Used 1993 Toyota Corolla Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,003 - $2,369

Used Corolla for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

If you find one GRAB IT!

acb, 06/15/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle on the road and I ever owned. 115,000 miles and only normal maintenance. NO PROBLEMS EVER!! Pain chipped easily, too easily, but it was a $14,000 car new! Consumer Reports and everyone wasnt wrong.. this toyota is one reliable vehicle!! It was mine, then my wifes, then my oldest sons first car and will become my daughters as soon as she gets her license.. O

Report Abuse

You can't find a better car

Sunshine, 01/31/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought a 1993 red Toyota Corolla about Oct. 14, 1992. It is still on the road. The only repairs are what one might expect as a car owner - tires, regular oil changes, brakes, one new starter. I still maintain ownership. The corolla has about 80,000 miles on it. It is 17 years old, still gets good gas mileage, and my mechanic tells me that it is a great car and can continue to be driven well over 100,000-150,000 miles. It is my opinion that the 1993 Corolla was one of the best cars Toyota ever produced.

Report Abuse

317745

imperial88, 09/07/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

owned my corolla for five yrs. other than my own idiocies the car has never given me any problems. i've done 3 hour one way trips to and from i went every weekend for about a whole year mostly going over 80 ive gone over a 100 half way though the trips twice i love my car to death 317745 and going strong

Report Abuse

reliable reliable

rajeshp, 04/22/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great car from Toyota. I am owning one since 2 years. When I bought it at 120k its AC compressor was not working. But it did not bother me much, I am used to summer heat. I did not spent a dollar on it other than oil change every 3 months. It had run total of 146k as of today. I am 6 feet tall and i still have lot of room at driver's seat. gives me 24 mpg in city and 28 on highway. Pickup is too good. Better than later Camrys. I have driven this 800 mile trip twice in consecutive week ends. upto 80 miles/hr the car runs good. I did not try beyond that.

Report Abuse

Best Car Ever

rockinboy, 01/19/2014
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new in fall of 1993, the only thing I have done other than oil changes, is new brakes at 185000km new struts at 280000 The car is like new as i dont drive in the winter anymore need 4x4 on my driveway. O and i changed the thermostat years ago along with starter.

Report Abuse

Lovin Yota's

yotalover1, 06/05/2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 93 Toyota Corolla for 500 bucks with 180,xxx miles on it. The exhaust manifold had a crack in it so it was pretty loud when it first started but after 10-15 minutes the manifold would heat up enough to close the crack. Once that was fixed this car never stopped. I have literally never had another problem with the car and it currently has 250,xxx miles on it!!!! turns out Ive paid around 0.0625 cents a mile to drive it (just dividing the original cost by the 80000 miles Ive drove so far). I tried for years to stick with American made cars but they just dont last. they have more power and might be more comfortable(in general) but none of that matters when your broke down. Lovetoys

Report Abuse

Excellent Value for Money, Easy to Drive

Toyota Fan, 03/04/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I totally agree with Marcarian. The corolla I have is the best car I have ever owned. No wonder Japanese cars are more expensive. Yeah, they are much more reliable and runs much smoother. It acceleates very fast, gear transmission is so smooth that you can't feel the gear has been changed. Plus it is extremely fuel efficient (another advantage of Japanese cars). Excellent value for money.

Report Abuse

The best I have ever owned.

wg, 10/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This corolla is almost eleven years old and has 185k miles and runs like a top. Only routine maintenance and an alternator for repairs over the time I've own the car. Purchased new, one owner, driven by my wife and myself and still gets 35+ mpg on a weekly basis with and automatic transmission. Glad I bought it but will purchase a larger car next time . . . a camry.

Report Abuse

Japanese Quality

Mr. Crisp, 08/06/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I too am the lucky owner of a Corolla DX sedan and I can safely say that it has definitly been one of the best automotive investments that I've ever made. The 1.8L engine is pretty snappy for its size, and the manual transmission is very smooth. No major repairs save an alternator and a starter but that was after I had driven it for over 90K miles! I've owned this car for 11 years and it never ceases to make me proud to own it.

Report Abuse

Almost 300k and still going

Matthew, 01/29/2016
DX 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just hit 290k miles. I change the oil every 2700 miles. It runs like its brand new. I have never had it in the shop. Original everything. I love this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My Rolla

accord27, 05/28/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have had our 93 Toyota corolla about a month, and it's the best thing I have ever bought! It has 198,000 on it, and we paid $3,000 for it. It is in mint shape. I can only wish it had more power. But everything else is awesome! I was a Honda accord man, but now I like the corollas. In a year or so we will get another corolla (new) The car has never been painted, and it looks like the paint is brand new. I love my Rolla! Clean hot looking car!

Report Abuse

Best car ever built?

averagjoe, 03/02/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought this car new in 1993. It has been driven every day since. It only took 16 years for the check engine light to come on for the first time. Turned out to be a broken wire to the O2 sensor which I fixed for free. I have decided to buy a new Corolla every 20 years whether it's wore out or not.

Report Abuse

Great first car, but a few issues

Nicolle, 07/30/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

First let me say that I owned this car for 4.5 years and cried when I traded it in. It was my first car, and was pretty much the perfect first car for a 16 year old. But. The starter went at about 75,000 miles. The axles needed to be replaced a few times because there was a weird vibration and 3 mechanics couldn't figure it out. It vibrated horribly above 50mph. HATED 80mph. Then something weird happened and the starter shorted out. Kept turning itself over like there was a ghost turning the key. FREAKY! Took 4 hours for the Toyota dealership to figure it out! This car was possessed, my brother-in-law is a mechanic and he was baffled by all the weird stuff that happened to Rita (her name).

Report Abuse

Not like a real Toyota

jjimbo, 01/24/2012
1 of 7 people found this review helpful

I got mine with 185,000 miles on it. The car had no power, no A/C that couldn't get fixed, the body looked like it was designed to look like a 1980s washing machine, and the interior was way too small and had no place to hold anything. The electrical equipment kept failing and the Airbag decided to go off randomly.

Report Abuse

Reliable car

MT Corolla owner , 12/14/2008
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

We got this car new. It gets excellent fuel mileage, about 36 mpg on the highway. The automatic transmission is smooth enough, and the car has adequate power. The cloth on the seats is very tough, but the seats are very uncomfortable. I need to cross my legs to get the support I want. The interior is made of cheap plastics. Interior noise while driving is horrendous, and on the highway, you can not carry on conversation with rear seat passengers in a normal tone of voice. It has 153000 miles on it and has not had anything replaced but the brakes, about 4000 miles ago. There is also no passenger airbag, just one for the driver. Forget ABS, ESC, or any other safety features.

Report Abuse

Levirolla 93 Corolla

levirolla, 08/25/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

BEST D&MN CAR EVER. Dad bought it 1993 as a demo car and it has been a part of the family since. Its taken all the abuse we could throw at it. MY dad had a lead foot and we never had any real issues with it. I took the car in 2003 after my dad passed and since then I've taken great care of it. It is on its second engine and transmission due to my father and my heavy foot though. To solve this problem I bought a Toyota Supra Turbo. The Corolla is my primary car and hasn't failed me once. It has alway gotten me home even with a spun bearing and a jacked up trans. They are strong little cars. Mine has 221k miles on it and still kicking.

Report Abuse

I love my Corolla

sarahsnowhite, 02/22/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this car as a gift from my uncle when I was 16. It had 55,000 miles and the one previous owner didn't seem to drive it much. I haven't had anything wrong with besides a few door handles and a seat belt. The tires did need to get replaced a few times, but I change the oil as much as possible. But for now my mileage today is 123,000, it's amazing to me how far I have come with that little car. It's got me everywhere in my life so far.

Report Abuse

Former Chevylover

wouldloveasienna, 04/22/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with about 93,000 miles on it from the original owner in 2004. I have done regular maintenance on this vehicle and it has proven to be the BEST investment in a vehicle ever made! It survived a reverse jump! My friend had the cables on wrong :( The car now has 167,987 miles and the only "major" work done was a water pump replacement and a new motor for the wipers. As a former Chevy lover...Toyota has stolen my heart! With the addition of baby #5 we can't possibly fit in here any more but this car is staying in the family, my husband uses it for work!!!!

Report Abuse

$1,800 Wonder

Cheapie Dave, 05/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car from a wholesaler for a beater to work for $1,800.00 plus tax. What I got was a car that needed a set of tires, a good detailing and a hub-cap. It's incredible! The car is so well built and so reliable, Toyota may have a full time future customer for life! It handles OK,is slooow with the 1.6 and auto trans., but it is as quiet, and smooth riding as a much larger car. Really impressed.

Report Abuse

Just got a 93 Corolla

Acworth, 10/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was just given a 1993 Corolla LE with 54,000 miles on it. It belonged to my in-laws and not driven much. They purchased the car brand new so I am now the 2nd owner. So far this car is great on gas, it sure beats my mini van. I hope to keep it in the family for a long, long time.

Report Abuse

partners in life

easyonthepedals, 02/02/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought new in 1993, my only new car purchase and easily the best money I ever spent. On the road from New England to California, then to Florida and even north to Quebec City and back, the car has never had an on the road problem in seventeen years. Yes, I've had to put a good deal of money into replacements lately (water pump, struts, radiator, gas tank) but we all get old, right? My biggest disappointment was Toyota's decision to replace it with the Matrix (a far less attractive model) when it was still available as a wagon in Europe. With a bike rack on top and spare sleeping bag and other essentials in the spacious rear cargo area, I've always felt ready for anything.

Report Abuse

A Very Decent Car

Phil, 07/05/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm the original owner of a '93 Corolla. It has 170K miles on it now. I paid the car off over ten years ago. Since then, I've only replaced the transmission, water pump, front engine mount, beside regular items (brakes, tires, etc.) Also replaced inside door handle a couple years ago. (Dealer still had part in back stock.) In other words, since paying off car, I've spent about $50/month to maintain it. Pretty inexpensive to own/maintain.

Report Abuse

good for price

raza, 10/09/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have to say that I really never had any big problems with this car, and I am ready to buy the 2003. While other cars were braking down this one was still out one the road.

Report Abuse

Owner of 4 Toyotas

Mr. Tom, 10/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned 4 toyotas: 82 Corolla, 93 Corolla, 98 4Runner, and soon a 03 Camry. This corolla has over 112000 miles on it, and has never had a major problem. I still get about 400 miles on a tank of 89octane gas.

Report Abuse

My first car

Frey, 11/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought my 1.8 liter DX sedan used in 1997 and I've driven it 90k miles since. Only major maintainance issues were the starter and alternator within the past year. Currently have 148k miles and it's been ultra reliable. Repainting was necessary when the top layer of paint chipped off in spots soon after I bought it. Recently engine noise and vibration has increased. Looking forward to getting the 2003 Corolla.

Report Abuse

Great little car

aphamedmunds, 12/28/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was my car in college. Drove well, required little maintenance, and never really needed service.

Report Abuse

Still Running great

surtespas, 01/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car. My previous car I was always in the shop getting something or another fixed. I have never had anything major fixed on it. It run great even in the dead of winter it starts right up.

Report Abuse

2003 review

tonya1, 02/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been the best experience I've had while using this vehicle. I haven't had any major problems but normal repairs that are exspected. This is a very reliable car and will purchase another when it's time.

Report Abuse

A better small car

AR, 06/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second Corolla, I had owned 1997 corolla and sold it when moved to another state and got this last October (2002) as used. Until now I never had repairs though it has 113000 miles on it. Just regular maintenance. Small reliable car, worth of it's price.

Report Abuse

Quality vehicle

dannyboy, 07/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car for 4 years now and have never had any major malfunctions. A smart car if you need to watch your cash and have reliability.

Report Abuse

Fantastic Car

Dan in Long Beach, 08/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased NEW, still same owner. Have always taken proactive approach to maintenance and care of the car and it's paid off well. My MPG has beat out just about anyone i've talked to, even the cheaper vehicles. I consistantly have gotten 30 MPG or better on long drives. Currently there is 172000 on the OD and the only major thing approaching for service are the CV Joints.

Report Abuse

Top of the line

heyjay, 08/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this Toyota for ten years with minor repairs to the engine peripherals Taken over the ten years that I've had it, it runs $140/year for unscheduled maintenance. Great gas mileage in O/D, 32+ mpg. The only problem with this car is the apparent lack of power in O/D at freeway speeds, it kicks out too often in cruise control. I could live with more power and less gas mileage. I expect the car to last 200k miles. At that time I'll replace the engine with a more powerful one.

Report Abuse

aah, okay

Djangoman, 07/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is okay. I've owned it for 2 years, and put about 15k on it. I bought it with 120k. It is reliable. It does not drive well in the rain. Cornering is okay, but even at slower speeds, it feels like the tires are going to buckle. It does get decent mileage. But it is not consistent on pickup. Sometimes it will go, but other times, you have to keep your foot to the floor. The braking is not very good either. My Chevy Cavalier definitely drives and handles and is more fun to drive, but albeit it is broken down at only 110k miles.

Report Abuse

Love this car!

antelala, 02/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used (3 yrs old) with only 32,000 miles on it. In less than 4 years 200,000 miles were added to that. The car is now 10 years old and is still running strong with 257,000 miles. It is a fun, zippy little car to drive and I would buy another in a heart beat! I liked this style of Corolla best until the 2002 model came out.... now that's a nice looking car! If you're looking at this model, even with 100,000 miles (as long as it has been taken care of) I would say you could get quite a bit more use out of it. BUY IT!

Report Abuse

love my toyota

MSU, 10/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my corolla for 6 years. I have had very few problems with it for its age/mileage. I am currently in the market for a new car and I am going to purchase a new corolla. You can't beat their quality and durability.

Report Abuse

excellent choice

Frank666, 10/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great vehicule but need more power under the hood

Report Abuse

Worth the $$$

auntielala, 01/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My '93 DX has been an AWESOME car! We purchased this car used (3 years old) with 32,000 miles on it. It's now at 269,000 miles and running strong!!! Minor repairs have been done on it over the years, and regular maintenance. Well worth the money spent on it!! If you have the chance to buy one of these cars used that was taken care of at a low price, snap it up... I can can bet you'll get your money's worth. I definately will replace it with another Toyota.

Report Abuse

Best car ever

kaycee, 11/09/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car was the best purchase I could have made. I bought it used from its original owner and since then I have had only minor repairs and have driven it all over the country on long drives. I save money on the wonderful gas mileage and get a smooth ride in the process. This car seems like it will last another 10 years with minimal maintenance. It is the most reliable car and a great bargain considering the amount of money I spent to get it. I love it!

Report Abuse

Incredible Corolla

Croznest, 10/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car from the dealer with 12000 miles. It now has 185,000 miles and has had 2 repairs. It still gets the same 38 miles per gallon as when it was new. It is a pleasure to drive and very comfortable for it's class. It has never failed us - not even once.

Report Abuse

"OL' RELIABLE"

Ronald Wolfe, 12/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can't help it if I have to keep praising my experience with my very dependable 1993 Corolla! There's no doubt in my mind that it was the BEST choice of a low-cost and reliable means of transportation in the world. Other than just an instance of a cracked exhaust manifold and a loose battery connection/terminal, my Corolla just will NOT quit! Whether it's through the hollows of Appalachia or out in the desolate western High Plains, it can be counted on to take me just about anywhere. Although I had purchased this Corolla with about 35,000 miles, it still keeps going after 300,000 miles added on over the years (currently just over 335,000 miles)!

Report Abuse

The Best!

CJ, 04/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my '93 Corolla new for just over 13K. Best money I ever spent. Over 12 years later it has 238,000+ miles! I've done regular maintenance, oil changed every 2500 miles and tire rotatons religiously. Had to replace parts such as the clutch, 3 alternators, a starter etc... Original exhaust still! Nothing unusual though. I'm considering a Matrix now. Will use another dealer though. I did not like the one I bought this car from.

Report Abuse

The Best!

CJ, 04/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my '93 Corolla new for just over 13K. Best money I ever spent. Over 12 years later it has 238,000+ miles! I've done regular maintenance, oil changed every 2500 miles and tire rotatons religiously. Had to replace parts such as the clutch, 3 alternators, a starter etc... Original exhaust still! Nothing unusual though. I'm considering a Matrix now.

Report Abuse

Toyota Corolla Review

J. Blade, 03/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've only had this vehicle for about two years and it is very dependable especially for a college student like me. I've had no problems with the engine or the car itself and I have been averaging 13,000 miles a year.

Report Abuse

Still going strong!

auntielala, 03/20/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My last review was dated 1/04. This car is still going... now at 322,000 miles. No major repairs besides the regular, oil changes, tires and brakes. Looking forward to hitting the 400,000 mile mark :)

Report Abuse

93 corolla

dreed, 12/13/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my toyota at 117000 miles. The driving quality is good but I have had lots of braking problems with this particular veichle. I had a full brake job done 1 month after i had bought it. Then the rear brakes were done in jan. The air conditioning stopped cooling this summer. In September I had the master cylinder replaced and the drivers side caliper needs replacement. The only thing that I had done to the engine is a valve cover gasket and a thermostat so that I would have heat in the winter.I have seen 24mpg's max and as low as 18mpg's. Regular matainence was inexpensive. Otherwise the car is excellent at 147500 miles.

Report Abuse

The best car you can get!!!

Lester, 04/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used (4 yrs. old) about six years ago and have been driving it without problems all this time. After owning three GM cars before (also used) I was able to finally forget about mechanics, repair shops and auto parts stores. The quality and reliability of Toyota is unmatched by anyone! The only thing that I needed to fix was the starter. Other than that I didn't have any problems. The car is 10 yrs. old now and it drives and feels almost as the moment I bought it. Extremaly fuel efficient, I often make 400 miles on the tank of gas.

Report Abuse

great car

crawfucious, 06/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

awesome car, little mechanical failure

Report Abuse

Great car ! Great gas mileage !

Donnarobinson555, 12/11/2017
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Engine has a lot of pick-up & go (1.6)....handles winter weather. Have had it for over 2 years....only had to put a new starter in ....for $300. (Heard the iginition lock cylinder may go out on this yr model....but hasn't yet)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very reliable

Bob, 04/26/2018
DX 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Owned the car for 5 years. Only normal wear items replaced, brakes, tires, wipers, starter, tuneup. Engine leaks oil. Need to add a quart between oil changes. I suspect the car will die of rust and corossion before it wears out. Has 150, 000 miles. When working on it notice that plastic parts have become brittle and break easily.

Performance
Interior
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050