Used 1993 Pontiac Bonneville Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$779 - $1,815

Used Bonneville for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Classy old car

Michael, 12/06/2016
SE 4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My 93 Bonnie has been in my family for 20+ years. I've owned it personally since 2013. Has power mirrors, automatic headlights, sunroof, and power seats. Great visibility. Acceleration is adequate. My mileage is 16-18 city and 27-30 highway. Great highway cruiser; VERY comfortable and roomy. I think the styling of this car was way ahead of its time - still looks clean and respectable two decades later (I also like the dash layout a lot). The only downsides I can think of are poor handling and turning radius (no U-turns in this car!). It's had plenty of repairs in the last four years (lots of hoses/lines have been replaced, along with sensors and fuel pump) but that's expected at its age. No problems at all with engine or transmission. 3800s are wonderful. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a car that's inexpensive, roomy, comfortable, and gets better gas mileage than almost any other large car. It's been fantastic for me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It is a blast to drive!

Blast=power+handling, 03/20/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the car used with relatively high-mileage. I was a little concern about the mileage but after I spoke to GM dealers, taxi drivers, my concern about the engine and drive train become less and less. It is a blast to drive. Handling is excellent plus with traction control you can't beat it. Excellent dash board layout head and tail lamp closed circuit monitoring for burnt light bulb.

Report Abuse

What a Car!

Travis Filing, 01/23/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for five years and have put on 120,000 miles on top of the 50,000 it came with. when I bought the car in 98 I replaced the alternator, then replaced it again in 2001 and last year I replaced the brakes. THAT'S IT!!!

Report Abuse

10 year old SSE and still going strong

74wiu75, 07/31/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When I bought this SSE, the dealer 2 red Grand Prix 2-doors, 5 red Grand Am 2-doors and a the white SSE. Dom "The Snake" Purdome drove the car during his farewell visit to the Sears Nationals in Topeka, Ks. We took delivery on the car. The first 30,000 miles were put on the car between Topeka and KC driving to and from work. The car got broken in right. The Great White has gotten 34 miles per gallon on long trips. At 131,000 miles she has gone through 4 alternators, three sets of tires, 3 sets of brakes, and two sets of struts and shocks. The car still has the original computer and everything else.

Report Abuse

Great for high mileage drivers

HighMileageUser, 01/13/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I drive close to 40,000 miles a year. Combined HWY/CITY driving. I get oil changes every 3,000 miles, and have to replace the brake pads once a year. That's absolutely all for maintenance! I love this car. Close to 200,000 miles and I wouldn't trade it in for anything. Very pleased owner. Have driven cross country, and easily averaged 450+ miles per tank!! Normal city/hwy for me is 325 per tank. Safe car too!

Report Abuse

Good Car!

MARKB, 02/12/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had real good luck with my Bonneville. I bought it used in 94' with 40k miles on it. I was a little skeptical about it but it was loaded with all the features I wanted. So here I am 10 years and 150K miles later. All I have done is routine care and maint for the most part. I did have some brake work (master cylinder and reservoir) as well as alternator replacement.

Report Abuse

Best car I ever had.

thenry, 02/20/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The best car i have owned yet. 1 alternator change but the 4wheel anti lock brake has gone out twice. I use castrol oil in it ever 3,000 miles. 133k miles and she still has all the pep as when i first got it. The car is mechanically awesome.

Report Abuse

Hopefully A Lemon

Useless Spender, 05/16/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had to replace the engine, fuel pump, front suspension, alternater(twice), radiator. The car has sprung leaks on me 5 different times. The climate control is broken. Steering wheel controls only work if the temperature is below 50 degrees. The only gages that work are the spedometer and tach. All the interior light casings have fallen off. I've been through two brake jobs. Front stabilizers have gone 3 times causing brand new $125 tires to wear improperly. The car will not accelerate for three minutes after ignition. Wipers will not turn off, must always have on the lowest delay setting.

Report Abuse

93 Bonneville

Emby, 04/09/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

If I had two kids instead of three I'd definitely buy another Bonney - but the minivan gets the call now. Fun, sporty, good handling, excellent engine, spacious is how I would describe it.

Report Abuse

Nice car, when it works...

TJ#1, 02/05/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car when it is working, but I have had nothing but poblems with it from the start. I had to replace the tranny, get a new supercharger becuase the bearings went in the OEM, went through 2 alternators and 2 batteries prematurely, and it has several electrical gremlins. BUT! This is a great poor mans luxury/performance car as long as you don't get a lemon.

Report Abuse

I'll buy another SSEi

Mutaz, 05/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have SSEi 1993.. with full options..I'm used to driving this car for 7 years, Its very very good car,the handling is great it's always under control,high qyality interior materials,excellent engine,I'd recomend it to anyone.

Report Abuse

love it....but hate it

lp09, 04/17/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love the 3800 series v6 in this car... Very fast. Strong runner.... I just had the unfortunate of electric problems.... Went through 3 batteries in the 5 months I had it. New alternator, new starter, cylinoids were fine, and still drained battery and starter barley ever tried.... If starter work started every time, best motor in any production car at that price. Oh and did I mention my brakes went completely out 8 times in the 5 months I had it?

Report Abuse

LOVE MY BONNIE

jacquie, 05/23/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Regular maintenance, and this car will keep going.. have had this car for 3 years now and havent spent much in repairs, The Bonnie has lots of Power too..oh and most comfortable seats ive sat in.

Report Abuse

Love MY Vivvie

MNLioness, 06/06/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

At the start, there were items that had to be attended to, being that I am the 2nd owner and the 1st hadn't driven it in a while, but when done, it is the safest and fun car that I've ever had, handles like a smaller car and has features that are not even in newer cars. At 160K, I know that I can keep driving her until we both call it quits.

Report Abuse

GREAT CAR

sklonghorns, 09/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've been driving my moms old Bonnie since I crashed my truck and love this car. It had been sitting for about 7 months so I changed the plugs/wire and oil and it runs like new. This is the first non 4x4 I've ever driven abd I love good performance great handling and plenty of space

Report Abuse

Solid car

car enthusiast, 03/06/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought in 2001 with 85K miles, now around 160K miles, great look with the white SSE with gold rims, the coolest features from any car out there, heads up display (shines speed on windshield), rear shock leveling system, air compressor in trunk to fill up tires with, good stereo system with factor gain control, electronic compass, tons of gauges, 9 way power adjustable seats, sunroof, this car has it all, and dependable 3.8 liter that is fast and handles very well if put good tires, 30 mpg highway, about 20 mpg in town. Very satisfied owner, there are some electronic problems now developing so gauges don't always work but still drives fine.

Report Abuse

1993 Bonneville

JamesD, 06/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice heavy ride, car has comfort-ride suspension option. 16" wheels. Bought used at 80k. 173k now. Needs rebuilt auto tranny and consequently will put in a new engine...lower end raps. Still decent fuel economy, passes emissions check , no problem. Likely needs a fuel pump as well and struts replaced, but this car has not been too expensive to maintain because few things have gone wrong.

Report Abuse

Great car

ekp38, 08/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

bought the car used with 161k on it. Now over 193k and still going strong. Engine and trans are still fine and shows no sign of any problems

Report Abuse

Great Car

NiteWizard, 09/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I rented one of these to go to a wedding and was immediatly sold on the style and ride. Got the chance to purchase one and have never looked back. Plan on purchasing a new one in 2003, only the next one will be the supercharged version.

Report Abuse

Great Overall Package

iceluke, 10/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best vehicle we have ever owned. Nearly 30 mpg on the highway, 24 mpg around town. In a full size car. We took a trip and got 26 mpg with a/c blowing the whole way. The performance is great. The 3.8V6 is GM finest six-cylinder enginge around today. I have seen this enging go 250,000 miles in many different cars. Its just getting broke in at 100,000. We will definetly by another one, when this one wears out. Probably in 2010.

Report Abuse

Bonnie' SSE

Lo', 12/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Out of the few cars I've driven I'm glad that this on was my first car of them all. Great handling, good gas mileage, and good pick up. I love it!

Report Abuse

SUPER CAR

JOE FROBASE, 02/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

35 MPG LOTS OF POWER GREAT IN SNOW ALMOST NO REPAIRS WITH 145,OOO MILES ON CAR RIDES & HANDLES GREAT ITS ALMOST SPOOKY HOW GOOD THIS CAR HAS BEEN

Report Abuse

great

ZOROO2505, 07/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great car .10 years withouth any problems.

Report Abuse

A car I'm Glad I owned

remmmmmm, 07/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new and now I have over 315,000 miles On it and it still looks and runs great. I think it has to do with how hard or easy you drive as well as certain up keep. I use castrol full syntec oil and change every 9,000 miles. Burn the same reg. gas Texaco. And put neww spark plugs in every 30,000 as well as change the air filter. Just drive normal and it will last.

Report Abuse

Impressed!

Alex, 05/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this car when it has 125,000 miles. At 225,000, Its still chugging. I use it all the time to make 325 mile road trips home from the University.It Runs great at I can make aboout 350 miles on a single tank! My roomates nicknamed it "Old Faithful" For the money, This car is a true work horse. The ride is pretty quiet and smooth, Its sturdy enough not to be shifted by the draft of large trucks. Its supprisingly fuel efficient for the 3.8 litter engine. The interior is huge. Ive never had any major mechanical problems. Be a little weary of leaking hoses near sensors though. Its no "hot ride", its not "sexy", but it feels great to have a car dependable enough to get you where you are going.

Report Abuse

My car

soccer19tx, 12/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent vehicle. I got it with 126,000 miles on it and in 2.5 years have only put up to 147,000 miles on it. I have had to make only minor repairs and it is extremely reliable.

Report Abuse

Super Sport Edition

William, 12/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have owned the car and only thing had to be replaced is the regular things that would need to be replaced, the alternators, transmission and oil changes. Other than that nothing else, this has been the best car i've owned and was purchased in 94 with 59K miles and i'm the 2nd owner, if i have to put another motor in this vehicle i would, the value is still up on this car and is a wonderful racer, people confuse me with a SSEi because of its design and speed, have outran a Cadillac, mitusbishi galant, nissan 300ZX, honda accord. i have left a 2005 honda accord at a stop light, no specialties just a awesome car with an awesome owner who knows how to take car of it. replaced break booster.

Report Abuse

One of the best ever

SCBonnyOwner, 07/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My 93 Pontiac Bonneville has been the best car I've ever owned. When newer, 36 MPGs were possible when highway driving. Now with 203K, 22-24 is average. I've replaced evey major engine appendage (alternator, power steering, tensioner, etc.), but the engine itself is still going strong. A/C has been the most problematic. I've spent 1k over the years in A/C repairs, but a new factory compressor at 175K miles seemed to solve the problem. For an American car, the Bonneville is one of the best.

Report Abuse

The Bonnie just won't die!

Kyle S., 02/09/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my car with 142k on it, it's been a little over a year and I'm about to break the 150k mile barrier. I can only say good things about my beloved Bonnie; she's never failed me. This car is great; I give it my full recommendation. If you're looking for a good car that will last with you through thick and thin, then this is the car for you.

Report Abuse

Top Quality Transportation!

JohnC, 09/10/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Now had this car for two weeks total, but have been in the Bonneville Club since 2005 and have seen all the ins an outs of these cars. This car is definitely an excellent reliable vehicle that is most certainly fun to drive and definitely turns a few heads. Excellent value.

Report Abuse

Love this car!

Chairs, 05/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My '93 has passed the 170,000 mark and is still going strong. It has had the usual maintenance, plus alternator, battery, etc, but nothing has been replaced twice and nothing out of the ordinary. This car drives great and has plenty of room for my family.

Report Abuse

Old Reliable

diesel_25, 02/16/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been amazing!!!! Engine finally gave out after 254k, bought this car for 600 dollars @ 200k, all it required was regular maintenance and had to replace starter, but besides that this car gave more than what I could've asked for, 800 mile trips back and forth once a month along with being a daily commuter. No other car like this one.

Report Abuse

Great

Taylor, 03/26/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great performance, Nice pep, with great comfort, enjoy the power, good fuel economy, decent design.

Report Abuse

3800 power

jerr, 03/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought the Bonneville to be used as our family car. This car has fit the bill very well. I was extremely pleased with the gas milage and overall comfort of this vehicle. After 9 years the thing drives like the day we purchased it. No complaints as of yet.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050