Used 2010 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab Consumer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10 reviews
List Price Estimate
$5,742 - $8,521

Used Tacoma for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.75 out of 5 stars

Good lil Truck

tacoma nerd, 09/07/2010
2dr Regular Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I downsized from a full size truck with a V8 to the single cab Tacoma 4 cylinder - I lost interior room but gained great resale value and good exterior styling. The 2.7L has plenty of power for everyday use plus good fuel efficiency, averaging around 22MPG. I got the stripped down model w/ manual transmission - which is fun to drive around town and felt a lot smoother than the Automatic transmission. Overall very happy to be back in a Tacoma.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Great truck

DB, 08/01/2010
2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My 1st truck was a 1993 Toyota 2wd pickup, I4 5 speed. I loved it, would probably still have it if the engine had not died (mechanics fault). After driving Corollas for years I bought this brand new. It runs great, I now have ~ 7000 miles on it and with my driving (mostly highway 65 mph) I get 28 MPG! Its very comfortable, good power. There is a lot of noise from the drive train but that doesn't really bother me. My biggest favorite is the size of the truck, much bigger than my 93. This is a very basic truck, not a lot of stuff to go wrong, the main reason I bought it.

Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Why the following?

Robert, 05/20/2016
2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

Have owned my Tacoma 6 years. Base model. I hope the resale is good that will be the only thing I would like about this truck. I am a full size guy 230lbs and the seat has not held up very well. Lower back and rear end support are no longer there. I don’t know where all the 159 horses are when trying to maintain highway speed on modest uphill grade. I would expect much better fuel economy with this type performance. Pay load capacity is pathetic therefore I cant consider this a truck. 800lbs is dangerous. 5 to 600lbs of gear and dirt bike with a crosswind will make for a white knuckle drive and that’s after the addition of helper spring. Think about it, there are cars that you can put more in the trunk. However the truck has been reliable but I will not buy another. I do believe the following comes from Toyota's past reputation. Still have the truck and will not buy another, Not sure what the payload capacity is but cant be more than few bags of groceries.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3.88 out of 5 stars

So far, so good!

CBinSantaCruz, 09/02/2010
2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2WD 4 cyl 4 speed auto Toyota Tacoma in June of 2010. I've had this car for three months and have driven 7000 miles. I have two purposes for this truck. One is a daily commuter driving about 50 miles a day. The other is as my weekend warrior toy carrier mostly for car camping. As a commuter it works great. I get about 22 mpg in traffic going up a 4k ft mountain and back down the other side. As a weekend toy carrier it also performs well. I frequently drive on dirt roads and even with the 2wd it has performed well. I did get stuck in some sand once which made me want the 4wd. But I don't feel the extra money the 4wd costs is worth it for the type of driving I do.

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

My 3rd Tacoma

Bill Lawson, 11/06/2009
2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Tacoma, this is my 3rd one. My last Tacoma, I owned for 11 years. It never broke down or had any problems except a thin layer of rust in the usual places. (WD-40 stops rust) I was forced to sell it due to a career change. But after a year without a truck I just had to buy another one. This one is quiet and smooth riding. No need to dodge pot holes, it takes bumps real well. I put about 1400 miles on it so far. I get 23 MPG in town. That seems a little low for a 4 cylinder but comparable trucks are not any better.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great little truck

Pete, 06/04/2010
2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second Toyota pickup. This one is leaps and bounds over the 1993! Better space, better capacity, better gas mileage. I've been getting 25 MPG consistently in mixed driving. This pickup handles loads in it's weight class well, and handles loads above its range well enough when needed.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

23.5 mpg in four wheel or not, air on or not.

Robert Pickard, 01/20/2017
2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

look at the head lights if you buy this truck used. not that there's a problem with them, but the dealer ran mine thru a car wash and cracked them and I hadn't noticed til I got it home. (too late) also I would be very careful waxing it. the dealer detailed mine with wax. what a terrible job they did( got it all over the cladding). no problems with the truck its self just watch your dealer. Still have not had any problems with truck. Been through some very rough terrain in the past two hunting seasons. I don't abuse it while going through the ruts and swamp (rock crawl speed only) and I have yet to find anything that will stop it. I have been through stuff that my buddies with their Jeeps would not even attempt. All at a slow rock crawl speed. Love this truck!!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great truck!

Tstowell00 , 05/16/2020
PreRunner 2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great little truck!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

My first truck

Brandon, 02/18/2010
2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Well I purchased this truck after my first car (1996 Mustang) finally was a endless money pit. I had the mustang for 7 years. After alot of research I wanted either a F-150, which I couldn't afford new, or a Tacoma. I was impressed by the Tacoma's looks and its mid-sized flavor. The regular cab is decent size and the auto transmission is ok. I wish the truck was more aggressive. The tires look tiny and don't fill the wheel well. I'm taking it in for it's first oil change this weekend. The silver color looks cool. I don't like the plastic bed or wimpy leaf springs out back but with a budget truck I guess I couldn't ask for more.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Wish I could love the Taco, just like it

TacoMan, 03/23/2010
PreRunner 2dr Regular Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

If it weren't for the -terrible- tires and the dealer's even more disappointing response to the problem (feels like out of round tires @ highway speeds), I'd love this truck. I bought what I wanted and kept it simple. 2x4 Prerunner, SR5, 5-speed. Guess I'm gonna have to buy new wheels/tires, 'cause at this point I think the actual wheels are unbalanced. Oh, well!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050