Used 2015 Nissan Sentra Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$7,499 - $15,414

Used Sentra for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...11

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Buyer Beware!! Deathtrap! Lsuits pending! Read on-

KB, 02/08/2019
SV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

I have a 2015 Nissan Sentra with only 19k miles on it. The transmission is already going! I was having major problems lately (and some at the 5k miles mark I didn't realize was linked until now). I've been getting loud thudding noises upon accelerating, metal clinking noises, pulling, erratic RPM's, a loud thudding sound driving down a steep mountain (Big Bear, CA), only able to go about 40-45mph up hills, loss of power when trying to merge onto freeway, gears switching (going slow) upon accelerating when trying to cross traffic, etc. (Dangerous!) I took it in to my mechanic yesterday thinking it was something hitting the inner tire, or some front end issue. After telling the owner/mechanic, he immediately asked if it was a newer Nissan. He took it for a test drive, came back and said, "this is definitely your transmission. Nissan is infamous for these problems with their CVT transmission systems!" He has seen this SEVERAL times, and even got rid of his own Nissan due to same problems with the CVT transmission. He nearly went off a cliff when the SECOND transmission went out on him. He said that I should immediately get it in to the dealer to have it fixed (I have extended warranty). I did that today, spent 3 hours there, only to have them tell me that there were "no error codes". I was shocked to say the least. The mechanic then took it for a test drive with me, and he heard the thudding noise upon accelerating from a stop several times, but the loud metal clinking sound didn't happen on the short test drive. I told them how I am very much aware of these problems with Nissan's CVT transmissions, because I did a simple Google search last night, and was shocked and disgusted by the hundreds upon hundreds of reviews regarding this issue with other Nissan owners. He then said that I can bring my car back on Tuesday (2/12/19) and they will actually look at the transmission itself. I couldn't believe that they didn't do that today. They just checked for error codes, which doesn't always show up when you have problems. So, they are now going to cost me more of my time and money to take it in to have it properly looked at, when that should've been done today, especially when they know full well of the CVT problems in Nissan's, especially in the time frame my make/model falls in. After reading hundreds of reviews in discussion forums, I see that many people are on their 2nd to 4th transmission replacement, and many eventually get rid of them. The problem is, even though Nissan extended their warranty on their CVT transmissions (they know why!), and you get the car "fixed", it will never really be fixed. The reason being that the faulty transmission will be replaced with the same type of faulty CVT transmission. You will always be at risk for being stranded, in a dangerous situation on the road, and always wasting your time taking it to get repaired. You can never fully feel comfortable driving anywhere, especially on long trips, up inclines/hills, or in hot weather, etc., as long as this issue remains. I still have payments on this unreliable and dangerous car until 2021, and do not feel comfortable driving it, especially with my children in it, anywhere. I had to cancel a trip this weekend due to this issue. I shouldn't have to worry about such things on a new car that only has 19k miles on it! I have owned several Nissan's, trusted them, and used to rave about the quality. Not anymore. Just do a Google search and find out for yourself.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Sentra SR , answers the call

Bill C., 05/07/2016
SR 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
37 of 38 people found this review helpful

First thing, If you want 0-60 times that will Impress your friends , look elsewhere. Power , is adequate , no more. I like the quietness of the interior , the quality of interior materials, and the car looks great. Had zero problems , no issues. I have not checked the mpg , and will not do so until I reach 12k miles. Same goes for final judgement on the 1.8L power plant. The CVT is not as weird as earlier versions I have driven. It does take some getting use to and this is my third CVT equipped Nissan, so it no longer seems that strange. My experience has shown that to really judge the performance and mpg on a car such as this , first you need to get them well broken in. As stated , this is my third Nissan , I keep going back because they have always been trouble free , tight and quiet. If I had a beef , it would have been the CVT, but I've experienced no trouble with any of the three Nissan CVT's I've owned. Not a race car , but a good looking, IMO , and trouble free vehicle that looks nice and ages well. Interior materials seem to hold up, and squeaks and rattles just don't seem to happen.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Value

J. Pena, 05/02/2016
SR 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
28 of 29 people found this review helpful

I have read many other reviews from very satisfied customers to whining and moaning/groaning. Its a Nissan Sentra, not a Lexus. For the money it is a great car. I am returning a 2013 from lease and picking up a 2016. I have had 0 problems with my 2013. Gas mileage is fantastic. I drive a lot, mostly highway. Average mileage per tank was 375. Pretty good considering other cars. I occasionally hit 400+ miles per tank. It is comfortable to drive, has enough features for me. I am pretty simple. Good radio, Bluetooth for cell phone, convenience buttons on the wheel. Folding back seats make good added storage. It IS lackluster in acceleration but that is due to the CVT transmission and lack of horsepower - this engine and transmission are built for economy not speed. Again, its a Nissan Sentra, really the 2nd level sedan Nissan offers (just above the Versa). Great car for the money. Best gas mileage, like all cars it is at 55mph. Don't expect 40mpg on the highway if you routinely drive 70+. Looking forward to the 2016 with added standard options like back up camera and streaming music via Bluetooth.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Transmission sux!

This guy, 07/27/2017
SR 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

I've been having transmission issues since 12k miles and now I have just under 60k and now I have to replace the transmission. In the beginning, (around 12k miles) the transmission would SLIP, I guess that's the word I'd use to describe it. Anyway, I'd come to an intersection and when I went to press on the gas, the rpms would race as high as 4000 but the car wouldn't go no faster than 20 miles an hour. Twice I was almost in an accident because of this. I learned that I had to pull off to the side of the road, shut the car off and let it sit for a minute; I guess to reset the computer. I'd restart the car and it would be fine. This was an occurring matter, and I took it to the dealership and they couldn't figure out the problem. I had the transmission fluid service performed by nissan at just over 30k and the problem seemed to go away...for a while. At around 58 to 59k miles, I was hearing a whining noise coming from my car. I thought nothing of it really, just thought it was the air conditioner compressor making the noise. I scheduled an appointment to have it checked, and it turns out to be a bearing or some kind of belt in the transmission is going bad. I bought this car in Oct 2015 with 35 miles on the car so I'm the only owner, it's now July 2017 and I'm having the transmission replaced? Really? My advice to you is this, if you decide to buy a used 2015 Nissan sentra, be sure to get as much of the service info as possible on the car and if you're buying this car new, be sure to get the extended warrantee. You'll be glad you did.

Report Abuse

CVT failure guaranteed

Chris B., 01/05/2018
SL 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
24 of 26 people found this review helpful

My daughter purchased a new 2015 Sentra for cash. She does drive a lot due to her job and has put just over 80,000 miles on the car in nearly 3 years. The CVT burned up completely and the car is immobile. There is no additional warranty on drive train or engine beyond 3 years and 36,000 miles. Upon reading up on CVT issues for Nissan, it is obvious this transmission is notorious. Many, many drivers have had the same experience as my daughter. The transmission is not repairable due to the technology used in the CVT. A replacement transmission is around $3000, if you are lucky. It is simply cheaper for us to get rid of the car to buy a replacement vehicle. Before purchasing this car, research Nissan CVT issues.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse
12345...11
Items per page: