Used 2006 Lincoln Town Car Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,995 - $8,995

Used Town Car for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Rugged, Dependable, Smooth, Quiet...

0rnery, 08/21/2014
Designer Series 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

Why is the panther platform the 1st choice for patrol cars, taxi and livery service? For the very same reason it's MY 1st choice! Built like a bull, quiet as a mouse and smooth as a... panther. I repair my own cars as much as possible, and these cars break down the least of any, and when they do, they're cheap and easy to fix. Not to mention the inherent safety of a full size, body on frame vehicle. Just took delivery of a 2006 Designer and it's no different than my previous Town Cars and Grand Marquis' in comfort and roominess. This platform has been tweaked to perfection as far as drive-ability. Update 2019/02/22 The Town Car reviewed above, is a garage queen. I use it about 500 miles per year. I still LOVE it. So much so, I purchased another for a daily driver a couple years ago. Don't bother with a Grand Marquis, unless your really trying to save a couple bucks. For about the same price you can get a Town Car that's just as reliable, with more rear legroom. Both of mine have the sunroof. I'll never buy another vehicle without.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Towncar - American luxury at its best

TomnMaryland, 07/07/2006
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I've owned many vehicles in my 25+ years of driving. BMW 5-series, other imports, domestics....My wife literally LOVES her car. Now, I do too! The overall combination - roomy interior, gas mileage, easy to drive - makes Towncar an awesome choice. Get one for yourself, you'll agree.

Report Abuse

My 06 t/c

jessem12801, 11/20/2010
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I bought a 99 a couple of years ago and didn't like it at all. Not as comfortable as the Lincoln t/c's of the 90's vintage. Then I bought an 05. A little better comfort wise but still worse then the 90's versions. Now I have my 06 sig. Ltd. Comfort is slightly better then the 05 or maybe I'm just used to the seats by now. I like the adjustable pedals and cd changer and the Lincoln town car ride! Nothing else like it. I know the reliability of these cars is second to none since I drove limo's for 20+ years in NYC in these and they never broke! 300,000 miles easy and no issues! I still prefer the old body style though. Just a more elegant looking car all around. Ford has one of the most reliable cars ever

Report Abuse

My 2006 designer series town car

DR POOL, 10/15/2005
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I have been driving lincoln since 1972. My 2003 and 2006 are without a doubt the best 2 lincolns i have ever had. I added the navigation system to the 2006 and after figuring out how to use it, i read the book 4 times, it is a miraculous accessory. There is no doubt in my mind that the Lincoln town car is the finest riding automobile in the industry. It performs well, although it needs a 5 speed transmission instead of the 4 speed, but when it shifts into second, it really moves. The gas mileage is fantastic for such a big car and uses 87 octane gasoline. In this day and age, the 87 octane saves you a lot of money. Orchids to lincoln for manufacturing a great automobile.

Report Abuse

I love this car.......

Furley, 04/27/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car is a commuters dream; I drive from Scranton to NYC daily and I must say this is the best car for commuting ever! I have had other cars nothing compares to the Lincoln Town Car. I would say for the price I paid, and that fact that any garage anywhere can do a quick service on it with out any difficulty is perfect for me. I love the ride, it is perfect for NYC potholes. This car has 200,000 miles on it everything still works. No problems at all.

Report Abuse

I love my 14th town car, still the best!

LTC06, 11/21/2006
14 of 18 people found this review helpful

My 2006 Lincoln Town Designer Series is my 14th Town Car since 1986! And I can say that this 2006 edition is still the best luxury car on the US market. No other luxury car can boast the quality of ride, ease of handling, quickness and smoothness of response to various driving and road conditions, build quality, luxury appointments and reliability that the Town Car continues to offer. My fuel economy experience is in the 20 city/28 highway range. I have never had a mechanical problem with any of my 14 Town Cars. I have tried the Japanese, German, English and American luxury vehicles and none can compare to the Lincoln Town Car!

Report Abuse

care and maintenace of this car

belvin evans, 09/12/2016
Signature Limited 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

this automobile was purchased in june 2006 with 15000 miles on it. it has never missed routine service and has had all other major service work done by parkway ford Lincoln on peterscreek rd. it was in 1 accident about 6 years ago the hood .bumper and left front fender were replaced. there was no structure damage or electrical damage .it has no oil or fluid leaks and drives as it did when new.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The epitome of perfection

Wise Owl, 10/25/2006
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I think the Town car is the only true luxury sedan on the market. I can find nothing wrong with the design of this car! It truly is a masterpiece. I hope it lasts forever. Ford should not touch this car, in fear of ruining it! I love it, I get 31+ MPG on the highway, how can you beat that? I do find that if you drive this car prudently the mileage is ridiculously high for a car this size. However, if you drive it like a sports car, say goodbye to economy, and rightfully so! If you want to own and drive true American craftsmanship, made with pride, buy this car! You will not find a better car for the money.

Report Abuse

Town Car / affordable luxury

Fred Issa, 10/23/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My 2006 Lincoln Town Car is the 6th Lincoln I have owned. I love Town Cars for rear wheel drive, affordability, looks, great as mileage at 28 MPG, [with the Nitro filed tires] doing 65 - 70 miles per hour. The ride is like sitting at home in your easy chair. I keep my Lincoln Town Cars 10 years or more, even after I buy new ones. One of my best friends bought a new 2008 top of the line Lexus, and he said my TC gives a better ride than his car, for which he paid a bundle. When we have visitors from out of the country, visiting the USA, and I am asked to take them to the airport, they think they are riding in a limo. Several have commented that they drive a Mercedes, or BMW, & prefer mine

Report Abuse

Simply Marvelous

Mr. Carkin, 06/04/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Although I have owned the 2006 Signature Limited Town Car for only five days, I feel that I should speak. I traded in a 2002 Town Car which I loved. As much as I loved the old car, the new car is firmer in handling, the ride is significantly improved, absorbing bumps with grace, and the car is as firm as can be on the road. It is a beautiful car to drive and to look at. Improvements? Thicker visors, like the 2002, richer leather on the dash and other trim, real wood instead of plastic for the "wood" trim on the dash. The back seat could have a bit more standard leg room. These are small issues for a car that is very pleasing to travel in and effortless to drive.

Report Abuse

Last of the "real" American Luxury cars

Lawrence K. Mahuna, 07/13/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This Lincon Town Car has a beautiful ride and it does not pretend to be anything else but a comfortable ride. It does not have 400+ horses, nor is it a sports car. But if you want a car that gets you from point A-B in the most comfortable manner possible, chose the Town Car. I have a bad back and the Town Car makes it feel better after a long run and does not make you feel that you need a chiropractor. It is too bad that Ford is thinking of discontinuing the TC. Perhaps a litte more horses and a six speed transmission with electronic control would do the job. It would take so little to make this car attractive to new buyers.

Report Abuse

Best of Lot

Jim, 06/20/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Test drove Infinity, Lexus, and Avalon..None surpassed or matched the overall comfort and ride of this car. Infinity more fun to drive but too small for cross country cruising

Report Abuse

King of the road

MR. HAMEL, 10/18/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very very plush ride, i've had 'em all and the town car tops the deville, avalon, 300c and anything thing else that matches up with it.

Report Abuse

My 2nd big Ford

Aaron Bouser, 06/18/2017
Signature 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I owned an 04 Crown Vic for a long time. I sold it to a friend and missed it, so I looked for another. Decent Crown Vic's are getting harder to find, but these Lincolns are quite available. I am really sold on the Panther platform, and the Lincoln is mechanically familiar to me. Durable and relatively simple. I bought this car gently used, and I find that I like it more than the CV. It's a little bigger, a whole more comfortable, ride wise. Mine is a pewter, bluish silver color and I quite like it. The technology gap is a little behind some of my other vehicles, but they are newer. Mine has the back up beeper parking assist, which really works pretty well. It has a single CD player sound system. The sound, deep bass and crisp highs, is really good, but with no "aux" input, that really limits what I can listen to. That's kind of a downer, but hey, it is an older car. One thing I love is the interior lighting. Each door has a light, each seat position has an overhead light and there's under dash floor lighting. Ten (10) lights come on when you turn on the interior lights. I like that..it looks cool. This car, like my CV, gets decent MPG's, especially for how big a car it is. It's whisper quiet inside and quiet enough that the guy at the carwash commented on it. The trunk is enormous. I play in a band, and it's got plenty of room for two electric guitars in cases, my amp, gig bag and pedalboard. I can carry all my music stuff in the trunk and not have to put any items in the passenger area. Nice. Plus, the air ride suspension keeps the car level even with a trunk load of heavy gear. I love this car so far. The performance? It's not a drag racer and it stops like my pick up. I don't want that kind of performance, though. I want a smooth, quiet ride. That's what I get with this car. After all, it's a Lincoln.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Could Be Better...

Roger2Texas, 07/14/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Car rides smooth in city, absorbs bumps very well. Have had problems with A/C vacuum valve that controls recirculation of air. Had replaced twice, seems to be messing up again. A/C vacuum makes weird noises when car first started. On highway, car seems to sway a lot. This being the 3rd Town Car I've owned, this has the worst handling quality on highway (especially with full load of 6 people). Bumpers quality is not as good as previous models, maybe should consider purchasing a Crown Victoria or Grand Marquis for a cheaper price (cuz they are off the same assembly line!!) Don't let the Lincoln logo fool you.

Report Abuse

This is a great car

Ken, 11/01/2006
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love the car, it has style, room and get up and go when you need it. About 27 mpg on the hwy way. I always smile when I see it. To me it says, "you have made it"

Report Abuse

Concerns / Quality & Reliability

Robert Lorenzo, 08/03/2005
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

To all, I have been reasearching & paying close attention to vehicles of all makes and I would say that the domestic market is using strategies: "Employees Price" to sell cars and SUV that don't meet the minimum standard of quality, Reliability and safety needed in most cars. I have experienced it my self. I have been driving a 2005 Lincoln Town Car since February 2005, and I have encountered many problems. Trouble with Moon Roof Installation, Draft around the front passenger doors, Electronic trunk opener, Bad odor from the A/C and horn unoperational due to new design on the steering wheel. Body & bumpers durability not meeting expectation. The last and most important: unreliable service.

Report Abuse

Best car I ever had and Edmunds helped me find it!

Jeffrey Bautista, AIG Financial Representative, 01/07/2016
Signature L 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car was thousands below original asking price. Bought it after Thanksgiving at Crown Lexus, Larry and Rose from their internet department held the car for me until I arrived. Paid it in full so the price I got was the only price I paid for. Edmunds.com gave me a $200 prepaid visa card which arrive in about 10 days. What more can I ask for. Love Edmunds.com! I will use Edmunds.com again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Land Yacht - just needs port and starboard lights!

Robert Vitale, 06/18/2017
Signature Limited 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ultimate in quiet, smooth ride. NOT a performance vehicle. Suspension is a little soft for my tastes (replaced an SHO). Very good turning radius - smaller than SHO. Overall, a competent, solid, reliable luxury ride - not a dressed up Crown Victoria as some critics have said. Reliable comfortable ride. Only problems with this car are things that the dealer messed up when servicing under warranty. Still original brakes, no major or minor repairs except an alternator replacement. Exterior is like new. I'm getting bored with it! Considering a 2018 Mustang GT Conv! Update: Still a trouble-free car, but I'm interested in selling it - still want that Mustang or SHO.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

12 years old - still runs, looks great

Chef, 03/22/2018
Signature 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this auto in 2011 with 30k original miles. Has 120k now. These are the repairs I’ve made since ownership. Regular maintenance ie: tune ups oil changes- Brakes, tires, gas tank replaced, was told this was somewhat common in older Lincoln’s. Had issues with moon roof switch, leave it closed now don’t use. Ac issue currently, didn’t address at end off summer last year. Need to address as soon as warmer weather sets in. Hope it’s nothing more then a Freon charge. This car has rust, good for a vehicle in Chicago. Keep in mind it’s garage kept and I’m a clean freak, so salt never remains in car for more then a couple of days or less. All this being said, this is my first ford vehicle ever owned. I’ve owned about 8 vehicles in my lifetime. All GM one Chrysler, never again on the lader, 4 of them being Cadillacs. I liked all the Cadillacs rides for sure, but I have to say I had far more troubles with all of them and I’ve ever had with this Lincoln. When this carbno longer runs or I get in an accident I have no clue as to what car I would want to purchase. this is the car I want to drive for a long time to come, I enjoy driving it that much. Currently the only thing I see coming soon is another set of tires.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not built to last

Jim Sixx, 08/15/2005
3 of 9 people found this review helpful

Robert Lorenzo know's what he's talking about. I've been having major problems with my Town Car as well, one thing that caught my eye is that the AC really does blow bad odor, that's disgusting. People the only thing that stands out of the town Car is the ride quality, other than that there's notihng special here. Gas mileage is horrible 17 mpg in city driving, is not satisfying. I tell you this car is not worth your hard- working money, I'm not saying this is a bad car. It's just not worth your money.

Report Abuse

2004 tc

rosborne, 09/01/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great on long trips on the road around town (after all it is a town car). very quiet compared to the 96

Report Abuse

happy i bought it

Mary Ann, 08/04/2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I like lincolns especially the town cars- my father always said they were well built and comfortable. He was 100% right. The ride is great and it feels like you are being hugged in safety.

Report Abuse

Thoughts on my 2005 Lincoln

James J Derba, 07/24/2005
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

The car is reliable, gives a great ride and can accomadate 6 passengers. I have purchased a Lincoln two years since 1982, with two exceptions. The cars I have driven have been maintainence and trouble free. One major issue. The radio in the last two cars is terrible. I also have a Mecury Sable and the radio is that car is excellent. JJD

Report Abuse

Overall

Red, 07/18/2006
1 of 8 people found this review helpful

The air conditiong fan creates deafening noises at most speeds. Seats are uncomfortable...passengers bottom out at every bump. every road anomally, bumps, cracks, patches etc can be felt thru the floor boards, steering wheel and the seats. I was a recent owner of a 2002 Cadillac and without a doubt, the Lincoln, by comparison, is not a Luxury Car. The suspension was probably designed by an ex jeep designer... The gas pedal frequenly causes the vehicle to jump from a start position. Lacks the smoothness of previously owned cars.

Report Abuse

Love it

Designer, 10/20/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just love my Town Car. Flawless. Never had problem #1. Love the silky smooth ride & the improved suspension and better cornering. Great interior, huge trunk, decent gas mileage. Love the fog lights & power glass moonroof as well as the in dash cassette & in dash CD and trunk mounted CD changer. Great to have a car again with cornering lights, too. They tried to interest me in a simulated convertible top, but I like the look of the metal top. Like the white walls with the chrome wheels and I installed the aftermarket chrome tail lamp 360-degee trim. Really looks elegant. The power close trunk is ideal when taking big bulky heavey things out of the trunk. Push button on key & it shuts

Report Abuse

2000 lincoln

chris, 08/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I own a 2000 Town car. 10,000 miles on it. Looking to get a new one , but probably won't. Not too much change in the new 2006 model. Same low horsepower motor (235 hp). All the new foreign luxury auto's have the power and speed to make a car fun to drive. Even the cadillacs have a powerful motor. And I still think the lincoln needs more front and rear leg room. The car indeed is a Beautiful car to look at, but needs to get with the times.

Report Abuse

20,000 miles not one problem

j back, 08/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Roomy, comfortable, quiet. The best luxury car i have owned. (Previous: Cadillac, lexus & mercedes) only wish that they would make all wood interior.

Report Abuse

Outstanding All Around

Mit, 05/09/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle. Horsepower is there when you need it. Interior is very quiet and comfortable. No complaints!

Report Abuse

Comfort for the Long or Short Ride

Taylor Bowie, 06/07/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my fourth Lincoln Town Car, and I can't imagine any car more reliable, trustworthy and safe. In ten years of owning these cars I have had one minor problem with an electrical connection...otherwise, no trips to the shop for anything other than the scheduled services. I love the fact that road noise is pretty well cut out, the seats are great, and you feel comfortable and secure no matter if you are making a short trip or a long interstate haul. Controls, clock, DVD player etc. are all easier than ever to use. I am a happy Lincoln owner.

Report Abuse

Happy with my Town Car

PAUL TERRAULT, 08/19/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like the way it looks, it drives and feels. I love to take it on long drives accross the country.

Report Abuse

Pleasing

Mrs Highland, 09/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have other cars but on trips of 100 miles or more our Town Car is the best!

Report Abuse

Defines American Luxury

Patricia , 03/21/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Lincoln Towncar is by far the best Luxury car on the market and it has tons of features like heated seats and a navigation system and Beautiful Burl Wood Accents on the dash and in the Steering wheel and the when you are riding in the car it feels like you are riding on a cloud or floating on air and i love the way the leather seates are trimmed and the seats are so comfortable and the interior is extremly roomy and the V8 Engine is very strong and has plenty of horsepower to move this car at high highway speeds and the cars exterior is beautiful i love the shiny black paint and i like the chrome pieces on the doors and i absolutely love my car its wonderful i highly reccommend it

Report Abuse

Magic Carpet Ride

RamRod, 08/24/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Put your money towards the truly meaningful aspects of an automobile such as "ride" - "reliability" - "comfort" - "safety". Nothing on the market today surpasses my Lincoln Town Car in these categories. Performance, power, and gas mileage are suprisingly excellent also. Your grandfather and great-grandfather would buy this car. Flashy colors, designs & styling looses it's appeal. The qualities I mentioned above last forever. They are the true componants of "buyer's satisfaction". If your vehicle has these qualities, you won't have to worry about "buyer's remorse". EA:Southern Gentleman - Birmingham, Alabama

Report Abuse

Great Car So Far

JHL, 12/04/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned at least 60 cars and trucks during my lifetime, from sports to luxury, from utility to fancy. This car is one of the finest that I've come across, it's very comfortable and has adequate power, I do a lot of highway driving and I bought this car for comfort and I feel that is has the most comfort of anything I've owned thus far. The fact that is gets 23 mpg on the road for a car this big is great in my book, I had a 78 Chrysler New Yorker that got 7 mpg when it was new. I have a high degree of confidence in this car, I just traded a Continental with 131k miles and it was a great car.

Report Abuse

great car

RICHARD TURNER, 12/06/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i have always wanted to buy a lincoln towncar i had a 2002 continental this 2006 towncar is a dream come true. it's like riding in your jet plane. that's for a great car

Report Abuse

06 Town Car Sig LTD.

Alnatl, 01/25/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my 06 Town Car for approximately 14 months now and can safely say that it is one of the better Lincolns I have owned (and I have owned many since the 1982 model year). The new styling, introduced in 2003, is one of the best I've seen on the road, and the ride is like no other vehicle in its class. Two thumbs up to the 2006 Lincoln Town Car!

Report Abuse

06 Lincoln Signature LTD

Chas in NJ, 02/19/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the car for price, size, safety, and most of all, American made. As far as I am concerned, no foreign name plate can come close. Everything works fine; ride and handling are exceptional for this size vehicle. Only 400 miles since November, but I look forward to using this car much more.

Report Abuse

Best Lincoln I Ever Owned

alexvaughn, 09/18/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Live in FL we drive to MA we average 27 mph doing 70. We love the car. Have nothing wrong with it & it's very comfortable to drive. I loved the dash on my 95 better

Report Abuse

Outstanding Automobile

Wisegy123, 10/27/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my fourth Town Car and I love it. I have found the Lincolns to be very reliable with superior quality. It is a very comfortable vehicle to drive. I have owned BMW's and Mercedes Benz's, but I keep coming back to the Town Car. I find them more economical to maintain and repair without sacrificing luxury and quality. I would recommend the car to anyone. After our first one, it is the only make of car that my wife wants to own.

Report Abuse

Great automobile which Lincoln mistakenly stopped

Dick, 05/10/2019
Signature Limited 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you can find one with less than 60,000 miles on it, grab it quick

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050