Used 2018 Mazda CX-3 SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$15,400 - $21,597

Used CX-3 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great fun for the $$. 2018 Mazda CX-3 Grand Tourin

Dave, 10/08/2017
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

Traded a 2005 Mazda 6 with 110k and was looking at the New 3's with the 2.5l engine but this one caught my eye. Never liked the Crossovers much but this was different. The style is great and the features are what I expected for much more $$ in other brands. For a great run around car this is nirvana. 35+mpg so far, Bose sterio, safety features +++, phone, tablet friendly. Cruising around Vegas in traffic or 70+mph this car is awesome and a lot of Fun. Extremly responsive in city, and quiet on highway which I did not expect. Back seat and cargo are a bit small, but 99% of my driving is alone so no biggie for me. The lack of middle armrest is a bit weird but the center controller is awesome. If you are in the market for a Crossover, Do yourself a treat and give this car a test drive. For 26k you just cant beat it. Zoom Zoom

Performance
Report Abuse

CX 3 Ideal For Me

Dave S., 02/22/2018
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
24 of 25 people found this review helpful

It has a smooth, firm ride, and the steering is responsive. The CX 3 handles curves, corners, and turns extremely well. Cannot wait to take it on winding country roads and scenic drives when I travel far enough away from Chicago and suburbs. The compact SUV size makes this the perfect urban ride that can handle starts and stops. Very good burst when light goes green. This is a useful vehicle that can also be fun to drive for distances. Interior and dash design are awesome, IMO. Everything is within reach, and the center strip knobs below the gear shift make it easy to operate the stereo, the sound, the station, the XM channels, or any of the modes this 7-inch tablet style screen offers. Screen visibility is very good. Back up camera imaging is crystal clear. Blind spot and lane warning signals provided on side mirrors, with accompanying beep sound when other vehicles are getting close in other lanes. Stereo system is excellent, with 7-speaker Bose sound system. I purchased the AWD due to winter conditions that come and go here. But the CX 3 does not seem confined by this, as it drives and handles like a FWD in stable weather, while AWD kicks in when snow and ice are present. I am enjoying the CX 3 very much, and look forward to several more years owning this. BTW, the CX 3 boasts a sporty appearance, with smooth flowing sides, an elegant front, and well designed rear with easy hatch and dual exhausts.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A Peppy Small Car with Some Quirks

Jean Berko Gleason, 05/12/2018
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

The 2018 CX-3 (Grand Touring AWD) has fairly comfortable, heated front seats and a heated steering wheel, and is reasonably zippy, given its small engine. My problem as a short person is that even at its highest point, the driver's seat does not allow me a good view out. I'm sitting on two pillows, and still have problems with visibility. Its safety features are excellent, in particular its radar controlled cruise control. It will maintain a constant distance between you and the car in front of you. Fuel economy is good and the gauges will tell you what your average and current fuel consumption are. On the down side, Mazda needs to hire some human factors engineers who will consider how actual drivers will deal with the impractical features dreamed up by the style guys. First among them is the maddening rear hatch. First, it has no inside release; worse yet, the only way to get it open is to feel around under the edge of the door for a flat little panel (one of two) that must be depressed. Press the wrong one and you simply lock up the whole car. To find the right one you need to take off your gloves and feel around for it. Forget having the kid at the market load your groceries for you. The car also does not have Android Auto, or Apple Auto, so you are stuck with a clunky navigation system that won't respond to voice commands while you are driving. I just use my Bluetooth phone and Google maps, but, of course they don't show on the Infotainment screen. I finally gave up and paid the dealer hundreds of dollars to install Android Auto. I'm an extremely small person (about 5 feet tall) and I find the visibility quite poor: the rear window is too small; the outside mirrors are huge and block my view; the door and window pillars are thick; the side windows begin too high on the doors and are too small. Sitting in the driver's seat, the hood is invisible to me--it's like driving a bus, but you have to remember that your bus has an invisible expanse of hood in front of it. My final negative is that the fuel tank is tiny, giving the car a comparatively small driving range, even though gas mileage is good. It's a good looking little car, and has some great features, but since I find it hard to see out of it and have to fumble with the rear hatch a couple of times a day, I have not grown fond of it. I'm hoping the Mazda CX-30, due out soon, has overcome some of these design flaws. If not, I will go with a car that has better visibility and a way to open and close the rear hatch without either magic fingers or a step stool.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Smaller is better for me

Sue Harrison, 06/07/2018
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought the CX3 as my city car & it has been great for that. I enjoy the ease of parking, sharp turning & lots of “zoom zoom”. I am no longer driving cross country, hauling a bunch of kids, or need more hauling space than a weeks groceries. But I do like sitting up a little higher and. having all wheel drive (we do live in NE Ohio)...so the CX-3 was my choice and I am really enjoying it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

CX-3 A fun fun sports car. Love it.

Michael M, 02/13/2018
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

CX-3 A fun fun sports car. Not much storage, so think of it more as a fun car than a family car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mazda CX-3 Saved my daughters life

John B., 12/18/2018
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

One of the most stressful times of a parents life is when your child goes off to college. It is extremely stressful when they are driving 3 hours to get there. My daughter was involved in an accident by school which resulted with her crashing into a tree. She was not hurt other than bruises from the seat belt. The car was totalled by the insurance company and they told me the car took a powerful hit because it knocked the motor off the blocks. The interior was hardly touched. As soon as this is all done with, we will be visiting the Mazda dealership for another CX-3.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just what we needed

johnha, 04/12/2018
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is a small SUV with Mazda's usual attention to everything. We wanted something safe and reliable for our daughter to use mainly commuting. The CX-3 doesn't pretend to be anything its not. Storage space is minimal, but the competitive offerings weren't much different. I was told that the rear seating space was lousy, but spent a couple hours back there on a recent drive (I'm 6') and was not uncomfortable. I don't know that I would want to go cross country in the back seat though. As usual with Mazda, the little SUV holds the road well. Safety features that cost extra in some competitors are standard.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

2019 CX-3

JohnD, 08/26/2018
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Back seat room is tight, pickup is pretty good but would be nice to have a little more HP. Car rides great and mileage is up to 29.5. Looks good and comfortable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just bought and still learning

Elena T, 02/21/2018
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I am 5'3" and looking over the hood is a problem....I had to buy a tail bone cushion to raise me up another 2" so that I can see over the hood.....The hood should be slanted down a little for better visibility for short people.....I am still trying to learn all the electronics and there is many to learn and understand...I have not checked miles per gallon and it has a small gas tank.Back seating is bad...and radio cannot be turned off unless all is off.....GPS had to be updated as soon as I got it and it was a pain trying to update the card.....finally found a site that helped with my Mazda GPS update.... no cargo space one minion could fit

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

BE AWARE-NO REMOTE TRUNK RELEASE

Nadine, 07/31/2018
Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
9 of 14 people found this review helpful

This car, as sleek and full of gadgets may be , is lacking a very basic feature . Remote trunk release. So ,while unloading your shopping cart in the winter, first you need to remove your mittens/gloves, then make sure you find and push the correct button/tab to open the hatch. Unless your hands are freeze already, in which case you need to open the hatch from the inside. Good luck! This is inconceivable for a $28000 car . Thinking at competition offering even foot activated trunk release, for Mazda CX3 this is A Big disappointment!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050