Used 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$11,995 - $25,992

Used Sienna for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Happily traded the 2011 for 2015!!!

DLu, 11/15/2014
Limited Premium 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
49 of 49 people found this review helpful

The 2015 has made improvements in basically all the areas that I've hated about our 2011 (Limited AWD). In terms of the driving experience, he steering feel and suspension have improved slightly. Rapid inputs in the 2011 are met with a very non-linear resistance, as if it would "catch" at different points of the rotation. That's gone for 2015. The ride has firmed up a bit, but with an equal amount of improvement in body control. The 2011 was needlessly firm with still too much body roll. The improvement in NVH and the interior (see below) sealed the deal for us. Update: We traded it for a 2017. The updated transmission was the biggest draw. It took several months of aggressive driving for the slow-shifting trans to learn, but it's been whipped into shape.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Navigation issues

Destiny, 10/15/2015
SE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I love my Sienna and it is my most favorite vehicle. However the navigation shuts down while driving and freezes and the most disappointing this is that Toyota says there is nothing they can do about it. I bought a brand new car and there is nothing they can do. For that I give Toyota low marks for not finding the issue and not being willing to fix it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Ride But................

Ernest Armentrout, 01/03/2016
LE 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

I would like to begin with this is a very nice minivan....lets keep that perspective. I did test drive many minivans and smaller SUV's. The Honda Pilot had some features that Toyota could look into (or charge for), and the Honda Odyssey. Almost all reviews gave the Odyssey the thumbs up over the very close second Sienna. However, as with most people looking for the bang for the buck, the Sienna was that "bang"; far more soothing for the wallet. One of the biggest complaints I have (and many more as I read more blogs and posts) about the entire vehicle is the navigation system. Had I known how bad this system was, I would had just had the regular system installed and spent far less money on a double din system and had it installed which would have preformed much more friendly and accurately. On long driving highways the fact that the GPS indication is not as critical for exiting and simple turns. However, do not rely on the GPS image to get you somewhere in a city or crowded neighborhoods or subdivisions. The GPS indication lags, terribly, and despite the POP UP, if you are not already familiar with the area you are driving, you will have to turn around to go back......anyone operating this system will attest to that experience. Also with the technology that will tell the operator that the vehicle is moving and disables the ability to change or find POI's, can not distinguish there is someone located in the passenger seat and allow the passenger to perform what are routine and necessary inputs into the system. After all, the navigation system does not limit how fast you are going for safety purposes when exceeding the speed limit. In fact, this feature may actually cause you to become MORE distracted as you will most likely attempt to get the information from your cell phone. My $100 dollar TOMTOM is far more accessible and accurate than this system, Toyota should be having some serious discussions with the person or group that thought this was a good system. Would like to end on a positive word. I like my Sienna, I am a grandfather, a bowler, a golfer and traveler, and for that reason, I do like this vehicle. Who would of thought after living my entire life, with five kids, after they grown and move away, I would be driving a minivan.......

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Traded in 2004 LTD for 2015 XLE premium

seeingsienna, 03/23/2015
XLE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

The old van had 154,000 + miles and served our family for over 10 years with safety, luxury and comfort. Despite that I am impressed with how the new model looks, drives and feels so much more solidly. The XLE Premium has most of the features we want and omits many that we had but never found useful. The current LTD does not warrant a nearly 10 K upcharge. I read extensively about vehicle reviews over many years and can say the Oddy and Sedona rate highly but for us the Sienna fits our needs. We sat in all 3 at the car show for comparison and several family members who own Siennas and Oddys. Both are excellent vehicles with smooth rides. Its a personal choice.

Report Abuse

First time minivan owner

dph1, 05/13/2015
XLE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

This is my first time owning a minivan. I have a growing family and came from a long line of Honda Accords. I had recently purchased a 2014 Honda Pilot, but VCM vibration has turned me off on all Honda V-6s (if you are in anyway OCD, avoid Honda VCM V-6 engines like the plague - you will feel vibration and hear noise). Thus, I traded it for the Sienna. I have only owned the Sienna two days, but my family loves it! It rides so nicely and smoothly. It has good pickup for a van and seems very well built. The electronics are a easy to master, and the A/C is super cold, which is a huge plus in the humid South. The rear TV is huge, but you can get by with ipads and save the $$.

Report Abuse

AWD Tires Frequently Replaced at High Cost

Mike, 05/21/2016
Limited 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

This Van is very good except for the tire problem. The AWD version comes with no spare and run flat tires. The run flat tires last between 14,000 and 18,000 miles and come without a manufacturers warrantee. I drive between 25,000 and 30,000 miles per year. I am now at 35,000 (16 months) and am on my third set of tires. the originals were replaced at 15,500. The second set lasted until 34,700 miles. I just put on the 3rd set. The way we drive, if we keep this van for 5 years, I would spend over $11,000.00 on tires. DO NOT BUY THE AWD SIENNA. You can put on regular tires, but you would run without a spare. If you add a spare, you have to buy a mount for the cargo area, but hen you can't fold down the third row seats for more cargo...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's my Managon....

Scott, 05/02/2016
SE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

If you have to buy a minivan then the Sienna is for you.....Roomy and handles great. Gas mileage is ok. I love being able to fold up rear seats as the need arises. A few complaints...whoever made the navigation system has never used a Macintosh product. Navigation, voice control, and apps are seriously stupid!! Make it user friendly!! Also, be careful pulling out of parking lots or parking up next to cement sidewalks. The van is so low I have scraped the underside of the front bumper many times. I'm just waiting for it to be yanked off. Side storage on the doors is poor in the front sections. The split screen Blue ray is nice EXCEPT you can't play PS4 or XBOX game systems on it due to low power access.....WTH? Sliding doors are awesome....no more dinged up doors. Handing on this sport edition is ridiculously good though.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Tire Destroyer

Jeff, 08/05/2016
XLE 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
24 of 26 people found this review helpful

Don't by a AWD Sienna until Toyota figures out how to fix the problem with tire wear. I had to replace all four Run Flat Tires at 15,000 miles. My one year old vehicle wouldn't even pass inspection. The tire tread wear was uneven. The dealer said it was initially alignment issues, which was not the case. Bridgestone pro-rated the tires and helped me with the replacement cost, while Toyota did nothing. Bridgestone indicated that this is a manufacturing problem based on how the tires are wearing down. Additionally, they indicated that this is a big problem on the Sienna only. They have helped customers with pro rating tires, but Toyota is not helping. It's a family vehicle and to have a problem like this boils down to $$ and safety. The fact that Toyota has done nothing to fix this problem is a red flag for me. Each tire is about $260 to replace and to only get 15,000 miles out of the first set is a problem. At this rate, I will put 4 sets of tires on the van by the time my lease is up after only 3 years.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Toyota of SunnyvAle does not honor warranty servic

josh Cheng, 08/16/2015
SE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

I have a 2015 Super White Sienna SE with Premium package. After 1 month, I have been experiencing issues with the Navigation: It powers down while in use and it freezes periodically. When I brought it in Toyota of Sunnyvale, they refused to look into it even though I have the issue on video. I don't recommend a Toyota Sienna until they fix the issue and also alert their Toyota dealers of the problem. When I spoke to Toyota they said that they cannot force a dealership to look into it. So it is tough to buy a product that Toyota cannot stand by and Toyota of Sunnyvale's Director of Service, Bob Pelletier even cussed me out when I tried to get him to look into it. I do love the Sienna if it wasn't for the jittery Navigation system.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beware of this minivan

D.P., 04/17/2017
XLE 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

We bought a new 2015 Sienna during the summer of 2015. Though large inside the vehicle is hard to see out of and has sizable blind spots. The car no longer comes with regular tires and the runflat tires that come as standard equipment are of low quality. We only got 20K miles out of ours and replacements cost twice as much as a decent conventional tire. You don't need runflats since if you end up having a problem you won't be able to pop on a spare and continue your trip. You have 50 miles to get to a tire shop or dealer in order to get a new, overpriced tire. While the car is still under warranty the TPS sensors are starting to break. Toyota's policy is to ask customers to commit to paying a fee to determine if the sensors are covered under the warranty. I ask you, if you have to pay to use it what good is a warranty in the first place. Neither Toyota nor the dealer that sold me the car will put this policy in writing, they just refuse to do the work unless you agree. In this day and age you can do better. Be warned and learn from my experience. If I had known then what I know now I never would have bought the car. Update as requested by Edmunds. Minivan continues to have problems. Most recently a door recall that the dealer required to be done during the week and was an all-day fix. For those who work being unwilling to do recall repairs during their scheduled weekend hours shows the lack of customer service I've come to expect.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun to drive every time, and easy with 3 kids.

j m, 04/09/2016
LE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

This is an honest review of our experiences with the minivan so far, and compared to driving the Rav4 and Honda Pilot. We were looking for used Sienna minivans and think this was a great deal through Edmund's on a new vehicle and Carmax in Laurel, MD. We've only had it for about a month, but couldn't be more pleased with it. We were thinking Honda Odyssey or Toyota Sienna, based on reviews and our experiences with Honda and Toyota. My 2007 Rav4 is 9 years old with almost 80K and NO issues, except for the many recalls that were annoying (but safety is important, and I' m sure the company has to be careful about everything). I had never driven or test-driven a minivan and I didn't want to give up my 2007 Rav4 (my husband sold his car and uses the Rav4 for work), but I needed a car that fit 3 kids better, and take extra passenger if needed. In the Rav4, we had an extra thin infant car seat base with booster in the middle and latch car seat on the other end. It was hard for the 7-year old to access the seatbelt in the middle and to squeeze the booster in-between. I love how the Rav4 handles similar to a car. I drove a 2003 Honda Pilot and didn't like the shift on the column because it wasn't easy to downshift (something important to me for safety), and it handled more like a truck and was hard to stop. There is not much room in the Pilot when the 3rd row is opened, has little leg room in 3rd row, and hard to put permanent car seats in 2nd row if you need access to the 3rd. The shifter is easy to use on the dash, and easy to tap to the left and down for downshifting. The acceleration is smooth and it has power. I was going close to 80 MPH without realizing it on the highway! And it seems to downshift quickly when braking. It handles very well- really not much different to get used to, except it's larger and longer. It doesn't feel like driving a minivan. Our garage is tight to fit 2 cars- even the Rav and small car, but it's easier with the van and Rav to get the kids out with the sliding doors instead of car doors touching each other. The sliding doors are great- many ways to open and close them, including the handles and easy push-button inside. They seem to retract if they sense something in the way, however, my son closed it and it was pushing hard into my arm as I was getting the baby out and got me off-balance before it stopped. The fold-down seats are easy to fold and many configurations. We store the 8th seat away so we can get back to the 3rd row, otherwise only a small person can squeeze behind the seat to get out. It's so much room- I can easily walk to the back to help with buckles, although the oldest can buckle himself in the back. I have the youngest 2 in middle with infant seat and latched seat with harness for 4-year old. It's easy to move the middle seats forward and back with much leg room for either row- kids are not kicking into the backs of seats. I had 2 extra kids I was watching and fit 5 kids easily. The latch is easy to use in both rows, and also has anchors behind the seats. The temperature controls are great for separate temperatures in left and right front and rear. The radio and controls are all great- bluetooth. I accidentally called someone 2 times- once from the steering wheel and once from the touch screen when choosing something... I thought they were calling me, so it was something I had to get used to! I love the console with cup holders, plus 2 extra pull-out ones in the dash. There is a lot of storage in the console and glove boxes; there's a coin holder, sunglass holder, door storage for water bottles, cup holders and storage in 3rd row. A few more features are compass, USB connection, blind spot mirror, grocery bag hooks in backs of seats. The seats are very comfortable and fabric seems nice and easy to clean. The electric driver controls are great- I can sit up pretty high and I love the lumbar support. I sometimes would get uncomfortable in other cars like Rav- my back and legs hurt after awhile, and I thought my neck didn't feel comfortable with the headrest. I think the controls are better in the van so I can stay comfortable. The gas gauge is tiny and hard to see when the steering wheel is in the way, but the display says an approximate distance until the tank empties and shows estimated MPG while driving. The backup camera is nice. I think it is necessary- it seems hard to see around otherwise. I don't like to only rely on it though because it doesn't show sides and it displays like a fisheye and things appear very far away. Visibility seems really good- there are blind spot mirrors too. It seems to be decent on gas, but I'm not exactly sure- I'm sure it is at least 20.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good van, but read before you buy!

Ricardo Burgos, 02/01/2016
SE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
24 of 27 people found this review helpful

I wanted a Sienna with the black interior. I have 3 young children and things get dirty pretty quickly. I also wanted an OEM DVD player. I am not a fan of the aftermarket ones. The aftermarket ones you have to load the dvds right on the unit. On the OEM, you load them up front. I rather have that control than 3 kids fighting over which dvd to see. The PROs. Handles beautifully. I must say that the SE edition makes you feel like you are in a sports car. Very responsive and the steering feels solid. I just came out of a 2007 Honda Odyssey E-XL that felt very soft and dangerous at higher speeds in the freeway. The 2nd row seats have more room to move them than in the Odyssey. This is good when carrying taller adults. Easy storage in the back for the jumper seat. The dashboard on the 2015 is better looking than that swoosh that they had on the previous models. Also the SE comes with leather (well I doubt that it is REAL leather) on the dashboard. Wide DVD screen, you can see 2 separate movies or stretch it out and see a bigger picture. I wanted leather seats in black with contrasting stitching and that is what comes on the SE already. When you are inside, it feels luxurious, makes you forget that you are actually in a minivan. The technology to be able to speak in a soft voice and have the passengers in the 3rd row is fantastic. Gone are the days of having to scream to the kids seating all the way in the back. This is the first car that I get with navigation. It is nice not having to have your phone moving around while trying to find direction. The bluetooth phone connectivity works very well. You can answer and make calls handsfree and with voice commands. Now the CONs. You will need to take it to the dealer to get aligned. This van was having a slight pull. I took it in and the service advisor told me that in deed it was a bit off in the rear. After they realigned it, now it pulls to the left. The leather is not real leather. It does look nice though. The amount of glues, plastics and vinyl that they use in this car creates so many fumes when they are new, that you WILL get nauseous. I had severe headaches and felt nauseous. I was very close to going to the doctor. I had to drive with the windows down. I left charcoal and vinegar in pots inside the car over night. I put Fabreze air fresheners. After 3 weeks the smell seems to be gone now. A bit scary. The mats on the second row go under the seats all the way to the third row. This is a terrible idea. Hard to remove specially when you go to get your car washed. The rails where the 2nd row seats move back and forth are an open channel and debris can get into them real quick. It is not so easy for the passengers in the 3rd row to get in. We have chosen to remove the jumper seat and have people get in to the 3rd row through the middle. With the car parked, the cover for the left side mirror fell off. Good thing that the car was parked........ The design that Toyota has done to have the 3rd row seats fold into the well is not that visually appealing. When the seats are up and you go to the trunk, you see the legs and armature. Honda does a better job here. This is a bit of a problem, because when you buy the Weathertech mat for the trunk, it covers up to the legs, sacrificing some space. The DVD is in a low dark place. You cannot even see it in daylight without having to crouch down. The surface of the DVD player is all flat. It is hard to find the play button since it is flush. They should have had it raised so that it could be found easily. The center storage console between the front seats has good storage inside, but if the people in the 2nd row want to store anything like umbrellas, dvd holders, etc., there is NO space. Again, Honda wins on this one. There is so much electronically going on on the dashboard, that it will take some time to get used to it. It could be a major distraction for the driver. Your visibility to the rear from the driver's side is very, very restricted. Toyota built the headrests of the 3rd row seats TOO big. Instead of being able to bring them down when you do not want your visibility blocked they actually tilt forward. That is no good because it is very uncomfortable for young children. Here Honda engineers beat Toyota. The DVD player screen is big and will also block your view. There are no storage pockets in the rear trunk areas where to put jumper cables, first aid kits, etc. You have to use up the floor space. Sorry Toyota, Honda beat you on this one too. There is NO overhead lamp in the trunk area. The is only a small light to the side. Again, Honda did a better job here. A lot of you read: Honda did this better and are asking yourselves, why did this guy buy a Sienna then? Because HONDA gave me sooooo many problems and the quality of the materials used are so bad, that I had enough. The dislikes are few compared to the likes in the Sienna. I like it so far and I plan to have it for many years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good, except gas mileage and 2nd row

Jim, 06/29/2016
LE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

Good power and handling for such a large vehicle. A lot of interior space. The regular maintenance itemized by Toyota is a small list, including oil changes only every 10k miles. I like that the powertrain is relatively standard (e.g. no engine start/stop, cylinder de-activation, direct injection, timing belt, or CVT), which I hope translates to high reliability, so far it has. Problems: 1. Center console latch broke. Fixed under warranty. 2. Brake rotors were replaced under warranty. 2. Minor paint flakes missing on front and rear bumper areas. 3. Alarm light flashes when parked, even if not locked. Dealership said this is normal, but I don't think it occurred when new. Issues with design: 1. I wish the van was not so large. It is not "mini" at all. The size of the Ford Transit Connect would be preferable, for me. 2. Poor gas mileage. This obviously partly correlates to the "standard" powertrain I like, and to the size of the vehicle. And it is inline with the EPA ratings, so no surprise. Just wish it was better. 3. The 2nd row is terrible. The 8 seater's 2nd row middle seat is ridiculously narrow, short, and the seat bottom is lower than the adjacent seats. Also, there is no LATCH attachments for the middle seat. It is almost useless. Finally, when you remove the 2nd row seats, there are runners in the tracks that remain. This makes it a non-flat load floor and the runners could get damaged when hauling items. Just an absolutely terrible design by Toyota for the 2nd row. Look at the Honda for how it should be done. 4. The 3rd row only has 2 sets of LATCH anchors, and one of them is in the middle of the wider section of the 60/40 split seat. So, you could not have two passengers in that section if you use the LATCH. Again, the Honda gets this right. 5. Not a full size spare tire.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Gave the Sienna another chance but now regret it.

Tonya in Michigan, 10/12/2017
XLE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

We were pretty happy with our 2015 Toyota Sienna LE and drove it to almost 200,000 miles. Our only issue was with how fast the Sienna went through tires even with normal use. Rotated and balanced the tires as recommended and even used two different brand tires but would have to replace all the tires at 40,000 miles (purchased 65-80,000 Mile Warranty tires from Michelin and Yokohama). Was told by the Costco tire department that 2004-05 Sienna's had a known problem. When it was time for a new vehicle, we were torn between the Odyssey and Sienna. We ended up choosing the Sienna because we liked our local dealer and, of course, they would have fixed the tire issue over the course of 10 years, right? Nope! Just had to replace all 4 tires on the new Sienna (with 26,000 miles) due to excessive wear on outer ring of tire to the point they were legally bald. The middle and inner part of tire had normal use so we were told to have the alignment checked. Alignment came back fine but we were recommended to have the camber bolt replaced at the cost of $280 dollars. None of this is covered under warranty. We will be moving to a Honda Odyssey when our lease is up in a year.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Would not buy it new again.

Dave, 09/08/2018
XLE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my Sienna new. It listed at almost $40,000 and I paid closer to $35,000 plus more for extras. It is ultimately a disappointment. I bought it because it was supposed to be quieter than the competitors. From day one it has leaked air through the sunroof/moonroof. This makes for a loud and annoying highway ride and is evidence of shoddy quality. I took it back to a Toyota dealership for repair after it also started leaking water into the cabin. They eliminated the leak but did not eliminate the wind noise from an improper fit or seal of the sunroof/moonroof, and just said "it is normal" (even though light shines through the gap between the sunroof/moonroof and body of the vehicle. This was a real disappointment because I had trusted the dealership before this experience. In sum, I would not buy it again and have lost confidence in Toyota, both in terms of quality and service. Other areas of disappointment with the van are (1) the navigation system is horrible, clumsy, and slow, and you cannot look things up while moving. This makes it virtually useless. We bought the vehicle for highway travel, yet we cannot make use of navigation while driving down the road. I just use my cellphone in my hand for navigation. The tires were completely bald by 30,000 miles. The middle-row seats are heavy and difficult to remove, and when removed, a large, lumpy bar is left on the floor so you do not have a flat surface for sleeping/camping or for hauling. The gas mileage is about 20 mpg, which is inferior to my experiences with competitor vehicles. The vehicle's looks are not a strong point, and I recently read that its safety ratings are inferior to competitors. Lastly, the interior is a light shade of leather that is dirtied easily by children, and there are gaps in the floor for sliding the center-row seats that collect trash and dirt, and the carpets have flopped/bent/folded where they should not. In sum, the vehicle has not left us stranded but it has not brought us joy, and for 40,000 dollars including tax and warranty one should get a better experience. The wind noise and lousy nav system are daily reminders that you paid a bunch of money for a flawed product that is also not backed up with thoughtful or capable service. Odysseys are better vans but are overpriced (and they cheapened materials too in 2011); the folding seats in the Chrysler products are superior. Leaky sunroofs are a disaster though and produce considerable regret. I am a married male of average size with tween/teen boys (2).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Unsafe! Do not buy!

Melanie H, 06/29/2017
LE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I lease a 2015 Toyota Sienna. The power sliding doors have been on recall for MONTHS now without any permanent solution. Temporary solution is to turn off power to the door. My power has been off for MONTHS, yet I'm still paying my full leasing price. No one will take blame for this and I keep getting bounced from one person to another. Today I was on the phone for hours being transfer and did not get any solution. The doors are on manual yet it took me 25 minutes to get the door to stay closed today, in a store parking lot with 2 kids while being 8 months pregnant. Finally get it closed. Get home, taking my 2 year daughter out of her carseat and the door magically slams shut! When it was in the locked open position. Thank God No one was hurt. I'm so glad this is how Toyota treats their customers. I can not wait til my lease is up and they can shove this van up their butt. I will NEVER get another Toyota nor recommend this company to anyone. This van is completely unsafe.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

3rd Row cup holder issue

Kim, 12/09/2015
XLE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

We just purchased this brand new 2015 Toyota Sienna XLE and we love it so far. The only issue we're having is the 3rd row right side cup holders get very very hot, to the point where my daughters drink gets hot within minutes. And it happens within minutes if cutting it on. We were told that there was a computer and it would get hot, but that's just crazy. Is anybody law experiencing this issue and what did you / they do about it!? I need help before I take it back to the dealership.

Report Abuse

Before you buy 2015/2016 Sienna you should know

Robert, 02/08/2016
XLE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
36 of 47 people found this review helpful

2015 and 2016 Sienna is a good looking van but please do your due diligence before you buy. I wish I have done it more my self but too late now. You can buy what you like but do a search on 2015 / 2016 sienna vibration or problems because it is true and it's common. I have it too and can't be fixed. Not doing enough researching for a family van I bought it because it was "TOYOTA" and have read good reviews on a 2015 Sienna with new improvements. Few days after the purchase around 300 miles on the Sienna. Feel dash, steering wheel and floor buzz vibration starting from complete stop on a hill when reaches 1150 to 1200 RPM (15~20 mph) and happens again after shifting to 2nd gear under 20 mph. Often passenger slider door gets stuck half way closing with beep and won't go back or close with switch. While holding traffic at school drop off lane switch the door switch to manual then get out show my face to angry people and have to close it manually then it works fine for a while. Both rear slider door glass makes metal tapping noise when driving with window open more than 3" under 15 ~25 miles. Sounds like glass rattling on the window channel seems like loose screw or no rubber on the channel. Front passenger door interior leather by the handle has wavy looks like from side view glue coming off or someone poked with fingers when gluing the upholstery. I have addressed these few concerns on my new sienna to the purchased dealer and they had some one from Toyota to inspect the Sienna. Conclusion to my concerns were that Toyota DSPM have compared to other sienna on the lot and since other Sienna does the same so it is normal and it is not warrantable and have no solution to correct the problems. Basically live with it or sell it because warranty is not going to cover it because it's normal to them. Why is Toyota comparing with other vehicles and call it " NORMAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE VEHICLE " when I want to find out how to correct the problems. Sounds like they have engineered to rattle, vibrate and no solution to the problems so live with it or sell it to someone else who can live with it. Did I miss lists of " NORMAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE VEHICLE SHEET " when I bought the van? If this is the case Toyota needs to disclosed on the catalog that these van does make noise & vibrations before the purchase not after the purchased. Not too happy and already lost interest in new vehicle less than a month. Warranty and Toyota customer is really bad. It's a compared warranty not to correct them. I like the 2015 and up design but I am ready to sell my Sienna already for something else because I can not accept all these $37K normal vibrations and rattles came with the van plus Toyota said it's normal too. My believe level in Toyota product is gone for good. Good luck on your decision ! !

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fabulous collision safety

John Cavaluchy, 12/08/2015
LE 7-Passenger Mobility Auto Access 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

2 weeks after purchasing the car we were T-boned by a driver go full speed thru a stop sign without attempting to stop. The 40 mph impact smashed both passenger side doors but protected all the occupants from injury. The side impact beams were a Godsend. Although we compared the Honda Odyssey and the Toyota Sienna, we gave the edge to the Sienna because of the styling. Everything was too close to call.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2015 Sienna XLE Premium

Peter Zhu, 05/04/2016
XLE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The ride and cabin quality is good. Compare to Honda Odyssey, it will be nice to include the rear view side mirror camera. However, I still like Toyota better due to my prior experience on my 2007 Civic.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The family loves the new van

Todd, 09/27/2017
LE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Overall a very good van. The ride is smooth and the seating is comfortable. I'm 6'3" and have plenty of head and leg room. Accelerating to highway speed is quick (for a van) and stable. I haven't played with the sound system or bluetooth so can't give an opinion on those. The only negatives I've noticed are that the rear seat headrests slightly block the view out of the back window, but they can be folded down when not in use. It would also be nice if the center display screen was angled towards the driver a bit, or able to pivot left and right. Not a deal breaker at all, just wishful thinking.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not the same quality from previous Toyota's

Dee N, 09/07/2018
XLE Premium 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Somewhere around 18,000 miles both struts needed to be replaced.....of course after the 3 year warranty was up. Gas mileage not so great - less than 18 MPG combined city/highway. Noisy rattles the dealership never could resolve. Interior material quality poor, front passenger seat developed a crack in the plastic base.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lots of room. VERY noisy interior seats-

carol laituri, 09/07/2018
XLE 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

We bought the car because of the room inside. We had problems with the engine not always starting when it is hot outside and dealer says “no problems found”. Not fun in 105 degrees heat! After a dozen visits- we gave up!! Back seats constantly rattle and dealer has made adjustments to the tracking system over a dozen times. Nice driving car but I would not buy it again under any conditions. It has 70,000 miles on it now and I’m glad we bought the pre-paid maintenance plan and extended warranty. Van is used only for adults and children have never been in it. I would hate to see what would happen if it had to endure constant wear and tear from children. Tired of dealerships not being able to isolate and fix why the car won’t start in excessive heat and getting stranded. The last straw was when the radio system fouled and it sounded like an air horn going off you couldn’t stop. I almost wrecked the car with passengers in it. Toyota extended warranty did replace it but I cannot afford to be stranded alone or with passengers. I’m almost 70 and the van is no longer reliable. I miss the size and room but now we have a Suburu Outback.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Last Toyota I'll ever own

Gml, 10/24/2018
SE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

After owning and liking 7 Toyota vehicles the 2015 Sienna SE and the consistently poor dealer service from multiple dealers have convinced me. I will never buy another one. A safety recall alerted owners to disconnect the automatic sliding doors due to a problem with them opening while the vehicle was underway. Nearly a year of waiting for a fix and once corrected they opened noticably slower than when the car was purchased. The car needed a full set of brakes at 14,000 miles. When I questioned how that could be possible I heard, the vehicle was heavy, lots of weight in the front, pretty normal, etc. At 30,000 miles another complete brake job. No attempt for the dealer to discover why this could be happening. Nope, just another $300 plus repair. As I approached 43,000 miles and another brake job I got rid of the car. So happy it's gone. I spoke with service managers at two different dealerships, Toyota was uninterested in finding what the problem was and couldn't care less how many times full brake jobs were required to keep the car on the road. Good riddance and good luck. Toyotas customer service today isn't what built their company. Too many other good cars out there to tolerate being taken advantage of.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I LOVE THIS VAN

Brandon Kelly, 08/28/2015
LE 7-Passenger Mobility Auto Access 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have to admit, minivans are a guilty pleasure of mine, I love the versatility and space to do what ever the day calls for, whether its going to the hardware store, using the AWD to get to the slopes, or just carting around the family. The fit and finish is beyond what I would expect for something designed to be destroyed by my four year old. After just over 2000 miles there is not a single rattle, plastic and trim is solid, no cheap stick on chrome that peals off after the first 105 degree day. The feel on the road reminds me more of a well balanced large luxury car than a top heavy minivan. The engine is responsive and capable, the transmission is always there and never searching for the right gear. Brakes could be more aggressive, But are adequate. I have the lowest trim level available with AWD (All Wheel Drive) and am quite pleased with the standard options, Power sliding doors, back up camera, power drivers seat, roof rack. I do wish the vehicle had more USB outlets. The visibility is great, while doing low speed maneuvers in parking lots I am able to account for the whole vehicle, unlike my previous car that could hide a freight train in its blind spot. The interior is easy to arrange, seats are on tracks and the rear row will simply fold into the floor. The turning radius is great and allows for easy parking or U-turns. I wish it got a little better fuel economy, and the armrests on the driver and front passenger seats are too narrow for my liking. As Chili Palmer says, " It's the Cadillac of minivans." Buy this Van you will not regret it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great van!

Robert M, 11/06/2015
SE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

We needed a rental vehicle and ended up with a 2015 Sienna because it was the least expensive. We didn't need a mini van at all. We were actually extremely surprised at how quiet it was. There was no road noise, even through all of the course highways in California. Usually it's so loud with every vehicle we've rented due to the course highways but this van was impressively quiet. I'm very picky with road noise, I'd say this was Lexus quiet. The ride wasn't firm or too soft, it was perfect actually. Very, very impressed. Even the little holding area where you can put a grocery bag under the radio area is perfect, and the area where you can put your drink holder which has some rubber so your stuff doesn't slide around. Overall Toyota did a great job. If I am ever in the need of a van, I'd definitely go for the Toyota!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Favorite Car! ... and I've owned many!

John B, 02/17/2016
SE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Prior to purchase, I owned a 2013 Lincoln MKZ 3.0L V6 and 2012 Ford Explorer XLT. We had two children, then added a third. I had not viewed the Sport Edition (SE) YouTube rap commercial created by Toyota, but this is not necessary prior to purchase. On the Toyota/Carmax Lot, we were immediately attracted to the Sport Edition (SE) with black leather interior. We did not want a DVD system so our kids could constantly demand we play a movie for them. 6 months after purchase, we absolutely love it. I traded in my Lincoln with no regrets. I'm a total minivan convert and fight my wife over driving it verses driving my Explorer. I wish Minivans looked cooler, but this is the coolest they come. Only criticism is that the SE model on our lot was the only one available, and the exterior was in red. I would have preferred another color. :)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

8 passenger mini van

I am a real person .Not a robot, 05/04/2016
SE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Best 8 passengers mini van ever which I owned, with ease, roominess and comfort. Reliability is excellent. Larger than my previous mini vans. Cargo space behind the 3 rd; row seat is generous. No complains.!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 4th Sienna, overall 4 stars

lou, 02/23/2016
LE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Just want to let you all know, it took me a long time to moved up to this 3rd Gen Sienna. And here is why... We used to have 04 LE AWD, 05 LE, 07 LE. When we picked up our 07 (used) we spent lot of time compare that 2nd Gen and 3rd Gen (2011+) and we just didn't see the wow factory so we settle for an used 07 :) You all know the 2011-2014 has a pretty bad review for it's interior design and material. In this 2015 we just picked up, the inside is now more in par with other current new cars on the road. the bigger screen with backup cam does work much better. The new touch screen radio is a very good update over the 2014. Many options and settings, with big Text. Other nice features (for LE) is the build in blind spot corner mirrors. I have been telling my wife about how Ford made it standard years ago and all the sudden, the Sienna has it. Build in windows screen for 2nd and 3rd rows is another feature that my kids love. Couple cost cutting items, the not lighted speedometer is bad. Very hard to see during the day. The other is the non powered windows on the rear. It used to be standard on all 2nd Gen but now you have to get to XLE or higher to get that feature.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2015 Sienna SE drifting issue

Tommy2016, 05/04/2016
SE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

. Overall I love the minivan except for one issue 1. My van is brand new 2015 but it has drifting issue. Tired over a long trip because you constantly have to keep your hand on the steering wheel. As soon as you let it goes, the van either drifting to the left and right. I have the Dealer do the front end alignment and tire rotation but it is not helping. At first I thought is the tire pressure but I did make sure the pressure level the same for all tires and to the recommended PSI (36). I wonder if anyone out there has the same problem and got it fixed. I am not sure if the tires are the issue or not either. 2. I called Toyota directly and they state there is no report on the drifting issue but I found a few comment on the web regarding drifting issue on the SE model even when the Van is brand new. Anyone out there got the same issue and figured out what the problem is please let me know. Thank

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Pay Attention!

S, 03/29/2016
XLE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
10 of 14 people found this review helpful

For women on the go, (we live in the car), there is no place for a pen, trash, no up front drawer, doors have no side pockets" worth a flip", the console is so deep you need a flashlight to see what the contents are, if you drop something between the front seats and the console you cannot get your hands between these two, and definitely no place for your purse when you have a front seat passenger with you. The console needs to be to where you could take in or out as needed. The passenger seat needs to have an up/down button as the drivers seat does. The gas could be better because in 2006 the Honda Vans were getting 26-27 in town and on the road 31. This could also be for the Sienna. I like the van itself. I wish these men would let a woman design the front inside. When do you ever see a man driving a van.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

dental in illinois

Wayne Galasinski, 04/08/2016
XLE 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

had this vehicle 6 months already,vehicle performs well, no problems so far, but interior is very dull and controls hard to find...It has toyota reliability . Oct 10,2016 I do not own this vehicle anymore. I bought a Honda Odyssey as a trade a few months ago.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Happy with purchase

Asim, 03/05/2016
Limited Premium 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Only issue is Premium AWD limited has NO ottoman chairs ,no 3rd row automatic recliners chairs,and NO middle console that slide back. ALL these features are included in LIMITED FWD. other wise great car , interior and exterior great , feels like LEXUS VAN in toyota lineup.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Van

Stetson McGraw, 03/09/2016
XLE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

very quiet, comfy, great for taking trips and hauling stuff. Engine is strong enough and always feels like there is power. Brakes are good for such a heavy van but could be improved a little bit to give it even better performance.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice replacement for our 2010 Honda Ody EX-L

Allan A Rinzel, 03/19/2016
XLE 7-Passenger Mobility Auto Access 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I came off of troubles with our 2010 Odyssey that made me consider it unreliable with only 25,000 miles logged. The variable cylinder management system was a trouble maker. We had excessive oil consumption and fouling of spark plugs. That is the end of buying Honda products for this family, especially any equipped with their VCM six cylinder engine. The primary reason for our buying the XLE version is that we wanted leather and needed the Auto Access Seat for our handicapped daughter. The alternative was to buy the SE version and spend about $9500 more to have a retrofit done. With the factory-installed Auto Access Seat, the upholstery matches and the seat system is well-integrated with the vehicle, plus, of course, with the factory installation, one gets the 36 month warranty. We included the navigation package that works very well. The backup camera and other electronic gadgets assist greatly with backing and lane changes, albeit, visibility outward is great. This vehicle is much quieter than the 2010 Honda Ody, has much, much better brakes and has a very smooth engine and transmission combination. The Ody often shifted a bit roughly, despite a recall for reprogramming the transmission. The seats in the Sienna are also significantly more comfortable. The engine is considerably more powerful and responsive than that in the 2010 Odyssey, however, the suspension in the Sienna is not as compliant. The electric steering in the Sienna does not have the great feedback afforded by the Odyssey. This vehicle is used for a lot of short trips, most under 25 miles. In spite of that, our overall fuel mileage is just about exactly 20 mpg. The only issue we have had so far is rattling of the driver side window. I have taken it to the dealer for correction, so far we do not have a fully satisfactory repair. The dealer claims that they all do that. I went through one recall, that being campaign GO4 involving the electric door system. That was addressed in September 2017, it taking about four hours of dealer time to do the needed electrical work. Overall, this is a great vehicle that we expect to own much longer than our 2010 Honda Ody.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2015 Toyota Sienna

Randy Craig, 06/09/2016
Limited 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is our first Toyota and we are very happy we chose it .This mini van feels like it drives itself and has plenty of room for everything from grandkids to 25 bags of mulch for the garden.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Chapter 1: Enlightenment

MFS, 01/06/2017
SE Premium 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Excellent family vehicle. I have the Sienna SE premium model.. Smooth ride. Spacious interior with comfortable heated seats. Good MPG but should be better. Regular fuel. Overall; an excellent vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love the car but its high maintenance

BCN, 01/09/2017
SE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Toyota Sienna SE 2015. It's had levers come off, brakes warp and burned through a set of tires with under 14,000 miles on it. It's been a very high maintenance vehicle for just owning in a year and a half. I get about 13mpg in the City and 20mpg on the highway. I really do like the vehicle but Toyota Care is horrible. They are supposed to rotate tires with each initial check of service 6 mos or 5k miles and never did it. It went out of alignment and destroyed the tires. That's after repeatedly asking them to check the alignment at two service checks. It's my first Toyota and probably my last.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2015 Sienna downgrade from 2004 Sienna

F Ward, 03/12/2017
L 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a very nice people mover with good performance and features. It replaced a 2004 Sienna which was great. Simple changes like reducing the size and capacity of the roof rack and seating changes makes it less useful than the 2004. We expect the same reliability - the 2004 went 225 miles with no problems. The transmission went and cost $4400 but we got to 335K miles and sold for $1400 after the rebuilt transmission also failed. The sliding and folding seat mechanisms are an improvement. The climate controls are unnecessarily complex. Changing to a timing chain should reduce maintenance frequency and cost. Overall, this is a vehicle I would recommend. After about 85,000 miles it is still performing well with no major problems. Update = this vehicle was totaled in a rear end collision at 99K miles. No one was injured when hit at about 20 mph but entire rear end was destroyed due to crumple zones. We are sorry to see it go but replaced it with a 2018 Sienna

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great minivan...needs improvement on entertainment

Momof4, 10/23/2017
XLE 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love everything about this van, except the DVD system. We installed both the regular DVD and the blue-ray system. It’s complicated to get the system going. I think I have it down now, but the sound for the movie goes through the radio. Whenever you go out of the city, it picks up different radio stations. For a long trip, which is why we installed it in the first place, it can get VERY frustrating for both the kids and the parents! Not good design at all. I know when we bought it they told us you can just find another station and program it. That was also complicated in the first place, who wants to do that again! Toyota needs to fix this! Bad design! Otherwise, we love our van.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

AWD Sienna Great for Snow and Road Trips

Paul, 03/13/2018
LE 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle as my primary ski trip and road trip transportation. After years of using a 4wd pickup (old Tundra), which served me well on ski trips, I wanted more room and comfort. And I wanted a vehicle that got better mpg and was better for long road trips. The Sienna with AWD hits the mark really well. I've seen reviews that say the interior isn't as comfortable as some other minivans, or that the interior is not up to par - but to me it is super comfortable, practical and well built. I am not comparing it to a Mercedes (which I've never owned), but I think a lot of people go overboard with their criticisms. This is a solid, comfortable driving and practical vehicle - especially if you venture out on snowy, icy roads a lot like I do. I recently got back from a week long trip to Utah for skiing - I drove from northern California - with five passengers, six counting me, all our ski and snowboard gear and it was a wonderful ride. I put a large cargo box on top for trips - which is great for carrying all sorts of stuff. With dedicated winter tires, the Sienna performed flawlessly in the snow - even conquering a very steep, snow and ice covered driveway up to lodge where we were staying. I run snow tires in the winter - and with those tires the Sienna is unstoppable in anything but super deep snow where I could bottom out. It IS a minivan, not a performance sport SUV, so it does sway a bit in corners, but that is totally manageable. And it is not an off-road vehicle. The ride is very comfortable and it has plenty of power and will cruise all day at 85 mph. I love this thing! I pull the second row seats and replace them with some home-made wooden boxes - which creates a big mattress platform with storage room underneath, and the Sienna becomes a mini-camper. Awesome. Great highway cruiser. Update: Another 11,000 miles have passed with the Sienna and it continues to impress me. I've had no mechanical issues. There was a safety recall on the electric sliding doors which the dealer handled. I was getting some front end vibrations under heavy braking - had the front pads replaced and rotors turned and all is well. We drove the Sienna on a 2000 mile road trip to Yellowstone and it was super comfortable - we used it as a camper a couple of nights. I remain really satisfied with this vehicle. I think it provides great value for the money. Update 3/17/2020 - I am up to 61,000 miles. Still no issues. Although - one potential area of weakness seems to be the front brakes. After a lot of hard mountain driving (a lot of steep downhills), I noticed the shimmy under breaking again. I had the rotors turned and everything is fine. I was told I've only got one more turning of the rotors available. I think Toyota should have put heavier duty (larger rotors) front brakes on the Sienna. That's my two cents.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

3 Years in Excellent! Best AWD family vehicle

Bee Cave, 10/17/2018
Limited Premium 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is our second Toyota Sienna AWD. We still have our 2009 AWD limited version that our teenager is now driving. Our 7 years plus of success with our first vehicle made us buy the second 3 years ago. So with 3 years on our 2015 I'm please to say it is still the best family vehicle. Excellent quality, reliability. We love AWD - even now moving to south - in the rain it is fantastic. The only thing I wish Toyota would change is the tires selected for AWD - RFT - OEM tire is terrible. Switched them out to better tire far earlier just as I was unhappy with wear performance, traction after 15,000 miles was reduced a lot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Read other reviews...glad i bought base model L

Ben, 11/21/2018
L 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I read the reviews of other owners. I find myself in the middle of the pack in terms of mileage on the road. At 25k miles, i have only had a battery replaced via warranty from Toyota. My TIRES ARE STILL VERY GOOD (have the goodyear stock tires from factory still) even after a 8k to 9k road trip from Los Angeles to Ontario(Canada) and even went 39 hours straight home with 3 different drivers so the tires could have been worn by the other two drivers along the way. My best guess is that the tire wear other owners experience is due to having an AWD version or used mostly within the city in alot of stop and go commuting. BRAKES upon visual inspection is halfway its original pad thickness. I knew before i bought my sienna (from reading reviews here) that the models from the previous years even previous generation that the ELECTRONIC SLIDING DOORS were a problem from the belts breaking or the track or then motor giving up, which made me stay away from the LE, XLE, SE, and Limited versions and as well as staying away from the sunroofs (my mazda 3 has all of those so I don’t need it on a van). The van is very basic but i do love the layout of the dash, the look of the whole dashboard. HOWEVER, i have installed a heads-up display with a small dark window tint material so the HUD display is clearer, and i am in the process of installing an aftermarket LCD navigation unit with apple car play and android auto since i already saved alot of money getting the bas model. The Van is used mostly for long roadtrips and to go tto work mostly freeway runs. I do not have the center console which makes is so much easier to walk right in the middle of the front row to get to the sliding doors on tight parking spaces. I wish the steering is does not feel numb and gives me more feel for the road and i wish the van does not have too much body roll but then again it is a VAN!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Le 8 passinger

Itzhak Reich, 03/27/2016
LE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

2 issues with this minivan 1st one when you open the second row windows it makes terrible noise 2nd the cruse control hook flickers when it lights up @ night, took it to the dealer, they said they know about this problem but do not have a cure for it, a little disappointed

Report Abuse

First minivan

RON Pope, 09/21/2016
XLE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I would buy this car again, only thing about a minivan for me I dislike is I'm 6'3" and would like more headroom always hitting my head on rear lift trunk, I will probably go back to suv because of more head room. Other then that, a real dependable vehicle

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not so comfortable front seats

Mohan, 01/06/2017
XLE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Pros 1.The handling is very nice and doesn't feel that you driving a minivan. 2.I see many users complained about cheap plastic materials, and I personally don’t see that as a big issue. I see lot of interior parts on Ebay and they are not very expensive. Cons: 1. The steering wheel center is not aligned with the center of the front driver side seat. The issue I personally see with that is ,the steering wheel center is little inwards to the seat. While driving ,I was used to holding the steering wheel with my left arm placed on the armrest. Now with this miss alignment, the hand is not conveniently reachable to place it on the armrest while holding the steering wheel. This is a big discomfort while doing the long drives. I am not sure if very tall people will have this problem, but I am 5'9" and I feel the problem. I am not sure if this is any way related, even the seats are too comfortable for long drives. I used to rent dodge caravan before having this van and I never felt this issue. I also rented Kia Sedona and even those seats are very comfortable. This steering and seat alignment I believe will also be for 2016 and 2017 models since Toyota did not redesign any major physical changes. 2. The Voice recognition is technically useless. My cell phone has much voice recognition system than my 35k van. 3. The USB port can't keep up with the Smartphone charging and its very slow. 4. The gas mileage is not as per the EPA numbers. On the high way I am getting around 23 and that’s 2 below the EPA 25.When checked with the dealer, he told that the mileage ratings were form EPA and they have nothing to do with it. I saw the KIA Sedon's EPA ratings and they are different for each model and the highest model has the least rating. I assume it has to do with the extra equipment they added on the vehicle. If that’s the case how come all the Sienna's have same EPA ratings irrespective of the sub-model. 5. Quality- My GPS broke in less than a year and it's been more than 3 months and the dealer did not replace it yet. 6. The seats are not 100% leather. Only the upper surfaces are leather. I have no issue until that part. But the adjustable hand rests are not in leather and that’s one of the pieces that you would touch a lot. I have a leather wrapped steering and they missed to add this small detail on the adjustable arm rests. 7. Not a big fan for their entune app except for their low fuel prompt and suggesting the nearest gas station. Also their live traffic update system is very slow and sometime its useless. I still rely on google maps for live traffic updates. I wish Toyota has android auto and that was really cool. I used it in an rental Hyundai Sanota and I really liked it. 8. The surround system for their audio is not calibrated correctly. You feel that all the sound is coming from the front speakers. I believe they calibrated it like for a car and ignored the 3rd row seats. I had to adjust the sound more to the back speakers to have that proper surround sound effect. 9. While making the U turn, I could hear a squeaking sound coming from the rear tires. I was not only the one with that issue. My friend went for a test drive and he complained the same and he did not ended buying a sienna. He bought an 4runner instead.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Beauty is not just skin deep

Magda Romero, 01/23/2016
XLE 8-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 10 people found this review helpful

This van is classy and functional.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lot's of room

T.H.E. Pensman, 12/18/2015
Limited Premium 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 16 people found this review helpful

Van sucks up gas like a thirsty camel. Don't buy this for outstanding mpg. Even if you were to coast down a hill, this car will suck up the fuel. The car handles really well for its size. Navigation is OK for the first year but upgrades that have to be done at a dealership and run close to $300 a year: ridiculous. Entune is WORTHLESS and when you call Toyota for help/information, it's as if you were speaking gibberish. They don't even seem to know that Entune is their product. Even the other apps and info systems are only partially thought through. If a tire needs air, you get a notice, but which tire is it? Yet you have to check every individual tire and only when you find the right one will the low air light go off. And yet if you have your bright lights on, they will automatically dim at an approaching vehicle. If you aren't a soccer parent then don't despair: you can easily put four sets of golf clubs in the back. And two adult passengers will enjoy being chauffeured in the rear reclining seats. I have come to really appreciate this vehicle. I wish the driver's seat was more comfortable but you just cannot beat this Sienna for everything it can do. If I could keep this car and just upgrade some of the electronic safety features, I would keep this car forever.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice vehicle, just too expensive!!

LYDIA, 07/14/2018
LE 7-Passenger Mobility Auto Access 4dr Minivan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

We were shopping for a wheelchair accessible van for my in-laws. We were impressed with the vehicles we test drove and they would have fit their needs perfectly. Unfortunately, they were priced too high for their budget.

Performance
Report Abuse

Comfy People Mover with Get up and Go

Patty R, 07/11/2018
XLE 7-Passenger 4dr Minivan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I Love this van! I do 98% of the driving in this vehicle and I put about 20k miles on it in a year. (that is a LOT of time in the vehicle) I driven all over this green earth in my Sienna and I love it so much I just bought out my lease. The most impressive and surprising feature on this van is the turning radius. I can turn my van around in stupid small areas without having to back up. Like I can make a full U turn is less space than the 2 lane road (thats one lane each way) without using the shoulder or needing to be in an intersection. We recently took a trip to the coast 1000 miles 3 boys 12, 7 and 4. Everyone was comfortable and able to charge their electronics (so important). And when I did not want to listen to the boys anymore I cranked up the radio and tuned them out.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050