Skip to main content

Used 2002 Toyota Prius Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,426 - $5,703

Used Prius for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...16

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.38 out of 5 stars

2002 Prius with 193,000 miles

manatee624, 07/04/2012
4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

Bought it new in June 2003. I'm amazed the car it still gives me 42-46 mpg each fill up in mixed city/highway driving in busy Miami traffic. This has been the most reliable car I have owned in 40 years of driving. Repairs so far: full brake job at 100,000 miles, replaced replaced rear wheel bearings at 155,000 miles, replaced ABS brake module and engine belt at 165,000 miles, replaced steering rack at 175,000 miles, added refrigerant gas to AC at 190,000 miles for the 1st time. As a preventive measure I also replace the small 12V battery every 3 years. The car is still running fine on the original high voltage battery. Everything thing else is original. I love it!

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

02 PRIUS

sstk100, 03/26/2011
4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

We've had the 02 Prius for about 2 years (our first Prius), and our experience has been great. In fact we bought an 08 Prius and gave the 02 to our son to drive to school. I expect we will always have Prius for the foreseeable future. Gas mileage is lower in winter (35-39), and as high as 48 mpg in summer on a 700 mile road trip. It's still weird when the engine shuts down when at a stop light....but that's just money in my pocket ! There have been zero-nada problems with anything. It just purrs along all the time. We like the 08 even better because Toyota updated many things like a a fold down rear seat, better stereo radio, and even more room in back seat.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

15 years and still going

Bill A, 12/02/2016
4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used in 2009 from the state motor pool with 95,000 miles. It has now gone 155,000 and it is still getting 44 mpg on the highway. Since buying it it is has only done 40 mpg in town. I've replaced ball joints, rear shocks, rear bearings, small battery, fan belt and the steering rack (a free recall). The fluids have all been replaced and the A/C was recharged once. Dash lights are starting to burn out and it cost me $85 to replace the green headlight on indicator. So far this is the best little car I've owned in my 73 years of life. Now if it will just run another couple of years until the tires wear out.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

Rina Gene, 02/18/2018
4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I am not knowledgeable about cars, not at all. I bought this car 10 years ago, with 160,000 miles on it. I've replaced or refurbished the hybrid battery twice. Some other part had to be replaced, some sensor. As a single parent, I took my child everywhere without a worry. Other than routine maintenance, it hasn't required anything else until recently. It now has over 360,000 miles on it and sadly, it is time to buy another car, simply because so much is age worn and will likely become problematic. There is some issue with melted wires impeding the computer receiving accurate information regarding the hybrid battery, so the bells and whistles come on when in fact nothing is really wrong.

Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car and minimal repair costs

Jacob, 04/27/2017
4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 19 people found this review helpful

I have owned Prii all my life and have learned to work on them myself. The cars are immaculate in terms of just about everything. But do remember- this is a car from 2002 and will have different interior and what not from cars today. The first generation Prii are just about as good as you can get. Over the 2 I have had, I constantly average about 48 MPG. 44 @ 70+, 55 @ 55+, 55 @ 30-55 MPH. The headlights do SUCK on these! But that is nothing that cannot be fixed with about $30, Amazon, and something called XENON headlights that will light up the road. Costs $30 and takes about 20 minutes to set up. I want to make something clear to those who say the repair costs are tremendous: you are wrong! If the main hybrid battery were to fail, the cost is NOT $2000+. I repair 2000-2009 Prius hybrid batteries as a side job all the time. I personally buy working used batteries with less than 120k miles on the for between $200 and $500 and it takes less than an HOUR to replace yourself or if you find a shop, or if you chose to have someone replace it, then expect around $300 to install. On average I charge $700 to replace the hybrid battery completely- that's the cost of EVERYTHING. If you want a new battery and want Toyota to install it personally, then of course expect a couple thousand- what did you expect for a car that was $20,000 when it first came out? That's like buying a brand new engine from GMC when your head gasket goes out. I mean seriously? Use your brain! Not only this, but the hybrid battery almost never fails entirely- it is usually a couple of cells which cost less than $40 and I charge less than $70 each to replace. Shop around at your local shop, replacing the battery is actually simple. For those of you who are willing to learn, look a video on youtube of how to change a prius hybrid battery. My first time took me 50 minutes. Takes about a full hour after you put extra features that will protect the newly installed battery. Not only this, but you can RECYCLE the bad battery for about $150 and that's the price I buy the bad batteries at(which can be repaired by simply replacing cells). I also drive this car on average around 40,000 miles a year because I travel so often. This is a review from someone who not only has 3 total cars that are 1st-3rd generation Prii and not a single other type of car and who works on them and learned by himself. For those who do not know, 1st generation= 1997-2003(1997-1999 Japan only), 2nd generation= 2004-200, 3rd generation= 2010-2015 :). And an extra note- I buy my Prii on Craigslist and generally get them with less than 140k miles for under $1,900.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...16
Items per page: