Used 2014 Toyota Tundra CrewMax Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$30,995 - $34,950

Used Tundra for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

It's a real truck folks!

tlmiller, 03/02/2014
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

Had a 2012 and loved it. Now I have a 2014 and I like it even better. I like my trucks to ride firm and have power to do it all. This delivers on both counts and is the best looking truck on the road. The interior is huge and functional with everything I need within reach. It'll pass anything but a gas pump, but that's what a real truck can do. I drove them all and the others drove heavy and soft to me. I don't need a car ride. If you're looking for a "TRUCK", this is the one for you.

Report Abuse

This is what American (Texas built) quality is all about

harddriver1965, 05/15/2015
SR5 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Details: 5.7L, CrewMax, TRD Purchased 3/2014 Mileage: 16000 Best way to describe this truck is a 3/4 ton in a 1/2 ton package. It has all the capability of any gas 1/2 ton on the market with the added reliability of Toyota and proud Texans to stand behind it(Built in San Antonio, TX).

Report Abuse

Best full-size truck on the market.

btinaz, 01/02/2015
SR5 FFV 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
37 of 40 people found this review helpful

The 5.7 v8 s a great motor. On paper it gets an mpg or two less that Ford & Chevy (forget Ram...it's a Fiat now) but with the cost of a similar setup (crewcab, 4x4 and most powerful motor) the cost of the Tundra was several thousand less than the others so you still end up paying less when calculating all of this in. The truck has great power at any speed-destroys Ford/Chevy in passing. I have about 15k miles on it now and have had zero problems unlike what is reported from Ford, GM & Fiat owners. Test drive this truck before making a decision to purchase the others - you won't be disappointed. And to put a final shine on it the truck is build in TX without the UAW shtank wafting from it. UPDATE 7/3/2017. Three and half years of owning /driving and the only time I have been inconvenienced was a dead battery- have had zero mechanical issues. Still wouldn't trade it for any other full-size UNLESS I was not going to put more than 10k miles per year AND only to go with a top trim level where other makers start to outshine the Tundra. For SR5 4x4 level trim the Tundra is still the smart, reliable purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not at the mechanic shop anymore

Kyle, 03/20/2016
SR5 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is the best truck. I've had fords Chevy and dodges and they all stink compared to this truck. Only negatives to this truck is gas mileage and the seats stain easy if you don't have leather. The gas mileage cost is made up through not having to pay the mechanic for repairs

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Like the Tundra

bretn, 09/26/2014
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Overall I like the Tundra, have a 6"lift on it and it looks nice. The turning radius is not quite what I would like it to be. Like someone else said, the carpet is a little thin, which means it will wear fast, if you don't put some liners in. The back seat is the roomiest I have ever seen (the kids like it better). We have had other Toyota's and have been pleased with the overall satisfaction. The stereo could be a little better, I like my music loud and its not loud enough, though the sound is good. Power booster maybe?

Report Abuse

5 stars however not 100%

Florian Barbu, 09/06/2016
1794 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

All in all a fantastic ride. Great truck, reliable, good looking and spacious. There are 2 small things that did not let me go for a 100% satisfaction rating. The plastic door covers feels and looks bad in comparison with the entire interior. The cherry on the cake is the fact that speakers are either not sealed perfect in place or that plastic is not overlapping close over the holding screws. The bass vibration from the stereo is so bad and it does not matter if the bass is off and treble high you can still don't get the sound this car's entertainment system should give you out of those speakers. So if your plastic covers and sound is not your thing 100% will love it. I did, don't get me wrong however I for a premium price i was expecting a premium car. Almost.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Truck Yet

brett42, 04/13/2015
SR5 FFV 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I love this truck. It pull like crazy, handles my trailer plus a load without any hesitation over Colorado passes to boot. It's the most comfortable truck I have ever owned..had Fords since I could drive..40 years! The 4.3 rear end is the best and while a little better fuel economy would be nice, by far I prefer the power. All my Fords except my 68 with a 390 cid were under powered. This thing loves to tow. The room in the bed is excellent and the way the seats fold up in the back for more room is brilliant. Some reviewers whine about no brake controller..I say get over it. I like the one I got to choose by myself. The install took 10 minutes..big deal!! I love this truck and won't go back.

Report Abuse

Dependable, Reliable, Thirsty

beaverfood, 04/12/2014
Limited 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
10 of 16 people found this review helpful

I wish the new ones (2019) got better gas mileage, and had Apple Play, but I'll be getting one anyway. This time it will be a 1794. This will be my 3rd Tundra. I'll be moving my snowplow to the 1794. In the past, I've owned 2 F-150's, and 4 or 5 Silverado's. All had problems, with the last Silverado having 5 complete electrical failures. I also had a Chrysler product somewhere in the past, that had serious rust issues after just 2 years. So, I feel I'm buying the best in a Tundra. I also own a 2016 RAV4.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New 1794 Tundra

thepieman, 10/08/2013
182971 of 365853 people found this review helpful

Bought the new 1794, the truck is a masterpiece, I have a 2013 work truck Tundra and the interior of this truck was dated, the improvement is needed and has been thought out well, the voice activation is good although it takes some getting used to, but saves having to take your eye of the road to press buttons on a screen. The sat nav works well and a nice touch is that when you get close to a turn, you get a display on your drivers screen console. The engine is the same, it is a lovely powerful motor, but it likes a drink! The build quality seems top class, although the carpet is a bit thin and not the quality it should be. The ride is the most comfortable i've driven.

Report Abuse

Too much missing and poor fuel economy

customsmn, 07/24/2014
1794 FFV 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
17 of 36 people found this review helpful

2014 Tundra 1794 edition. The more I drive it the more disappointment in what is missing from Toyota's highest line truck. Since newly designed for 2014 I expected more than what you get. No push button start as on most toyotas, keyfob not linked to memory seats, no lane change turn signals, no trailer brake controller, you can add aftermarket, just looks like an add on, only two door switches are lit, not even memory switches lit, no power lock on tailgate, no default for in call volume on bluetooth phone and even when on MAX setting not great, no rain sensing wipers, slow GPS nav. LED lights front not back,Good truck but could use some updated equipment. Update, I see that the newer Tundras have corrected some of the missing items I think should be on a high line vehicle but many are still missing and EPA mileage remains the same. Mileage remained the same until sold in Sept 2016. Very disappointed that the 2018 model though getting the Toyota safety package will still have the same gas guzzling engine and still not even get the touch start with proximity key. Toyota builds a good truck but needs to step up its ability to offer current technology when it becomes available instead of waiting years to add it. Traded the Tundra for 2018 Tundra, still think they are a great truck but still lack too much. Electronic safety has ben updated and new fancy LED headlights but tail lights remain old style bulbs. Still no proximity key or push button start or no adjustable pedals. Fuel mileage remains less than stellar at about 14 overall average, within the posted Toyota limits but I believe they can do better.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

More options would be nice

Jay Marean, 11/11/2015
SR5 4dr CrewMax SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great truck, will do anything you ask especially off-road and towing. Toyota needs to offer some more features on higher end models such as a heated steering wheel, adjustable pedals and adaptive cruise. Also I wish Toyota would add some different axle ratios such as a 3.55 or a 3.31 to give the customer the ability to get better gas mileage while sacrificing some towing ability that he/she would never need. Overall great truck and value with Toyota's legendary reliability and dependability as well as resale especially for the price compared to other manufacturers like Ford, for example a fully loaded platinum Tundra is about 52,000 and a fully loaded platinum f-150 is about 63,000 so great value for price. Overall Toyota is a innovative manufacturer that should step up their game a little and more options for the consumer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

had Chevy before-- this truck rocks...

sienna, 08/06/2015
1794 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The 1794 edition is a better value, and higher quality than similar versions by GMC and Chevy. We liked that it's made in Texas opposed to the Silverado and Sierra which are made in Mexico. It tows amazingly! Super, solid truck! It's 3 years old, still sounds brand new.... No rattles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Most Reliable Truck on The Road

David Lee, 11/17/2016
1794 FFV 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love my Tundra. I brought this truck brand new in Febuary 2015. I have the 4WD 1794 Edition and it is Luxury Vehicle that is capable of handling all of your everyday needs. The gas mileage is not as great as other full size 1/2 ton trucks in its class, but I didn't expect great gas mileage for a truck this size. I average about 13 miles per gallon and I do mostly city driving. The Crewmax Tundra cab is the most comfortable Truck out there. I can drive with my seat all the way back and a person with long legs can still sit comfortably behind me. And the 1794 interior is Lexus quality. Everyone who gets in my truck for the first time is amazed at how nice the interior of this truck is. My only complaint is all controls should light up at night, especially the mirror controls. This truck is absolutely the best on the highway. I put a tonneau cover on the bed and when we go on a family vacation we are able to fit all the luggage in the truck bed with no problems and all 5 of us can sit comfortably in the cab and stretch out. The only complaint I have about my truck is the ride is not as comfortable as some of its competitors. You tend to feel every bump in the road. As far as reliabilty, I brought the Tundra over the Ram, Silverado, and F-150 because Toyota has the best reliabilty hands down and Toyota also has the best resale value. I have a friend with a 2010 with 160K and his truck has not given him any problems and I am expecting the same results from my 2014.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2014 Tundra

Tj, 04/21/2019
Limited 4dr CrewMax SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

If you're looking for a good pickup that is comfortable and nice for a family, this is it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mechanically Sound with minor issues

Andy , 01/20/2020
Platinum 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I sold my 2007 tundra to get a 2014 Platinum edition. The truck is as if not even more reliable than my previous truck. However, this version has giving me issues with small things such as the sunroof, radio, power door locks, and the front door card material just rubbing away. Other than that, very please with the truck. This is my 8th Toyota.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Toyota Quality? plus Toyota Don't Care!

William C. Nasburg, 09/08/2015
1794 FFV 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 8 people found this review helpful

I had a 2011 Tundra Double cab SR5 with TRD package. Wonderful truck. However, when the new style came out for 2014 I purchased in 2/14 a crew max, Limited with TRD package. First off, a 26 gallon tank is not large enough for the amount of fuel the 5.7 engine uses. Secondly, the fuel gauge is not accurate,along with the oil pressure gauge. Now there is NO transmission temp gauge. Bluetooth audio is very poor, even with the JBL system with NAV. and when you have the volume up at a good listening level, the door panels start buzzing. With the 2014 model in the Limited trim, there is no longer a power passenger side front seat. As far as I am concerned, Toyota cheapened the Tundra and the quality they boast about is not on my truck. On August 8,2015 with 10,600 miles on the truck , the windshield cracked at the top and continued to toward the passenger side. I notified the dealer and they refused to do anything about it. I notified Toyota Care and I have heard nothing back in over a month. THIS IS MY LAST TOYOTA!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lease buy out

azucena yanez, 03/07/2018
Limited 4dr CrewMax SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I had the greatest experience buying out my lease at Toyota town. I always recommend my family and friends to Toyota Town. Thank you for take care of me and family.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bold and Beautiful

Raymond mahnke, 02/10/2018
SR5 FFV 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Outstanding reliability looks. Best back seay in the market today milage is very is about the same if not better when a competitor is in similar dress. Matter of fact highway driving milage is better then advertised. Everybody has rushed to catch up to the tundra. I would even suggest that some loyal f series drivers give the tundra a try. This is bu far the most durable reliable truck on the market bar none

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

gives up out of the box

greg ice, 10/31/2015
1794 FFV 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 17 people found this review helpful

had a 2007 crew max / brand new my best truck EVER {RED}(I LOVE) 2/2015 new 4runner hits me stopped vs 65mph new tundra 2015 had a sr5 got a sr5 had tow pkg /na had red / na back seats folded down (I could stack material into the cab with the window down) / seats fold up and back of rear seat sits 3 inches above window so [non-permissible content removed] rests on the seat or not at all had a gas gauge (350 miles) / miles to empty 320 24 gls max ever / 20.10 max ever fill ups? its a 26.7 gal tank hiding 6 gals? dual climate cup holders overhead storage all gone because they want to be like a ford they want the ford shoppers and now I want a ford go figure oh when it rains that [non-permissible content removed] fake scoop in the hood makes a puddle??

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050