Used 1996 Toyota T100 Extended Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,139 - $2,398

Used T100 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Tale of Abuse and Durability

jb420, 03/26/2012
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I purchased it having been totaled, none of the damage repaired, zero maintenance done while pulling a contracting trailer every day for several years. I straightened the frame, replaced front suspension a-arms and installed a junkyard rearend, changed all fluids, timing belt, and water pump and proceeded to use this truck to commute up and down one of the steepest roads in the Wasatch range of Utah for several years. I then towed several heavy trailers across the rockies and cascades and proceeded to use the truck to access surf spots along the washington coast for several years...frequently driving in sand/mud/ and deep snow. It has 200K on it, is uglier than your mom, and runs like a top

Report Abuse

Sat for years.....

toyolawyer, 03/31/2011
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Recently got my 1996 T100 SR5 back on the road again after sitting in the driveway for 6 years. I couldn't bring myself to sell it. Fought my wife to keep it. Glad I did. I had to replace the starter and battery, to get it running again but mechanically it runs great. Forgot how much I liked this truck. I drove an element for a while, but gave it away to a family member and decided to drive my truck again. Its got 160K miles on it, but runs like new. I was surprised/relieved that the AC works great still.

Report Abuse

T100 SR5 4X4

Nick, 11/06/2006
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This truck is great. I added michelin LTX tires and front bilstein shocks, and wow what a difference. These trucks have had problems with front brake rotor warpage, so I put on a set of cryo power slot brand rotors and hawk severe duty/towing pads. The truck is now complete. I love the ride, handling and stopping power. Not a heavy hauler, but a super family vehicle.

Report Abuse

No better truck....for the $$

toyolawyer1, 10/16/2002
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought a Toyota after watching a couple of my crazy friends drive their Tacomas into the ground and they still kept going and going...Toyota is unbelievable. Next time you are watching a discovery channel show and you see some guy driving a truck in the outback..or in the desert...or in some place far away...chances are it is a Toyota...When an expedition team decided to cross the South Pole with a vehicle, what did they pick? A Toyota Landcruiser...super decked out...When you see cars broken down on the side of the road...chances are it is not a Toyota....Toyota Rules...

Report Abuse

Whata Bang 4 da Buck!

cubanrummy, 10/04/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After careful researching, getting carfax(s), reading the forums, & looking at several T100's, I found this nicely cared-for gem w/126K miles w/the V-6 head gasket recall work done by a Toyota dealer with the previous owner. This truck drives like a car with a very tight turning radius. Front cloth seats are quite comfy even without lumbar support, all interior materials are excellent quality, plus the HVAC system works really well. All T100's were built in Japan by Toyota subsidiary Hino (they make BIG trucks & buses) & they were over-engineered to be rugged & tough...this vehicle was way under-rated & under-sold in the 90's...a real sleeper; I recommend it highly, & glad I got one.

Report Abuse

Greatest of all Time

longhorns209, 10/19/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This was the best truck I have ever owned. My dad bought it brand new in 1996. It was the best money could buy back then it had all the bells and whistles. We took this truck hunting and 4-wheeling and nothing could stop it. In high school I out 4-wheeled everybody and people were so irritated because they had newer trucks with lift kits and big tires and I showed them all up. This truck got me to college and back for two full years. My pickup was recently totaled in an accident and sadly the insurance won't give me what it is really worth. This was the best truck I have owned or ever will own. This truck never skipped a beat in 15 years I will never own something this good again.

Report Abuse

Had great luck

dave, 05/26/2009
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Replaced radiator, starter, alt, ujoint, timing belt. Have 210000 on her and she's still running great...

Report Abuse

Shoud I stay or should I go

mik, 12/16/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The new tundras are tempting, and I am struggling with the idea of staying with the T or moving on. I have been extremely happy with the old girl, with only the shoulder harness retention problem, pesky wheel stop noise, and occasional door lock issues as chronic problems after 118k miles, all logged going up and down the eastern seaboard. The last toy i owned was the 92 4WD pickup, and that was still going strong at 130k miles at trade-in. I owned fords and chevys before these two, and I will never go back.

Report Abuse

Worth it

Montana Mike, 07/25/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my T100 SR5 4x4 used in 1999 and have put 70K on it including two trips to CA. Very comfortable, even for a 6'3" knuckledragger like myself. No rust like the old days on Toyos and the plastic doesn't crumble under use like American trucks. The automatic tranny is good for hauling alto I'd prefer a stick. It has all the specs of a Tundra without a gas-guzzling V-8 and four doors without the price tag. Have owned T's for 20 years and plan to continue. Why can't the "Big Three" make vehicles like this?

Report Abuse

T100

Ted, 12/31/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought it new in 1996. Best truck I've ever owned. Never left me stranded. Sporty for a truck. Good acceleration for a 6. I've pulled a 19' fiberglass boat all over Fla in the summer heat and the tranny stills shifts like new. Can't beat Toyota.

Report Abuse

Last of the true Japanese trucks!

peterD, 02/04/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Like so many here, I originally wanted to buy a Tundra but the T100 fits my needs perfectly. Tight turning radius, torsion bar suspension gives a controlled taut ride. Excellent fuel mileage with 19 city and 22 hwy. It can haul anything I need, Automatic transmission has a legendary bullet proof record, Dated interior yes, BUT its been perfected so no problems. Cupholder is interesting and most hate it. I love it, Its sturdy and can hold anything I want it to and its easy to get to. Stock speakers are excellent, Bench seat is comfy and not as high as the Tundra. Much better payload than Tundra ( 2150 pounds!) You don't find many for sale because no one wants to sell!

Report Abuse

300k plus!!

cromjue, 09/20/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Can't get the thing to stop running! This truck has had very little done to it over the years (since 97' when purchased new) other than routine maintenance.....just can't say enough about how great this vehicle has been!

Report Abuse

SR5 S/B V6 4X4

bobbyz, 08/09/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I'm 6'4" and bought my T100 in late '96. In 10 yrs and 130K miles I've replaced the clutch and the rear end and the rear end was more than likely my own fault for not keeping up on it. The only flaws in it are the driver door remote open stopped working the 2nd yr and the same seatbelt problem as everyone else although it does retract, you just have to help it. And of course that annoying steering stop noise. But other than these couple of things, the good has far outweighed the bad. I have several vintage cars and trucks including a 41 chevy P/U and a 70 chevy 4x4. The t100 4xs great and fits right in at home. I wouldn't get rid of it for anything. No reason to, we love it. Reliable as can be!

Report Abuse

Love this Truck, Love this Truck

Long term driver, 11/18/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned this truck since 1997 and it has 140,000 miles on it. I think that this is the best truck Toyota has ever made and the improvements in recent Toyota trucks have not driven me to want to replace it. The size and mileage are great for the year and power (avg. 16 w/ 18 highway) for a 2 mpg improvement on recent models why shell out the extra 30 grand. This truck has spent its time in heavy snow, off road (really sketchy stuff) hunting, hauling wood and driving cross country multiple times. It is a great truck.

Report Abuse

T100 gets a One-Hundred Score!

Ed, 12/02/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck is amazing. Bought it a couple of years used in 1998 with 27,000 miles on it. It now has 227,000 miles and still going great. Just regular maintenance, oil changes, timing belt replacements, etc., keep it running well. Only repairs have been: head gasket replacement (a Toyota recall item right after I bought it), replaced shocks about 1 year ago, repl. front rotors about 2 months ago, repl. radiator and 3 hoses about 2 years ago, repl. front O2 sensor, repl. door straps, repl. driver side door handle about 1 month ago. It pulls my 19' boat with 150HP outboard motor on a single axle trailer with no problem (used to tow 22 footer!).

Report Abuse

Great truck the T100

Liz, 07/09/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My husband and I purchased our truck brand new in June of 1996. We pull a 20ft ski boat and a 2 horse trailer with it and have never been disappointed. We are very glad we got the 4WD which has been great in snow. It has never let us down in 13 yrs. To be honest, I like my truck better than the new Tundras, both in appearance and driveability.

Report Abuse

fairly pleased

notimpezzed, 11/24/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought it new in Oct. 96. While it has been a generally good vehichle, I have had problems with the engine. The head gasket needes to be replaced at 17,000 miles and again at 49,000. The gas milage was good at first but has steadily gotten worse and worse over the years. I now get less than 13 mpg in city driving- worse than most V-8's! The compression is low in one cylendar. Mechanic says it will cost $600+ to replace the head gasket again and potentially much more if it needs a rebuild. The engine does have 112,000 miles but what about all the 200,000, 300,000 mile stories you hear about Toyotas? Not going to happen here.

Report Abuse

A Great Truck

JBlove, 03/20/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck at an auction. It had 90,000 miles at the time and has over 140,000 now with absolutely no problems. I think about getting a new one but this one runs great. I intend to put 200,000 plus miles on it...

Report Abuse

1996 Toyota T-100 auto

matt, 11/29/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned everything from a GMC 3/4 ton diesel to a 2000 Civic Si and this is the most fun to drive. Needed a vehicle for college, drove it for 15min and bought it. I will own this truck till the wheels fall off. Best truck I've ever owned hands down.

Report Abuse

Unbelievable reliability

aaron, 01/08/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

162,000 miles and I've replaced nothing but one timing belt (routine) and a U-joint. This truck looks the same year after year and there are only a couple very small rust spots starting around the wheel wells that never seem to get any worse, even with the NY winter road salt. Eleven years old and 162,000 miles and I would not hesitate to drive this thing across country and back. It's been an excellent truck.

Report Abuse

Best truck I have owned

tuxt100, 08/14/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck a year ago and have had no problems at all. this truck is fun, stylish, and dependable. i am at 149,000 miles and the truck is still good and strong. I think this is the best truck TOYOTA has made. I gave my wife my 2008 mustang to get this truck. This will be the last truck I ever buy. I am going to drive it till it falls apart.

Report Abuse

Amazing!

krebbers, 12/02/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the most amazing truck ever, and I have driven or rode in every truck made at least the front runners. Quite frankly, there are no front runners compared to this truck. It has been across the country and back so many times I stopped counting. The only major thing, except for me crashing it, was the head gasket recall. Toyota stepped up to the plate on that one and did the right thing. The truck still looks great and with over 200K it still runs perfect! Wish I could afford to put cool rims on it.....! I will be the only owner, not to sound selfish....lol

Report Abuse

Tundra's Daddy

Michael McAllister, 07/04/2019
SR5 2dr Extended Cab SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I owned a T-100 for over 23 years, 220,500 miles. Very few problems over the years. AC still runs cold. Cassette deck still works. No engine problems - other than the rear engine seal being replaced a couple of times. I didn't run it as a daily work truck, but I did haul furniture, gravel, mulch (2 yards fit nicely), wood, debris, kayaks, etc. Full size bed - sheets of plywood and drywall fit. Reliable, comfortable, and the right size. Easy to drive, manuver, and park. My T-100 was T-boned on the passenger side of the truck last year. The door was smashed in, along the the extended cab and a portion of the front and rear fenders. No interior damage to the cab or bed. The power antenna still worked! The cost of repairs is leading me to sell the truck, otherwise I would have kept it. Great truck.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What happened ?

hthomas, 02/21/2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought with 70000 miles in '99, enjoyed every minute of ownership until the end. Changed oil religiously, timing belt changed at 65,000 & 120,000, performed regular Ttrans & coolant services, basically followed owner's manual. What more could I do, right? What I'm getting to is head gasket failure that led to cylinders 3 & 6 getting "burnt" (mechanics term) at 158000 miles. Quite disappointed I am in the Toyota product. If I follow recommended maintenance shouldn't I get at least 200000 miles out of a Toyota product? Quite irritating to take such good care of a vehicle, internally & externally, and have it cough up an engine this soon. Thanks Toyota.....

Report Abuse

Great Truck

225,00 & Still Going, 12/31/2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my truck from an individual in '97 with only 18K miles on it. My truck now has 225,000 plus and still going. My only regret was I wished it was an automatic. I'm tired of shifting after 11 years. Toyota should have never stopped making this truck. It is perfect. If you take care of it the truck will take care of you. I would buy this model again if it was still on the market. Maybe Toyota will bring it back!

Report Abuse

Best purchase

Butch, 03/09/2002
1 of 178728 people found this review helpful

I love the styling,looks,reliability all around good truck.

Report Abuse

What a great truck!!!

jocul123, 04/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned my two wheel drive SR5 Xcab T100 for over a year now. It is truly a pleasure to drive. I have 85000 miles on it, and it drives like new, Actually it is so smooth and quiet that it is like a nice sedan with the versatility of a full size truck. I have the V6 engine with automatic transmission. I get 23 mpg around town, and 27 on the freeway. I wasn't expecting that. The engine is really strong. I would like to think that this truck will last me a very long time.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

DanielE, 02/28/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have owned since Dec, 2005. Purchased at 148,000 miles. Now, running the truck with 168,000 miles and haven't had a problem the last three years. Living in a hot desert valley, the paint started to fade away but just got done with a brand new paint job a month ago. Will reach 200,000 miles.

Report Abuse

T100SR5 2WD is the best combination

T100KLX, 06/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For 99% of people this is the right truck. It gets exceptional gas mileage, I get about 7MPG better than my Dad's similar Ford, and the same as my brother's 95 S-10 2WD! The quality is better than any domestic truck! Get the SR5 if you intend on doing any towing. If you want to maximize fuel economy just keep the tires properly inflated, although if you opt for the better spark plugs that helps too. I've got 120k on mine and it still runs like new. If you don't need the rear doors choose a used T100 over a Tundra any day.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Bailey, 01/18/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck new 6/20/96. I had owned several fords & chevys, heard a lot of good talk about toyotas so I bought the T100. It has been the best truck I have ever had. At about 15000 miles had head gasket recall, after that just normal maintenance, timing belt, and one set of front disc brake pads. Paint has held up great for being parked outside in Alabamas hot climate.Total mileage on this date is 69,528...

Report Abuse

T100 4wd review

ruger32, 12/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new and have put 129,000 problem free miles on it. Living in Colorado I used this truck extensively off-road and it has really good ground clearance. It has all original parts with the exception of the brakes(replaced factory at 85,000 miles) and of course tires. I highly recommend this truck and indeed two of my friends bought identical models and have had the same success.

Report Abuse

T100 ...nuthin but the Truth!!

htees, 01/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought used with 72000, currently at 114000 and on same set of tires!! Front end has been aligned ONCE in that time and tires are good for another 20000 by looks of them! Friends/nieghbors with Fords/Chevys seem to have many front end, brakes, and trans problems. Just the usual upkeep for me. I would recommend this used vehicle as an alternative to new fullsize models in a second!!

Report Abuse

T-100's built to last

empex, 02/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our T-100 was purchased new and is now 7 years old and still runs great. Although it never caught on this truck does the job and does it well. Even though the paint has faded the truck still runs great!

Report Abuse

Tough as nails

Tennessee Hare, 08/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck with 90,000 miles and now have 171,000. I use it both on the farm and commuting to work. It behaves equally well on the highway as it does climbing a hill. It has been extremely dependable (no surprise) but has also taken a good beating and comes out looking great. The bumber guards behind the plastic moulding below the bumper are a life saver. This is one great truck.

Report Abuse

I love my truck

dcsmith, 10/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my T-100 with 40K and now have 120K. I have had no work done other than timing belt and water pump. My wife keeps asking when I am going to get a new vehicle, but how can I get rid of a truck that still runs like brand new after 120K? Looks like maybe another 120K and I might concider putting it out to pasture. Nah.

Report Abuse

Best I've ever owned

Fred Murray, 02/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Has been the best vehicle I've ever owned. Doesn't drive like a truck, more like a luxury car. Has gotten a steady 19.5 to 21.5 mpg on the open road since the first day I got it and thats with a full top camper. Even when loaded, handling is solid and responsive. Driven every day to work and back. Still looks like a new truck.

Report Abuse

T100 Rocks

t100owner , 02/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my T100 used from a small used dealership. What sold me is the design and Toyota name. To date, I have had no problems with it and it meets or exceeds my needs of hauling. I have gotten comments about the looks of the truck. There are no special add-ons except a bed liner and tubular step rails. I did add chrome wheel- skins recently and they look great.

Report Abuse

1996 Toyota T-100 long mileage P/u

rahangman, 02/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

cup holders sort cause problems using heat/cold levers, seat belts slackening get caught in door, sunvisors are poor quality,size, throttle linkage is tight causing jack rabbit starts, BUT overall I am thrilled with this trucks performance,style, quality of ride. YEP I like it a lot.

Report Abuse

T100

Paul, 07/24/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new and it is still going strong. Both of my sons have used it in college and one is still using this truck in college. It is a very tough truck as it has been used off-road from time to time. The engine & transmission is top notch for durablity & reliability. I look forward to many more years of use.

Report Abuse

1996 Toyota T100 5 speed

Kris, 08/06/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this vehicle when it was a year old and had 18,000 miles on it. it now has 83,000 miles. It sure gave the Dodge Dakota a run for its money by being the only two mid-size trucks. Reliability and styling beat it hands down. Now the Tundra (full size) has taken its place. People are surprised to hear that it is a 96 with the styling and the way that it is holding up. The only thing that bugs me is that there are no headrests on the bench seat in the back and that we might have to get rid of it as our son graduates form his high back booster. Both my husband and myself had Toyota pickups when we met. Very reliable and great styling will always draw us back to Toyota trucks.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Joshe, 05/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As usual, Toyota makes only the best. I've been driving Toyotas for 30 years and do not have a single complain. My T100 is great with a powerfull V6 engine and fuel efficient for the engine.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Adam, 03/18/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The truck is all original with 172k miles on the 3.4l v6 .... never needs anything but routine maintnence... the timing belt has only been replaced once. Fits a atv in the back with the tailgate up. Plenty of power. Accelerates faster then a lot of cars...even with an atv in the back. Has never had anything it couldn't handle.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050