car of the 90's

Report Abuse

Easily my favorite car ever

legendsareborn, 07/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Of all the cars I have owned in my life, the Legend is my very favorite. I owned an L model prior to owning the faster, six-speed GS, and other than being only slightly less sporty, it was just as fun to drive, and equally reliable. I have owned a 5 series BMW before, and it equals the fun-factor of the Legend. Performance wise, the Legend beat the BMW though. Fun, very fast, and above all, the Legend, unlike a lot of Japanese cars, in my opinion, has loads of character, charisma, spirit. The stereo is simply astounding. I've never been so satisfied with a car before, and I am not interested in selling it.

Report Abuse

A Classic

JayGee, 08/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this certified used car from the dealer in 1997 with 30,000 miles. I now have over 100,000 miles, with no major problems. The reliability of this car is awesome. My only problem is rust. I have to take it to the body shop every spring to stop the cancer from spreading. As a result, it still looks beautiful, and it runs as well as the day I bought it. I plan to keep it indefinitely, because I just don't see any other car that I like as well for less than $50,000.

Report Abuse

Legendary

Legendary, 08/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Timeless looks, good from any angle. A smooth ride combined with good noise dampening takes your mind off of whatever traffic conditions you are in. Add to that an 8 speaker Bose sound system with an excellant climate control system and you are in driver's bliss.

Report Abuse

my first car

JDM 808, 10/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is my first car for me, i bought it with 128,000 miles on it. about 2 weeks later, the water pump wont out (common for that much miles). i tested it out 1/4 mile and it ran a 16.291 (btw: it's an automatic) with one mod to it, the performance chip and the top speed i've reached was 120.

Report Abuse

Legend Review

WWW, 11/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have 2 other friends with the same car and we all agree this is a great car. I will definitely buy another Acura if I ever need to.

Report Abuse

Legend Forever...and ever

dwinston, 12/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Legend has 145,000 miles now and I still can't justify selling it in spite of temptations such as the new 2004 Acura TL with 270 hp. The new car doesn't feel faster or better than my old Legend in spite of more cup holders. Darn it. I'm having to resort to looking at high $ cars with 350+ hp to even consider selling.

Report Abuse

Sweet, sweet car

Bob Rinkel, 11/01/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2nd Legend, 1st was a 88 coupe (loved it) that gave 185k spirited, trouble free miles. I have 120k on my GS (AT) and it feels as solid as a tank. At $42k new in 94, it is loaded with high (for 94 and today) technology and qty materials and parts. A few: dual piston front calipers, automatic traction control (really works on Colorado snow), pretensioners on seat belts, knock sensors so you can choose to burn regular (a little less power), excellent auto climate control, distributorless ignition, high qty, durable leather, and other interior material that look near new 11 years later. It's fast and easily moves away from 99% of other cars. It is cheap to keep and a tremendous used car value.

Report Abuse

A Legend Lover Forever

Sebi, 03/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had bought the legend on 05, 2002 at a local car auction. Previously i have owned 3 different cars, among my favorite is my 87 toyota camry. I have to say that this is the best car i have ever driven, i love everything about it. The interior is just beautiful, wood trim, big dials. The radio and cruise control 3-style buttons are right on the steering wheel.

Report Abuse

Best car I have ever owned !!!

Kelly Wood, 03/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love it. It handles great, will do 140 mph andget 23 mpg on the highway. I sell new cars. There is none on the lot that comes close to this car. I would have to buy a new Caddie STS to get close. Being it is 11 years old and still has its looks, it will be hard to replace.

Report Abuse

High marks for this car

GS_TWO, 04/02/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is wonderful. Lots of character, style, and performance. I agree with another post on this site, that the brakes are a little too light-weight for this car.The six speed Legend is legendary on performance, though. Highway cruising, accelerating, this car does it effortlessly. If you own one, hang onto it. This car may become a prized collector's item in twenty years or so. I'm not letting go of mine.

Report Abuse

The Legend Continues

Nick, 07/01/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car! Dont know why they stopped making them. Runs smooth. Car feels like it glides on the rode

Report Abuse

Wish Acura Still Made Them...!

cecurr, 07/12/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 1994 LS Sedan used in 1999 from Acura dealer with 52,000 miles. This is by far the most reliable and best built car I've ever owned or driven. The exterior design is timeless. The body and interior components are fitted superbly. The paint is as good as it gets. I have 101,000 mile on it now and it is as quiet and tight as the day i bought it. I've had to replace the master cylinder, but only routine maintenance aside from that. Great looks and great gas mileage (19 city / 24 highway). Everthing about this car is excellent and reliable. I see why it was named "Legend". I don't understand why Acura dropped it. Every time I drive it, someone asks if I want to see it.

Report Abuse

Beautiful But Hungry Car

Kamrul, 01/14/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in the summer of '05. The milage was 10800 when I bought it. This car is just awesome. Sharp design and very smooth engine. I don't know of any car this old and still drives so smoothly. However, I had to put a lot of money in it. Soon after I bought it, I had to replace the water pump and master cylinder (for brake) after I experienced over heating of the engine plus seal the leak in the rear differential. I also had to replace the shocks/struts as they were worn out. Well, for now the car is giving very good service. Other than spending so much behind the car I'm very with the car. I plan to keep this car until it completely breaks down.

Report Abuse

'94 Legend

ParallaX49, 02/19/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

An exceptional car. "Precision crafted performance" was completely acurate. This is a car that has lasted my family 12 years and still runs flawlessly. It has seen the garage next to it filled by four different cars over the years, but the Legend outlasted them all.

Report Abuse

What A Car

Pete, 10/05/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Came out of an 98 BMW 540i. Bought my Acura with only 65,000 on it in Sept of 06. Haven't looked back yet. What a classic design and the interior looks better and feels better than my BMW. I wish I could have had this car years ago.

Report Abuse

This one is a keeper

joey, 10/08/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car and comfortable to ride. I bought the car mainly because of its reputation for reliability, and so far so good.

Report Abuse

Truly a Legend

chip, 06/30/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new and I drove it into the ground (traded it in on a new TL). The Legend was a great car. It was traded in with 275,000 miles on it with only a few problems. The only reason I traded it was because I got hit 3 times in a 1 month period (none of the accidents were my fault). I am convinced that the electrical system started to have issues after getting in the first accident. I loved that car so much I actually want to buy another one.

Report Abuse

Best sedan ever

acuralegend94, 08/06/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car in summer of 2005 with 100K miles, have not spent a penny on repair work! It is rock solid, the best looking and the most comfortable Honda and Acura ever built. People are surprised to find out that it is a 14 year old car, the design is flawless and ageless, so if you keep your car in excellent condition, it will still stand out in the parking lot. I can't believe how many ugly new cars are out there! Mileage is pretty decent; I have averaged 30 mpg at 40-50 mph, at 60-70 mph it's 25 mph, and 80-90 mph is 21 mpg. It makes no difference putting 89 octane vs 91 octane, with 87 octane it seems a little slow, but engine doesn't knock at all. I use 89 octane most of the time.

Report Abuse

Great car

Joey Bobboly, 10/14/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car has a lot of power and comfortable to ride.

Report Abuse

Acura legend review

e28m30, 10/25/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car. The power is incredible. very fast. this car is very realiable no problems with the car. It has really nice smooth power steering maybe a little too much assist but very nice, the transmission is harsh shifting but it really feels great when really romping on the gas pedal. This car is 13 years old now but it hasnt aged a bit no rattles the body style doesnt look old. The car is really just well put together, Acura really used the best materials. Well besides the leather seats they seem a little too cheapy. But all in all the best car I have ever owned, I really love this car.

Report Abuse

One of best sedans ever built.

wilecoyotertcw, 05/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is one of the best looking body styles ever put into a sedan. The appearance of this car is timeless.

Report Abuse

Best Used Car Buy Ever

DHC, 11/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used (or rather certified pre-owned) with 41,000 miles on it. It now has close to 150,000 and shows no sign of slowing down. I originally bought the car because I needed a nice front-wheel drive car for long-distance driving in upstate NY which can be serious snow country in the winter. The car never let me down and provided an excellent ride along the way. Most Acura/Honda folks still lament that the Legend was replaced with the RL. Reliability has been superb with only basic wear items needing to be replaced (timing belt, brake pad/rotors, belts).

Report Abuse

One of my dream car

KA7 GS, 06/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th used car i owned 1st-3rd was accord 1990,1991,1992 4th car was prelude VTEC 1993 now I drive Legend GS 1994 I bought it use this year at has 126000 on the odo but since the previous owner take care that car like a baby, it run smoothly from IL to NY in 13 hours. and doesnt give me any problem till now.

Report Abuse

Very much a Legend

ESP, 05/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A great car all-around. Powerful, smooth, elegant-looking, luxuriant (even foe 2003, let alone for 1994), reliable, very well-made. A very satisying car to drive. The gas mileage (15-18 mpg in my experience of mixed driving) can be viewed as a necessary levy for the beautiful and pleasing ride offered.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Chuck, 03/27/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has to be one of the greatest cars ever made. I bought it in 2002 with 120k miles and have had nearly no problems. As long as you maintain it regularly, this car will last a long time. I'm still driving it to this day.

Report Abuse

Best car I came across!

Clo, 04/10/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has given me everything I could ever asked for! I am running on 300k miles and counting the only problems I have encountered are fuel pump relay, starter, and alternator! With that many miles what else can I ask for.

Report Abuse

Love my Legend

Becca D., 08/08/2016
L 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had the Legend L sedan automatic for 5 years now. It has been in several accidents and yet it keeps going strong. In the most recent accident we rebuilt the drivers front end cheaply and yet it has been more effective and reliable than my friend's 2012 VW hatchback. We've only done the most basic regular maintenance (oil changes, tire rotations when necessary) and it doesn't want to stop. It's clocked at 179k miles now (although I imagine it has more since the odometer wasn't reading when we bought it; turned out to be an easy & inexpensive fix by replacing a sensor). The only qualms I have are that the electrical system in my car is messed up. Lately I've only been unlocking on the passengers side because the alarm often goes off when unlocking on driver's side (unlock passengers side if this happens--I believe it is the master lock and will shut off the alarm). There is also an electrical leak somewhere, probably from my aftermarket cd player, because I've had to change the battery on it more often than is considered normal. It idles high when I cold-start it but this is fairly normal for a 20+ year old car. For awhile I considered trying to fix it (apparently this high idle is common problem on this model and requires some sort of a sensor), but decided it wasn't worth it as it doesn't affect car's performance. My Legend has a surprising amount of cargo space--I can't tell you all the things I've hauled in this vehicle. I suggest getting the recommended maintenance (belts and other regularly used parts) for this car as you go, it will save you money in the long run. This is a fun car to drive; a sleeper car if you will. It's got a great engine in it, its reliable, I never had a problem with head gaskets. It all depends on how its been maintained and driven during its lifetime--even then that isn't always an accurate way of gouging a car's abilities. My Legend is a trooper; its taken me all over the country and I will be sad when I have to retire it. There is a reason it was called a LEGEND. Also, for anyone interested: the RL replaced the Legend in 1996 so it's still there just a different name.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A true Legend-should bring em' back

UNITY, 04/19/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I may be biased but this car is phenomenal! Everyone who sees my car thinks it's a much newer model than it really is and I let them believe it. Even my mechanic is surprised at what good shape this 14 year old car is in. This car has torque. Parts are expensive but who cares 'cause if you take good care of it the car probably won't break down anyway. An all around good, stylish, dependable, comfortable, reliable car & girls love it. Thank you Honda.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050