Skip to main content

Used 2012 Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT) Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,995 - $21,998

Used Outback for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

1 out of 5 stars

Engine Blew at 107,000

Jody Miller, 12/24/2015
updated 03/13/2018
Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
54 of 56 people found this review helpful

3/12/2018: Update 2012 Subaru Outback Ordeal with Subaru of America 2012 Outback Subaru loaded, 1st new car brought ever. Took exceptional care of my car, kept up on all maintenance and care schedules. (Kept my last 2 cars, 2001 Toyota Highlander to 250,000 miles, and 240 Volvo 350,000 miles +. 2012 Outback head gaskets blew while driving at 50mph, owned 3 years (mainly highway driving, 140 miles to work and Back 4 days a week), Subaru of America paid for half cost of repairs, as said in good faith, $2,250. 2018, 141,000 car staling out , shaking, transmission (staled out in rush hour traffic, highway as car slowed, very dangerous), there turn out to be problem with the transmission that was not fixed as recall, only if your car has a problem, very dangerous, should be a recall, if you do not drive your car a lot, this chance of having the transmission fixed for free, as it should be ends 7/31/2018. 4 weeks later, driving beautifully, engine seized while driving , VERY DANGEROUS! My oil level was fine, my coolant level was fine, the dealership stated they could not know the reason unless they take the engine apart, probably something in the block. Need a new engine. Subaru will not help, they stated they already help me out in good faith. Granted my car has 141,000 miles on it, but how many cars that are taken care, regular maintenance, follows Subaru maintenance plan should go through 2 engines and transmission! Here I spent $30,000 on my 1st new car ever, in my 60s, loved the car when it ran properly, handle great, gas mile great, all the bells and whistles. But to have your car die after 5 years when it was well maintained and having no $0.00 value for trade in is not right. Obviously, I have a problem car, a lemon that these kinds of repairs should not have happen once, never mine twice! Never mind how costly an engine is. Being able to have no reasonable recourse. Although I am trying, at least should get bluebook value for the worth my car if it did not have engine issues which is between $6,998-$7,667. Never mind the dangerous situations I was put in, that thank goodness the car did not caused any serious accident, Shame on Subaru customer service for putting hardship on their customers that are only looking for a fair outcome!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR!

Anonymous, 03/21/2017
Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

Around 120,000 miles everything major breaks and cost BIG $$ to fix. In 4 months we have had to sink $6,000 into this car to replace the clutch, head gasket, thermostat, etc. We bought this car new in 2012 because Subarus are known to last for 200,000-300,000 miles and we intended to keep it for a while. Normal repairs and upkeep are expected but this many MAJOR repairs in such a short period of time right after it turns over 120,000 miles is NOT right. Also, 80-90% of the 124,000 miles we have put on the car are highway miles. We will N.E.V.E.R. buy another Subaru.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

The Wanderer

wil12345, 05/25/2012
Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
34 of 39 people found this review helpful

This car would be perfect if it would only track down the road. This is our 6th Subaru and all the previous Outbacks drove fine. We have had it aligned 3 times, the rack and pinion has been adjusted, but the steering wheel will not return to center when traveling on the highway. Because of this, the car needs constant correction to drive in a straight line. We only have 2700 miles on it and if this problem can't be resolved, this car will be gone and it will be our last Subaru.

Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Broken and broken hearted.

Simone Boutet, 04/14/2018
Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I live and work in town so I have only 32,000 miles on my 2012 Outback. So far, the seat dips so far down that my physical therapist prescribed a sacrum wedge just so I could keep my leg from aching and falling asleep; I rarely use the sun roof, but the time I did, it became stuck open; the oil drained out of it for no apparent reason; and now, it is skipping or slipping when I accelerate and my mechanic says I need a whole new transmission at $6,000. There have also been multiple recalls. This is my second Outback and I want to love it, but both have been problematic. My last Outback had a mysterious battery problem where it kept dying and leaving me stranded. I replaced it twice, but nothing changed. No computer or test could show anything wrong, but new battery or old, it kept dying and leaving me stranded. I keep expecting to buy that one car that I can drive for 200,000 or 250,000 miles, but neither of my two Outbacks have lasted past 50,000. Sad.

Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Meticulously maintained, constantly broken

BAS, 01/04/2018
Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

We bought a CPO at 55k and opted for Subaru Gold Plus warranty. In the subsequent 35k miles, it's needed significant repairs ~once per year until this year, when it's been in the shop 3 times for $1000+ repairs--thankfully covered under warranty. It finally died on the highway, towed it to a Subaru dealer, where it's sat for 8 days because it seems like there is not a Subaru dealer in the country that's not too busy. It will require 8+ hours to diagnose the problem, and likely $6000+ for repairs. Subaru is being super cagey about whether it will be covered, despite our factory extended warranty and consistent dealer maintenance (including oil changes) during our ownership of the vehicle. We couldn't get a loaner from the dealer because it was closed and we were on a road trip, so we had to rent from Enterprise. Again, Subaru won't be clear if they'll cover this, even though we couldn't get a loaner at the time and their service centers can't look at anything in a reasonable time. This car has been the worst I've ever owned, including a used, questionable high-mileage Cavalier. Subaru service is as bad as their reliability.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: