Used 2006 Toyota Sequoia SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price
$9,995

Used Sequoia for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

What happened to Toyota?

Mom of Two, 03/02/2010
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Previous happy Toyota owner. I have had nothing but problems - electrical problems with this SUV since I got it. Toyota seems to not care. I tried arbitration with no luck. My car at 2 yrs old spent ONE month at the dealer maintenance only to have more electrical problems. I cannot let it idle without it wanting to stall - such a bummer when stuck in traffic!! At the time of arbitration Toyota claimed that the car is working at that instant so there is no issue, they will continue to fix problems that arise. That is not product reliability to me. I think I got stuck with the lemon.

Report Abuse

2006 Toyota Sequoia

the doc, 10/28/2008
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2006 Sequoia new. I have owned it over 2 years and driven it almost 30000 miles. I have to say that it has been a great vehicle. The quality has been exceptional. It is a large SUV with a V 8, so gas mileage is what it is. The vehicle is very quiet at high or low speeds. The vehicle has been very reliable and only been to the shop for regular maintenance.

Report Abuse

Beats a Lexus GX470 hands down

Bmac, 06/06/2009
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

We needed a little more room with the addition of a third child to our family. We traded in our Lexus GX470 and the only thing we miss is the complimentary loaner car a few times a year for oil changes. The Sequoia goes through any mild to medium difficulty 4wd trails with no problem. On more difficult stuff, I feel a lot less guilty about bottoming out a Sequoia than a Lexus...and my pocket book doesn't pay nearly as much for the plastic you replace on the Lexus. If I had it to do over, I would have bought a Sequoia 4wd in the 1st place. Sure, the Lexus won 4wd drive magazine 4- wheeler of the year a few times, but how often do you do Rincon. I can bang my Sequoia around w/no regrets.

Report Abuse

Significant Noise Problem

Ketan Vyas, 11/09/2006
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought a new Sequoia in June 2006. The very first time I drove on interstate I noticed humming noise of drive shaft at speed of 60 mph. This is some time appreciated in old real wheel drive cars. But not in a new vehicle which costs $52000. I cannot get either dealer or Toyota to fix this or take the vehicle back. In order to stay comfortable you need to drive at the speed lower than 60 mph. I am amazed the way I am treated by Toyota and the dealership. I used to be a Toyota fan. I recommend everyone to drive this vehicle on highway before buying. I am sure some of other sequoia owners might have experienced the same problem what Toyota calls "normal characteristic of vehicle."

Report Abuse

Tough to beat in this class

sammyray, 03/14/2006
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Excellent quality... no squeaks, rattles, everything solid. Takes a while to get used to the size (if used to a smaller car)... braking in particular takes longer due to the high weight. Time-proven Toyota engine. Lots of room, visibility excellent but need to check corners by sight and not rely on mirrors. Had an Explorer and, while reasonably reliable, got tired of incessant rattles and relatively poor build quality. Good sound quality, controls user-friendly. Very happy with the vehicle, would recommend based on experience so far.

Report Abuse

Thrilled

gds5, 05/03/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5/2009 bought a 2006 sequoia, used but new to us. We searched and test drove numerous cars - loading and unloading 3 smaller kids into each for test drives. Toyota Seqouia's withstood our kid tested-mother approved! It definitely is a beast of a vehicle but with running boards the kids can easily handle getting in and out. Our 4 yr old can easily buckle herself up now, couldn't in our dodge mini van. 3 kids (2 in car seats) fit totally comfortably in the middle bench seat. Easy fold up seat to get to the 3rd row. Totally surprised I didn't have to give up much trunk space. This vehicle fell into our lap and we jumped on it; even though it had higher miles we've been told Toyota's are long lasting!

Report Abuse

Comfortable Road Trips

nt, 03/17/2010
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

For a family of four this SUV takes us where we want without any bad experiences on the road. From our Chicago home to the mountain roads of Mt.Rushmore or to the Niagara Falls, two trips to New York, occasional camping trips this truck just keeps on going. I just had two repairs since I own this sequoia; one for the rear passenger ac climate control and the rear window wiper motor replaced.

Report Abuse

Best Gas Mileage V8 SUV

jj, 06/03/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After searching for the right sized auto with regard to value, we chose this beautiful 7 seater suv. Plenty of power for passing and hauling. Comfortable for everyone on long drives and the average gas mileage is 15.9, which is amazing compared to others in this class.

Report Abuse

Our first Sequoia

g4zilla, 02/05/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We're 500 miles into our 2006 Sequoia, and are very impressed. This rig is smooth, rock solid, and very well appointed. Our kids, both teenagers, love the roominess ("Dad! My knees don't touch your seat!") and I look forward to Toyota's legendary dependability. Though it's a large SUV, it handles like a smaller vehicle. I never feel as though I'm driving a school bus! Recently, my son and I were traveling on the highway, and he turned to me and said, "Dad, this Sequoia is so quiet!" He was absolutely right. I looked down at the speedometer...oops, 80 mph! And that is my final point: the quiet, smooth ride betrays nothing of your speed.

Report Abuse

WOW!!! This is nice

marv, 10/17/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After looking at the upper end American suvs and Lexus GX and LX 470s, this suv just seemed to stand out. It has the complete package for me. It's (the limited model) style, comfort, quality, sound system, size and quietness all seemed to outshine the others. I'm averaging 15.1 MPG around town with the V8 and 18.4 on the freeway. My wife's Jeep Liberty (3.7L) only averages 14.3 in town! So far an outstanding SUV.

Report Abuse

Great used purchase

Brian, 07/16/2016
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have never bought a used car with this many miles, it had 98,000 when I bought it 4+ years ago, now have 156,000. I swear by using a Carfax report and bought this with only 1 owner, no accidents and from the dealer where it was originally bought (they also had all the service done there) . Because I bought used with high miles I decided to purchase a 3 year/36,000 warranty to help me to not have 'buyer's remorse' if something big happened. It never did use it though. I have had some mechanical issues, such as the back door latch broke and was about $400 to fix. Had to do regular maintainence, replace tires, brakes,oil changes etc. I figure all cars need this and if you can avoid huge repair bills then buying used makes sense financially. When a new limited model is over 60k and I paid 23k for it with every option offered, I am very happy with it and feel it will go to 250k miles easily and from what dealer repair shop tells me they see that number on this car. No regrets.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

We love our Sequoia

BCL, 08/08/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is the second sequoia we have purchased. We love the comfort and the look of it. The look of the Lucchese Edition was the reason we traded in our old one. The interior looks so sharp. The only draw back is the gas mileage or lack of, but that is with most SUVs. I'd recommend it to anyone who is interested in an SUV.

Report Abuse

2006 Sequioa

pam, 09/28/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

this is our second Sequoia..we love it. It is smaller built than our 2002 model, but the gas mileage is a little better. We are averaging 16-17mpg. It is fun to drive and we are Toyota fans. We have a Tacoma also, and drove a 4 Runner for 16 years, and all 4 of our children drove it as they each turned 16.

Report Abuse

2006 Toyota Sequoia SR5

lofoster, 03/04/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought the Sequoia used with 18,000 miles on it. It has been a dream to own. Nothing goes wrong with it. It is very comfortable and drives very well.

Report Abuse

The Swiss Army Knive of SUV's

Dan in Texas, 08/08/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the second Sequoia I have owned, and I could not be more pleased. My first one had 135,000 miles on it, looked and drove like new when traded. I now have 75,000 miles on the 2006, and have NEVER had a service call for any reason. I am meticulous about care and maintenance, but zero issues in 200,000 miles says it all. This one has the captains chairs in the back and DVD, which are the ultimate peacemaker on long trips. Elegant enough for two couples out on the town, yet yank the seats and its a Home Depot special. Have I mentioned I love this thing?

Report Abuse

Limited 4x4 nav, dvd, lux, airbags

micmcp, 09/27/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle - drives great compared to chevy/ford - always feel in control - no over steer or under steer problems - nice, tight steering wheel. DVD works great. Touch screen navigation requires vehicle to be in park to enter a destination; however, you can use the other features while driving. Air vents are loud with fan on high - especially in 2nd and 3rd rows. Could use more cup holders in front seats - one each on long trip is not enough. No squeaks or rattles... great truck overall! Very happy with my purchase!

Report Abuse

Size does count

Dave Stiller, 07/16/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A very long, wide and tall vehicle. Just try washing it. Amazingly quiet and smooth ride. Seating position is excellent and provides a great view ahead. Passenger comfort is very good in all seats. Rear seats remove easily and quickly. Quality and detail of construction is impressive. No squeaks or body noises. No wind noise at speed with windows closed. Opening rear window is a plus. Allows flow thru vent.

Report Abuse

Great SUV!

Robman, 12/21/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After looking at the Yukon and Expedition, and saw that the money I was going to spend, I noticed the Sequoia was a much better buy as far as the amenities included for the base price.

Report Abuse

2006 Toyota Sequoia Limited

Alyssa, 02/29/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I LUV MY TRUCK!!! I have really enjoyed owning this vehicle. Very fun to drive and multi-functional vehicle.

Report Abuse

Great SUV!!

Best I've ever owned, 05/16/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2006 Sequoia for a year and a half, and have absolutely loved it. I can't think of anything I would change. I shopped and compared many, many SUVs and finally ordered mine as I wanted it - fully loaded. It's beautiful inside and out. Very practical interior and very user friendly. DVD player is not used much but grandkids love it. Drives and handles like a dream. You won't go wrong with this car. Absolutely -0- problems or hitches. I even pull a large trailer sometimes and man, what a job it does.

Report Abuse

Nothing Better

LoveMySequoia!!, 09/21/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this as a replacement to our Ford Explorer. After 2 lemons from Ford will never go back! This vehicle is the best value in a large SUV. Smooth, quiet ride, good visibility and plenty of power if using it as a family vehicle. The headrest DVD players are a must if you have 2 children or more. With the wireless headphones and the pleasure of driving this vehicle, long trips are a dream. We researched, drove and compared all full sized SUVs and not only thought this was the best vehicle, but also got the best price. It was worth giving up the extra size from the Suburban.

Report Abuse

Excellent vehicle!

JW, 12/04/2019
Limited 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Comfortable, spacious, well-appointed interior. For a large vehicle handles very well..very responsive steering. Has been an excellent vehicle with no major mechanical issues in 14 years!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Toyota does it again

zee, 07/03/2006
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is probably one of the best SUVs on the market. I’m 8000 miles into it and I adore this car. Absolutely no problems whatsoever. The navigation system is great and it goes 0-60 it about 6.5 seconds. That’s great for an SUV of this size. I average around 20 miles per gallon which isn't the best but it'll do for a vehicle of this size. A definite car to buy.

Report Abuse

Good overall SUV, some flaws

b42346, 02/05/2012
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Overall good SUV. We bought it brand new in fall of 2005. But, we actually liked our 2 previous Chevy Suburbans WAY more. We got the Limited Sequoia with DVD. The 3rd row seat is actually comfortable for adults. In just 6 years, we have put approx. 130,000 miles. The gas mileage is horrible. I get 15 combined. Next cars will be a Suburban or Audi Q7 diesel for the fuel economy. Also, acceleration left something to be desired.

Report Abuse

Horrible Toyota Experience

Former Toyota Fan, 09/10/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The day after paying $48K to the dealer my car would not start. Turns out I needed a new battery. Back to the service depart., waited an hour, got a new battery, & on my way. Over the course of the next 23 months had various problems with the low tire pressure sensor coming on. Also had three other warning lights for the battery lighting up randomly. Eventually, 2-08, got in my car to leave for the morning and it wouldn't start. The battery had been leaking acid and corroded my battery cables. AAA cleaned up the mess and got me started again. In 5-08 car doesn't start again. Battery acid corroded my fuse block. One month later finally get my car back from dealer. Sept. 08 car doesn't start!

Report Abuse

The new Ultimate SUV

Chad from Mill Creek, 08/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Drives like a sedan with a bit of sport feel. In the snow it's an animal, you can't loose control and I tried.

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle

J. Muller, 12/27/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive. Interior item locations not fully thought out. Some features are inconvenient to use.

Report Abuse

2006 Sequioa

2006 Sequoia, 12/29/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Quality you can feel. I've looked at all of the big SUVs. This Sequioa just beats them all. Gas mileage is not bad, but heck you pay this much for this monster, who cares about gas mileage.

Report Abuse

the best of the best

jimmy, 01/19/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

"Wow this truck just surprised me" I buy trucks, I love trucks and when it came to buying my new truck I looked at many others, but looking at reviews and reports, and a lot test drives later, this is the best large suv out there.

Report Abuse

True to its Name -Sequoia!

phimb, 02/27/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you want power, comfort, style and reliability at a price you can afford, Sequoia is it!

Report Abuse

Toyota Sequoia Limited 4WD Review

RKB, 05/04/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After looking at several large SUVs, we decided on the Sequoia for all its amenities and for the overall look. I couldn't be happier with the performance of this vehicle. It rides and drives like a dream. Everything about this vehicle is perfect! It handles like a smaller vehicle, but has a large capacity. We are LOVING the Sequoia more than any vehicle we have ever owned (Jeep, Dodge, or Chevy). I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a large SUV. The only down side is the gas mileage, but if you have an SUV, you are used to that anyway. We are currently getting 16 mpg, which is only 1 mile less than the Chevy Blazer (small SUV) we had before.

Report Abuse

2006 Sequoia

Joseph Pino, 09/07/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 2005 4Runner for this vehicle due to uncomfortable seats. The Sequoia is comfortable, yet firm and handles good for a vehicle of this size. My fuel economy has averaged 17.5 MPG on a mix of 75% highway, 25% local driving. The build quaility is excellent and there are no squeaks or rattles. The 4.7L V8 is refined and responsive. Step on it at 40 mph and you will feel pushed back in your seat. My vehicle has a 4.11 rear so it has good acceleration. The 5 speed transmission shifts very well. There is an enormous amout of room for hauling cargo or people. All accessaries work well. Overall, I am very pleased with this vehicle and don't plan to sell it anytime soon.

Report Abuse

Sequoia rocks

Jacque, 12/02/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No issues since buying new. Great in the snow and on regular surfaces. Fun off road. Lowest cost per mile as far as I can tell. Neighbor's new Tahoe has been in twice for mechanical glitches...

Report Abuse

Sequoia Rocks

joshsabrina, 12/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent SUV all the way around except fuel economy. If you don't mind paying more at the pump though, this vehicle will make you think you are driving on a cloud. This SUV has the best resale value for the 2005 model for SUV's. Now you can't beat that.

Report Abuse

Smart choice

tony, 12/18/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is awesome the power of the 4.7 engine is great. I have never had a truck with this much power. The mpg is not that bad at all. My wife fell in love with it when we drove it at the dealer. We drove all teh competitors and the Toyota was the best. Most of the other trucks were very cheaply made on the inside. I was NEVER a foreign car guy before let alone a Toyota. Now I see why people say toyotas are the best. I plan on keeping this truck for 10 years.

Report Abuse

This is the SUV of Choice

RVJ, 04/18/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am totally in love with this vehicle. For a large SUV, it handles the road perfectly. I ride in safety and comfort. I am happy that I decided to buy this vehicle and have no regrets.

Report Abuse

Lovin' my Toyota Sequoia

Sherry Parker, 06/23/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I pick up and deliver dogs in my Toyota Sequoia for my dog grooming business and it has makes my job much more fun and easier..it is easy to get the animals in and out with the 3rd row seats removed and the second bench seat made down--however, I do wish that the second bench seat could be locked while in the fold down mode--I have had the seat fall during a curve or sudden stop and it could be dangerous if a small dog happened to be in its way. I tuck a blanket around the seat securly and that does help hold it up but it would be better if it locked in position.

Report Abuse

LUV my SUV

M. Santiago SR, 07/14/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As a newbee to SUVs I absolutely love my Sequoia. Gas mileage isn't as bad as you would think for a V8, but if you drive it like a racecar your miles per gallon will decrease big time. The only thing I wish they did better was the dash and console. It's identical to that of the Tundra and quite honestly not the most elegant or fun to look at. I guess if you can live with that or without, then this is a great ride. Smooth on the road, power when you need it and quite elegant for the price range. I'm definitely hooked and look forward to the next Sequoia model.

Report Abuse

Love it!!!

Dezi, 08/01/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our second Sequoia. Put a lot of long distance driving on it!! Could not ask for any better!! Yes, it isn`t great on gas but we knew that when we bought it. It's better than most!! Great car!! Love it!!

Report Abuse

Best built full size SUV

SRQSequoia, 08/25/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had several full size SUVs and I must say the Toyota Sequoia is the best built on the market today. I was concerned with the smaller engine but Toyota has it geared perfect and it will out perform most domestics. Great quality, great ride, and a great value.

Report Abuse

My Dream Car

Tomika, 09/12/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For the last couple of years I have longed for the Sequoia. I got a great deal on the SR5. I do wish the steering wheel had radio controls on it though. I also wish it came with backup sensors, but other than that i as so pleased. I only hope that as the years pass i will still be as happy.

Report Abuse

sequia

JP, 09/16/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am very satisfied with this suv. On long runs, using cruise control, mileage hits 19 mpg.It is very comfortable and handles very well.

Report Abuse

Our Second Sequoia

Linda Perkins, 09/29/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the second Sequoia Limited we have purchased. The Sequoia is the first SUV we have ever had and absolutely the best vehicle we have ever owned. The interior is outstanding, more like a car and not a truck. The third seat is comfortable for an average size adult. I rode in this seat from Ohio to Tenn without a complaint. We tell everyone that asks how much we love our Sequoia and even say it to each other while we are traveling. Our son loved ours so much that he even bought one for himself to accommodate his growing family. We can't say enough good things about the Sequoia Limited.

Report Abuse

Luxury meets ruggedness

Sutam Biswas, 04/22/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I bought Toyota Sequoia, my main objective was to get safety for my newborn kid and 5 year old. However, once I drove it, I felt the power that the 8 cyl 4 wd beast generates on/off the road with minimum effort. Also, the satisfaction and peace of mind that you can get by owning a Toyota is there. I think it is a real value for money. Offers you space, performance and luxury at a good price.

Report Abuse

My Yota

Monica, 04/16/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had a 2004 4runner and I absolutely loved it! I recently decided it was time to upgrade to a third row seat. so I bought my Sequoia. I love the Sequoia but the only problem is that it gets horrible gas mileage. 13.7 mpg. with gas reaching $4 a gallon I'm wishing I would have gone with a hybrid. All of our cars are Toyotas b/c you can't beat the quality. I'm looking forward to getting rid of a carseat or two and opting for a Prius. If you have the money to keep up with the gas then you'll be fine.

Report Abuse

Great on every aspect

patricksound, 04/23/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent, extremely strong and very comfortable. The luxury fixtures make it a truck to want.

Report Abuse

My 06 Seqouia ( The Hog)

levi arnold, 07/19/2018
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle will take care of you if you take care of it. It’s a Toyota and I one can kill a Toyota

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050