Used 1999 Lincoln Navigator SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$920 - $1,612

Used Navigator for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

My Green Gator

John T. Holt, 03/16/2003
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Fuel economy response to outside air temperature change and road conditions is very pronounced. I have gotten as much as 20 mpg on flat road at 60 mph, 60 deg outside temperature. Increase in speed to 70 mph will decrease consumption by 2 mpg or more. City driving economy is as shown on sticker, 13 mpg under most condidions. Rear electric fold down seat in newer models was too long coming. Removing the rear bench can be a real pain, impossible for man or woman of even slightly less strength or stature, but no space for groceries or personal items with seat in place.

Report Abuse

A Happy Navigator

Muskie Man, 09/03/2003
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

The Navigator has met my expectations as a reliable luxury SUV. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. In todays market there are many luxury SUV options that did not exist in 1999. The vehicle has performed reliably in the four seasons of northern Wisconsin. Currently with 72,000 miles the vehicle seems just barely broken in. I expect to keep it for many years to come.

Report Abuse

Love my Navigator

Kathy Smith, 09/05/2005
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is a supurb piece of equipment that is classy and comfortable. I have pulled a semi weighing 80,000lbs. that was stuck on ice, pulled a truck from a snowy ditchbank, drug a tree log that we dropped in the back yard, pulled out overgrown bushes around the house and have traveled many miles with my grankids. I can't say enough about the performance and comfort of this SUV. There isn't another vehicle that I have been more pleased and proud to own. It is a workhorse and yet is classy and comfortable.

Report Abuse

I'd buy another but......

Greg L, 11/28/2006
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

All and all it has been a pretty reliable SUV. I have put about $2000 in fixing the air suspension on the front and back of the vehicle. It is very spacious. The ride is a bit rough and the power could be improved. My major issue is the interior for a $50K vehicle it just completely came apart. I think everything is made of plastic and they all break. I like the new one but I may wait awhile to see some reviews...

Report Abuse

All Around Great

Dick Dillon, 11/05/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new and it was 4 yrs old. in Aug. I have never had a better car for overall looks and performance. I get about 15 mph on trips and 13.5 around town. That is not far from the 1987 Pathfinder that I traded in. The performance is well worth the extra gas that it uses. The main difference is the price I have to pay for the premimum gas that is recommended by the manufacturer. I'm 74 years old and pretty sure this well out live me by many years. I'm happy to have lived long enough to enjoy my remaining years in such comfort. It's like riding around in your living room.

Report Abuse

Not bad for a Ford

gswar2003, 02/09/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was a bit skeptical to buy it since my ford Exploder days. But I must admit it has been a joy to drive. I have had no major mechanical problems except running through brake pads like water. All & all a nice vehicle. The only think is for a $50,000 vehicle the cheap plastic pieces that break off need to go. I am looking forward to buying '04 or '05 Great family vacation car!

Report Abuse

A+

SWIFT1, 04/29/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

THIS WAS THE FIRST SUV THAT I EVER OWNED AND I DON'T THINK THAT THERE IS ANOTHER ONE LIKE IT. IT HANDLES GREAT AND RIDES LIKE A LUXURY CAR.

Report Abuse

1999 Navigator

debruyne, 06/22/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am very pleased with every aspect and performance of this vehicle except for the mileage. It has met my very high expectations.

Report Abuse

No Competition!

smartlis, 03/19/2003
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have owned my 1999 Navigator for over two years now and have had absolutely no problems with it. My kids enjoy the comfort of the seats and room for all their friends when we go out. Great vehicle for people who carpool and want comfort and safety.

Report Abuse

Depends on the day...

CatMcM121, 09/09/2006
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Most days I really enjoy the navigator. Other days I want to kick myself for buying it. While I got it at a steal for 10G last year with 65k miles, I got it right when gas prices skyrocketed, my fault, as was not paying attention to the sound/alarm/entertainment systems (aftermarket and CHEAP). It drives beautifully, but what irks me is the odometer that appears/disapppears randomly, the "growling" noise it makes (something to do with suspension, happens when the car is off! talk about the strange looks I get...), back wiper dead, seat heater doesn't work. Other than these problems, it's fine. Tough to drive in the city. Great for long trips if you can afford getting only 18 mpg highway

Report Abuse

Best SUV on the Market

lincoln rules, 04/09/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this is way better than mb and bmw suvs the real luxury and ride can beat out any suv around.

Report Abuse

Good BUT!

gswar2003, 11/16/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I can sum it up for you buy it before 100,000 miles. It was great until that point i have replaced pretty much everything except the engine. cheap inside. Great car to travel in not an everyday 100,000 miles.

Report Abuse

1999 Lincoln Navigator

RMS, 08/28/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Generally the car has been trouble-free and an absolute joy to drive. Had a one- time electronics problem and a faulty battery but otherwise, nothing. Be prepared for the jealousy factor. There are those persons out there who would want to take their frustrations out on your car, just because of its beauty and perhaps symbolism. You get more for your buck in this year's models.

Report Abuse

Navigator

jet22, 02/21/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Too big for everyday driving, however wonderful for everything else. Absolute luxury. We use it for weekends and any traveling. We have the captain chairs and the passengers are very comfortable. I love it.

Report Abuse

Our Navigator

Randy's Wife, 03/01/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am not a car fiend, but I love this vehicle. My husband bought it for me for Christmas, and now I look for an excuse to drive. It handles very well, and is super comfortable.

Report Abuse

Personal Safety Rating Testimonial

Michael Summers, 10/23/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

An accident in front of our Lincoln Navigator forced us to come to a complete stop on the interstate. A girl rear ended our Navigator at 70mph. We were completely stopped and it pushed our truck forward the space of 2 parked cars. All 5 passengers in our vehicle walked away from this accident with no broken bones and only stiff necks and joints. This vehicle is more than a pretty ride. It's a steel bubble that saved my family from a potentially fatal accident. I highly reccomend the 1999 Lincoln NAVIGATOR not only for security, but as well as for style, class, and reliabilty. Two thumbs up to Lincoln on a job well built!

Report Abuse

The Greatest Travel Vehicle

Bobby Hodum, 01/19/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this vehicle. I bought it used with 20,000 miles, and I have loved driving it. I've often said that if someone offered me a free new vehicle of my choice, I would choose another Navigator. My only complaint is with service. Fortunately, I've needed very little service, but when I do, my experiences with the local dealer have always been negative. If you have a good local dealer, that's great! But my local dealer may have driven me to purchase another vehicle.

Report Abuse

1999 Lincoln Navigator

rms, 08/28/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Generally the car has been trouble-free and an absolute joy to drive. Had a one- time electronics problem and a faulty battery but otherwise, nothing. Be prepared for the jealousy factor. There are those persons out there who would want to take their frustrations out on your car, just because of its beauty and perhaps symbolism. You get more for your buck in this year's models.

Report Abuse

Johnny Mack

johnnymack, 03/28/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Gas mileage is a killer but the suv is quite nice. A good amount of power from the 300hp dohc 5.4L V8. It handles quite well for such a large suv and it can stop very quickly for a fairly heavy vehicle. I realy enjoy driving this suv.

Report Abuse

Most Luxurious LEMON - My Love Hate SUV

Ray R Harris, 02/07/2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Thank God for Extended Warranties. I've replaced: 2 Engines, a Transmission and a Rear End. Plus, lots of interior features have failed and been replaced. I love the SUV's perfomance and looks. I once had to navigate through 3 feet of flood waters and even though the water came over the hood and onto the windshield, this baby never stopped. My lease is up soon...and I just don't know what to do...I love it but I'm sure glad I don't have to pay to fix it!

Report Abuse

BEAST

romebm, 01/08/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have taken this vehicle off road too, I love it.

Report Abuse

Best SUV

Marti, 07/14/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Lincoln Navigator is by far the most superb vehicle I have ever owned or driven.

Report Abuse

not too bad

bigunit, 07/14/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

the truck has been great but I have problems with the transmission.

Report Abuse

1999 Navigator

L.V. Cooper, 07/24/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned 2 Navigators and I must say I have never driven a better Vehicle. I love the way it steers you can park it on a dime and for a large SUV I think that says it all. I just love it.

Report Abuse

Best Darn Suv

Skippy 10000, 05/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No compare! The Best Looking Riding Suv out there!!

Report Abuse

Love it!

karmdy, 10/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this vehicle. and it is so much fun to drive.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050