Used 2011 Subaru Impreza Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,000 - $22,777

Used Impreza for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Reliable economy car

Subaru Owner, 10/26/2015
2.5i 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Update around 50K: Car still doing great, never having any serious problems, starts every time no problem except for once when the original battery finally died. Blizzak snow tires in the winter enhance performance, I have maneuvered uphill on an icy road where other cars were stuck. The head gasket repair looms around 70K, otherwise I don't anticipate a lot of issues. Good car. Update at around 36.8K: Car continues to perform as it did on day 1. Car has never refused to start, has never died while driving, nothing has gone awry except for the minor issues noted below. I have a feeling I'll drive this car another 10 years. Update at around 33.5K. Had to get the front driver's side turn signal bulb replaced, prompted by the left turn signal malfunctioning. Otherwise, besides a broken clip on the driver sun visor, there have been absolutely no problems with this car that weren't caused externally. It starts reliably, has never broken down, or done anything strange. I did drive a Toyota RAV4 rental recently and noticed that it had a much better turning radius - the Impreza really isn't a highly maneuverable car. Oh well, it still has better visibility, and isn't sluggish like my husband's Forester. Update at the 30,000 mileage maintenance - no serious problems, mechanic did the inspection of various parts, but only replaced what was required at that milemarker. Had Blizzak snow tires put on this winter, car had nary a fishtail in the snow and ice (although we had a milder winter this year). I can't tell you how much I love this car for its reliability. I have never had a problem with it starting, or any weird serious issues, it just goes. I plan to drive this for at least another 5 years. This is a good smallish car that will get you from point A to point B. Not so small that you can't put a fairly large dog or a couple of adults in the back, or put the seats down and haul some stuff. It's not a luxury car but it has been very good to/for me. After suffering through a used luxury car (that a friend sold me) with massive repair bills, I bought this new. 4 years and 29K miles later it's doing fine. I get regular oil changes and other routine maintenance, and keep it in a garage at night. This car has had some wear and tear but no major issues that weren't externally caused. (rear-ended, rocks kicked up on highway). It's never broken down randomly or behaved oddly in a severe way, which is more than I can say for the European monster I used to own. Minor issues with the Subie so far: a plastic piece fell off the driver sun visor, but visor still works; one occasion where turn signals started acting oddly then the problem resolved itself. This past winter I had some problems with sliding on ice, so I am planning on getting winter tires this year. I live in an area where road conditions can be awful and only the major roads are plowed, if you're lucky. The sound system is decent. Not as good as my previous car but I'm told pre-2011 sound systems in Imprezas were awful. Visibility is pretty good. In comparison to other cars: The Forester is sluggish compared to this car in terms of pickup and maneuverability, but the Forester has better visibility because it sits higher. I have driven Nissans, and the Impreza is less responsive and maneuverable than a Nissan sedan, but more responsive and maneuverable than American cars I've driven. Compared to the Euromonster this has more road noise and a less gentle suspension, but not bad. I test-drove an Impreza sedan and the sedan grips the road better than the hatchback. I chose the hatchback because I prefer that style and it has more legroom.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2011 WRX

NH WRX, 10/28/2010
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

So far this is the best "car" I've driven in a long time. It's certainly fast and hugs the road like a rally car should. I was happily surprised that I don't feel like I'm sitting too low to the ground while driving.

Report Abuse

Love my new Subie!!!

SubieLove, 11/14/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My first Subie and I LOVE HER! I need AWD for NH winters, so considered RAV4, Suzuki SX4, Matrix, Outback, Forester, Impreza. Did tons of research; this OBS had what I needed: reliability, safety, wagon versatility, adorability, good price. I LOVE driving this car. Smooth, but can feel the road; easy shifting (but shifter feels a bit rubbery); comfy seats; perfect cargo space for 1 person; hugs the road; very responsive; good stereo; sits up high w/lift on driver's seat. I've owned a Tercel/Civic/Miata, so I'm used to great mpg. Have driven 170 miles on 30-60 mph country roads; meter says 31 mpg. But I can see my fuel meter wand move down as I drive. Yow. But I adore this car already.

Report Abuse

Wow-e-wow-wow!

MIke, 11/13/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

What a neat car, fun to drive, fast and MUCH more comfortable than my Miata. I have had Mustang GT's and an older Camaro and a Ford ZX2 SR and nothing compares to the fun factor so far. The 2011 has a great stereo that allows blue tooth streaming as well as a USB jack for music on a memory stick. I have no complaints so far. Ok maybe one, I had to change to all season tires for the snow here as it comes with summer only tires. Make sure you get the short shifter option it makes a world of difference!

Report Abuse

Great overall value!

subiracer11, 08/09/2012
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought new and now have currently about 28k miles. Overall great car, suspension is very forgiving but a little to soft for my opinion-that is my only gripe. MPG I average 28-30 on hwy and about 23-25 city. A lot of the wrx components can be switched to the 2.5i such as suspension or brakes. The 2.5i brakes compared to the wrx brakes are pretty stupid IMO; both have same caliper but different size rotors-I upgraded to wrx rotors using wrx caliper bracket and braking is much better now. Handles great in snow, the only thing that limits it is the crappy oem tires. Overall a great car for someone looking for a AWD vehicle at a great price. Do not overlook this car, you will not regret it!

Report Abuse

Already traded it!

mamabex, 01/21/2013
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Bought this car new in Feb 2011. Loved the looks and wanted that legendary Subaru reliability. Boy, we were sorely mistaken. We just traded it in after the last straw--and it's January, 2013. We had to have the engine REPLACED at 18K. REPLACED. This is a dealer-serviced car, driven gently back and forth to work and to the grocery store, etc. Engine knocked, we took it in, and it spent the next MONTH and change in the shop. After they replaced the engine, we thought everything was okay--until a few weeks ago, when it began knocking AGAIN. We took it back in. For the last time. We traded that heap and haven't looked back. This car was probably a lemon, but still disappointed.

Report Abuse

Great car for the money

daskiing1, 05/03/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I just got my new Subaru a couple weeks ago, but this car is quite fantastic. It is reliable, fun to drive, has plenty of space in the back, and the AWD is (or will be) a godsend in bad weather. Even on rainy interstates this car feels impervious where other cars i have owned felt nervous or uncomfortable. If you live where the weather is perpetually bad, this hatch really is worth your look.

Report Abuse

Is it a sti no it's a wrx

Adam, 10/11/2010
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

The car is over all one of the most fun vehicles i have ever bought. it has some of the same looks as the sti does except for the sunroof and bigger turbo but the awd just takes off!

Report Abuse

Lots of good things, but major flaws too

Ken, 10/12/2010
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Almost a great car, but seats could be improved and I found the headrest to be very uncomfortable. Certain bass notes even at normal volume cause the door panels to rattle like a cheap car from the 80's. They should not try to produce any bass in the door speakers and instead use a subwoofer towards the back of the car like you'll find in any car with a nice sound system. I have the bass at -7 to stop the rattle, and may try a small aftermarket subwoofer in the back (good bye cargo space), not sure it will work. 4-speed trans needs an extra gear. Otherwise happy. Would recommend if they can fix these problems.

Report Abuse

1st Subaru owned of many to come

whitetailaj, 02/25/2012
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I had never owned a Subaru before and neither had anyone in my family. In the 90's I was drawn away from the brand just because of the somewhat biased social stigmatism attached to the company. When my old truck blew it's motor two years ago I knew that I wanted an AWD car and began looking into Subarus. I was first looking at the Impreza Sport because of the size and versatility of the vehicle but immediately fell in love with the wide body design of the 2011 Impreza WRX. Took a test drive and the rest, as they say, is history. A little over a year and 16,000 miles later I still leave my sales consultant job at a Subaru dealership and look forward to my drive home everyday.

Report Abuse

Cool Car for Little Cash

B Sova, 10/17/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this Subaru because I needed AWD since I live in the hills and have to drive through snow, mud, etc. I didn't expect to have such nice road-hugging and really fun to drive. Bought it with manual transmission which is smooth. No frills, but really fun and dependable little car.

Report Abuse

Unimprezzive

Alaburn518, 07/11/2018
2.5i 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We use this hatchback as a delivery vehicle, in just the past 500 miles it's needed new ball joints, new brakes, new struts, A.C. system completely redone, and wheel bearings. The only good thing this car has going for it is the awd system, it rattles, it clunks, the back hatch rattles relentlessly, the seats are okay I guess, the radio is downright terrible and the speakers are weak. The gas mileage is not too good for a compact awd only averaging 21 mpg combined. It stores parts well but it isn't good at much else. If it didn't require so many repairs I'd consider it a good choice but it's just constantly more in the shop than we have it on the road. Beware it can get expensive to maintain. Oh and it's already had three transmissions and it holds at 130,852 miles. Head gasket is original still, so that's a plus I guess but that's only a matter of time I'm sure.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

What Happened ?

diehard080, 12/20/2010
13 of 25 people found this review helpful

I am on my 4th Sube. To this day my 1st the 77 wagon, was the BEST. Why because it was built like a tank and not flimsy in any way . Yes I had to shift it to get to 4WD but that was good for MPG ! My 2006 Outback Sport was totaled after I was hit from behind on the FWY. So I get the chance to get the "latest" body style and updated changes- Wow I have to say many in this review section seem to be idealistic and have no experince with other subes or cars. Why ? This cars handling is weak and it gives way on quick turning, powerless in 0-60 over 10seconds ! and the interior is the most sparse I could concieve. They put all the $ in the 4wd system. Bad move as the rest of the car suffers.

Report Abuse

Lovely but tough car!

postdoc, 10/05/2010
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

This compact car possesses feature of AWD, safety, tougher underparts fit for outdoor, enough space, Bluetooth and USB. The front mask looks ordinal but the rear style looks nice. 5-sp AT is desirable but there may be some reasons why 4-sp is applied for this size of AWD car as Matrix-AWD and Vibe- AWD also apply 4-sp AT. I hope that professional car reviewers will consider this point. The audio system may be improved in 2011. If FWD is OK, Mazda 3 and Golf may be more attractive, but I like this car more and more day by day.

Report Abuse

Fun, fun, fun!

kmcglynn, 11/15/2011
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

After driving my clunker of a car for about 7 years, it was time to trade it in. I looked at all of the good reviews Subaru has recieved for their line up of great cars, and decided to go with a brand new steel silver 2011 Impreza 2.5i Hatchback Premium. Subaru lives up to its reputation and then some! It is so comfy on cold mornings with its heated seats and feels like it is glued to the road, no matter how rainy it is. I love the size--just perfect for my and my boyfriend and all of camping/outdoor gear. My Subie is so much fun to drive! Great value for your money if you get the Premium model--nice wheels, all-weather package, Bluetooth, and an upgraded sound!

Report Abuse

Okay First Impression From First Subaru

cor1, 06/11/2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I leased a 2011 Impreza Outback Sport (all weather package) in April 2011. I've since put about 18k miles on it and am reasonably satisfied with it so far. It's not a performance model but it's fun to drive and with the seats folded down I get plenty of space to haul things like my entire acoustic drum set. It's your typical, versatile Subaru, but the the quality of the interior is a bit lacking. The seats' cloth is thin and feels flimsy. The front passenger door has rattled from the speaker's bass since day 1. The driver side head rest wobbles a bit. I can even feel where the posts end in the seat-back when I lean my head against it. Also the center console latch broke 3 weeks in.

Report Abuse

Great Experience

tpbco, 11/23/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchasing my second Subaru has been a great experience. I wanted a car that I could be confident in winter weather. The entire staff at Roberts Subaru in Downingtown PA were outstanding and went out of their way to make sure that I was completely satisfied. The salesman even went to another dealership out of state to get me the car I wanted. I would recommend both Roberts and Subaru to anyone who wants service and reliability.

Report Abuse

Nice inexpensive car

John, 11/17/2016
2.5i 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

One of the better cars ive owned. I bought the car from a friend at 10k. I drive alot everyday and have around 75k on the car. Besides changing the tires and putting new brakes i haven't spent any money on repairs. The car runs very well and i bring it up to 90-100 miles sometimes with no issues at all. I also live in a area hit hard during winter and have never gotten stuck and i have all seasons on the car. Interior is sorta cheap with hard plastic and a boring design and the stock audio system is horrible. I spend $850 on an aftermarket speakers, amp and deck and it's made the car so much better. Overall great car that's cheap to maintain, drives great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

adult owned subaru

athena h, 03/20/2017
2.5i Premium 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I really like my car! it has been reliable and fun. The major drawback is the size. But I blame myself for this. I bought my car brand new the first year into my marriage. Now, 6 years later, we have a four year old and a one year old... Fitting 2 carseats in the backseat is comical, and the hatchback is nearly full once you add a diaper bag, and a foldable stroller. I also wish that there were more rear seat features for my children. In the summer they are hot, and in the winter they are cold for shorter trips due to there being no vents back there. The cup-holders in the door are positioned at the bottom, so my 4 year old can't reach drinks or toys stashed in there. Besides the fact that I have clearly "outgrown" the compact size, it's a great little car! In the bad weather it really shines. I have passed many full sized SUVs and trucks stranded in snowy ditches!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great mpg

Geo pup, 04/05/2017
Outback Sport 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Regularly get 31+ mpg on road trips. Love heated seats. Never been stuck in snow storms. Bluetooth sucks. Definitely a compact car but you would be surprised how much you can stuff in it with the seats down. Wish rear seats had more leg room. Overall​ love this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I hoped they fixed problems w older Imprezas!

sjgordon26, 04/02/2012
1 of 22 people found this review helpful

We had a 2002 Impreza Outback Sport (the hatchback Impreza). At 150,00 Head Gasket and Catalytic Converter went. They broke again 50,000 miles later. The 2002 model only lasted 200,000 miles and Subaru Annapolis and Subura National Customer Service said it is not worth fixing a 200,000 mile car; buy a new one. What?!? That is why we bought a Subaru- to go the distance more than other cars....I'd be scared to buy this one unless you get it for the price of a Hyundai!

Report Abuse

Wish for WRX Suspension

Kirk, 12/04/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have only had the car for a month but I am really enjoying it with one glaring exception. Turn in and body roll are real issues. My plain jane 09 Honda Civic handles much better and it has understeer! I wish Subaru would have used the WRX suspension on this model. Rallitek sway bars are on order.

Report Abuse

My first auto trans in 10 years

Mike, 11/11/2018
2.5i 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The vehicle was very reliable, and likable. I bought it with 69,000 miles. It was very capable in the snow. At 90,000 the transmission failed, and had to be rebuilt. My confidence in this vehicle has been shattered. I"m back to looking at trucks with a manual transmission. Update: I just purchased a new 2019 Subaru Crosstrek in October 0f 2019. It has a CVT transmission. Now that I am familiar with the trans, I could not be happier with my purchase. The 2.0 motor and the trans put out more power than I need, and I drive up and down ski slope hills going to, and coming home from work. The car is comfortable, has a nice ride, gets very good gas mileage, and has a quality feel. And the all wheel drive system is second only the one I have in my Audi A-4. Being out in the snow with the Audi is unrealistic in my opinion. My Imprezza was fantastic in the snow. The Crosstrek will probably be even better.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050