Used 2016 Lincoln MKX SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$18,900 - $35,945

Used MKX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Didn't Want to Give it Back!

Happy in Florida, 05/14/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
68 of 68 people found this review helpful

I first came in contact with the 2016 Lincoln MKX in Albuquerque, NM. We had rented a full-size sedan, but were offered the MKX instead. We agreed and fell in love. I had rented suvs in the past, but had never owned one and never thought I would. I've always been a luxury car guy. We drove the MKX around town for 9 days and were very reluctant to turn it in. My wife and I joked about driving it back to Florida instead of flying. We could find no faults. When we returned home, I began my quest for a new suv since we had become believers. I considered Lincoln, BMW, Jaguar, Range Rover and Cadillac. We researched and test drove all. Everything considered, we easily chose the MKX, not only for best value, but we also just liked it better than the others. We ended up with one identical to the one we had rented - white with cappuccino interior, 3.7 liter, Reserve level. We recently returned from a 1,500-mile road trip, had no problems and are even more pleased. After 1 1/2 months and a total of 1,650 miles, we know we made the right decision.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

don't always take the "experts" opinion .

peb, 05/15/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
41 of 41 people found this review helpful

I've had this mkx for 2 months and love it even more now than when I bought it. Nothing beats its styling, interior or exterior, I got the blue with terra cotta interior, beautiful. Sticker was 52,500 , selling price with dealer discount and rebates was 47,500. No problems . base engine has more than adequate power expecially in sport mode. Most comfortable car I've ever owned. "experts" say its best as a highway cruiser, but I say it also handles curves very well in sport mode with little drop in ride comfort. Excellent base revel stereo. Lane control works well but I like to keep the steering vibration alert off. Don't believe experts biased toward imports, they probably think its hip to downplay American luxury.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Give American made a chance, like we did.

Carrie, 09/08/2016
Black Label 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
36 of 36 people found this review helpful

We are very happy with our 2016 MKX Black Label, former Lexus/Acura owners of many years. Test drove Infiniti's(multiple SUV's), Lexus RX, Acura MDX ... RDX, Mercedes GLK and GLE...also Audi Q5. We then decided to check out the 2016 Lincoln MKX. All the previously mentioned vehicle's are very nice but found the MKX much quieter, a joy to drive and the REVEL sound system may be better then the Mark Levinson sound system found in the RX. The REVEL blew my mind at the pure sound. We were also very pleased with the softer ride and rarely any engine noise which were very noticeable in the RX, Mercedes and most especially the Infinit (QX50, JX60 and the small Infiniti SUV). The MKX is the most wonderful ride we have ever experienced. I rarely hear any rode noise or the sound of vehicle right next to us...due to the noise cancellation found thru-out the MKX. The seats in the Black Label are 22 way both driver and passenger side. The head room is great. My husband is 6'7" and this and the Mercedes were the roomiest and most comfortable for him. The back seat is quite roomy as is the cargo area. We have the new SYNC 3 which is very easy to operate and I find it easy to figure out and operate. My only complaint is the gas mileage which is normal for an SUV of almost 4500 lbs(18 miles to the gallon our tech informed us). I am a former owner of the Lexus GS sedan(10 years) and there is quite a difference in gas usage. This vehicle is pure joy to drive. We find ourselves wanting to use it on weekends now versus my husband's truck.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent, Comfortable and Quiet Vehicle

Brian, 05/07/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

This is literally my 5th Lincoln having previously owned a Navigator and past 5 years, MKX's. I just leased the new 2016 all white with cappuccino interior, Reserve. It is completely redesigned from my prior 2014 Lincoln MKX. The vehicle is stunning having cooled seats, heated seats and one of the best quality stereo systems I have ever heard. My wife has a ML350 Mercedes and she pays more per month than I do and my MKX has significantly more features and; better quality features. The back seats are significantly larger and roomier than my prior 2014 Lincoln MKX. The driving is superior and my favorite feature of this vehicle is the extremely quiet cabin. Going 80 mph on the highway, you can hear a pin drop. I am a Trial Attorney in Miami and I am constantly driving all throughout town. This vehicle is nothing but exceptional. I will continue buying Lincoln forever so long as they keep the great job. Keep in mind, for the price you get a huge amount of technology and more so than most finer vehicles including Mercedes, BMW, Jaguar and Acuras. Consider this vehicle and you won't be disappointed, I promise!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

ALL prior model drawback have gone away!!!!

Bob, 12/24/2015
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
30 of 31 people found this review helpful

This one has all of the technology available on all luxury SUZ on the market at far less price. The quality is excellent. All of the drawbacks of the prior version have been fixed.. Now has much smoother ride, better steering/handling, update look, comfortable drivers seat and steering wheel positions and adjustments. 360 degrees cameras, collision alerts, blind spot alerts, cross traffic alerts and adaptable cruise control are all musts in my judgment. And for those who like "toys", the ambient interior lighting choices are a fun thing. I have never like a vehicle as much. Seeing is believing....LOL, I sound like a Lincoln salesmen, but the car is just that good!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Brand new Purchase: updated

cfmillette, 08/10/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
40 of 42 people found this review helpful

OK: After researching on the Internet, and having my wife look at/drive other competitors: she decided to buy a 2016 MKX - yesterday. So this review is very early on indeed. However: the car rides very capably and the cabin is very quiet. [I drive a sports sedan aggressively, but here the standard 3.7L V6 is fine] - we opted instead of the 2.7L Turbo engine for both the Driver Assistance and the Technology packages. Forget the earlier Ford "My Touch" - the newer SCYN3 interface seems pretty intuitive. Does this car warrant the added cost compared to its "parent" the lower cost Ford Edge? Do not know yet, obviously. But the ambience of the driver's cabin is entirely comparable to the Lexus RX-350, the new Cadillac XT5 et.al. We decided that, yep, the cachet of the Lincoln "name" was worth the cost. Note please: we are an older couple with disposable income, at least to a degree. Pure economy or ecological "Green" thinking issues are not highly weighted in our household. Regarding my comment regarding "Green" thinking! Yes, if my wife and I valued this aspect to the exclusion of all else - we would both be driving a Toyota Yaris or something akin. Nope, not going to happen at this point. Plus, I have made the following calculation: 18 mpg/driving 10,000 mpy (our situation) equates to something like 556 gallons of gasoline per year. Buying instead a car with predicted 22 mpg and driving the same 10,000 may, but using premium gas? In our neighborhood based upon local gasoline pricing, this means that we SAVE about $50/year. In other words totally inconsequential. Now with 500 miles driven - we love this car. Optional safety features work exactly as advertised and already have been appreciated. Do not need a third row? Less interested in sports car experience (I get that elsewhere!)? Want comfort and safety? Willing to buy American? Consider the newest version of the Lincoln MKX. UPDATE: Now about 6 months later, still very few miles driven, but we remain entirely pleased. While there have been two recalls, but both of these were for very minor issues, nothing at all substantive. Dealership completely responsive.Interior space very conveniently organized. We very much like the front console "pass-through"storage space created by the push button gear selector. Gas milage exactly as predicted. Many positive comments from passengers. SYNC-3 easy to use. 360 degree camera system excellent. Oh yeah, that night-time illuminated Lincoln logo Welcome Mat? While simply pure fluff and decadence, we never fail to use it when chaperoning new guests at night! Starts the conversation going immediately. Overall, my initial rating remains unchanged. This has been an excellent choice for us. Most recent update. Now with another 6 months or so experience? Our review remains unaltered. Excellent driving machine for our needs. Good engine performance, superb comfort and internal ambience (SYNC3 system), good storage capacity , not at all missing a third row seating which we did NOT need initially, safety bells /whistles have indeed been helpful. My wife and I recommend this vehicle without reservation.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy Wife / Happy Life

Dan H, 07/22/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

My wife didn't like the exterior/interior combinations on dealer lots so we ordered our MKX and waited 7 weeks for delivery. We ordered Allure Blue w/ cappuccino interior. We are glad we waited. We drove Acura and Lexus before selecting Lincoln. We loved both the Acura RDX and MKX. Not so much for the Lexus 350. We selected the Lincoln based on two bad experiences with Honda products. My daughter hopped a curb while pulling away from a bank ATM and did $3500 damage to her Accord and my son totaled his RL without hitting anything by running off a highway into the median. I've done similar things with Ford products without any damage to suspension systems. My wife is driving the MKX and I have taken her 2001 Toyota Sienna and made it my work car. Our MKX is fairly tricked-out. The features I especially love are: adaptive cruise control (won't buy another car without it), 360 degree backup camera (Toyota calls this bird's eye view and I won't buy another car without it), rain sensing wipers, automatic on/off-high/low headlights, 2.7L engine (very smooth at moderate acceleration). My wife loves the power tailgate, seat adjustment capability (we have premium seats that allow increasing/decreasing the length of the lower cushion that allows adjustment to shorter/taller people) and the automatic synchronization with her iPhone that plays her playlist music (she is a classical pianist) anytime she enters the car rather than defaulting to the radio. We recently drove from Charleston, SC to Baton Rouge, LA. I historically hate drives longer than 10 hours. That drive, I think I could have continued to Houston. We will be taking the car in for its 5000 mile service next week. My wife and I typically expect 250,000 miles from a car so we'll be driving this one for a while. The only option that I didn't get that I might consider next time is the adaptive steering - I have to hold the steering wheel with two hands when nailing the throttle. Either the adaptive steering or AWD might help with the torque steer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 2.7L Turbo-Good Stuff~She's fully Loaded too.

Chris Johnson, 09/03/2016
Black Label 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

Drove two Lincoln MKX engines, the 3.7 and the 2.7 turbo. Drove the Lexus RX 350 Sport & Premium. Drove all lines of the Jaguar F-Pace. Drove the Ford Edge Sport. Drove Audi's line. Drove Acura MDX.........I bought the 2.7L MKX. Frankly, I like every one of various manufacturers offerings. Honestly, you can't go wrong no matter what, we all live in the age of cool factor and quality overall. But what I wanted was the blend of comfort and dead quiet cabin, with a serious engine, and the 2.7L MKX fits the bill the best of everything I drove. The 3.7 MKX is fine, but seems a bit under powered to me. The 2.7, is a serious motor and for a car guy/gal, this will be worth the extra bucks. It just hauls when you need it, there is zero turbo lag, it's there, it's on, this is one very fast vehicle when the moment dictates. We have a fully loaded vehicle, you can't put a single option more on it. But if I could do it all again, I'd opt for the 20's, rather than the 21 inch rims, I'm just too nervous I'll scrape them when parallel parking, but the cameras all around, surely help in all aspects. Some niggly items that are a bit hard to get used to for me, I continue to phantom on the parking break with my left leg, the pull the button break thing will take some more getting used too. And the "push matic" gear selection, it's just a bit laggy between gear changes. Some things I've learned quickly in ownership here is that most folks probably will back off on some of the safety settings, otherwise you'll fight the car for control. It'll beep at you, flash at you, and literally steer for you, which is all good, for some, not for me. I've dialed back the settings to suit my needs. The steering wheel thing in full safety mode is a bit disconcerting if you even drift a hair from dead center in your lane. My favorite part of all though is the gas pedal and the 2.7 Turbo, I can just accelerate to match anything on the road, at any speed. Favorite part for my wife is the massaging seats, she's happy, I'm happy, and we cruise down the road in style, only 50 years young, and chuckling that my grandparents in their 70's had a Lincoln! Update.........fit and finish still excellent, nothing further to report at this time. Great engine! Final Update, sold it to buy an Alfa Romeo. Had a great experience with the Lincoln, will seriously look at them again. Lincoln just was in a weird inventory transition time to the Nautilus, and I couldn't get the specs I wanted, which is basically fully loaded. In the 3 years of owning this, there really is only one gripe, and it's the handling. After driving all the 2019 models at hand, all manufacturers seemed to have made handling better yet. Lincoln seemed stuck in 2016, which is still a good ride, but just not really fully composed for maybe more spirited driving for lack of a better term. But that 2.7 Twin Turbo, she pulls like a freight train and I think it's a terrific engine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I would not buy this car...it is unreliable

Michelle, 06/24/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

This care is so comfortable and drives fantastic... BUT do not let them sell you on the My Touch navigation system. They are moving all this year to Sync 3 which is great but are still selling early 2016 models with My Touch - It is frustrating, slow and will leave you stranded. I had a loaner with the Sync 3 and it was night and day. I love this car but I bet I will get rid of it within 3 years due to the navigation system....It takes forever to compute and randomly the keyboard just disappears. I have taken it in and they can't do anything about it... I would recommend this car to anyone as long as you don't get suckered into the old nav system. I do have to say that the service folks and Gwinnett Lincoln have been a pleasure to deal with. I do wish the Lincoln dealership/Service was completely separate from Ford due to it is very busy but the staff does go above and beyond. 12/26/16 updated review - the car has been in the shop 7 time in less than 9K mile for various forms of issues. Twice for throttle rod where the car just dies in traffic and then will only go 5 mph which is extremely dangerous in ATL traffic. The computer is this car is buggy - errors show up on the dash and I take pics with my cell and then Lincoln can not replicate it. The lift gate sensors are unpredictable and come down on you for no reason. I would never purchase this car again due to the computer system...It is great when it wants to work. The navigation system still blacks out for no reason. It still drives like a dream and is very comfortable, I love all the cameras to park, back up etc. The other think I absolutely hate is since I spend so much time at the Lincoln service center is that it is also mixed with the Gwinnett ford dealership and therefore it is always chaotic. If you want to buy a luxury car then my advice is to avoid this car and also go with someone that has a stand alone dealership and is has a longer time in the marketplace - Maybe 2017 they will get the bugs worked out. I did not pay 50K plus for a car that I have to drive 45 min each way to the dealership every other week to drive a loaner.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2.7L AWD Reserve

Andrew, 12/16/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle, I have had it now for over 6 months with no issues. I got the AWD 2.7L which is considerably faster than the standard stock engine. Also make sure to get AWD as it makes a big difference in the comfort and performance of the vehicle. Only note is that your MPG will suffer. I drive aggressively and get an average of 18.7mpg. Also id recommend to get the tan interior vs the black as it is more appealing. Also the 360 camera system is useful in parking so you avoid scratching up those rims. Sound options are nice as well and If you equip it right you get lots of other features such as lane departure. Lastly I have the new sync 3 which works considerably better than the old sync my touch. Overall great vehicle worth taking for a test drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

a must see

Todd, 02/20/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
20 of 22 people found this review helpful

A three year update. The car continues to drive very well. Sync 3 and all the other electronics (blis, etc) continue to impress. The car rides perfectly and I’m still reminded daily of how comfortable the seats are. Everyone who has ridden in the car is impressed. Maintenance has been easy and it is nice to no longer be paying BMW maintenance fees. Issues so far have been small with one of the folding rear view mirrors requiring serve and a vacuum valve that needed replacement. I recently looked at the MB GLS as I’m tempted to get a third row but I think the MB disappoints on interior comfort and electronic options even at a much higher price compared to the Lincoln. I’m going to hold onto the MKX a while longer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My Car

Spencer Hirshman, 01/19/2016
Premiere 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 21 people found this review helpful

Beautiful car with a very attractive interior. Extremely quiet and smooth riding with solid construction. Controls easy to operate. Roomy interior with excellent storage. Nice materials.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My MKX Reserve turned out to be a lemon. Avoid.

hrbaltd@me.com, 12/30/2015
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
34 of 39 people found this review helpful

UPDATE: The vehicle has been a mechanical nightmare. The transmission went after 12,000! In less than 3 years, I had to replace the battery, both catalytic converts, a throttle body injector system, and am now on my 3rd set of tires! Lease just ended thank goodness. It was a real lemon of a vehicle. Just leased a 2019 Jaguar F Pace S. So far so good but it is too early to tell on it's reliability. It does come with a 45 year/50,000 bumper to bumper warranty. Picked up my 2016 MKX Reserve last week and all I can say is the vehicle turned out to be a total lemon. It is very fast (2.7 twin turbo option) and somewhat nimble (in sport mode). The optional massaging seats makes any long drive a pleasure. Be sure to order this option. It is worth every penny. The vehicle is quiet but in sport mode, you can hear the exhaust kick in when you punch it. People that have ridden in the vehicle with me comment on how quiet the ride is. The vehicle is good in the snow. The overall reliability has been poor. The Revel sound system (basic Revel upgrade, not the 4k upgrade) is phenomenal and better than my prior Bose system. Note that the vehicle came from the factory with the Sync 3 system. That system became very problematic over time. This car turned out to be a total disappointment and repair nightmare. Buyer beware.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

X Marks the Spot

carled63, 07/03/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I love my 2016 Lincoln MKX Reserve. I looked a lot for a compact SUV that would have pedestrian alert and a 5-star IIHS safety rating. I also preferred one that had a lot of American content. I just could not find one that met my needs, and the ones that came closest--TBH--felt kind of cramped. I almost went with the MKC--a little concerned on size and very disappointed it did not have pedestrian alert. Then the salesman pointed out that the MKX had the 5-star rating with top-of-the-line pedestrian alert. In 5 minutes I decided to go for it, and I have not been disappointed! The car looks great--inside and out. I think the materials and look of the inside, in particular, are very high end. I also love driving the car; it is super quiet and smooth with very competent handling. I went with Reserve but skipped the Revel stereo, the 2.7 L turbo and the 22-position seats. Those all sound nice, but they add a lot to the price, and I am not that picky. I don't regret those choices. The premium (i.e., standard) stereo is fine. I did find that setting the option to adjust the volume with your speed helps a lot. I also think the 3.7 L base engine has plenty of power and is very smooth. Also, the standard seats are super comfortable with plenty of adjustments--recline, height, lumbar, thigh support, etc. I also like the extra space of the mid-size SUV vs. a compact. There are so many times I would cram stuff in the back of my last compact SUV, and I am finding it a surprising relief to have the extra space that a mid-size provides. Lincoln has also delighted me once or twice. For example, the cooled front seats are great on hot days. The power steering wheel adjustment made me smile too. And I enjoyed how simple the technology has been to set up. My car has Sync 3, and it is both easy to set up and is very intuitive to operate. My only slight disappointment is the gas mileage. It is more or less as advertised--and that is lower than with most compacts. That is the price you pay for space.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lincoln's Luxury with small issues

Rick, 07/04/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

I still am experiencing some small issues with some of the electronic components of the MKX that require continued service attention. They are not major issues and are done while getting regular routine service. I have had several problems with the heated seats and most recently my key less entry system that just went out for some reason. The dealership has finally solved the heated seats issue and I have to admit that I still absolutely love this vehicle. We just purchased an 2018 Audi A6 sedan for my wife and it was priced significantly higher that the Lincoln and doesn't have half of the safety features that the MKX has. The comfort and quietness of the cabin on the Lincoln is much more than that of the Audi. We currently average approximately 24 mpg while traveling the interstate and 19 mpg around town. I would still recommend that people check out the Lincoln and they may be pleasantly surprised. 2019.....Update...still loving the Lincoln MKX ....we traveled from the East coast to the West coast last winter and it continued to reinforce my previous ratings regarding comfort, performance and safety. It is my plans to consider purchasing another one in the near future..

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Almost, but not quite there

Author, 03/25/2017
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

In full disclosure, this is my third MKX. I also had an Edge. It's been a year in so I have an informed knowledge of this vehicle. The positives: It's super quiet. It has an excellent ride yet takes a corner well. The overall look is nice though I will not miss the mustache grill. Power from the base engine is adequate. The kick open for the hatch works well. Sync 3 is an improvement and the Sirius works better than previously. Value for lease price is excellent. The negatives: The shifter on the stack should have haptic feedback. More than once I was in the wrong gear from not touching it hard enough. The interior still lacks a luxurious, high-quality feel. The buttons look Ford-esque. If you want to play in this league it takes more. I recently tried charging my phone and couldn't find the port. I know they are there but not in a convenient place. Observations: Fit and finish is nice but I have a loose trim plate. Gas mileage is below the sticker but that's to be expected. The older MKX had much better sight lines. Pillars by the windshield are thick. I recommend this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

great ride

BILL FRONAPFEL, 10/28/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have owned many new and used cars in my 50 years of driving. I have owned Lincoln town cars and you could not kill if you did regular maintenance. Since 1987 I have owned only SUVs and crossovers and the MKX is simply the best ever. All controls can be be done any of 3 ways; from steering wheal, voice, and by hand and all controls on the dash are very easy to reach. The only complaint I have is the back trunk cover its not easy to close and I can't seam to get the trunk open with my foot under the car my wife has some trouble. Over all the Best car I ever had.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I bleed Lincoln!

Linda Wright, 02/28/2017
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

It has been two years since I posted the below review of my vehicle, and really nothing has change. I am still enjoying this MKC tremendously, and now will be a Lincoln owner for life. Gas mileage is true to the numbers posted on the websites. The ride is smooth and comfortable. Spacious trunk and interior seating. People who I ride in my car for the first time always ask what kind of car it is. When I say Lincoln they are amaze that it is so luxurious with beautiful interior and seat warmers or coolers. My previous review: This vehicle is awesome, such a comfortable ride, such smooth handling and such a quiet engine. The looks of the SUV is so classy and it has and so many bells and whistle, that I am still learning them. Now I know why Matthew McConaughey agrees to advertise the vehicles, it is not for the money but the Lincolns are a quality vehicle and I do not not just stare at my vehicle, I drive it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ups and downs

David, 09/09/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

The upsides to the car: Handles and accelerates beautifully. I have the 2.7L ecoboost and the 21 inch rims. Power if plentiful, ride is smooth, and it handles like a much smaller sedan. Its a driver's vehicle and oozes competence on the road. I like most of the tech features a lot, and after my last vehicle (A BMW), I'm glad to be looking at a sensibly laid-out touchscreen. All the parking aids and such are wonderful and the stereo sounds great. Lincoln has also been great, and I've been really happy with the dealer support. The downsides: Even with the 22-way adjustable seat (which actually only adjusts in 7 or 8 different ways), I just can't get comfortable. The seats crane my neck forward and the bottom seat bolsters dig into my thighs. The ergonomics of the car are kind of a mess - as an example, the seat controls are silly complex, with multiple pull down menus and four or five different buttons. The transmission controls are on the dash, but that doesn't wind up freeing up any usable space - you get this goofy under console shelf that is barely usable. And, too bad if you want to power your phone - the power source is at the bottom of the dash and certainly impossible to reach unless you stop the car and bend down low. Some of the features just don't work very well: waving your foot under the back bumper rarely opens the back the first time, and the air cooled seats aren't really very cool. MPG is abysmal (although nobody lied to me about that one - I knew that going in) and the visibility out back is atrocious. Somewhere in the middle: The fit and finish overall is very good, and the materials are mostly nice. For example, the leather on the seats is high quality. But, there are some hard cheap plastics in the interior. Feels real upscale to me, but I never owned a Lexus or Mercedes. I'm not entirely sure Lincoln has hit the lofty objective of competing with Lexus.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Love my 2016 Lincoln MKX Reserve

Harold, 11/03/2015
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 22 people found this review helpful

Purchased the MKX Reserve on October 13, 2015. As of this writing, November 3, 2015, I have had no problems or issues. This vehicle is loaded with technology and as of this writing I'm still learning. Pairing (sync) my iphone 6 with this vehicle was no problem. Very happy with my MKX Reserve. UPDATE: November 4, 2016 best vehicle purchase I have ever made and I will be Seventy next week. UPDATE: May 4, 2017---I continue to be extremely pleased with this vehicle. I've done a bit of traveling recently. This vehicle is a dream to drive and comfort is excellent. Only change I would make would be to go with 20-1/2" wheels instead of 20" wheels. UPDATE: I continue to travel and enjoy the comfort of my MKX Reserve. My prior comments still stand today. This is without a doubt one of my best vehicle purchases.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Buyer Beware!!

debbie harwood, 03/21/2016
Select 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
23 of 28 people found this review helpful

I purchased the MKX in Oct. 2015. Loved the car until it stalled on the freeway in traffic with only 2200 miles on it. It has now stalled 2 more times with trips to the dealer and no definitive answers. They have called technical support and re calibrated RPMS and replaced temperature sensors. This is a brand new car with only 3800 miles. Hugh mistake and disappointment in Lincoln Customer service and Dealership.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

So far very good.

John Bernheisel, 09/15/2016
Select 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Only 2000 mi. On it so far enjoying it and absoulty no issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

This is a wonderful SUV that's luxurious and fun!

Pete R, 09/03/2019
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a 2016 MKX Reserve with 31K miles, and I couldn't be happier. This is one of the best cars I've ever owned, and I've owned a lot of cars over the years! First, if you're looking at a 2016, be sure to get one with SYNC3. Earlier production models in 2016 still have the original SYNC, but SYNC3 is more responsive and overall vastly superior. I have been looking at the MKX since the current iteration was released for the 2016 model year. I've test driven a few and always been impressed. But, I've always purchased Japanese cars and held off on the MKX because I was discouraged by some reports of poor reliability. So far, I haven't had any problems, although it's only been two weeks and 500 miles. The owner reviews here on Edmund's finally convinced me to take the plunge and get my own MKX. I'm so glad I did. I love driving it. It's comfortable, quiet, responsive and laden with high-tech and helpful features. Some of my favorite features are the ambient lighting (just beautiful), the hands-free liftgate, the air conditioned seats (much more effective than ventilated seats), and the optional Revel sound system (simply awesome sound)! I've been averaging about 21 MPG, which is higher than the EPA estimate of 19. Mine is Lincoln Certified, so it has the remainder of the original 4 Year/50K warranty for another year, as well as the Certified warranty for an additional two years or up to 100K, with a $100 deductible. That gives me some peace of mind. I traded in a one year old Subaru Outback Touring with 12K miles, which I bought new, in order to buy the MKX. The Subaru was very nice, but I wanted more luxury features, specifically a better sound system, ambient lighting and the AC seats. I'm so happy I made the trade. As I said, I couldn't be happier with my MKX and I highly recommend it to others!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I love my MKX

Meg, 09/30/2016
Black Label 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Comfortable and enough get up and go to keep me happy. I really do like this car and feel like driving it is stress free and almost relaxing. Great in snow and on ice with the AWD. I am getting better mileage than the sticker sheet said so am pleased with that. Update: 6 months after taking delivery this car is everything I could have wanted. So glad I purchased

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lemon Law Applies

Kathy Davis, 04/24/2016
Premiere 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
26 of 34 people found this review helpful

A 62k piece of junk. Right front running light went out before owning the car 2MONTHS. It has been the dealer SIX times and they can not fix it. In additional to that I have had many, many, many electrical problems with this car. The odometer has disappeared, the left turn signal light comes on when I have not activated it, the radio turns on all by itself, I get a gray shadow of the car on the center screen at the end of my driveway and the indicator alerts me with a red light, front left always, when I'm in the middle of a double wide driveway (this has happened too many times to count) , back windshield wiper turns on by itself, once after leaving the dealership I had a repeating message about Pre Collision Assist Not Available & Service AdvnceTrac in a constant loop until I turned off the car. Ford has been unable to duplicate all of the issues even after given proof of. I was told that the 2016 has a new Sync System and that could be part of the reason. I have had to contact an attorney and file a Lemon Law Suit against Ford as they just want to keep trying to "fix" the issues. Extremely disappointed in Ford. Should have bought another Lexus - I never had one problem with my RX330 in 12 years!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Smooth, Attractive & Comfortable

Vette Owner, 10/06/2018
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The MKX Reserve with the 2.7 turbo V6 and just about every option available represents the perfect SUV that rides comfortably - which is what you want a people mover to do rather the harsh rides of several “sportier” competitors. It has been a trouble free 23,000 miles thus far. Only complaints would be to have better tires than the standard Hankooks and better quality plastics on the center console. The rest of the vehicle is solid with very good quality materials and build. I have been impressed with it after owning Mercedes, Audi, Cadillac and Audi products and will consider the new Nautilus when it comes time to turn the MKX in.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Not perfect but still very nice.

Skip Simonsen, 07/28/2019
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought this 2 year old MKX about a year ago. It’s been very reliable except for jnoisy steering gears. Warranty replaced. Quiet for a while but a year later it’s coming back. I like the exterior design. Best A/C in any car yet. I’m not in love with the push button shifter. Blind spot monitor, adaptive cruise control and 360 cameras are must haves from this point forward. Console cup holders are awkward. Seats could be softer. Quiet ride. I miss the roominess of my Buick Enclave but the tech devices on the MKX made this a fairly good choice.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

has small problem still has problem with exhaust

allen, 04/24/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
16 of 23 people found this review helpful

love the car, I have 4kmiles ,noticed a smell of fumes in car. mostly when I down shift to enter highway ,so bad I need to open window, FL dealer look at it and said they fixed it , still happens called Lincoln and made an appointment with my dealer upstate NY. if the fumes are so great wonder how much with normal acceleration it give out to cab, worried about grand kids in car . hope Lincoln has reading equipment to measure the amount of exhaust in the inside of car, this may be a defect in the mkx , FL did not have that model to test another mkx .as far as gas mileage 24 on the hwy. but only 12 to 13 in traffic ,the car itself look great, rides great, handles great, it has all the options , seat message great, safety very good. at 12k had one recall and still get Odor in car .smells like exhaust car is at dealer for the 6th time can not find trouble , I have a case number waiting for buy back. Lincoln kept car for a few days, smell was corrected for two months. after making a trip to FL it has stared a gain. its may now I will again bring to dealer to check it out .car has 25k still has problem with exhaust ,i have lemon law lawyer on it now, they trysted to fix 3 times an could not. waiting for lemon law decision

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Luxury in Luxe

Titat, 10/13/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Great technology. Upscale interior. Plenty of power with the 2.7 eco boost

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just Perfect

JE, 07/21/2016
Select 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The MKX has performed flawlessly in every facet of driving. Dependable in cold and snow to desert heart. I tried a Navigator (which is a great vehicle) but it was a bit too big for my needs. I am a big fan of distilled water and run it in the radiator (with about 20% coolant) in all my vehicles and my tractor this has worked excellent in the MKX.

Performance
Report Abuse

Looking to purchase an MKX? READ this first.

Gina, 06/21/2018
Select 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Lincoln MKX is a great vehicle to purchase if you are planning to own in for years to come. It has a very strong and reliable engine. It is very comfortable to drive long distances in. The back seat is comfortable enough for anyone 5'4 and under. However, there is NO place to set my purse. If you are a man this won't be a problem. Another thing to consider is the fact that the trade in value is VERY poor. You may want to rethink purchasing this vehicle if you only plan on driving it for a few years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My Wife Bought Seats

TeeVee, 03/24/2020
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is so comfortable my wife and I drove from Birmingham, Alabama to Ventura, Calif. stopping only for gas and food. 30 hours in the saddle splitting the driver responsibilities. The back end and back seat were loaded full of stuff so we could only recline the front seat slightly to nap. Didn't matter. We never felt out of sorts. The main reason she bought this vehicle was for the seats. She sat in about 15 other similar cars but bought the Lincoln because it had "the most comfortable seats." It has enough power on tap (305 hp) to do anything (within reason) including 80 - 90 mph on those long deserted freeways without flinching. Handles and drives really well in any city situation. Much better than I expected from a Lincoln. So far not one repair required (52,000 miles). Not even tires. Only routine oil changes. If you are in the market for something comfortable you owe it to youself, and your deriere, to at least "sit" in one before you buy anything.

Report Abuse

Land Turd

Noname, 07/27/2018
Premiere 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Well, I just got rid of my 2016 Lincoln MKX. Here are the reasons why: 1. Driver side seat kept moving on its own for no reason...really 2. Very bad pick-up. I must have had a car with some sort of transmission problem that no one could ever find, but stepping on the gas would almost make the car stall. This was a tempermental problem. Some days it would be fine. Forget about passing someone on the highway on a Lincoln bad day. 3. When I changed gears from park to drive or park to reverse, the radio would go on 4. Computer would freeze unpredictably even when driving. 5. I have been a driver of many different cars and I know how to defrost a windshield. It was impossible to get the defrost to actually do its job. Did not matter setting,heat,AC,windows open, windows closed, recycle. Nothing worked. I had to literally use my hand to wipe the condensation to avoid getting into an accident. 6. Heating system is not balanced regardless of setting.. In winter, your feet would be on fire and you would freeze your face off. 7. Would constantly throw codes, which would magically disappear without a trace. After many trips to the dealer, and their inability to find any problems, I gave up. Gone!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my MKX!

Janice Ledet, 11/11/2016
Premiere 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I wish I didn't get the black interior but i love driving this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Moved from Escalade to MRX and love it!

MEL, 10/23/2015
Premiere 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 37 people found this review helpful

Only picked it up today, but totally blown away. Very nice. Usually in the first few hours I can see the flaws, but so far, none seen. Admittedly, we got all the bells and whistles, and there are more than one needs or probably wants. There will be a bit of a learning curve, for sure, on all the technology package. We think the new BMW will find it lonely in the garage while the MKX is on the road. Very comfortable all round. Great buy, very, very happy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GAS Problem on MKX

Nadine, 09/20/2018
Premiere 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2016 Lincoln MKX with 19,000 miles on it. I noticed that it wan't getting the gas mileage that the sticker price showed 23 city and 28 Highway. I am getting anywhere from 14 mpg to 18 mpg. I called the service dept at Lincoln and he told me that it was the summer gas that is mixed. I don't quiet understand this but there is nothing Lincoln could do about it and customers are complaining about it. Plus I have had several things in the service to fix. I went from Cadiallac back to Lincoln and I regret my decision.

Report Abuse

Best SUV ever

Harvey, 12/06/2015
Premiere 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 18 people found this review helpful

We liked a lot of the cars features however the rear hatch would not lock and open by itself. The dealer was unable to repair in spite having it serviced many times

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 1st and last Lincoln MKX!

David Glowacki, 08/18/2017
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I am leasing (2yr.lease) this 2016 MKX. My last two leases were MKZ's, they were awesome! I thought I'd try the MKX as a change from last two MKZ's. This is proving to be a huge disappointment. I have most every option you can get and that still does not change things. My MKX is 8 months old with only 5,000 miles on it. I have had nothing but quirky and annoying problems. While driving at night the "Service Headlamps Light" came on and then they quit working minutes later. I drove home with only the parking lamps on. The dealer reset the computer and they worked again. Since then that warning light has come on briefly and then gone back off. I've taken it back and they can find any fault codes stored in the computer. The carpeting has pulled away from the sills on two of the four doors. I had a very annoying rattle in the all glass moon roof. It took the dealer a week to pinpoint and repair. Also I will get exhaust fumes in the cabin when I need to accelerate quickly. The dealer changed the cabin air filter, that did nothing. The most annoying thing and something they are aware of is that hood flexes while driving on the highway. You can actually see it moving. I am afraid it's going to weaken the latch and come loose while driving. They said the flexing is because the hood is fiberglass?? I've owned many cars, expensive and inexpensive ones. Not one of them ever had a hood that flexed. The dealer has assured me that the hood will not come open, I am not convinced. An almost $60,000 vehicle should not have this issue or any other issues like I've experienced. For those of you who own a 2016/2017 MKX watch your hood as you go down the highway and you'll see what I am talking about. Hopefully the 2018 MKX went back to the drawing board before they began production?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Electronic nighmare.

Jack, 02/01/2017
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

This care is 12 month old and has been in the shop at least 12 times for different failures. Mostly the Snyc system is a total disaster.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Never Lincoln

Stuart no more Lincoln, 12/07/2016
Select 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 14 people found this review helpful

Worst of the last 3 Lincolns I've owned. 14000 and vehicle quit running at 55mph on a 2 lane highway with a lot of truck and car traffic. Took Lincoln Roadside Assistance 3 hours to get to the vehicle to have it towed. Stay away from Ford and Lincoln.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This is not a $50,000 dollar car. That simple.

JC, 01/04/2017
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 17 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is nothing more than an over glorified Edge. It is NOT a Mercedes, BMW, or Audi and should NOT be compared as such. Cadillac has nicer interiors and ride. No rear USB, did have a inverter though. Back seat comfort is marginal at best and the glass roof impedes head room. Mileage on my AWD is terrible at 17. Infotainment is better with Sync3 but still not on par with the competition by any means. It SCARES me to think that with such poor electronics now, Ford is actually considering driverless vehicles in the future. We will all perish! The interior has cheap materials that are not very well thought through. There is no sliding rear seat and for the money their should be. The front is cramped with their huge console and the cargo area is chopped by the sloping hatch and drooping roofline. The 2.7L engine has good pull but terrible fuel economy and only a 6 speed auto transmission. Options are expensive on this vehicle. To get led headlamps and a subpar stereo will cost $4,400 and it is not by any means best in class! This is clearly NOT a well thought out vehicle and NOT worth the money.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Luxury at it's best!

Teresa Collins, 04/17/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You will have test drive to see what a great vehicle it is.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Limo like ride

Mars, 09/05/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Quiet, comfy ride and all the safety features you need. This car is the one that will make your spouse say "Mind if I drive your car this time?"

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

WoW!!!

Sherry, 02/27/2020
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I never thought I'd own a lincoln but I LOVE IT! It has everything and is loaded with comfort features. The ONLY thing that needs improving is that there is no "loud horn beep" when clicking the fob to find your car. It has a very faint click and the lights flash but not very helpful in a parking garage or parking lot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Ride!

Wayne, 08/09/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

If you want a smooth comfortable ride, this is the car for you.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Black Label should be Black Sheep

Harry Boosey, 06/19/2017
Black Label 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

New review. 2017 Black Label MKX, closest Black Label dealer still 5 hours away but car quality much better than my 2016. Front leg room on driver side needs a little more space. Have not experienced the problems my previous review noted.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it.

MM, 09/16/2019
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 2016 MKX is perfect. It’s such a quiet and comfortable ride. I love it!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Giving Detroit and MKX a try

MKX in DC, 07/31/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

Pros: We were shopping for a luxury SUV Crossover. We have not owned an American car in decades. We test drove the usual suspects, the RX350, Honda Pilot, Acura MDX, but kept coming back to the MDX because of its powerful 2.7L Ecoboost engine, generous cabin space, Sync 3 (Do not get the older version of Sync), as the Sync 3 is fantastic and quite intuitive. The 4 year warranty made us feel better about buying American. We have had our MDX for a month now and love it! We will be taking it on a long road trip soon and we will report back about how the MDX performed. Cons: Gulps down fuel and seem to always be filling it up.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Couldn’t wait to get rid of it

Arlita Robinson, 01/30/2019
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

I owned this car for two and a half years. Right after the warranty ran out I had to buy new tires and brakes. The car would slide in the snow and it couldn’t go up hills. Then the gps went right in the middle of my trip. They did fix that for free but I went straight to another dealership and bought anew car. I was afraid of what would go next. I didn’t want to find out. I went to Sam’ Club for the tires and they said we are getting a lot of these. Not reassuring.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lincoln MKX great car

Wil, 01/28/2019
Select 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very poor navigation system. Missing roads that have been there over 20 years. Lincoln claims it’s not there navigation system yet it’s in there vehicles. They require you to pay for a map update that has been out of date for years.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050