Used 2015 Mazda CX-5 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$12,299 - $21,500

Used CX-5 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...15

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

5,000 Miles in, all smiles

hootie361, 02/08/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
29 of 29 people found this review helpful

We purchased this CX-5 in December 2014 after my 7 years driving an X3. Of all the compact SUVs available in the $25-30K price range, we liked the CX-5 styling the best. Now 5,000 miles on the odometer and I really have no complaints. On highway trips through the PA mountains and over OH flatlands, I averaged 29mpg at 70mph. In mixed driving (local errands, groceries, etc.) I'm seeing about 25mpg. And all this with 87 octane on a high-compression engine. The in-dash multimedia system works great, pairing with multiple iPhone/iPods cleanly and transmitting bluetooth info as needed. The update to the TomTom nav system worked as described on the web guide. Very happy with this choice so far.

Report Abuse

Except for the heating, A/C and defogger systems

SuzIndy, 01/14/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
29 of 29 people found this review helpful

I wanted to wait till I owned this CX-5 touring long enough to experience all seasons to their worst. 8 month's ownership in central IN, former CR-V owner. I have to say that I love everything about this car except for the defogger/heat and air system. I must choose between having clear windows or a comfortable cabin. In the 11 years I owned the Honda CR-V, this was not the case. In the CX-5 you cannot turn on the internal air re-circulation if you have the defogger dial engaged. (I went to the dealership to make sure it wasn't user error.) I realize this is common with other makes, but I hate it. I experienced sudden visibility loss on a hot, muggy night when I first owned the car. I hate having to smell car exhaust inside my vehicle. On a 15 degree day my windows froze shut on my 35 min. drive because I (only person in the car) could not keep the interior warm enough to keep the window seal from freezing. I had to keep the defroster on or I couldn't see. And, this was after parking in a heated garage overnight. The car rides like a dream, is quiet, gets great mileage, is comfortable for large adults in the front and back. The sound system is great and I love the look of the car. This car is great for a desert dweller, not for anyone who must fight foggy windows in humid environments. This is a deal breaker for me. I will trade the car within 2 years, whereas I kept my Honda for 11. If it were not for Honda's road noise, I probably would have purchased another. I thought the CX-5 was my answer. One other tiny thing, the cargo area could use more than a 1 by 2 inch light for a $28K car. July 2016, still have the car, still hold the same opinion. Jan. 2018 update, I didn't trade the car because I would lose too much money. I am still driving the car. It's still a good car, but my feet freeze in the winter, even with the dial turned to floor blower and with the heat turned on high. January 2021 I am still driving the car. I am still the only car on the road with the windshield wipers running early on a summer morning because I can't get rid of the condensation, with the defogger, any way I set it. No other complaints.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great, until the 2017 was released

suziesivlerado, 12/25/2014
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
29 of 30 people found this review helpful

Dec 2014- I just traded in a 2015 Accord sedan (which had multiple problems) for the 2015 CX-5. I prefer the style and drive of Mazda models. The seats in the CX5 are supportive and comfortable (apart from the head restraint which is not comfortable for short people) The Bose system sounds fine to me--not great-- but good enough. The interior noise level (I checked with a decibel meter) is not great, but is equivalent to other SUVs in this price range. The car is relatively smooth on bumpy roads. The CX5 is known for being a pleasure to drive- sporty for an SUV with great handling. The electronic multifunction interface is not great. it is a bit slow and sometimes requires multiple entries. I am not able to download my messages. Also, the screen should be bigger. Fuel economy was lower than advertised. Only 28.5 on the hightway at 70 mph. 2017-- So, living in Florida, I found that the car took a long time to cool off, due to the lack of air conditioning vents in the back. Also, I just got tired of the road roar, especially on the highway. I'm trading it in for the 2017, which has loads of improvements. Still sticking with the CX5 , which gave me no problems while I owned it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

love it but the 2016 is on the way

speechcop60, 02/24/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
29 of 30 people found this review helpful

Bought the Grand Touring AWD in August now has 5,000 miles. I bought the reflex blue color which is hard to find. Get a lot of good comments on it. I love the ride, the stereo sounds great. Good acceleration for a 4 cylinder. Others have complained about the touchscreen but I have no problem with it. I just saw the 2016 is coming out in June. Classic Mazda dealership was great. Will most likely buy another one when i get tired of this one! Now have 35,000 miles on it. Found out that the reason for the poor road noise is the tires. I bought Michelin Premier Tires as a replacement and the car rides smoother and much quieter. Also wish the car had heated steering wheel. Overall a good car and may buy another one in a few years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Quite Pleased (Needs a few tweaks)

Marc Edwards, 03/16/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
45 of 48 people found this review helpful

Bought in June 2014, 54k on it so far. Very fun to drive. Very reliable. Get as advertised mileage 25 city, approx. 32 hwy, and 27+ combined. The changes I think are needed are more comfortable front seats (more bolstering and more aggressive lumbar support), climate control vents for the back seats, better sound insulation for the cabin (too much wind noise), Garmin based navigation system over the TomTom system, a push button "sport mode" since around town I have to keep the transmission in manual shift mode all the time since the auto mode shifts up to higher gears too quickly thereby sapping any torque and acceleration from the engine. I believe they did incorporate this feature in the later year models. Having the window and door lock control buttons on the driver's door lighted is needed as you can't see them at night. Would like to see the steering wheel have more texture to it. have had to put aftermarket wrap on it since I find it to be too slippery. A set of speakers in the rear cabin section are sorely needed. Lastly I was very disappointed to find that, according to Mazda, they discontinued many of the accessories for the CX-5 model most notably color coded door edge protection strips.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
12345...15
Items per page: