Used 1999 Volkswagen Golf Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$769 - $1,798

Used Golf for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

1999 Volkswagen Golf

Curt, 02/22/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I love VW. The Golf / GTI are my favorite modelss. This 2.0L GL is decent at 115hp and zips me from place to place with great fuel economy. I bought it used from a dealership and got hosed by them. Within first week motor mount broke and they wouldn't pick up the bill. Oh well, after that it has been smooth sailing. I am very happy with this car's ride comfort and handling. I love to weave through traffic in my VW hatchbacks.

Report Abuse

A TRUE VOLKSWAGEN LOVER

TJMCKAY, 09/05/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You must be a true volkswagen lover to appreciate the smooth ride, great mileage, "too cool" exterior, and ample space this car provides! This was my 1st car and I still love it like as if I just brought it yesterday. It has never been in the shop for repairs! With the exception of a loose knob to adjust the passenger seat - my Golf is still delivering outstanding reliability and quality service.

Report Abuse

Nice Grocery Getter

mark, 02/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have had this car going on three years now and the problems seem to have leveled off. I have never seen a car with so many electrical failures and they keep happening, all of the power windows, power locks, brake light assemblies, window wipers selector switch just about any electrical assembly has failed in this car and when I tell VW about the problems they say "well it is 5 years old" I had a 16 year old accord with none of these problems. I have noticed now that people have similar problems with even the new ones. I have to say we are very disappointed and would not recommend buying one

Report Abuse

VW Automatic - gas hog

Ted C., 08/22/2005
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle, but with an automatic transmission it's a gas hog. My average highway mileage is only 28.8 MPG. I've had a few tanks in the low 30's MPG. The city mileage is around 20 MPG. I've had it checked by a garage twice and they didn't find anything wrong. Had it into a VW dealer once for another problem and the representative didn't think that 28.8 MPG for highway mileage for an automatic was out of line.

Report Abuse

It's a Lemon

Golf is a Lemon, 09/14/2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 1999 Golf was a lemon from when I bought it. Since that time the window has fallen out twice, I have spent more than $1,000 trying to get the air conditioner fixed, and $300 fixing the wind shield wiper system. Other things that have broken include the review view mirror, the radio, the glove compartment, the stick shift, the rear seat lock and the electrical system. It appears that most things are held together with plastic reflecting its Mexican assembly. I would not recommend this car to anyone unless they are a mechanic and will never buy a Volkswagen again.

Report Abuse

Great First Car!!

Nick , 03/31/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this Golf 2 door as my first car, and so far I love it! It is sporty and small, but roomy inside. Mine is dark blue with tinted windows, and that adds to the sporty look. I especially like the 5 speed manual! The manual is fun to drive, and gets you better gas mileage. Other than a quirky keyless entry system that randomly stopped and started working, the car is perfect with 90,000 miles on it.

Report Abuse

Do not buy this car

drs, 06/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is one of the worst cars (new or used) that I have ever owned. It has suffered from numerous repairs and dealer service is absolutely horrible. I have owned many VWs and I would now avoid a new one at all costs.

Report Abuse

Good Good

Dubber, 10/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a used 1999 golf GLS for me this car is exellent. I have no problems performance wise. There are a few minor problems such as the rear winshield wiper acts funny and some others but nothing crucial. This car is very fun to drive.

Report Abuse

The Golf is a

Logan's Dad, 11/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am very happy with my Golf. I bought it used with only 7500 miles back in 2000. The fuel economy is top notch. The looks are very stylish (especially when clean). When the back sets are down, it has a huge cargo area. I even used it to pick up a recliner from the furniture store! The only problems I have been having are the "check engine" light has come on 3 times in the almost 3 years I have owned it. Nothing major..just goes with the territory of owning a car, so I won't complain. VW service is very reliable and customer friendly. I would definitely get another VW (hopefully a Passat..if I win the lottery).

Report Abuse

4 years later....

RyanM, 07/31/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned the car for four years, and while it did have some initial quality issues (paneling falling off, malfunctioning instrument cluster) it has remained a fairly reliable car. The Wolfsburg is packed with all the gadgets (sunroof, power everything, CD changer, etc.) and I've had only one problem with these - that being a rear window that would stick. Overall, I would say that this car has been worth what I paid for it. Nothing more. Fortunately, and for whatever reason, they have a good resale value.

Report Abuse

This car is a dream come true

Golf-er, 11/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has got it all. The Wolfsburg Edition represents the very last batch of "old" Golfs. By the time it was made VW got the art and science of making the winning hatchback down-pat. Nothing breaks it - ever. It runs like a Swiss clock. On top of its reliability, the Wolfsburg Edition boasts *all* the gadgets you may ever want - a 6-disc CD changer, moon roof, everything that could be power is power, the steering wheel, the shift knob and the boot are wrapped in leather, etc.

Report Abuse

Gotta love it

LynchMan, 12/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car used with 34,000 miles on it, and it is the best car purchase I have ever made. I 'upgraded' to the Golf from a 1996 Neon, and the difference is unbelieveable - it is a luxury car compared to the Neon. It runs great, and is a blast to drive. I am now up to 40,000 and have had no problems or complaints (except for the cup holders - but a little hacking took care of that problem!) I mean, how can you go wrong with such a cool looking car that has so much zip, and can fit 18+ moving boxes in it, including the driver and a passenger? This car has definatly made me a VW/Audi convert. Maybe the next time around I will be able to afford a GTI... :)

Report Abuse

VW has made me believe...

thagley, 12/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very happy with my VW Golf after nearly four years. It's my first new car after college, and for the money it's been an excellent vehicle. I've had one or two issues, but the warranty or VW has helped me nearly every time. The only bad stuff happened when I took it somewhere else when it should've gone back to the dealer. I don't miss having power windows or four doors, as the standard features more than make up for that. Some people must have bad luck, because I've never had a problem so bad that I wanted to get rid of it. In fact, my wife's Camry is up next year, and we're already scouting which VW is going to replace it! VW has a fan for life in me.

Report Abuse

Not At All Happy

JEB, 01/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My experience with this Vehicle has been a nightmare from the start. 1 month after I purchased the vehicle, the air conditioning went. It took 2 months to fix and when I pick it up and drove off the lot, it broke again. Then a few months later, it broke for the 3rd time. That was just the beginning of trouble I have had with this car. The back seatbelt broke, the winshiel wiper fluid dispenser broke, the automatic door lock broke, the center console light has blow. I could go on. The car has been fun to drive, but the endless trouble I have had with it doesn't compare.

Report Abuse

I love Hatchbacks!

heffa, 08/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When you see the car you thing oh that car is so little. But you can fit five people pretty comforably in it and the back seat can lay down for when you have something big to haul or for a drive in movie. Not only that but it's really easy to put down the seats. The only thing i wish is that my cup holders were bigger. I get about 22-25 mpg in the city! I haven't got to test out the traveling mpg but i'm thinking about 8 to 10 more miles to the gallon.

Report Abuse

Golf

al step, 05/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Worst radio reception I've every had in a car. A lot of little things went wrong (fuses blowing out, engine warning light going on) and a big thing, air conditioner broke down at 60,000 miles.

Report Abuse

Stay away from Volkswagon Golf!

joe from new york, 05/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is awful. It's been in the shop constantly for so many problems I can't even remember them all. Some problems I just leave rather than fix because I'm tired of putting money into this car. Don't buy Volkswagon.

Report Abuse

HunkaJunk

Pixie, 02/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In the 11 months I have owned my late model car, I have sunk over $2500 into repairs! From failing power locks to broken power windows, a blown AC compressor, bad spark plugs and shoddy spark plug wires...the list goes on and on. I feel that I was really suckered into buying a lemon ... and now I'm stuck 'cuz I owe more than the car's worth with all the problems it has.

Report Abuse

Sensibilty, Reliability, and Fun

gary214, 07/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car, always fun to drive. It maybe a small car but it comes in handy when you need to fit 5 people in the car (without any complaints on space) or when you move from Florida to Texas and fold down the rear seats and load it up with all your stuff. Another plus is it's great 30 mpg that i regularly get. No matter how hard I drive it just keeps going!!!

Report Abuse

Fun to Drive

Rand, 03/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is fun to drive. What more can I say? The luxury package option (roof and alloys) makes owning the car more fun. Likewise, the GLS is very appealing because it sports excellent room for passengers and/or cargo without sacrificing fuel economy.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050